Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

IV. Cases in progress – Information Commissioner as an Intervener

The Attorney General of Canada

v. H.J. Heinz Co. of Canada Ltd. and The Information Commissioner of Canada, SCC 30417, Supreme Court (See Annual Report 2004-2005, pp. 64-65 for more details)

The principal question is whether or not third parties are entitled to raise exemptions, other than section 20, during the course of a section 44 court review of a department’s decision to disclose requested records. This appeal was heard on November 7, 2005. The outcome of this appeal will be reported in next year’s annual report.

Minister of Justice

v. Sheldon Blank, the Attorney General for Ontario, the Advocates’ Society and the Information Commissioner of Canada
, SCC 30553, Supreme Court

Nature of Proceedings

This was an appeal to the Supreme Court of Canada from the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal in Blank v. Canada (Department of Justice), 2004 FCA 287.

Factual Background

Sheldon Blank, the owner and operator of a pulp and paper mill, had sought the release of a large number of documents related to charges of regulatory offences laid against him by the federal government. Thirteen charges had been laid against him and his company, Gateway Industries Ltd., in 1995. Eight of these charges were quashed by the Manitoba Provincial Court in 1997, and five were quashed by the Manitoba Queen’s Bench Court in April 2001. The Crown then laid new charges in July 2002 by way of indictment, but stayed them in February 2004 and declared it would not pursue the prosecution. Mr. Blank and his company sued the federal government for damages for alleged fraud, conspiracy, perjury, and abuse of prosecutorial powers. Mr. Blank’s access requests related to obtaining information about how the charges against him had been handled internally.

The first of Mr. Blank’s requests yielded the release of approximately 2,297 pages of material, with another 1,226 pages withheld, and 36 pages partially withheld. In May 1999, he filed a second request for all the pages that had been exempted under the first request. He did obtain release of another few hundred pages, but otherwise the exemptions were maintained. He then filed a complaint with the Information Commissioner. During the investigation, an additional few hundred pages of documents were released in whole or in part. However, some pages remained withheld, particularly those for which solicitor-client privilege under section 23 of the Act had been claimed. Mr. Blank filed for judicial review in the Federal Court concerning the remaining pages.

Justice Campbell of the Federal Court upheld most of the claimed exemptions in the trial decision, Blank v. Canada (Department of Justice), 2003 FC 462, but ordered the release of some additional documents, including three that were covered by litigation privilege. Justice Campbell found that litigation privilege ends when the litigation in question terminates. He ruled that, since the charges against Mr. Blank had long been stayed, there was no remaining protection for documents that were subject to litigation privilege only. Justice Campbell acknowledged that litigation privilege is considered part of solicitor-client privilege under section 23 of the Act and therefore subject to exemption where it applies. However, once litigation privilege ceases at common law, it is no longer applicable under the Act.

Mr. Blank appealed this decision to the Federal Court of Appeal, seeking the release of further documents that had continued to be exempted. The Crown cross-appealed on the issue of whether litigation privilege terminates with the litigation and is, at that point, no longer applicable under section 23 of the Act. The Federal Court of Appeal was unanimous in dismissing Mr. Blank’s appeal, but split on the cross-appeal. Justices Pelletier and Décary agreed that litigation privilege, while included in section 23 of the Act, is of limited duration and ends with the litigation itself. Justice Létourneau disagreed and stated in dissent that, while litigation privilege is indeed included under section 23 of the Act, any time limit at common law would not apply in the access context.

In Justice Létourneau’s dissenting view, since section 23 is discretionary, there cannot be an involuntary termination of the privilege, since that would nullify or at least restrict the government’s discretion as granted to them by the Act. He concluded that, for policy reasons, access requesters should not be able to use the Act to seek documents that would not normally be available to them through regular disclosure. He noted that there were particular problems with allowing people to access litigation documents for the kind of actions that the government pursues on a regular basis, especially in cases of criminal prosecution, since the Crown might re-use the same strategy with more than one litigant, who could then gain a strategic advantage by making an access request. He recommended that the competing interests be assessed on a case-by-case basis with each claim under the Act. However, he noted that the Crown had not put forward any evidence justifying the exercise of its refusal to disclose in this particular case for the Court to weigh.

The further issue of whether those documents that were subject to solicitor-client privilege could be severed under section 25 of the Act was sent back to the Federal Court for re-determination, where it was concluded by Justice Mosley in Blank v. Canada (Department of Justice), 2005 FC 1551, that:

  • Despite the paramount nature of section 25 of the Act, it is not reasonable to expect severance of disconnected snippets of information. Where documents covered by solicitor-client privilege only contain a few words or phrases that would not be privileged, there is no need to sever them. Severance under section 25 is only required where it is reasonable.
  • Substantive information contained in the privileged documents, such as, in this case, a list of other documents that may not be covered by privilege, can be severed and disclosed. However, it must be discrete and coherent data for which there is no reasonable basis to claim privilege.
  • Since disclosure by the Crown is mandatory in criminal proceedings, this cannot be considered a voluntary or implied waiver of privilege.
  • In the context of the Act, a partial waiver of privilege cannot be considered a full waiver for disclosure purposes.

Meanwhile, the Crown sought and received leave to appeal the Federal Court of Appeal’s decision to the Supreme Court of Canada. Leave was granted in April 2005, and the hearing was held in December 2005. The Information Commissioner appeared as an intervener, as did the Advocates’ Society and the Attorney-General of Ontario. Mr. Blank was self-represented.

Issues Before the Court

Is litigation privilege, as encompassed in section 23 of the Act, subject to a durational limit?

Arguments

The Information Commissioner argued that, according to the federal jurisprudence, solicitor-client privilege has two branches. The first is the traditional legal advice privilege, which protects communications between counsel and client. The second is litigation privilege, which protects the counsel and client’s preparation for litigation and terminates once that litigation is over. The Information Commissioner agreed with the other parties that both were covered by section 23 of the Act. The Information Commissioner also agreed with the Federal Court of Appeal’s position that the application of the privilege is governed by the common law and the duration limit applies.

The Information Commissioner argued that any notion that the litigation preparations of Crown counsel should be given indefinite protection would be inconsistent with the purpose of the Act and the fact that exceptions to access must be limited and specific. The Information Commissioner also argued that the discretion to disclose under section 23 must be exercised in accordance with these principles as well. The Information Commissioner noted that any client-counsel communications exchanged as part of preparation for litigation would be covered by the indefinite legal advice branch of the privilege, so there was no need to worry that they would be disclosed under the Act anyway.

The Crown argued at the hearing for a single underlying rationale for both branches of the privilege which did not justify the imposition of a durational limit on the litigation branch of the privilege. The Attorney-General of Ontario supported this position. The Advocates’ Society, on the other hand, took the view that the two privileges were so different in rationale and scope as to almost constitute two separate privileges, although it acknowledged that both were covered under section 23 of the Act. The Advocates’ Society also requested from the Court a set of principled guidelines for applying litigation privilege and identifying the type of documents that fall under it, in keeping with the demands of modern litigation.

Mr. Blank argued for the maximum disclosure possible under the law.

Outcome

The Supreme Court took its decision under reserve, and the outcome will be reported in next year’s annual report.

IV. Cases in progress – Information Commissioner as an Intervener



Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

IV. Affaires en cours – le Commissaire à l'information comme intervenant

Procureur général du Canada c. H.J. Heinz Co. of Canada Ltd. et Commissaire à l’information of Canada, C.S.C. 30417, Cour suprême (pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, p. 64)

La principale question est de savoir si des tiers sont habilités à proposer des exceptions en vertu d’autres articles que l’article 20 au cours d’un contrôle judiciaire, en vertu de l’article 44, de la décision d’un ministère de communiquer des documents demandés. L’appel a été entendu le 7 novembre 2005. Nous rendrons compte de l’issue de l’affaire dans le prochain rapport annuel.

Ministre de la Justice c. Sheldon Blank, Procureur général de l’Ontario, Advocates Society et Commissaire à l’information of Canada, C.S.C. 30553, Cour suprême.

Nature de l’instance

Cette instance renvoie à un appel devant la Cour suprême du Canada de la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale dans Blank c. Canada (ministère de la Justice), 2004 C.A.F. 287.

Les faits

Sheldon Blank, propriétaire exploitant d’une usine de pâtes et papiers, avait demandé accès à un grand nombre de documents ayant trait à des accusations d’infractions à la réglementation portées contre lui par le gouvernement fédéral. Treize accusations avaient été portées contre lui et son entreprise, Gateway Industries Ltd., en 1995. Huit de ces accusations ont été annulées par la Cour provinciale du Manitoba en 1997, et cinq l’ont été par la Cour du Banc de la Reine du Manitoba en avril 2001. Le gouvernement a porté de nouvelles accusations en juillet 2002, puis il a décidé d’y surseoir en février 2004, déclarant qu’il n’y donnerait pas suite. M. Blank et son entreprise ont poursuivi le gouvernement fédéral en dommages-intérêts pour présomption de fraude, de complot, de parjure et d’abus de pouvoirs procéduraux. Les demandes d’accès de M. Blank visaient à obtenir des renseignements sur la façon dont les accusations portées contre lui avaient été traitées à l’interne.

La première des demandes de M. Blank a donné lieu à la communication d’environ 2 297 pages de documents, tandis que 1 226 pages étaient retenues et 36 pages, partiellement retenues. En mai 1999, il a déposé une deuxième demande d’accès pour toutes les pages exemptées dans le cadre de la première demande. Il a alors obtenu la communication de quelques centaines de pages supplémentaires, mais les exceptions ont été par ailleurs maintenues. Il a ensuite adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information. Au cours de l’enquête, quelques centaines de pages supplémentaires ont été communiquées, en totalité ou en partie. Il restait cependant encore quelques pages exemptées, notamment celles au titre desquelles le secret professionnel avait été invoqué en vertu de l’article 23 de la LAI. M. Blank a demandé un contrôle judiciaire de la Cour fédérale au sujet des pages manquantes.

Le juge Campbell, de la Cour fédérale, a confirmé la plupart des exceptions reconnues en première instance (Blank c. Canada (ministère de la Justice), 2003 CFPI 462), mais ordonné la communication de quelques documents supplémentaires, notamment trois qui étaient protégés par le privilège relatif au litige. Le juge a estimé que le privilège relatif au litige prend fin avec le litige proprement dit. Il a conclu que, comme les accusations contre M. Black avaient été abandonnées depuis longtemps, les documents assujettis au seul privilège relatif au litige n’étaient plus protégés. Le juge Campbell a pris acte du fait que ce privilège fait partie du secret professionnel aux termes de l’article 23 de la Loi et qu’il pouvait donc faire l’objet d’une exception. Mais, lorsque le privilège cesse d’exister en droit coutumier, il n’est plus applicable en vertu de la Loi.

M. Blank, désireux d’obtenir d’autres documents exemptés, a fait appel de la décision devant la Cour d’appel fédérale. Le gouvernement a, lui aussi, fait appel concernant la question de savoir si le privilège relatif au litige cesse avec le litige et s’il devient, à ce moment-là, inapplicable en vertu de l’article 23 de la Loi. La Cour d’appel fédérale a unanimement rejeté l’appel de M. Blank, mais elle était divisée sur l’appel du gouvernement. Les juges Pelletier et Décary étaient d’avis que le privilège relatif au litige, bien que prévu à l’article 23 de la Loi, a une durée limitée et prend fin avec le litige proprement dit. Le juge Létourneau, dissident, a déclaré de son côté que le privilège est effectivement prévu à l’article 23 de la Loi, mais que, en droit coutumier, il ne s’y appliquait pas d’échéance dans le contexte d’une demande d’accès.

Selon le juge Létourneau, comme l’article 23 est discrétionnaire, il ne peut y avoir d’échéance non volontaire du privilège, puisque cela rendrait nul et non avenu ou du moins limiterait le pouvoir discrétionnaire conféré au gouvernement par la Loi. Il a conclu que, pour des raisons stratégiques, les demandeurs d’accès ne devraient pas pouvoir invoquer la Loi pour demander des documents qui, en temps normal, ne leur seraient pas accessibles par les moyens habituels. Il a fait remarquer que l’accès à des documents renvoyant à un litige posait des problèmes particuliers pour le genre d’actions entamées régulièrement par le gouvernement, particulièrement dans les instances pénales, puisque le gouvernement pouvait employer la même stratégie à l’égard de plusieurs parties en litige, lesquelles pourraient alors obtenir un avantage stratégique en faisant une demande d’accès. Le juge a recommandé que l’on évalue les intérêts concurrents dans chaque cas en vertu de la Loi. Il a cependant fait remarquer que le gouvernement n’avait pas produit d’éléments de preuve pour justifier l’exercice de son pouvoir de refuser des documents en l’espèce, que la Cour aurait pu évaluer.

La question de savoir si les documents protégés par le secret professionnel pouvaient être tronqués en vertu de l’article 25 de la Loi a été renvoyée pour réexamen à la Cour fédérale, où le juge Mosley a conclu ce qui suit dans Blank c. Canada (ministère de la Justice), 2005 C.F. 1551 :

  • Malgré le caractère primordial de l’article 25 de la Loi, il n’est pas raisonnable de s’attendre à prélever des entrefilets d’information sans liens les uns avec les autres. Si les documents protégés par le secret professionnel ne contiennent que quelques mots ou phrases non protégés, il n’est pas nécessaire de les prélever. Le prélèvement en vertu de l’article 25 n’est exigible que s’il est raisonnable.
  • Les renseignements fondamentaux contenus dans les documents protégés, comme, en l’espèce, une liste d’autres documents non susceptibles d’être protégés, peuvent être prélevés et communiqués. Il doit cependant s’agir de données distinctes et cohérentes qui ne puissent raisonnablement pas faire l’objet d’un privilège.
  • Comme le gouvernement est tenu de communiquer ces renseignements dans le cadre d’une instance pénale, on ne peut considérer qu’il s’agit d’une levée du secret professionnel volontaire ou implicite.
  • Dans le cadre de la Loi, une levée partielle du secret professionnel ne peut être considérée comme une levée complète aux fins de la communication.

Entre-temps, le gouvernement a demandé et obtenu l’autorisation de faire appel de la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale devant la Cour suprême du Canada. L’appel a été accueilli en avril 2005, et l’audition a eu lieu en décembre 2005. Le Commissaire à l’information était présent comme intervenant, au même titre que l’Advocates Society et le procureur général de l’Ontario. M. Blank se représentait lui-même.

Questions en litige

Le privilège relatif au litige, tel qu’il est prévu à l’article 23 de la Loi, est-il assujetti à une échéance?

Arguments

Le Commissaire à l’information a fait valoir que, selon la jurisprudence fédérale, le secret professionnel a deux volets. Il y a d’abord le privilège traditionnel du conseil juridique, qui protège les communications entre l’avocat et son client. Il y a ensuite le privilège relatif au litige, qui protège la préparation de la cause du client avec son avocat et qui prend fin lorsque le litige est réglé. Le Commissaire à l’information estimait avec les autres parties que les deux volets relevaient de l’article 23 de la Loi. Il estimait également, comme la Cour d’appel fédérale, que l’application du privilège est régie par le droit coutumier et qu’elle est assujettie à une échéance.

Le Commissaire à l’information a expliqué que l’idée de protéger indéfiniment le travail préparatoire de l’avocat du gouvernement était contraire à l’objet de la Loi et au principe selon lequel les exceptions à l’accès doivent être limitées et spécifiques. Il a ajouté que le pouvoir discrétionnaire de communiquer des documents en vertu de l’article 23 doit également être exercé conformément à ces principes. Le Commissaire à l’information a fait remarquer que les communications entre avocat et client échangées dans le cadre de la préparation d’une cause seraient protégées par le volet du privilège ayant trait aux conseils juridiques non définis, de sorte qu’il n’était de toutes façons pas nécessaire de s’inquiéter de leur communication en vertu de la Loi.

À l’audition, le gouvernement a fait valoir qu’il fallait comprendre de la même façon les deux volets du privilège et qu’il n’était pas justifié d’imposer une échéance au privilège relatif au litige. Le procureur général de l’Ontario a appuyé cette prise de position. L’Advocates Society, par contre, était d’avis que les deux privilèges étaient si différents dans leur logique et leur portée qu’ils constituaient presque deux privilèges distincts, mais elle reconnaissait qu’ils étaient tous deux assujettis à l’article 23 de la Loi. La Society a également demandé à la Cour de formuler une série de directives raisonnées applicables au privilège relatif au litige et de circonscrire les types de documents qui y seraient assujettis, compte tenu des exigences juridiques modernes.

M. Blank a demandé la communication du maximum de documents possibles en vertu de la loi.

Issue de l’affaire

La Cour suprême a mis sa décision en délibéré. Nous rendrons compte de l’issue de cette affaire dans le prochain rapport annuel.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant