Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

C. Legislative Changes

Changes affecting the Access to Information Act

The definition of "aboriginal government" in subsection 13(3) of the Act has been modified to add two additional aboriginal governments. The Government public Bill C-14 (38th Parliament, 1st Session), entitled An Act to give effect to a land claims self-government agreement among the Tlicho, the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Canada, to make related amendments to the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act and to make amendments to other Acts, received royal assent on February 15, 2004, and came into force on August 4, 2005 [SI/2005-0054]; and the Government public Bill C-56 (38th Parliament, 1st Session), entitled An Act to give effect to the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement and the Labrador Inuit Tax Treatment Agreement, received royal assent on June 23, 2005, and came into force on December 1, 2005 [SI/2005-0117].

As a result subsection 13(3) of the Act reads as follows:

Definition of "aboriginal government"

13.(3) The expression "aboriginal government" in paragraph (1)(e) means

  1. Nisga’a Government, as defined in the Nisga’a Final Agreement given effect by the Nisga’a Final Agreement Act;
  2. the council, as defined in the Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement given effect by the Westbank First Nation Self-Government Act;
  3. the Tlicho Government, as defined in section 2 of the Tlicho Land Claims and Self-Government Act (Section 107); or
  4. the Nunatsiavut Government, as defined in section 2 of the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement Act.

The Government public Bill C-11 (38th Parliament, 1st Session) entitled An Act to establish a procedure for the disclosure of wrongdoings in the public sector, including the protection of persons who disclose the wrongdoings, received royal assent on November 25, 2005 [Statutes of Canada, 2005, c. 46] and will come into force on proclamation. This Bill will amend section 16 of the Act by adding the following after subsection (1):

  1. If the record came into existence less than five years before the request, the head of a government institution may refuse to disclose any record requested under this Act that contains information

a. in relation to or as a result of a disclosure or an investigation under the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act; or

b. obtained by a supervisor or a senior officer designated under subsection 10(2) of that Act, or by the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner, in relation to or as a result of a disclosure or an investigation under that Act, if the information identifies, or could reasonably be expected to lead to the identification of, a public servant who made a disclosure under that Act or who cooperated in an investigation under that Act.

The Government public Bill C-25 (37th Parliament, 2nd Session), entitled An Act to Modernize Employment and Labour Relations in the Public Sector and to Amend the Financial Administration Act and the Canadian Centre for Management Development Act and to Make Consequential Amendments to Other Acts, received royal assent on November 10, 2003 and sections 224 and 225 came into force on April 1, 2005 [SI/2005-0024]. This Bill amends:

  • Subsections 55(4) and 57(4) of the Act by replacing the expression "Public Service of Canada" by "federal public administration", wherever it occurs in the English version. (Section 224)
  • Subsection 55(3) of the Act by replacing the expression "Public Service" by the expression "public service" wherever it occurs in the English version, other than in the expressions "Public Service corporation", "Public Service Employment Act", "Public Service Pension Fund" and "Public Service Superannuation Act". (Section 225)

Proposed Changes to the Access to Information Act

The Government public Bill C-78 (38th Parliament, 1st Session) entitled An Act respecting the establishment of the Public Health Agency of Canada and amending certain acts proposes to amend subsection 20(1) of the Act by adding the following after paragraph (b):

(b.1)information supplied to a government institution by a third party for the preparation, maintenance, testing or implementation by the government institution of emergency management plans within the meaning of section 2 of the Emergency Management Act and that is about the vulnerability of the third party’s buildings or other structures, its networks or systems, including its computer or communications networks or systems, or the methods used to protect any of those buildings, structures, networks or systems".

The Bill also contemplates a change to the public interest override clause in subsection 20(6), as follows:

20(6) The head of a government institution may disclose all or part of any record requested under this Act that contains information described in any of paragraphs (1)(b) to (d) if

(a) that disclosure would be in the public interest as it relates to public health, public safety or protection of the environment; and

(b) the public interest in disclosure clearly outweighs in importance any financial loss or gain to a third party, any prejudice to the security of its structures, networks or systems, any prejudice to its competitive position or any interference with its contractual or other negotiations.

(2005, Bill C-78, Section 8; received First Reading on November 17, 2005)

Amendments to Schedules I and II

During the 2005-2006 fiscal year, new government institutions became subject to the Access to Information Act while others, which have been abolished, were struck out. More statutory prohibitions against disclosure were added to the list of provisions set out in Schedule II. The following amendments were made to Schedules I and II of the Act.

By Order in Council pursuant to subsection 77(2) of the Access to Information Act (Canada Gazette, Part II, SI/2005-75, in force September 21, 2005, Order 2005-1489), Schedule I was amended and the following government institutions were added in alphabetical order under the heading "Other Government Institutions":

Canada Development Investment Corporation

Canadian Race Relations Foundation

Cape Breton Development Corporation

Cape Breton Growth Fund Corporation

Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation

Marine Atlantic Inc.

Old Port of Montreal Corporation Inc

Parc Downsview Park Inc.

Queens Quay West Land Corporation

Ridley Terminals Inc.

This order was accompanied by the following Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement:

The President of the Treasury Board has requested that the following ten Crown corporations be added to Schedule I of the Access to Information Act and to the Schedule of the Privacy Act: Canada Development Investment Corporation, Canadian Race Relations Foundation, Cape Breton Development Corporation, Cape Breton Growth Fund Corporation, Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation, Marine Atlantic Inc., Old Port of Montreal Corporation Inc., Parc Downsview Park Inc., Queens Quay West Land Corporation and Ridley Terminals Inc.

On February 17, 2005, the President of the Treasury Board, Reg Alcock, tabled in the House of Commons a report on Crown corporation governance entitled Meeting the Expectations of Canadians — Review of the Framework for Canada's Crown Corporations. The report contains 31 measures designed to significantly strengthen the governance and accountability regime for Canada's Crown corporations. One of the measures calls for the Access to Information Act (and by implication, the Privacy Act) to be extended to the ten aforementioned Crown corporations through an Order in Council.

The Government public Bill C-9(38th Parliament, 1st Session) entitledAn Act to establish the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec, received Royal Assent on June 23, 2005, and came in force on October 5, 2005 [SI/2005-101]. Section 18(7) is a reference to the former agency in any of the following is deemed to be a reference to the new agency: No change to Schedule I is required, as the name of the Agency is already stated under the heading "Other Government Institutions".

The Government public Bill C-22 (38th Parliament, 1st Session) entitled An Act to establish the Department of Social Development and to amend and repeal certain related Acts, received royal assent July 20, 2005, and came in force on October 5, 2005 [SI/2005-97]. Section 42 of this Bill amends Schedule I by adding, under the heading "Departments and Ministries of State", the "Department of Social Development / Ministère du Développement social". Sections 43 and 44 respectively amend Schedule II by replacing the reference to section 104, opposite the Canada Pension Plan, with a reference to subsection 104.01(1), and the reference to section 33 opposite the Old Age Security Act with a reference to subsection 33.01(1).

The Government public Bill C-23 (38th Parliament, 1st Session) entitled An Act to establish the Department of Human Resources and Skills Development and to amend and repeal certain related Acts, received the royal assent on July 20, 2005, and came into force on October 5, 2005 [SI/2005-99]. Section 58 amends Schedule I by striking out the following under the heading "Departments and Ministries of State": "Department of Human Resources Development/Ministère du Développement des resources humaines". Section 59 amends Schedule I by adding the following in alphabetical order under the heading "Departments and Ministries of State": "Department of Human Resources and Skills Development/Ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences". Section 60 amends Schedule I by striking out the following under the heading "Other Government Institutions" "Department of Human Resources and Skills Development/Ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences". Further, section 61 amends Schedule II by striking out the reference to "Department of Human Resources Development Act/Loi sur le Ministère du Développement des resources humaines" and the corresponding reference to section 33.5.

The Government public C-26 (38th Parliament, 1st Session), An Act to establish the Canada Border Services Agency, received royal assent on November, 2, 2005. Sections 16 and 19(1) came into force on December 12, 2005. No change is required to Schedule I as "former agency" (Canada Border Services Agency) is already stated in Schedule I. A reference to the former agency is deemed to be a reference to the new agency and any order of the Governor in Council made under paragraph (b) of the definition "head" in section 3 of the Access to Information Act.

The Government public Bill C-43 (38th Parliament, 1st Session)entitled An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament received royal assent and came into force on June 29, 2005 [Statutes of Canada, 2005, c. 30]. Section 88 amends Schedule I by adding the following under the heading "Other Government Institutions": Canada Emission Reductions Incentives Agency/Agence canadienne pour l’incitation à la réduction des émissions.

The Government public Bill C-6(37th Parliament, 3rd Session) entitled An Act respecting assisted human reproduction and related research, received royal assent on March 29, 2004. Section 72 of the Bill came into force on January 12, 2006 [SI/2004-49]. Section 72 of the Bill amends Schedule I to the Access to Information Act by adding the following in alphabetical order under the heading "Other Government Institutions": Assisted Human Reproduction Agency of Canada/Agence canadienne de contrôle de la procréation assistée.

The Government public Bill C-25 (37th Parliament, 2nd Session), entitled An Act to Modernize Employment and Labour Relations in the Public Sector and to Amend the Financial Administration Act and the Canadian Centre for Management Development Act and to Make Consequential Amendments to Other Acts, received royal assent on November 10, 2003. Section 88 came into force on April 1, 2005 [SI/2005-0024]. This section amends Schedule I to the Act by replacing the reference to "Public Service Staff Relations Board" under the heading "Other Government Institutions" to the Access to Information Act by a reference to "Public Service Labour Relations Board".

The Government public Bill C-6 (37th Parliament, 2nd Session), An Act to establish the Canadian Centre for the Independent Resolution of First Nations Specific Claims to provide for filing, negotiation and resolution of specific claims and to make related amendments to other Acts, received royal assent on November 7, 2003. Sections 78 and 79, once proclaimed (not in force as of March 31, 2006), will amend Schedule I by adding under the heading "Other Government Institutions" the "Canadian Centre for the Independent Resolution of First Nations Specific Claims/Centre canadien du règlement indépendant des revendications particulières des premières nations", and Schedule II by adding a reference to the "Specific Claims Resolution Act/Loi sur le règlement des revendications particulières" and a corresponding reference to section 38 and subsections 62(2) and 75(2) of that Act.

By Order in Council, P.C. 2006-44, February 6, 2006, Schedule I of the Access to Information Act under the heading "Other Government Institutions" is amended by striking out the Department of International Trade.

Proposed Changes to Schedules I and II

During the 38th Parliament, a number of legislative proposals were introduced to amend Schedules I and II of the Access to Information Act. No progress were recorded during fiscal year 2005-2006 with respect to Government public Bill C-31 (38th Parliament, 1st Session), An Act to establish the Department of International Trade and to make related amendments to certain Acts and Government public Bill C-32(38th Parliament, 1st Session), An Act to amend the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. (See 2004-2005 Annual Report, p. 72for more details.)

The Government public Bill C-62 (38th Parliament, 1st Session), An act to amend the Aeronautics Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, proposes to amend Schedule II to the Access to Information Act by replacing the reference to "subsections 4.79(1) and 6.5(5)" opposite the reference to the "Aeronautics Act" with a host of added prohibitions to disclose information and listed as follows: "subsection 4.79(1), sections 5.392 and 5.393, subsections 5.394(2), 5.397(2), 6.5(5), 22(2) and 24.1(4) and section 24.7". (Bill received First Reading on September 28, 2005.)

Amendments to Heads of Government Institutions Designation Order

The Schedule to the Access to Information ActHeads of Government Institutions Designation Orderis amended by adding the following in numerical order (Canada Gazette Part II, SI/2005-75 in force September 21, 2005, Order 2005-1491):



Item

Column I

Government Institution

Column II

Position

12.1

Canada Development Investment Corporation
Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

Chairman

Président

28.2

Canadian Race Relations Foundation
Fondation canadienne des relations raciales

Executive Director
Directeur général

32.

Cape Breton Development Corporation
Société de développement du
Cap-Breton

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

32.1

Cape Breton Growth Fund Corporation
Corporation Fonds d'investissement du Cap-Breton

Chief Executive Officer

Premier dirigeant

38.1

Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation
Société d'expansion du Cap-Breton

Vice-President
Vice-président

52.1

Marine Atlantic Inc.

Marine Atlantique S.C.C.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

75.4

Old Port of Montreal Corporation Inc.

Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

76.001

Parc Downsview Park Inc.

Parc Downsview Park Inc.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

87.2

Queens Quay West Land Corporation
Queens Quay West Land Corporation

Senior Vice-President
Vice-président principal

89.

Ridley Terminals Inc.
Ridley Terminals Inc.

President
Président



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Modifications législatives

Modifications touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

La définition de « gouvernement autochtone », au paragraphe 13(3) de la Loi, comprend désormais deux autres gouvernements autochtones. Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-14 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi mettant en vigueur l’accord sur les revendications territoriales et l’autonomie gouvernementale conclu entre le peuple tlicho, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Canada et modifiant la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie et d’autres lois en conséquence, a reçu la sanction royale le 15 février 2004 et est entré en vigueur le 4 août 2005 [TR/2005-0054]. Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-56 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi portant sur la mise en vigueur de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador et de l’Accord sur le traitement fiscal des Inuit du Labrador, a reçu la sanction royale le 23 juin 2005 et est entré en vigueur le 1er décembre 2005 [TR/2005-0117].

C’est ainsi que le paragraphe 13(3) de la Loi se lit comme suit :

Définition de « gouvernement autochtone »

13.(3) L’expression « gouvernement autochtone » à l’alinéa (1)e) s’entend :

  1. du gouvernement nisga’a, au sens de l’Accord définitif nisga’a mis en vigueur par la Loi sur l’Accord définitif nisga’a; ou
  2. du conseil, au sens de l’Accord d’autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation de Westbank mis en vigueur par la Loi sur l’autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation de Westbank; ou
  3. du gouvernement tlicho, au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur les revendications territoriales et l’autonomie gouvernementale du peuple tlicho. (article 107); ou
  4. du gouvernement Nunatsiavut, selon la définition de l’article 2 de la Loi sur l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuits du Labrador.

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-11 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi prévoyant un mécanisme de dénonciation des actes répréhensibles et de protection des dénonciateurs dans le secteur public, a reçu la sanction royale le 25 novembre 2005 [Lois du Canada (2005), ch. 46] et entrera en vigueur au moment de sa proclamation. Ce projet de loi modifiera l’article 16 de la Loi en y ajoutant ce qui suit au paragraphe (1) :

(1.1) Le responsable d’une institution fédérale peut refuser la communication de documents datés de moins de cinq ans lors de la demande et contenant :

a) des renseignements préparés dans le cadre d’une divulgation d’actes répréhensibles faite en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d’actes répréhensibles ou d’une enquête menée sous le régime de la même loi;

b) des renseignements obtenus par un supérieur hiérarchique, par un agent supérieur désigné en application du paragraphe 10(2) de la même loi ou par le commissaire à l’intégrité du secteur public et ayant trait à une telle divulgation ou enquête menée, si les documents révèlent l’identité du fonctionnaire qui a fait la divulgation ou qui a collaboré à l’enquête, ou sont susceptibles d’en révéler l’identité.

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-25 (37e Législature, 2e session), intitulé Loi modernisant le régime de l’emploi et des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, modifiant la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et la Loi sur le Centre canadien de gestion et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois, a reçu la sanction royale le 10 novembre 2003 et les articles 224 et 225 sont entrés en vigueur le 1er avril 2005 [TR/2005-0024]. Le projet de loi modifie :

  • les paragraphes 55(4) et 57(4) de la Loi en remplaçant l’expression « Public Service of Canada » par « federal public administration » dans la version anglaise (article 224);
  • le paragraphe 55(3) de la Loi en remplaçant l’expression « Public Service » par « public service » dans la version anglaise, sauf dans les expressions « Public Service corporation », « Public Service Employment Act », « Public Service Pension Fund » et « Public Service Superannuation Act » (article 225).

Modifications touchant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-78 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi concernant la gestion des urgences et modifiant et abrogeant certaines lois, propose de modifier le paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi pour y ajouter ce qui suit à la suite de l’alinéa b) :

b.1) des renseignements qui, d’une part, sont fournis à une institution fédérale par un tiers en vue de l’élaboration, la mise à jour, la mise à l’essai ou la mise en oeuvre par celle-ci de plans de gestion des urgences au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences et, d’autre part, portent sur la vulnérabilité des bâtiments ou autres ouvrages de ce tiers ou de ses réseaux ou systèmes, y compris ses réseaux ou systèmes informatiques ou de communication, ou sur les méthodes employées pour leur protection (…).

Le projet de loi prévoit également de modifier la disposition de dérogation au principe de l’intérêt public, au paragraphe 20(6), comme suit :

20(6) Le responsable d’une institution fédérale peut communiquer, en tout ou en partie, tout document contenant les renseignements visés à l’un des alinéas (1)b) à d)

a) pour des raisons d’intérêt public concernant la santé ou la sécurité publiques ou la protection de l’environnement;

b) les raisons d’intérêt public doivent de plus justifier nettement les conséquences éventuelles de la communication pour un tiers : pertes ou profits financiers, atteintes à la sécurité de ses ouvrages, réseaux ou systèmes, atteintes à sa compétitivité ou entraves aux négociations qu’il mène en vue de contrats ou à d’autres fins.

(2005, projet de loi C-78, article 8; a fait l’objet d’une première lecture le 17 novembre 2005).

Modifications touchant les annexes I et II

Au cours de l’exercice 2005-2006, de nouvelles institutions fédérales sont devenues assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, tandis que d’autres, abolies, ont été rayées de la liste. D’autres interdictions de communication ont été ajoutées à la liste des dispositions de l’annexe II. Les modifications suivantes ont été apportées aux annexes I et II de la Loi.

Par décret établi en vertu du paragraphe 77(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Gazette du Canada, Partie II, TR/2005-75, en vigueur le 21 septembre 2005, décret 2005-1489), l’annexe I a été modifiée, et les institutions gouvernementales suivantes ont été ajoutées, par ordre alphabétique, à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales » :

Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

Fondation canadienne des relations raciales

Société de développement du Cap-Breton

Corporation Fonds d'investissement du Cap-Breton

Société d'expansion du Cap-Breton

Marine Atlantique S.C.C.

Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc.

Parc Downsview Park Inc.

Queens Quay West Land Corporation

Ridley Terminals Inc.

Ce décret était accompagné du Résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation suivant :

Le président du Conseil du Trésor a demandé que les dix sociétés d’État suivantes soient ajoutées à l’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à l’annexe de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels : la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada, la Fondation canadienne des relations raciales, la Société de développement du Cap-Breton, la Corporation Fonds d'investissement du Cap-Breton, la Société d'expansion du Cap-Breton, Marine Atlantique S.C.C., la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc., Parc Downsview Park Inc., Queens Quay West Land Corporation et Ridley Terminals Inc.

Le 17 février 2005, le président du Conseil du Trésor, Reg Alcock, a déposé à la Chambre des communes un rapport sur la gouvernance des sociétés d'État intitulé Répondre aux attentes des Canadiens et des Canadiennes — Examen du cadre de gouvernance des sociétés d'État canadiennes. Ce rapport contient 31 mesures conçues pour renforcer considérablement la gouvernance et la reddition des comptes des sociétés d'État canadiennes. L'une des mesures consiste à étendre la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (et par conséquent, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels) aux dix sociétés d'État en question au moyen d’un décret.

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-9(38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi constituant l’Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec, a reçu la sanction royale le 23 juin 2005 et est entré en vigueur le 5 octobre 2005 [TR/2005-101]. Le paragraphe 18(7) prévoit qu’un renvoi à l’ancien organisme est réputé être un renvoi au nouvel organisme : il n’est pas nécessaire de modifier l’annexe I, car le nom de l’Agence est déjà inscrit à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales ».

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-22 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi constituant le ministère du Développement social et modifiant et abrogeant certaines lois, a reçu la sanction royale le 20 juillet 2005 et est entré en vigueur le 5 octobre 2005 [TR/2005-97]. L’article 42 du projet de loi modifie l’annexe I en y ajoutant, à la rubrique « Ministères et ministères d’État » l’inscription : « Department of Social Development / Ministère du Développement social ». Les articles 43 et 44 modifient respectivement l’annexe II en remplaçant le renvoi à l’article 104 (en face de Régime de pensions du Canada) par un renvoi au paragraphe 104.01(1) et le renvoi à l’article 33 (en face de Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse) par un renvoi au paragraphe 33.01(1).

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-23 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi constituant le ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences et modifiant et abrogeant certaines lois, a reçu la sanction royale le 20 juillet 2005 et est entré en vigueur le 5 octobre 2005 [TR/2005-99]. L’article 58 modifie l’annexe I en y supprimant ce qui suit à la rubrique « Ministères et ministères d’État » : « Department of Human Resources Development/Ministère du Développement des ressources humaines ». L’article 59 modifie l’annexe I en y ajoutant ce qui suit, par ordre alphabétique, à la rubrique « Ministères et ministères d’État » : « Department of Human Resources and Skills Development/Ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences ». L’article 60 modifie l’annexe I en y supprimant ce qui suit à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales » : « Department of Human Resources and Skills Development/Ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences ». Par ailleurs, l’article 61 modifie l’annexe II en y supprimant le renvoi à « Department of Human Resources Development Act/Loi sur le Ministère du Développement des ressources humaines » et le renvoi correspondant à l’article 33.5.

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-26 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi constituant l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, a reçu la sanction royale le 2 novembre 2005. L’article 16 et le paragraphe 19(1) sont entrés en vigueur le 12 décembre 2005. Il n’est pas nécessaire de modifier l’annexe I, car l’ancien organisme (Agence des services frontaliers du Canada) est déjà inscrit à l’annexe. Tout renvoi à l’ancien organisme est réputé être un renvoi au nouvel organisme et à toute ordonnance du gouverneur en conseil rendue en vertu de l’alinéa b) de la définition de « responsable » à l’article 3 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-43 (38e Législature, 1re session), intituléLoi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement, a reçu la sanction royale et est entré en vigueur le 29 juin 2005 (Lois du Canada (2005), ch. 30). L’article 88 modifie l’annexe I en y ajoutant ce qui suit à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales » : « Canada Emission Reductions Incentives Agency / Agence canadienne pour l’incitation à la réduction des émissions ».

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-6(37e Législature, 3e session), intitulé Loi concernant la procréation assistée et la recherche connexe, a reçu la sanction royale le 29 mars 2004. L’article 72 est entré en vigueur le 12 janvier 2006 [TR/2004-49]. Cette disposition modifie l’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en y ajoutant ce qui suit, par ordre alphabétique, à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales » : « Assisted Human Reproduction Agency of Canada / Agence canadienne de contrôle de la procréation assistée ».

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-25 (37e Législature, 2e session), intitulé Loi modernisant le régime de l'emploi et des relations de travail dans la fonction publique, modifiant la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et la Loi sur le Centre canadien de gestion et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d'autres lois, a reçu la sanction royale le 10 novembre 2003. L’article 88 est entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2005 [TR/2005-0024]. Cette disposition modifie l’annexe I de la Loi en y remplaçant, dans la version anglaise, le renvoi à « Public Service Staff Relations Board » (rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales ») par le renvoi à « Public Service Labour Relations Board ».

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-6 (37e Législature, 2e session), intitulé Loi constituant le Centre canadien du règlement indépendant des revendications particulières des premières nations en vue de permettre le dépôt, la négociation et le règlement des revendications particulières, et modifiant certaines lois en conséquence,a reçu la sanction royale le 7 novembre 2003. Les articles 78 et 79, une fois proclamés (ils n’étaient pas encore entrés en vigueur au 31 mars 2006), modifieront l’annexe I en y ajoutant, à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales » : « Canadian Centre for the Independent Resolution of First Nations Specific Claims / Centre canadien du règlement indépendant des revendications particulières des premières nations ». Ils modifieront également l’annexe II en y ajoutant un renvoi à « Specific Claims Resolution Act / Loi sur le règlement des revendications particulières » et un renvoi correspondant à l’article 38 et aux paragraphes 62(2) et 75(2) de cette Loi.

Par décret C.P. 2006-44 publié le 6 février 2006, l’annexe I de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est modifiée par suppression du ministère du Commerce international à la rubrique « Autres institutions gouvernementales ».

Modifications touchant les annexes I et II

Au cours de la 38e Législature, un certain nombre de modifications législatives ont été proposées concernant les annexes I et II de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Aucun progrès n’a été enregistré au cours de l’exercice 2005-2006 concernant le projet de loi gouvernemental C-31 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi constituant le ministère du Commerce international et apportant des modifications connexes à certaines lois, et le projet de loi gouvernemental C-32 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi modifiant la Loi sur le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international et apportant des modifications corrélatives à d’autres lois (pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, pages 72-73).

Le projet de loi gouvernemental C-62 (38e Législature, 1re session), intitulé Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’aéronautique et d’autres lois en conséquence, modifie l’annexe II de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en y remplaçant le renvoi aux paragraphes 4.79(1) et 6.5(5) (en face du renvoi à la Loi sur l’aéronautique) par toute une série d’interdictions supplémentaires de communication énumérées comme suit : « paragraphe 4.79(1), articles 5.392 et 5.393, paragraphes 5.394(2), 5.397(2), 6.5(5), 22(2) et 24.1(4) et article 24.7 ». (Le projet de loi a fait l’objet d’une première lecture le 28 septembre 2005.)

Modifications du décret sur la désignation des responsables d’institutions gouvernementales

L’annexe de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information intitulée Décret sur la désignation des responsables d’institutions fédérales est modifiée par l’ajout de ce qui suit, par ordre numérique (Gazette du Canada, Partie II, TR/2005-75, en vigueur le 21 septembre 2005, décret 2005-1491) :

Article

Colonne I
Institution gouvernementale

Colonne II
Poste

12.1

Canada Development Investment Corporation
Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

Chairman
Président

28.2

Canadian Race Relations Foundation
Fondation canadienne des relations raciales

Executive Director
Directeur général

32.

Cape Breton Development Corporation
Société de développement du
Cap-Breton

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

32.1

Cape Breton Growth Fund Corporation
Corporation Fonds d'investissement du Cap-Breton

Chief Executive Officer

Premier dirigeant

38.1

Enterprise Cape Breton Corporation
Société d'expansion du Cap-Breton

Vice-President
Vice-président

52.1

Marine Atlantic Inc.

Marine Atlantique S.C.C.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

75.4

Old Port of Montreal Corporation Inc.

Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

76.001

Parc Downsview Park Inc.

Parc Downsview Park Inc.

President and Chief Executive Officer
Président et premier dirigeant

87.2

Queens Quay West Land Corporation
Queens Quay West Land Corporation

Senior Vice-President
Vice-président principal

89.

Ridley Terminals Inc.
Ridley Terminals Inc.

President
Président


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant