Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Recurring Issues:
Funding the Commissioner's Office

During this reporting year, two committees of the House (Standing Committee on Public Accounts and Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics) and one Senate Committee (Standing Committee on National Finance) recommended that a new system for funding Officers of Parliament be adopted. In particular, they recommended that Parliament play a greater role in assessing the resource needs of its five independent officers (Information Commissioner, Privacy Commissioner, Auditor General, Commissioner of Official Languages, and Chief Electoral Officer). These three committees concluded that the then existing system, under which government ministers (Treasury Board) decide on the level of resources that will be given to Officers of Parliament, constituted a threat to the independence and effectiveness of Officers who have oversight functions vis-à-vis government ministers and institutions.

The former Liberal government agreed to participate in a pilot project for two fiscal years (2006-07 and 2007-08). The pilot involved the creation of an ad hoc committee of representatives from all parties represented in the House of Commons. The committee – called the House of Commons Panel on the Funding of Officers of Parliament – is chaired by the Speaker of the House.

The "mandate" of the House of Commons Panel is to consider resource requests from Officers of Parliament, taking into account the views of Treasury Board Secretariat officials and experts, if necessary, and to make recommendations as to the level and mix of resources which Treasury Board ministers should provide. The former government agreed that, for the period of the pilot project, it would – barring financial crisis – follow the panel’s recommendations.

The panel met in November of 2005 to consider requests for additional resources submitted, separately, by the Information Commissioner and the Privacy Commissioner. In the case of the Information Commissioner, the panel recommended increases of $2,814,006 for FY 2006-07, $2,262,028 for FY 2007-08, $2,262,028 for FY 2008-09, and $1,505,286 for 2009-10 and future years. The full text of the panel’s recommendations is available on our website at www.oic-ci.gc.ca .

On January 19, 2006, Treasury Board ministers accepted the panel’s recommendation. Regrettably, Treasury Board ministers at that January 19th meeting, just prior to the election, reneged on an understanding between the OIC and TBS that there would be some additional funding for 2005-06 (by way of supplementary estimates or Vote 5 transfers). The expected additional funding would be consistent with the terms recommended for funding by the panel, and would allow the Information Commissioner to jumpstart the initiatives approved by the panel. To learn, just two months before the end of the fiscal year, that some $450,000 of expected funding would not be forthcoming, imposed an enormous challenge for the Information Commissioner’s office. Many ongoing activities, such as the completion of report card reviews, proceeding with systemic investigations, staffing vacant positions, purchasing basic supplies, investigator training, servicing information technology and working tools, translating reports and speeches, investigation-related travel, had to be terminated. The office’s ability to meet backlog reduction and turnaround time targets was significantly compromised.

On the bright side, the former government’s punitive decision with respect to the 2005-06 budget – a period not covered by the House of Commons Panel pilot project – shows how vitally important the panel’s role will be in future.

In the longer term, it is to be hoped that the informal, ad hoc House of Commons Panel will become a formalized joint committee of the House and Senate. That would be more appropriate for Officers who report to both Houses of Parliament. As well, it is to be hoped that the panel will reconsider its decision to conduct its budget reviews behind closed doors. All Officers of Parliament agree that, except in exceptional circumstances, their independence and accountability is best served by having the Parliamentary review process conducted in public.

It is especially important to note that the funding panel recognized, from the outset, that the government has a vital role to play in helping to reduce the Information Commissioner’s workload. The panel recognized that the number of complaints to the Information Commissioner can best be reduced at the front end by better service to access requesters.

To that end, the panel made special note of a commitment by Treasury Board Secretariat officials to submit a report to the panel in the Fall of 2007 on the measures it has taken with government institutions and the Information Commissioner’s office to ensure compliance across government with the Access to Information Act. This reporting commitment by the Treasury Board Secretariat may be a long-overdue signal that the Secretariat intends to give greater priority to its leadership role in making the Access to Information Act work at the front lines.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Thèmes récurrents :
le financement du Commissariat

Au cours de la présente période de déclaration, deux comités de la Chambre des communes (le Comité permanent des comptes publics et le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection de la vie privée et de l’éthique) et un Comité sénatorial (le Comité permanent des finances nationales) ont recommandé l’adoption d’un nouveau système de financement des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement. Ils ont notamment recommandé que le Parlement joue un rôle plus important dans l’évaluation des ressources nécessaires à ses cinq hauts fonctionnaires indépendants (le Commissaire à l’information, le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, le Vérificateur général, le Commissaire aux langues officielles et le Directeur général des élections). Les trois comités ont conclu que le système actuel, dans le cadre duquel des ministres du gouvernement (Conseil du Trésor) décident du niveau de financement accordé aux hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, constitue une menace pour l’indépendance et l’efficacité de ces hauts fonctionnaires chargés de fonctions de surveillance à l’égard des ministres et des institutions.

L’ancien gouvernement libéral avait accepté de participer à un projet pilote pendant deux ans (exercices 2006-2007 et 2007-2008). Il s’agissait de créer un comité spécial composé de représentants de tous les partis représentés à la Chambre des communes. Le comité, qui porte le nom de Comité de la Chambre des communes sur le financement à l’intention des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, est présidé par le président de la Chambre.

Le « mandat » du Comité de la Chambre des communes est d’examiner les demandes de ressources adressées par les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement en tenant compte, au besoin, du point de vue de fonctionnaires du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et de spécialistes, et de recommander le niveau et l’éventail de ressources que les ministres du Conseil du Trésor devraient fournir. L’ancien gouvernement avait accepté, durant la période du projet pilote et à moins de crise financière, d’appliquer les recommandations du Comité.

Le Comité s’est réuni en novembre 2005 pour examiner les demandes de ressources supplémentaires adressées séparément par le Commissaire à l’information et le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée. Pour ce qui est du Commissaire à l’information, le Comité a recommandé une augmentation de 2 814 006 dollars pour l’exercice 2006-2007, de 2 262 028 dollars pour l’exercice 2007-2008, de 2 262 028 dollars pour l’exercice 2008-2009, et de 1 505 286 dollars pour l’exercice 2009-2010 et les années suivantes (le texte intégral des recommandations du Comité est disponible sur notre site à l’adresse http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/).

Le 19 janvier 2005, les ministres du Conseil du Trésor ont accepté la recommandation du Comité. Malheureusement, les ministres, au cours de cette réunion du 19 janvier, juste avant les élections, sont revenus sur l’entente entre le Commissariat et le SCT comme quoi des fonds supplémentaires seraient versés en 2005-2006 (au moyen d’un budget supplémentaire ou d’un transfert du crédit no 5). Les fonds escomptés étaient conformes aux recommandations du Comité et auraient permis au Commissaire de donner le coup d’envoi à des mesures approuvées par le Comité. Le fait pour le Commissariat d’apprendre, à peine deux mois avant la fin de l’exercice, que quelque 450 000 dollars de fonds supplémentaires ne viendraient pas a eu un effet considérable. Beaucoup d’activités en cours (achèvement de l’examen des fiches de rendement, enquêtes sur des problèmes systémiques, dotation de postes vacants, achat de fournitures de base, formation des enquêteurs, réparation de matériel informatique et d’instruments de travail, traduction de rapports et de discours, déplacements pour enquête, etc.) ont dû être interrompues. La capacité du Commissariat à réduire l’arriéré et à respecter les délais de traitement a été gravement compromise.

Par contre, la décision punitive de l’ancien gouvernement eu égard au budget de l’exercice 2005-2006 (période non couverte par le projet pilote du Comité de la Chambre des communes) montre à quel point le rôle du Comité sera crucial pour l’avenir.

À plus long terme, nous espérons que le Comité spécial informel de la Chambre des communes deviendra un comité mixte officiel de la Chambre et du Sénat. Cela conviendrait mieux aux hauts fonctionnaires qui rendent compte aux deux Chambres du Parlement. Nous espérons également que le Comité reconsidérera sa décision d’examiner son budget à huis clos. Tous les hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement estiment que, sauf circonstances exceptionnelles, leur indépendance et leur obligation de rendre compte sont mieux garanties par une procédure publique.

Il est tout particulièrement important de rappeler que le Comité de financement a reconnu, d’emblée, que le gouvernement a un rôle crucial à jouer dans la réduction de la charge de travail du Commissaire. Le Comité a également reconnu que le meilleur moyen de réduire le nombre de plaintes adressées au Commissaire est d’offrir un meilleur service aux demandeurs d’accès.

C’est pourquoi le Comité a rappelé que les fonctionnaires du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor se sont engagés à lui remettre un rapport à l’automne 2007 sur les mesures prises de concert avec les institutions gouvernementales et le Commissariat pour garantir le respect de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information à l’échelle du gouvernement. L’engagement du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor est peut-être le signe tant attendu que le Secrétariat a l’intention d’assumer plus largement son rôle de leadership dans l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information aux premières lignes.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant