Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents    

CHAPTER VI:

Corporate Services

Corporate Services provides financial, human resources, information management/information technology, and general administrative services to the Office of the Information Commissioner’s main activity. Such services are essential to the ability to manage the office’s operations strategically, fulfill its mandate, meet the expectations of Parliamentarians and Canadians, and achieve its strategic outcomes. It also provides the important infrastructure to support the OIC’s decision-making function and to implement government-wide management initiatives.

As has been mentioned previously in this report, the office has been in a resource crisis for the past several years. Corporate Services worked closely with operational managers to ensure that all possible efficiency savings were identified and implemented consistent with statutory obligations and prevailing professional service standards.

Financial Services

Additional governance and accountability structures were put into place, such as the Management Accountability Framework (MAF).

Accounting and reporting of financial activities consistent with government policies, directives, and standards was continued and, during the period under review, the Office of the Information Commissioner underwent its third annual audit, conducted by the Office of the Auditor General (OAG). A copy of the audit results are available on request, or at the commissioner’s website.

Human Resources

The main activity for Human Resources during 2005-06, was the implementation of the Public Service Modernization Act.

During the period under review, all policies, Human Resource delegations, conflict resolution instruments, and so forth were updated to reflect changes brought about as a result of legislative amendments associated with the coming into force of the new Public Service Modernization Act. In addition, all OIC staff received corresponding training.

Information Technology

In managing a high volume of cases originating from across the country, the OIC relies on up-to-date, automated technological systems and tools to enable decision-makers and employees to share and exchange information, support case preparation, manage the flow of cases through various stages, and communicate and consult with stakeholders.

During the period covered by this Annual Report, the Information Technology Branch upgraded its: Records Documentation Information Management System (RDIMS); Integrated Investigations Application (IIA), which is its main case-tracking system; and, its Legal Tracking System (LTS).

In addition, the Information Technology Branch increased the office’s internet security through the introduction of anti-spam and anti-spyware.

Administrative Services

During the period covered by this report, Administrative Services focused on ensuring its acquisitions were fair and transparent, and provided good value for money.

Funding Pilot Project

As discussed previously in this report, a House of Commons Panel on the Funding of Officers of Parliament has been created. Corporate Services plays a central role in coordinating communications with the panel and the Treasury Board Secretariat, and in preparing and presenting the OIC’s resource requests and justifications.

Figure 1 summarizes the office’s operating budget and FTE (full time staff equivalents) utilization for 2005-06. Figure 2 breaks down the utilization of resources by category of expenditure.

Figure 1 - Resources by Activity (2005-2006)

FTE Utilization

Percent

Operating Budget*

Percent

Access to Government Information

41.8

79%

$4,027,355

78%

Corporate Services **

11.0

21%

$1,160,987

22%

Total Access Program Vote

52.8

100%

$5,188,342

100%

* Excludes Employee Benefits
** The non-salary portion of the Corporate Services' operating budget includes approximately 90% of program-related expenditures.

Figure 2: Details by Object of Expenditures (2005-2006)

Standard

Corporate

Access to Government

Total

Object

Services

Information

Salaries

01

754,190

3,358,688

4,112,878

Transportation and Communication

02

71,087

66,256

137,343

Information

03

1,653

57,583

59,236

Professional Services

04

155,191

443,303

598,494

Rentals

05

9,784

19,747

29,531

Repair & Maintenance

06

54,988

24,554

79,542

Materials and Supplies

07

31,912

39,023

70,935

Acquisition of Machernery and Equipment

09

81,915

15,684

97,599

Other Subsidies and Payments

12

267

2,517

2,784

Total Access Program Vote

1,160,987

4,027,355

5,188,342

Notes:

  1. Excludes Employee Benefit Plan (EBP).
  2. Expenditure figures do not incorporate final year-end adjustments.
  3. Corporate Services' expenditures for Standard Objects 02-12 primarily represent program-related disbursements (approximately 90%).


Previous Table of contents

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières    

CHAPITRE VI:

Les services intégrés

Les Services intégrés fournissent des services financiers, de gestion des ressources humaines, de gestion de l’information et de technologie de l’information et des services administratifs généraux à l’appui de la principale activité du Commissariat à l’information. Ces services sont indispensables au Commissariat pour gérer stratégiquement ses opérations, remplir son mandat, répondre aux attentes des parlementaires et des Canadiens et réaliser ses objectifs stratégiques. Ils constituent également l’importante infrastructure qui appuie la fonction décisionnelle du Commissariat et lui permet de prendre des mesures administratives à l’échelle du gouvernement.

Comme nous l’avons déjà dit dans ce rapport, le Commissariat manque de ressources depuis plusieurs années. Les Services intégrés ont étroitement collaboré avec les gestionnaires opérationnels pour circonscrire toutes les économies possibles sans compromettre les obligations législatives du Commissariat et les normes de service professionnelles en vigueur.

Les Services financiers

D’autres structures de gouvernance et de responsabilisation ont été mises en place, par exemple le cadre de gestion et de responsabilisation (CGR).

Nous avons continué de rendre compte des activités financières conformément aux politiques, aux directives et aux normes du gouvernement, et, au cours de la période visée, le Commissariat a fait l’objet de sa troisième vérification annuelle, effectuée par le Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG). On peut se procurer un exemplaire des résultats de la vérification en s’adressant à nos bureaux ou en consultant le site du Commissariat.

Les Ressources humaines

La principale activité du service des Ressources humaines au cours de l’exercice 2005-2006 a été la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique.

Au cours de la période visée par ce rapport, l’ensemble des politiques, des délégations des Ressources humaines, des instruments de règlement des différends, etc. ont été mis à jour en fonction des modifications administratives associées à l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique. En outre, tout le personnel du Commissariat a reçu une formation à cet égard.

La technologie de l’information

Pour gérer le grand nombre de cas provenant de tous les coins du pays, le Commissariat s’appuie sur des systèmes et des instruments technologiques automatisés et à jour qui permettent aux décideurs et aux employés de partager et d’échanger des renseignements, d’étayer la préparation des cas, de gérer l’acheminement des dossiers à travers les divers stades de la procédure, et de communiquer et de se concerter avec les parties intéressées.

Au cours de la période observée, la Direction générale de la technologie de l’information a mis à niveau son Système de gestion des dossiers, des documents et de l'information (SGDDI), l’Application intégrée des enquêtes (AIE), qui est son principal système de repérage des cas, et son Système de suivi judiciaire (SSJ).

En outre, la Direction générale de la technologie de l’information a amélioré la sécurité du site Web du Commissariat en y introduisant des logiciels anti-pourriel et anti-espiogiciels.

Les Services administratifs

Au cours de la période observée, les Services administratifs se sont efforcés de garantir que les acquisitions étaient justes, transparentes et rentables.

Le projet pilote de financement

Comme il en a déjà été question dans le rapport, un Comité de la Chambre des communes sur le financement des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement a été créé. Les Services intégrés jouent un rôle central dans la coordination des communications avec le comité et avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et dans la préparation et la présentation des demandes de ressources du Commissariat et de leur justification.

Le tableau 1 résume l’utilisation du budget de fonctionnement et des ETP (équivalents à temps plein) du Commissariat au cours de l’exercice 2005-2006. Le tableau 2 est une ventilation de l’utilisation des ressources par catégorie de dépenses.

Tableau 1 – Ressources par activité (2005-2006)

Utilisation des ETP

Pourcentage

Budget de fonctionnement*

Pourcentage

Accès à l’information gouvernementale

41,8

79 %

4 027 355 $

78 %

Services intégrés **

11,0

21 %

1 160 987 $

22 %

Total du crédit du programme d’accès

52,8

100 %

5 188 342 $

100 %

* À l’exclusion des avantages sociaux des employés
** La partie non-salariale du budget de fonctionnement des Services intégrés comprend environ 90 % des dépenses liées au programme.

Tableau 2 – Détails par article de dépense (2005-2006)

Remarques :
1. À l’exclusion du régime d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE).
2. Les dépenses n’incluent pas les rajustements de fin d’année.
3. Les dépenses des Services intégrés au titre des articles courants 02-12 représentent surtout des dépenses liées au programme (environ 90 %).


Précédent   Table des matières