Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

High Points

The positive highlight of the year was the election promise by now Prime Minister Harper to make it one of his very first orders of business to introduce the "Open Government Act". This Act – a package of comprehensive amendments to strengthen the Access to Information Act – was drafted by the Office of the Information Commissioner at the request of the pre-election Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. It received the approbation of the Standing Committee in one of its final acts before the election. Many of the proposals contained in the proposed Open Government Act were also endorsed by Justice Gomery in his second report.

At the end of this reporting year, Parliament had not resumed and so, at this writing, there are many unknowns, including whether or not the new government will get "cold feet", and how the other parties will react to the proposed Open Government Act in a minority government situation. Information commissioners, through bitter experience, have a profound appreciation for the ability of governments to disappoint when it comes to making good on promises to beef-up access rights. Even new governments, history has shown, quickly lose the courage and determination to give Canadians stronger access to information rights. Nevertheless, in the 23 years since the Access to Information Act came into force, this is the closest we have ever come to comprehensive reform and strengthening of this law.

Reform Required

The need for reform is pressing. Year after year, by commissioner after commissioner, Parliament is told that many public officials – both elected and non-elected – just don’t get it! They don’t get the basic notion that, in passing the Access to Information Act in 1983, Parliament wanted a shift of power away from ministers and bureaucrats to citizens. Parliament wanted members of the public to have the positive legal right to get the facts, not the "spin"; to get the source records, not the managed message; to get whatever records they wanted, not just what public officials felt they should know.

Ministers and bureaucrats, regrettably, didn’t get the memo on this one! Still, after almost 23 years of living with the Access to Information Act, the name of the game, all too often, is how to resist transparency and engage in damage control by ignoring response deadlines, blacking-out the embarrassing bits, conducting business orally, excluding records and institutions from the coverage of the Access to Information Act, and keeping the system’s watchdog overworked and under-funded.

No; of course not – it is not all bad news. There has been progress. But the clear lesson of these past years is that governments continue to distrust and resist the Access to Information Act and the oversight of the Information Commissioner. Even in its very early days, the new government has already launched a court action against the Information Commissioner, challenging powers that the Information Commissioner has exercised for many years, and which even the litigious Chrétien administration did not challenge.

Vigilance, by users, the media, academics, the judiciary, information commissioners, and Members of Parliament, must be maintained against the very real pressures from governments to take back from citizens the power to control what, and when, information will be disclosed.

Each and every one of the fine initiatives to improve government accountability that were put forward by Justice Gomery, by the parties during the election and by the Liberal government in response to the sponsorship scandal, require the nourishment of unfiltered knowledge about what goes on in government, if they are to be truly effective. There can be no true accountability, or true disincentive for corruption and maladministration, without the bright light of transparency. That was the motivation for the changes the Information Commissioner published this year in the form of the Open Government Act.

At the heart of the suggested changes is a mandatory requirement to create records, backed up by penalties for non-compliance. Once adopted, one of the top priorities of the public service – if not the government – will be to establish record-creation and record-retention protocols for every business line and activity of government – from staffing and classification, to pay and benefits, to contracting, to grants and contributions, to investigations and audits, to policy development and advice-giving and to managerial activities. Why will all this be a priority? Because accepted record-creation and record-retention standards for all business lines will be a prudent defence against accusations of failure to comply with this new duty to create records.

Justice Gomery also saw this critical link between records management and good accountable governance. This is what Justice Gomery had to say:

"The Commission concurs with the Information Commissioner that there should be mandatory record-keeping in government, and that the obligation to create a "paper trail" should be something more than a matter of policy. It should be an explicit part of the law of Canada."

"Accordingly, the Commission agrees that the Access to Information Act should be amended to include an obligation on the part of every officer and employee of a government institution to create records that document decisions and recommendations, and that it should be an offence to fail to create those records. Going further, the Commission believes that there should also be free-standing record-keeping legislation which would require public servants and persons acting on behalf of the Government to collect, create, receive and capture information in a way that documents decisions and decision-making processes leading to the disbursement of public funds. This would make it possible to reconstruct the evolution of spending policies and programs, support the continuity of government and its decision-making, and allow for independent audit and review. Such record-keeping legislation should state clearly that deliberate destruction of documentation and failure to comply with record-keeping obligations are grounds for dismissal."

"The reason for the creation of legal obligations to maintain and not to destroy government records, in addition to similar rules in the access to information regime, is that the rationale for mandatory record-keeping does more than facilitate public access to information: it ensures good government and accountability, a requirement consistent with the theme of the Commission’s overall recommendations."

[Gomery Report #2 at pp. 180-181]

Indeed, the legal requirement to create records is a vitally important first step – but only a first step. The entire life cycle of recorded information held by government requires regulation. The good guidance given in the government’s policy on management of government information (MGI Policy) has not been implemented in practice to an acceptable extent. Now is the time for a comprehensive information management act that will enshrine accountabilities for monitoring and enforcement – accountabilities which are, at present, highly confusing.

At present, the only statute that specifically mandates a minister to pay attention to how the government’s information is managed is the Access to Information Act. Section 70 of the Act contains this provision:

Section 70(1) "… the designated Minister (President of the Treasury Board) shall

(a) cause to be kept under review the manner in which records under the control of government institutions are maintained and managed to ensure compliance with the provisions of this Act and the regulations relating to access to records."

This is the statutory basis for the MGI policy, yet no President of the Treasury Board, in the 23 years since the Act’s passage, has ever caused a single study to be made into the effect on access rights of information management practices. Yes, there have been efficiency studies, and e-government studies, and procurement initiatives and standards, and all the other good and important initiatives undertaken over the years by the Chief Information Officer Branch of the Treasury Board Secretariat, but virtually no attention paid to the statutory mandate.

The Office of the Information Commissioner intends to devote some considerable attention to monitoring how the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) is fulfilling its statutory obligations under the Access to Information Act, and this is, perhaps, the most important of those obligations. The other obligation placed on TBS by law is to ensure that all government institutions capture and report annually statistics on how the Access to Information Act is being administered. For almost 23 years, TBS has been content to capture only basic descriptive information, such as numbers of requests, categories of requesters, exemptions invoked, and so forth. Statistics that reveal performance deficits or successes are not captured. For example, government institutions are not required to publish the percentage of requests received that are answered late – a highly reliable predictor of the state of health of access administration in any institution. If the proposed Open Government Act is adopted, some gathering of basic performance data would be mandatory.

The proposed new Open Government Act, which the Information Commissioner presented to the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in October of 2005, contains the following features:

  1. All exemptions should contain an injury test and be discretionary. As well, all exemptions should be subject to a public interest override. In this way, Parliament would send the clear message that this is an openness law not a secrecy code, and that the default position is disclosure.
     
  2. Public officials should be required to document their decisions, actions, considerations, and deliberations. This law, this right of access, means nothing if public officials don’t keep appropriate records and conduct governance in an oral culture.
     
  3. The last vestiges of unreviewable government secrecy – i.e. cabinet confidences – should be brought within the coverage of the law and the review jurisdiction of the commissioner. Cabinet confidentiality risks being broadly, and too self-servingly, applied by governments when it is free from independent oversight.
     
  4. The coverage of the access law must be made comprehensive to all the mechanisms of government through which public funds are spent or public functions discharged. Of course, this would include all Crown Corporations, Foundations and Agents of Parliament, as well as ministers’ offices and the Prime Minister’s Office. The right to know is at profound risk when governments have the discretion to decide which entities, and hence which records, will be subject to the right of access and which will not. The very purpose of the Access to Information Act was to remove the caprice from decisions about disclosure of government records; now is the time to remove the caprice from decisions about which entities will be subject to the Act.
     
  5. Connected with this notion, that the coverage of the Act should be comprehensive, is the notion that the Act should be a complete code setting out the openness/secrecy balance. No longer should secrecy provisions in other statutes be permitted to be mandatory, in perpetuity, without meeting any of the tests of secrecy in the Act’s substantive exemptions. Section 24 of the Access to Information Act, which sets out this open-ended, mandatory, class exemption, should be abolished.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

... et les hauts

La bonne nouvelle de l’année a été la promesse électorale de l’actuel premier ministre Harper d’introduire prioritairement la « Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement». Cette Loi, qui est un ensemble de modifications exhaustives destinées à consolider la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, a été rédigée par le Commissariat à l’information à la demande du Comité permanent préélectoral sur l’accès à l’information, la protection de la vie privée et l’éthique. Elle a été approuvée par le Comité permanent, dont c’était l’une des dernières décisions avant les élections. Plusieurs des propositions contenues dans le projet de Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement ont également été entérinées par le juge Gomery dans son deuxième rapport.

À la fin de la période visée par ce rapport, le Parlement n’avait pas repris ses travaux, et, au moment où nous le rédigeons, il y a encore beaucoup d’inconnues, dont la question de savoir si le nouveau gouvernement va « se dégonfler » et comment les autres partis vont réagir au projet de Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement dans une situation de gouvernement minoritaire. Les Commissaires à l’information connaissent malheureusement bien l’aptitude des gouvernements à décevoir lorsqu’ils doivent tenir leurs promesses concernant la consolidation des droits d’accès. Même les gouvernements fraîchement portés au pouvoir, comme l’histoire l’atteste, perdent rapidement le courage et la détermination dont ils devraient faire preuve pour donner aux Canadiens des droits d’accès plus solides. Il demeure que, durant les 23 années qui se sont écoulées depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, nous n’avons jamais été aussi près d’une réforme en profondeur et d’une consolidation de cette Loi.

La réforme nécessaire

La réforme est un besoin pressant. Année après année, Commissaire après Commissaire, le Parlement se fait rappeler que beaucoup de fonctionnaires, élus et non élus, ne comprennent toujours pas! Ils ne comprennent pas la notion de base selon laquelle, en adoptant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 1983, le Parlement voulait faire passer le pouvoir des mains des ministres et des bureaucrates aux mains des citoyens. Le Parlement voulait que les citoyens aient le droit, en vertu de la Loi, d’obtenir des faits et non pas des « effets », d’obtenir des documents bruts et non pas des messages digérés et d’avoir accès aux documents qu’ils voulaient et pas simplement à ceux que des fonctionnaires estimaient qu’ils pouvaient avoir accès.

Les ministres et les bureaucrates n’ont malheureusement pas reçu la note de service à ce sujet! Encore aujourd’hui, après 23 années d’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le mot d’ordre est bien trop souvent : comment résister à la transparence et sauver les meubles en ignorant les délais de réponse, en camouflant les documents embarrassants, en ne documentant pas les décisions, en excluant des documents et des institutions du champ d’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et en surchargeant et en finançant insuffisamment l’organisme chargé de la surveillance.

Non, bien sûr que non, il n’y a pas que des mauvaises nouvelles. Il y a eu des progrès. Mais les dernières années nous ont fait clairement comprendre que les gouvernements continuent de se méfier de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et du rôle de surveillance du Commissaire à l’information et d’y résister. À peine arrivé au pouvoir, le nouveau gouvernement a déjà intenté une action en justice contre le Commissaire à l’information pour contester des pouvoirs que celui-ci exerce depuis de nombreuses années et que même le très enclin au litige gouvernement Chrétien n’a jamais contestés.

Les utilisateurs, les médias, les universitaires, les juges, le Commissaire à l’information et les députés doivent rester vigilants à l’égard des pressions très réelles exercées par des gouvernements désireux de reprendre aux citoyens le pouvoir de déterminer quelle information est divulguée et quand elle l’est.

Toutes les mesures destinées à améliorer la responsabilisation du gouvernement qui ont été proposées par le juge Gomery, par les partis pendant la période électorale et par le gouvernement libéral en réponse au scandale des commandites supposent que soit alimenté un savoir non filtré sur ce qui se passe au gouvernement si l’on veut qu’elles soient véritablement efficaces. Il ne saurait y avoir de responsabilisation digne de ce nom ni de dissuasion réelle de la corruption et de la prévarication, sans la lumière crue de la transparence. C’était la raison des changements proposés par le Commissaire à l’information cette année sous la forme du projet de Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement.

Au cœur des modifications proposées, il y a l’obligation législative de créer des documents, assortie de sanctions en cas de non-conformité. Une fois la Loi adoptée, l’une des principales priorités de la fonction publique, sinon du gouvernement, sera de mettre au point des protocoles de création et de conservation des documents pour tous les secteurs d’activité et toutes les activités du gouvernement, de la dotation et la classification, en passant par la rémunération et les avantages sociaux, l’attribution de contrats, les subventions et contributions, les enquêtes et les vérifications, l’élaboration de politiques et d’avis et les activités de gestion. Pourquoi en faire une priorité? Parce que l’instauration de normes de création et de conservation des documents pour tous les secteurs d’activité sera un mode de défense prudent contre les accusations de non-conformité à la nouvelle obligation de créer des documents.

Le juge Gomery a, lui aussi, aperçu ce lien crucial entre la gestion des documents et une bonne gouvernance responsable. Voici ce qu’il avait à dire à ce sujet :

« La Commission convient avec le Commissaire à l’information que la tenue de dossiers devrait être obligatoire au gouvernement, et que l’obligation de produire une « piste papier » devrait être plus qu’une politique et être énoncée de manière explicite dans une loi. »

« Par conséquent, la Commission partage son opinion qu’il convient de modifier la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour y stipuler que chaque agent ou employé d’un organisme du gouvernement a l’obligation de créer des dossiers documentant ses décisions et recommandations, et que toute dérogation à cette règle constituera une infraction. De plus, la Commission croit qu’il devrait également y avoir une législation autonome sur la tenue de dossiers, exigeant des fonctionnaires et des personnes agissant au nom du gouvernement qu’elles rassemblent, créent, reçoivent et saisissent les informations de manière à documenter les décisions et processus de décision ayant entraîné le déboursement de deniers publics. Cela permettrait de retracer l’évolution des politiques et programmes de dépenses, améliorerait la continuité des services gouvernementaux et des processus de décision, et permettrait d’entreprendre des examens et vérifications indépendants. On devrait indiquer clairement dans cette législation sur la tenue de dossiers que détruire délibérément des documents et déroger aux obligations de documentation serait un motif de congédiement. »

« La raison pour laquelle il convient de créer l’obligation légale de maintenir et de ne pas détruire des dossiers gouvernementaux, outre que cela correspond à des dispositions similaires du régime d’accès à l’information, est que cela fait plus que de faciliter l’accès du public à l’information, cela contribue aussi aux objectifs de bon gouvernement et d’imputabilité concordant avec le thème général des recommandations de la Commission. »

[Rapport Gomery, Rétablir l’imputabilité, Recommandations, pages 198 à 199)

L’obligation législative de créer des documents est effectivement une première mesure absolument indispensable, mais ce n’est qu’une première mesure. C’est tout le cycle de l’enregistrement de l’information gouvernementale qui doit être réglementé. Les directives fournies dans la Politique sur la gestion de l’information gouvernementale (Politique GIG) n’ont pas été appliquées dans une mesure acceptable. Il est temps d’adopter une loi exhaustive sur la gestion de l’information pour attribuer les responsabilités de surveillance et d’exécution de la loi, qui sont très floues à l’heure actuelle.

Pour l’instant, la seule loi qui donne précisément aux ministres le mandat de veiller à la façon dont l’information gouvernementale est gérée est la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’article 70 se lit comme suit :

70(1) (…) le ministre désigné [président du Conseil du Trésor] est responsable :

    1. du contrôle des modalités de tenue et de gestion des documents relevant des institutions fédérales dans le but d’en assurer la conformité avec la présente loi et ses règlements (…).

Cette disposition est le fondement législatif de la Politique GIG, et pourtant aucun président du Conseil du Trésor, dans les 23 ans d’existence de la Loi, n’a jamais commandé d’étude sur les répercussions des pratiques de gestion de l’information sur le droit d’accès. Oui, c’est vrai, la Direction du dirigeant principal de l’information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a, au cours des années, procédé à des études sur l’efficacité et des études sur le cybergouvernement, adopté des mesures et des normes d’approvisionnement et pris toutes sortes d’autres mesures importantes et valables, mais elle ne s’est presque jamais intéressée au mandat législatif.

Le Commissariat à l’information a l’intention de surveiller de près la façon dont le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) remplit les obligations que lui impose la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et ce dont nous parlons est peut-être son obligation la plus importante. Les autres sont de veiller à ce que toutes les institutions gouvernementales recueillent des statistiques annuelles sur l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et en rendent compte. Pendant presque 23 ans, le SCT s’est contenté de recueillir des données descriptives de base, par exemple sur le nombre de demandes, les catégories de demandeurs, les exceptions invoquées, etc. Il n’existe pas de statistiques sur l’exécution et les résultats. Par exemple, les institutions gouvernementales ne sont pas tenues de publier le pourcentage de demandes auxquelles on répond tardivement, qui constitue un indicateur sûr de la santé de l’administration de l’accès à l’information dans n’importe quelle institution. Si le projet de Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement est adopté, il sera obligatoire de recueillir des données de base sur les résultats.

Le nouveau projet de Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement, que le Commissaire a présenté au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection de la vie privée et de l’éthique en octobre 2005, comporte les caractéristiques suivantes :

  1. Toutes les exceptions devraient être discrétionnaires et assorties d’un critère subjectif. Elles peuvent toutes être annulées au nom de l’intérêt public. De la sorte, le Parlement ferait clairement comprendre qu’il s’agit d’une loi sur la transparence et non un code du secret et que la solution par défaut est la divulgation.
  2. Les fonctionnaires devraient être tenus d’étayer leurs décisions, leurs actions, leurs considérations et leurs délibérations par des documents. Cette loi et le droit d’accès n’ont aucune valeur si les fonctionnaires ne conservent pas les documents nécessaires et remplissent leurs fonctions dans une culture orale.
  3. Les derniers vestiges du secret gouvernemental non accessibles à l’examen à savoir les documents confidentiels du Cabinet, devraient être assujettis à l’application de la Loi et à la compétence du Commissaire en matière d’examen. Le principe de la confidentialité des documents du Cabinet risque d’être appliqué trop largement et de façon trop intéressée par les gouvernements lorsqu’il n’existe pas d’organe de surveillance indépendant.
  4. La Loi d’accès doit s’appliquer intégralement à tous les mécanismes gouvernementaux par lesquels les fonds publics sont dépensés ou les tâches gouvernementales sont exécutées. Il faudrait, bien entendu, inclure l’ensemble des sociétés d’État, des fondations, des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement et des cabinets de ministre, ainsi que le Cabinet du premier ministre. Le droit de savoir est très compromis lorsque des gouvernements ont le pouvoir discrétionnaire de décider quelles entités et, par conséquent, quels documents seront assujettis ou non au droit d’accès. L’objet de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information était précisément de supprimer le caractère capricieux des décisions concernant l’accès aux documents du gouvernement : il est temps de supprimer le caractère capricieux des décisions concernant les entités qui doivent être assujetties à la Loi.
  5. Parallèlement au principe d’application intégrale de la Loi, il y a le principe que la Loi devrait constituer un code complet équilibrant transparence et secret. Les dispositions relatives au secret énoncées dans d’autres lois ne devraient plus être exécutoires, perpétuelles et exclues de l’application des critères de secret associés aux exceptions sur le fond prévues par la Loi. L’article 24 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui énonce cette exception de catégorie, exécutoire et sans échéance, devrait être abrogé.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant