Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Recurring Themes: Delays

As mentioned earlier, a good indicator of the overall effectiveness of the access to information process in government is the percentage of access requests made to government that are answered within the statutory deadlines. Regrettably, the government does not gather and report this key statistic. Consequently, it is only possible to offer here an impression based on the number of delay complaints received as compared with previous years, and on the results of the commissioner’s report card reviews of selected government institutions.

On that basis, it appears that the problem of delay remains a significant concern. This year, a higher percentage of complaints were delay complaints than was the case last year. Three of the institutions newly reviewed this year (Immigration and Refugee Board, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada, Royal Canadian Mounted Police) received failing grades, indicating an unacceptably high percentage of late responses to access requests. Five institutions that received failing grades last year again received "Fs" this year. More will be said about delays in the "Report Card" section. Suffice to say that the Information Commissioner will require the assistance of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, as well as the assistance of the President of the Treasury Board, if the persistent problem of delay is to be solved once and for all.

The Standing Committee made an important contribution last year to solving the problem of delay, when it called officials from the departments that had received failing grades on their report cards to explain themselves. This determination by the committee to publicly expose the problem served to focus the minds of senior officials on taking response times seriously.

The President of Treasury Board, too, has an important role to play in (1) ensuring that ATI functions in departments are properly resourced; (2) issuing best practices and offering consulting services to problem institutions; (3) maintaining and managing a "flying squad" of ATI professionals to respond to request surges in the system; (4) professionalizing ATI workers and ending expensive and inappropriate reliance upon contract workers; (5) collecting the statistics necessary to allow TBS (and the public) to identify problem areas as soon as possible; (6) enforcing good records management throughout government; (7) increasing pro-active disclosures of government information; and (8) educating managers and exempt staffers as to their ATI obligations.

Under the Liberal administration, the Presidents of the Treasury Board gave no meaningful priority to their obligations as designated minister responsible for the administration, across government, of the Access to Information Act. This statutory function of the President of Treasury Board must be given a greater priority and importance within TBS. The TBS’ ATI responsibility centre has an obligation to become a conscience for openness within government as a whole. It has, all too often, been in the service of the governments’ communications effort to explain away, and minimize, failures of compliance with the Access to Information Actthroughout the system.

Technology, too, continues to offer promise to help solve the problem of delay.

In the late 1990s, the Information Commissioner’s "Report Cards on Compliance with Response Deadlines under the Access to Information Act" recommended that institutions make use of the latest technologies to assist them in meeting their response time obligations under the Act.

One product in particular, ATIPimage, which was originally part of a package entitled ATIPsuite, was recommended for its potential in easing the work associated with processing records. At that time, the company which offered this product was known as MPR & Associates, and its pamphlet had the following to say about it:

"ATIPimage uses document imaging technology to achieve a paperless ATIP case review process that lets you and your staff focus on actual case management rather than clerical tasks. Electronically sever text, attach notes, apply and track sections of the Act, disclose documents and more with a click of the mouse. You can paginate and print out consultation and release packages automatically. Search and retrieve one specific document within thousands of pages instantly. A duplicity-checking feature ensures duplicate or similar documents are processed exactly the same way."

The vast majority of institutions now use technology – inclusive of imaging technologies – to assist them with the administrative work associated with the Access to Information Act. ATIPimage has undergone various upgrades, and is now known as AccessPro Redaction Imaging, which forms part of PrivaSoft’s Access Pro Suite. The software now has one additional timesaving feature: it allows electronic documents to be saved directly into the system.

Have imaging technologies helped to alleviate response times? The short answer is "no." Although these imaging technologies offer processing advantages, the clerical work associated with getting the information into the system can be extremely time-consuming. Of course, the length of time that it consumes is dependent on the volume of records involved, the volume of requests being processed within the institution, the number of scanners available, and the number of support staff available to assist with the work.

The preliminary clerical work includes preparation, scanning, and indexing. Preparation involves the removal of staples, clips, and/or pegs. If records are in rough condition, or of unusual size, they may need to be photocopied. Scanning can be a long process, particularly if the records sit in long queues waiting to be scanned. Indexing includes the manual data entry of myriad identifying information, such as the identification of document type (memo, letter…), date, "to" and "from", et cetera. Finally, either before or after the records are in electronic form, the records are triaged, meaning the records are reviewed for relevancy and duplicates are removed. If the preliminary processes add more than one week to the processing timelines, they effectively diminish or cancel out the benefits of electronic review processes.

Manual indexing is a major stumbling block in fully exploiting technology to reduce response times. Unfortunately, the problems associated with manual indexing are not easily resolved by institutions. Few institutions are in a position to hire a large contingent of clerical staff to do this tedious work. Yet, too often, this work is being performed by ATIP analysts or contractors, on a time-permitting basis. It takes away valuable time from their most significant work: reviewing and preparing records for release.

Imaging technologies can yet be improved to solve some of these remaining problems. We urge more work on developing improved text recognition capabilities. Indexing should become a seamless process, performed by the software, whereby key elements of records are recognized and captured as the records are scanned into the system.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Thèmes récurrents : les retards

Comme nous l’avons vu, le pourcentage de demandes d’accès auxquelles une réponse est donnée dans les délais prévus est un bon indicateur de l’efficacité générale de la procédure d’accès à l’information gouvernementale. Malheureusement, le gouvernement ne recueille pas ce genre de statistiques importantes. Nous ne pouvons donc, ici, que donner une impression à partir du nombre de plaintes pour retard comparativement aux années précédentes et aux résultats d’examens de la fiche de rendement de certaines institutions gouvernementales.

À cet égard, il semble que le problème des retards reste important. Cette année, nous avons reçu une plus grande proportion de plaintes pour retard que l’an dernier. Trois des institutions dont nous avons examiné le fonctionnement cette année pour la première fois (Commission de l’Immigration et du statut de réfugié, Sécurité publique et protection civile, Gendarmerie royale du Canada) ont obtenu une note négative : elles affichaient toutes un pourcentage inacceptable de réponses tardives aux demandes d’accès. Cinq institutions jugées en défaut l’an dernier ont encore obtenu un « F » cette année. Nous approfondirons la question des retards à la rubrique « Fiche de rendement » : qu’il suffise de dire, pour l’instant, que le Commissaire à l’information aura besoin de l’aide du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection de la vie privée et de l’éthique et de celle du président du Conseil du Trésor pour régler une fois pour toutes ce problème chronique.

Le Comité permanent a largement contribué au règlement de ce problème l’an dernier en invitant des fonctionnaires des ministères ayant reçu une note négative à venir s’expliquer. Cette détermination du Comité à exposer publiquement le problème a servi à rappeler aux hauts fonctionnaires qu’ils doivent prendre les délais de réponse au sérieux.

Le président du Conseil du Trésor, lui aussi, a un rôle important à jouer pour 1) veiller à ce que les fonctions d’accès à l’information des ministères soient dotées de ressources suffisantes, 2) faire circuler les pratiques optimales et offrir des services consultatifs aux institutions qui ont des problèmes, 3) maintenir et gérer une « équipe volante » de spécialistes de l’accès à l’information pour absorber les augmentations subites du nombre de demandes dans le système, 4) professionnaliser les travailleurs de l’accès à l’information et mettre fin à l’embauche coûteuse et inappropriée de contractuels, 5) recueillir les statistiques dont le SCT (comme la population) a besoin pour circonscrire les problèmes aussitôt que possible, 6) favoriser une bonne gestion des documents dans tout le gouvernement, 7) multiplier la divulgation proactive de l’information gouvernementale, 8) sensibiliser les gestionnaires et le personnel politique à leurs obligations à l’égard de l’accès à l’information.

Sous le gouvernement libéral, les présidents du Conseil du Trésor n’ont pas accordé de priorité particulière aux obligations que leur conférait le rôle de ministre désigné responsable, à l’échelle du gouvernement, de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette fonction législative du président du Conseil du Trésor doit prendre plus d’importance au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Le centre de responsabilité de l’accès à l’information au SCT a l’obligation de devenir la conscience du gouvernement en matière de transparence. Il a beaucoup trop souvent été l’instrument du gouvernement pour justifier et minimiser le non-respect de la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationdans tout le système.

La technologie, elle aussi, permet d’espérer de l’aide pour régler le problème des retards.

À la fin des années 1990, «  les Fiches de rendement du Commissaire à l’information sur le respect des délais prévus par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information » recommandaient que les institutions se servent de la technologie la plus moderne pour remplir leurs obligations à cet égard.

On avait notamment recommandé un produit, du nom d’ATIPimage, qui faisait partie, à l’origine, d’une série du nom d’ATIPsuite, en raison de son aptitude à faciliter le travail de traitement des documents. À l’époque, l’entreprise qui offrait ce produit portait le nom de MPR & Associates, et son prospectus expliquait ce qui suit :

« [traduction] ATIPimage est une technologie d’imagerie permettant de traiter électroniquement les demandes d’AIPRP, grâce à laquelle vous et vos employés pouvez vous concentrer sur la gestion effective des cas sans vous soucier des tâches administratives. D’un simple clic de la souris, vous pouvez prélever un texte, joindre des notes, demander et retrouver des articles de la Loi, communiquer des documents, et plus encore. Vous pouvez paginer et imprimer automatiquement des documents de consultation ou des documents à communiquer, chercher et retrouver instantanément un document dans des milliers de pages. Une fonction de vérification en double permet de traiter exactement de la même façon des duplicatas ou des documents semblables. »

La plupart des institutions se servent désormais de la technologie (y compris celle de l’imagerie) pour faciliter le travail administratif associé à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. ATIPimage a fait l’objet de diverses mises à niveau, et le procédé est maintenant connu sous le nom d’AccessPro Redaction Imaging, qui fait partie de la série Access Pro Suite de PrivaSoft. Le logiciel comporte désormais une fonction de gain de temps : il permet de sauvegarder les documents électroniques directement dans le système.

Les technologies de l’imagerie ont-elles permis de réduire les délais de réponse? La réponse, en bref, est « non ». Ces procédés présentent des avantages sur le plan du traitement de l’information, mais les tâches administratives associées à l’incorporation de l’information dans le système peuvent prendre énormément de temps. Bien entendu, le temps nécessaire dépend du volume de documents en jeu, du nombre de demandes traitées par l’institution, du nombre de scanneurs disponibles et du nombre d’employés de soutien disponibles pour participer au travail.

Les tâches administratives préliminaires sont les suivantes : préparation, balayage au scanneur et répertoriage. La préparation suppose que l’on retire les agrafes, les pinces et/ou les trombones. Si les documents sont en mauvais état ou d’une taille inhabituelle, il peut être nécessaire de les photocopier. Le balayage au scanner peut prendre beaucoup de temps, surtout si les documents s’accumulent en longues files d’attente. Le répertoriage comprend l’entrée manuelle d’une multitude de données d’identification, par exemple le type de document (note de service, lettres, etc.), la date, l’origine et la destination, etc. Enfin, avant ou après la mise en forme électronique des documents, ceux-ci sont triés, c’est-à-dire qu’on détermine leur pertinence et qu’on retire les doubles. Si les tâches préliminaires ajoutent plus d’une semaine aux délais de traitement, elles diminuent ou annulent effectivement les avantages du traitement électronique.

Le répertoriage manuel est un obstacle majeur à l’exploitation intégrale de la technologie pour réduire les délais de réponse. Malheureusement, les problèmes associés à cette tâche ne sont pas faciles à résoudre. Peu d’institutions ont les moyens d’engager un fort contingent de commis pour exécuter ce travail fastidieux, qui pourtant est trop souvent effectué par des analystes de l’AIPRP ou des entrepreneurs lorsque le temps le leur permet. Ceux-ci gaspillent donc un temps précieux qui pourrait être consacré à leurs tâches importantes, qui sont d’examiner les documents et les préparer à la divulgation.

On peut encore améliorer les technologies de l’imagerie pour régler certains de ces derniers problèmes. Il faudrait sans tarder approfondir la recherche pour trouver de meilleurs moyens de reconnaissance du texte. Le répertoriage devrait devenir un procédé homogène exécuté au moyen d’un logiciel, par lequel les principaux éléments des documents sont reconnus et saisi tandis que les documents sont scannés dans le système.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant