Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Recurring Themes:
Merger of the Offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners

From time to time, since the early 1990s when the Mulroney government announced its intention to merge the offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners under a single commissioner (an initiative which was not abandoned), the pros and cons of such an initiative have been debated. The debate commenced anew in this reporting year when the former Liberal government announced, in June of 2005, that it would appoint an eminent person to inquire into, and make recommendations concerning, the merits of merging the Information and Privacy Commissioners’ offices.

The person so appointed, former Supreme Court Justice the Honourable Gérard La Forest, conducted his review between July 22, 2005 (the date of his appointment) and November 15, 2005 (the date of his report to the Minister of Justice). Dr. La Forest was assisted by Professor Steven Penny of the Faculty of Law, University of New Brunswick. While the short term given Dr. La Forest did not permit him to hold public hearings, he consulted broadly with relevant stakeholders and experts. All of those who dealt with him, including this commissioner, were impressed by his thoughtfulness, convinced of his independence of mind, struck by his intellectual honesty, and inspired by his personal integrity.

Dr. La Forest made the following recommendations:

  • "There should not be either a full merger of the offices of the Information Commissioner and the Privacy Commissioner or an appointment of one commissioner to both offices. These changes would likely have a detrimental impact on the policy aims of the Access to Information Act, the Privacy Act, and PIPEDA.
  • If the Government and Parliament decide to proceed with a merger or cross-appointment, implementation should be delayed for a considerable period of time. The transition should take place gradually, and only after the challenges facing the current access and privacy regimes have been thoroughly studied and addressed.
  • Caution should be exercised in proceeding with any attempt to share the corporate services personnel of the offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners. Care must be taken to establish mechanisms ensuring adequate accountability and control.
  • Government must do much more to foster a "culture of compliance" with access and privacy obligations. With respect to access, it should:
     
    • make it clear to officials that access should be provided unless there is a clear and compelling reason not to do so;
    • develop better information management systems;
    • ensure adequate training for access officials;
    • create proactive dissemination policies; and
    • provide adequate incentives for compliance.

With respect to privacy, it should:

  • pay greater attention to the implications of programs involving the sharing, matching, and outsourcing of personal information;
  • ensure adequate training for privacy officials; and
  • develop comprehensive privacy management frameworks.
  • The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act should be amended to specifically empower the commissioners to comment on government programs affecting their spheres of jurisdiction. Ideally, there should be a corresponding duty imposed on government to solicit the views of the commissioners on such programs at the earliest possible stage.
  • The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act should be amended to recognize the role of the commissioners in educating the public and conducting research relevant to their mandates.
  • The option of granting order making powers to the Information and Privacy Commissioners should be studied in further depth.
  • The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act should be amended to specifically empower the commissioners to engage in mediation and conciliation."

[La Forest Report, pp. 55-56]

It is a tribute to Dr. La Forest’s courage that more than fifty percent of his recommendations are reminders to the government that appointed him that there are a number of access to information and privacy issues having more importance for Canadians than the pros and cons of the merger of the commissioners’ offices. The following extract from the report identifies the central challenge for the Access to Information Act:

"There is undoubtedly a need for certain kinds of government information to remain confidential. This need is reflected in the many exemptions to access set out in the Access to Information Act. The Act itself proclaims, however, that as a general rule ‘government information should be available to the public’, and the ‘necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific’. If this legal principle is to have its full effect, however, the bureaucracy must experience a profound cultural shift."

[La Forest Report, p. 46]

There is a welcome consensus as to how to encourage this "cultural shift", among the La Forest recommendations, the Gomery recommendations, the Information Commissioner’s recommendations, and the promises for access to information reform contained in the Conservative Party election platform.

Following publication of Dr. La Forest’s endorsement of two separate offices, the Privacy Commissioner and the Information Commissioner made a joint request to the Clerk of the Privy Council that their two offices be separately listed in Schedule 1.1 of the Financial Administration Act. This separate listing would give legal recognition to the separate status of the two offices – a result which has also been recommended by the Auditor General in order to ensure that the two offices could have separate general ledgers. According to the Auditor General, separate general ledgers would improve the accountability of the two offices. As of this writing, there has been no response from the Privy Council Office.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Thèmes récurrents :
la fusion du Commissariat à l'information et du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée

Depuis le début des années 1990, lorsque le gouvernement Mulroney a annoncé son intention de fusionner les deux commissariats (cette initiative n’a pas été abandonnée), on discute du pour et du contre de ce projet. Le débat a repris au cours de l’année visée par ce rapport, lorsque l’ancien gouvernement libéral a annoncé, en juin 2005, qu’il chargerait une personnalité éminente de faire enquête sur le bien-fondé de la fusion et de formuler des recommandations à cet égard.

La personnalité en question, qui était l’honorable Gérard La Forest, ancien juge de la Cour suprême, s’est mis au travail le 22 juillet 2005 (date de sa nomination) et a remis son rapport au ministre de la Justice le 15 novembre 2005. Le juge La Forest s’est adjoint le professeur Steven Penny, de la faculté de droit de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le bref délai accordé au juge La Forest ne lui a pas permis d’organiser des audiences publiques, mais il a largement consulté les parties intéressées et les spécialistes du domaine. Tous ceux à qui il s’est adressé, y compris l’auteur de ces lignes, ont été impressionnés par son obligeance, convaincus de son indépendance d’esprit, frappés par son honnêteté intellectuelle et inspirés par son intégrité personnelle.

Le juge La Forest a recommandé les mesures suivantes :

  • « On ne devrait pas opérer une fusion complète des commissariats à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée ou jumeler les postes de commissaire. De tels changements seraient susceptibles d’avoir des répercussions négatives sur les politiques qui sous-tendent la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la LPRPDE.
  • Si le gouvernement et le Parlement devaient décider de fusionner les commissariats ou de procéder à une nomination conjointe, l’application de ces mesures devrait être considérablement retardée. Leur mise en œuvre devrait être graduelle, et elle ne devrait avoir lieu qu’après avoir été davantage étudiée et après qu’auront été relevés les défis propres aux régimes d’accès et de protection des renseignements personnels actuellement en vigueur.
  • La prudence s’impose à l’égard de toute tentative pour que le personnel des services généraux travaille à la fois pour le commissariat à l’information et le commissariat à la protection de la vie privée. Il faut mettre en place des mécanismes de reddition de compte et de contrôle.
  • Le gouvernement doit faire beaucoup plus pour promouvoir la « culture axée sur la conformité » en ce qui concerne les obligations en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée. En ce qui concerne l’accès à l’information, il devrait :
    • expliquer aux fonctionnaires que les renseignements demandés doivent en principe être divulgués et que tout refus doit reposer sur des motifs clairs et impérieux;
    • élaborer de meilleurs systèmes de gestion de l’information;
    • veiller à ce que les fonctionnaires responsables de l’accès à l’information reçoivent une formation adéquate;
    • instaurer des politiques de diffusion proactives;
    • instaurer des mesures incitant au respect des lois.

En ce qui concerne la protection de la vie privée, il devrait :

  • porter davantage attention aux programmes impliquant le partage des renseignements personnels ainsi que leur corrélation et le recours à l’impartition;
  • veiller à ce que les fonctionnaires responsables de la protection de la vie privée reçoivent une formation adéquate;
  • élaborer des cadres précis de gestion des renseignements personnels;
  • La Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels devraient être modifiées de manière à conférer aux commissaires le pouvoir explicite de commenter les programmes gouvernementaux touchant les questions à l’égard desquelles ils ont compétence. Idéalement, le gouvernement devrait se voir imposer l’obligation corrélative de solliciter, le plus tôt possible, l’avis des commissaires relativement à ces programmes.
  • La Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels devraient être modifiées de manière à reconnaître que les commissaires ont notamment pour fonction de sensibiliser le public et d’effectuer des recherches relevant de leur mandat.
  • La possibilité de conférer aux commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée le pouvoir de délivrer des ordonnances devrait faire l’objet d’une étude approfondie.
  • La Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels devraient être modifiées de manière à conférer aux commissaires le pouvoir explicite de recourir à la médiation et à la conciliation. »

[Rapport La Forest, pages 60 à 62]

Il faut saluer le courage du juge La Forest, car plus de la moitié de ses recommandations sont des rappels au gouvernement qui l’a désigné qu’un certain nombre de problèmes ayant trait à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels sont plus importants aux yeux des Canadiens que la fusion des deux commissariats. Voici un extrait du rapport qui circonscrit l’enjeu fondamental de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information:

« La nécessité de préserver la confidentialité de certains documents de l’administration fédérale ne fait aucun doute. En témoignent les nombreuses exceptions prévues dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette même loi proclame, pourtant, avoir pour objet général ‘d’élargir l’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale en consacrant le principe du droit du public à leur communication, les exceptions indispensables à ce droit étant précises et limitées’. Toutefois, pour donner plein effet à ce principe juridique, l’administration doit transformer sa culture en profondeur. »

[Rapport La Forest, page 51]

Il existe un consensus bienvenu, concernant cette transformation de la culture, entre les recommandations du juge La Forest, les recommandations du juge Gomery, les recommandations du Commissaire à l’information et les promesses de réforme de l’accès à l’information contenues dans la plate-forme électorale du Parti conservateur.

Après la publication de l’avis du juge La Forest recommandant la distinction des deux commissariats, le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et le Commissaire à l’information ont adressé une requête commune au greffier du Conseil privé pour lui demander d’inscrire séparément leurs commissariats à l’annexe 1.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Ces inscriptions seraient une reconnaissance juridique du statut distinct des deux commissariats, mesure également recommandée par le Vérificateur général pour garantir que les deux commissariats puissent avoir des grands livres généraux distincts. Selon le Vérificateur général, l’existence de grands livres généraux distincts améliore la responsabilisation des deux commissariats. Au moment où nous rédigeons ce rapport, le Bureau du Conseil privé n’a donné aucune réponse.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant