Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

II. Cases in progress – Information Commissioner as Applicant / Appellant

The Information Commissioner of Canada v. The Executive Director of the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board and NAV Canada and the Attorney General of Canada, A-165-05 and A-304-05, Federal Court of Appeal, Richard, C.J., Desjardins, Evans, J.J. heard February 28 and March 1, 2006. Judgement reserved. (See Annual Report, 2004-2005, p. 52-53 for more details).

Nature of Proceedings

This is an appeal of Madam Justice Snider’s decision of March 18, 2005 to dismiss the Information Commissioner’s application for review of the decision of the Executive Director of the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board (hereinafter the "TSB") to refuse to disclose tapes and transcripts of communication between air traffic controllers and aircraft personnel ("ATC" communications). Justice Snider further refused to determine a constitutional issue as to whether subsection 9(2) of the Radiocommunication Act 1985, cr. 2 infringes paragraph 2(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (the right to freedom of expression).

Issue Before the Court of Appeal

1. Whether the Application Judge erred in fact and in law in the proper interpretation of the definition of "personal information" set out in section 3 of the Privacy Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. P-21 and in her application of subsection 19(1) of the Act to the records at issue;

2. Whether the Application Judge erred in fact and in law by finding that all information contained in the records at issue was personal information properly exempted from disclosure under section 19 of the Act, without any severance pursuant to section 25 of the Act;

3. Whether the Application Judge erred in fact and in law with respect to the application of paragraph 19(2)(b) of the Act regarding public availability of information contained in recordings and transcripts of ATC radiocommunications on public radio frequencies reserved to the aeronautical service;

4. Whether the Application Judge erred in fact and in law with respect to the application of paragraph 19(2)(c) of the Act, and paragraphs 8(2)(a), (b) and subparagraph 8(2)(m)(i) of the Privacy Act;

5. Whether the Application Judge erred in fact and in law by refusing to determine the constitutionality of subsection 9(2) of the Radiocommunication Act, relating to the public availability, the use and the dissemination of information contained in ATC radiocommunications on public radio frequencies reserved to the aeronautical service; and

6. Whether subsection 9(2) of the Radiocommunication Act, as it relates to ATC radiocommunications, is contrary to paragraph 2(b) of the Charterand cannot be upheld by section 1 of the Charter.

Outcome

The appeal was heard on February 28 and March 1, 2006, and judgment was reserved. The outcome of these judicial proceedings will be reported in next year’s annual report.

The Information Commissioner

v. The Minister of Transport
, Court file T-55-05, Federal Court, Blais, J.

This is an application for review under section 42 of the Access to Information Act in relation to the Minister of Transport’s refusal to disclose an electronic copy of the Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System (CADORS) database table(s) being information requested under the Act.

Factual Background

On June 12, 2001, a request was made under the Act for access to "an electronic copy of the CADORS [Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System] database table(s) which track(s) aviation occurrences; a paper printout of the first 50 records; a complete field list; and information on any codes needed to interpret data in the tables". The CADORS is a national database consisting in 2001 of approximately 36,000 safety reports of aviation "occurrences" and is compiled by Transport Canada who receives these reports from a variety of sources including NAV Canada, the Transportation Safety Board, and aerodromes.

On August 9, 2001, Transport Canada responded by providing the requester with a copy of the Record Layout (which lists the fields of information found in the CADORS database), but otherwise refused to provide the requested records in their entirety. Initially, this access refusal was based on the contention that the database could not be severed and reproduced. Subsequently, during the course of the Information Commissioner’s investigation, Transport Canada acknowledged that the database could, in fact, be copied and, if necessary, portions could severed. Still, Transport Canada withheld 33 of the 51 fields of information based on subsection 19(1) of the Act (the "personal information" exemption).

Transport Canada conceded that the information, in and of itself, does not constitute personal information, yet it maintains that the release of CADORS information would amount to disclosure contrary to subsection 19(1) of the Act because of what is referred to as the "mosaic-effect", a concept used in relation to information pertaining to security and intelligence in the context of assessing a reasonable expectation of injury. Specifically, Transport Canada states that it is possible that CADORS information might be linked with other information publicly available to reveal "personal information" concerning identifiable individuals.

In the Information Commissioner’s view, the information contained in the database pertains to aircraft and air occurrences, not individuals, such that section 19 of the Act does not apply. The Minister has refused to accept the Information Commissioner’s recommendation that the requested records be disclosed. On January 14, 2005, the Information Commissioner filed an Application for Judicial Review of the Minister’s access refusal.

Future Steps in the Proceedings

This application was heard before Mr. Justice Blais on February 9, 2006, and the hearing will continue on May 15, 2006. The outcome of these judicial proceedings will be reported in next year’s annual report.

The Information Commissioner of Canada

v. Minister of Environment,
T-555-05, Federal Court, (See Annual Report 2004-2005, p. 59)

Nature of Proceedings, Background and Issues before the Court were reported in last year’s annual report. In a nutshell, the issue is whether or not Cabinet confidences, which qualify for disclosure pursuant to paragraph 69(3)(b) of the Act (i.e. discussion paper material), may be withheld pursuant to section 21 of the Act.

Future Steps in the Proceedings

The matter is ongoing. Hearing of the application has not taken place yet, and the results of these judicial proceedings will be reported in next year’s annual report.

The Information Commissioner

v. The Minister of National Defence
, T-210-05, Federal Court

Nature of Proceedings

This is an application for judicial review, commenced pursuant to paragraph42(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, for a review of the refusal by the Minister of National Defence to disclose records requested under the Act pertaining to "M5 meetings" for 1999. The issue is whether records held in the office of the Minister of Defence, which relate to the Minister’s duties as Minister of Defence, are subject to the right of access.

Factual Background

See Annual Report 2004-2005 at pages 44 to 49 for more details

Future Steps in the Proceedings

Further to a motion by the Information Commissioner, these proceedings were consolidated to some extent with related proceedings introduced this year in Federal Court files T-1209-05, T-1210-05 and T-1211-05 with respect to issues regarding disclosure of agendas of former Prime Minister Chrétien and of a former Minister of Transport Canada. However, following the federal elections of January 23, 2006, counsel for the respondents sought and obtained, with the consent of the Information Commissioner, an Order to stay the proceedings until May 5, 2006 in order to receive further instructions from the new government with respect to the conduct of these proceedings. The Information Commissioner will report the results and/or progress of these proceedings in next year’s annual report.

The Information Commissioner

v. The Prime Minister of Canada
, T-1209-05, Federal Court

Nature of Proceedings

This is an application for judicial review, commenced pursuant to paragraph 42(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, for a review of the refusal by a former Prime Minister to disclose records requested under the Act pertaining to the Prime Minister’s agenda books for January 1994 to June 25, 1999. The issue is whether or not the agendas, held in the Prime Minister’s Office, are subject to the right of access.

Factual Background

See Annual Report 2004-2005, pages 42 to 44 for more details.

Further Steps in the Proceedings

See information supra in Court file T-210-05.

The Information Commissioner

v. The Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police
, T-1210-05, Federal Court

Nature of Proceedings

This is an application for judicial review, commenced pursuant to paragraph 42(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, for a review of the refusal by the Commissioner of the RCMP to disclose records requested under the Act pertaining to the agenda of the former Prime Minister Chrétien covering the period of January 1, 1997 to November 4, 2000. The issues are whether or not the agendas qualify for exemption, in their entirety, for reasons of privacy (section 19) or for reasons of safety (section 17).

Factual Background

See Annual Report 2004-2005, pp. 39-42.

Further Steps in the Proceedings

See information supra in Court file T-210-05.

The Information Commissioner

v. The Minister of Transport Canada
, T-1211-05, Federal Court

Nature of Proceedings

This is an application for judicial review, commenced pursuant to paragraph 42(1)(a) of the Access to Information Act, for a review of the refusal by the Minister of Transport to disclose records requested under the Act pertaining to the Minister’s Collenette’s agenda for the period June 1, 1999 to November 5, 1999. The issue is whether these records, held in the minister’s office, are subject to the right of access.

Factual Background

See Annual Report 2004-2005, pp. 35-38 for more details.

Further Steps in the Proceedings

See information supra in Court file T-210-05.



Previous Table of contents Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

II. Affaires en cours – le Commissaire à l'information comme demandeur/appelant

Commissaire à l’information of Canada c. Directeur exécutif du Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, NAV Canada et Procureur général du Canada, A-165-05 et A-304-05, Cour d’appel fédérale, juge en chef Richard et juges Desjardins et Evans, 28 février et 1er mars 2006. En délibéré. (Pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, p. 52-53)

Nature de l’instance

Cette instance renvoie à un appel de la décision rendue le 18 mars 2005 par la juge Snider, qui a rejeté la demande adressée par le Commissaire à l’information pour obtenir le contrôle judiciaire de la décision du directeur exécutif du Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports (ci-après le « BST » ), qui avait refusé de communiquer des bandes magnétiques et transcriptions de communications entre des contrôleurs aériens et des membres d’équipage (ci-après « communications CCA »). La juge Snider a par ailleurs refusé de trancher la question constitutionnelle de savoir si le paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication de 1985 (ch. R-2) est contraire à l’alinéa 2b) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés (droit à la liberté d’expression).

Questions en litige

1. La juge des requêtes a-t-elle commis une erreur de fait et de droit dans l’interprétation qu’il fallait donner de la définition de « renseignements personnels » selon l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, L.R.C. (1985), ch. P-21, et dans l’application qu’elle a faite, en l’espèce, du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi?

2. La juge des requêtes a-t-elle commis une erreur de fait et de droit en concluant que tous les renseignements contenus dans les documents de l’espèce étaient des renseignements personnels effectivement protégés par l’article 19 de la Loi, sans aucune possibilité de prélèvements en vertu de l’article 25 de la Loi?

3. La juge des requêtes a-t-elle commis une erreur de fait et de droit concernant l’application de l’alinéa 19(2)b) de la Loi à la question de la publication des renseignements contenus dans les enregistrements et les transcriptions de communications CCA transmises sur des fréquences radio publiques réservées au service aéronautique?

4. La juge des requêtes a-t-elle commis une erreur de fait et de droit concernant l’application de l’alinéa 19(2)c) de la Loi et des alinéas 8(2)a) et b) et du sous-alinéa (m)(i) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

5. La juge des requêtes a-t-elle commis une erreur de fait et de droit en refusant de trancher la question de la constitutionnalité du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication eu égard à la publication, à l’usage et à la diffusion des renseignements contenus dans les communications CCA transmises sur des fréquences radio publiques réservées au service aéronautique?

6. Le paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication est-il, eu égard aux communications CCA, contraire à l’alinéa 2b) de la Charte et ne peut-il être confirmé par l’article premier de la Charte?

Issue de l’affaire

L’appel a été entendu les 28 février et 1er mars 2006. Le jugement est en délibéré. Nous rendrons compte de l’issue de cette affaire dans le prochain rapport annuel.

Commissaire à l’information c. Ministre des Transports , dossier T-55-05, Cour fédérale, selon le juge Blais

Cette instance renvoie à une demande de contrôle judiciaire en vertu de l’article 42 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et concerne le refus du ministre des Transports de communiquer un exemplaire électronique du Système de comptes rendus quotidiens d’incidents de l’aviation civile (CADORS), demandé en vertu de la Loi.

Les faits

Le 12 juin 2001, une demande d’accès en vertu de la Loi a été adressée concernant un exemplaire électronique des tableaux CADORS qui est une compilation d’incidents aéronautiques, un imprimé des cinquante premiers documents, une liste complète des champs et tous les codes nécessaires à l’interprétation des données contenues dans les tableaux. Le CADORS est une base de données nationale composée en 2001 d’environ 36 000 rapports sur des « incidents » aéronautiques en matière de sécurité aérienne, qui est administrée par Transports Canada, à qui sont adressés ces rapports par toutes sortes de sources, dont Nav Canada, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports et les aérodromes.

Le 9 août 2001, Transports Canada a répondu en fournissant au demandeur un exemplaire du cliché d’enregistrement (qui énumère les champs d’information contenus dans la base de données CADORS), mais a, par ailleurs, refusé de fournir l’ensemble des documents demandés. Au départ, ce refus était fondé sur l’argument qu’il n’était pas possible de faire des prélèvements sur la base de données puis de la reproduire. Puis, au cours de l’enquête du Commissaire à l’information, le ministère a admis que la base de données pouvait effectivement être copiée et si nécessaire y faire des prélèvements. Transports Canada n’en a pas moins retenu 33 des 51 champs d’information contenus dans la base de données, invoquant le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi (exception relative aux « renseignements personnels »).

Transports Canada a concédé que ces données ne constituent pas en soi des renseignements personnels, mais il soutient que la divulgation de l’information contenu dans le CADORS enfreint le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi en raison de l’effet « mosaïque » (un concept utilisé en matière de renseignements de sécurité et de renseignement secret pour procéder à l’évaluation du risque vraisemblable de préjudice). Plus précisément, Transports Canada estime que les données du CADORS pourraient être associées à d’autres renseignements accessibles au public et permettraient ainsi de révéler des « renseignements personnels » concernant des personnes identifiables.

Selon le Commissaire à l’information, les renseignements contenus dans la base de données ont trait aux avions et aux incidents aériens et non pas à des particuliers, de sorte que l’article 19 de la Loi n’est pas applicable. Le ministre a rejeté la recommandation du Commissaire à l’information qui l’invitait à communiquer les documents demandés. Le 14 janvier 2005, le Commissaire à l’information a déposé une demande de contrôle judiciaire concernant le refus du ministre.

Prochaines étapes

Cette demande a été entendue par le juge Blais le 9 février 2006, et l’audition se poursuivra le 15 mai 2006. Nous rendrons compte de l’issue de cette affaire dans le prochain rapport annuel.

Commissaire à l’information of Canada c. Ministre de l’Environnement, T-555-05, Cour fédérale (pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, p. 60)

La nature de l’instance, les faits et les questions en litige ont fait l’objet d’un compte rendu dans le dernier rapport annuel. Pour résumer, la question est de savoir si les documents confidentiels du Cabinet aptes à être communiqués en vertu de l’alinéa 69(3)b) de la Loi (documents de travail) peuvent être retenus en vertu de l’article 21 de la Loi.

Prochaines étapes

L’affaire est en cours. L’audition de la demande n’a pas encore eu lieu. Nous rendrons compte de l’issue de cette affaire dans le prochain rapport annuel.

Commissaire à l’information c. Ministre de la Défense nationale, T-210-05, Cour fédérale

Nature de l’instance

Cette instance renvoie à une demande de contrôle judiciaire adressée en vertu de l’alinéa 42(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information concernant le refus du ministre de la Défense nationale de communiquer des documents demandés en vertu de la Loi au sujet des réunions du groupe M5 en 1999. La question est de savoir si les documents retenus au cabinet du ministre de la Défense ayant trait à ses obligations ministérielles sont assujettis au droit d’accès.

Les faits

Pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, pages 45 à 50.

Prochaines étapes

Suite à une requête du Commissaire à l’information, cette instance a été regroupée dans une certaine mesure avec l’instance introduite cette année dans les dossiers de la Cour fédérale T-1209-05, T-1210-05 et T-1211-05 concernant la communication des ordres du jour de l’ex-premier ministre Chrétien et d’un ancien ministre fédéral des Transports. Cependant, après les élections fédérales du 23 janvier 2006, l’avocat des intimés a demandé et obtenu, avec le consentement du Commissaire à l’information, une ordonnance de sursis de l’instance jusqu’au 5 mai 2006, afin que le nouveau gouvernement donne d’autres instructions concernant le déroulement de l’instance. Le Commissaire à l’information rendra compte de l’issue et/ou de l’évolution de cette instance dans le prochain rapport annuel.

Commissaire à l’information c. Premier ministre du Canada , T-1209-05, Cour fédérale

Nature de l’instance

Cette instance renvoie à une demande de contrôle judiciaire, déposée en vertu de l’alinéa 42(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, concernant le refus d’un ancien premier ministre de communiquer des documents demandés en vertu de la Loi et ayant trait à ses ordres du jour de janvier 1994 au 25 juin 1999. La question est de savoir si les ordres du jour conservés au Bureau du premier ministre sont assujettis au droit d’accès.

Les faits

Pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, pages 42 à 44.

Prochaines étapes

Voir, supra, le dossier T-210-05.

Commissaire à l’information c. Commissaire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, T-1210-05, Cour fédérale.

Nature de l’instance

Cette instance renvoie à une demande de contrôle judiciaire, déposée en vertu de l’alinéa 42(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, concernant le refus du commissaire de la GRC de communiquer des documents demandés en vertu de la Loi et ayant trait aux ordres du jour de l’ancien premier ministre Chrétien du 1er janvier 1997 au 4 novembre 2000. La question est de savoir si les ordres du jour sont exemptés, dans leur intégralité, pour des raisons de confidentialité (article 19) ou de sécurité (article 17).

Les faits

Voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, p. 39 à 42.

Prochaines étapes

Voir, supra, le dossier T-210-05.

Commissaire à l’information c. Ministre de Transports Canada, T-1211-05, Cour fédérale.

Nature de l’instance

Cette instance renvoie à une demande de contrôle judiciaire, déposée en vertu de l’alinéa 42(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, concernant le refus du ministre des Transports de communiquer des documents demandés en vertu de la Loi et ayant trait aux ordres du jour du ministre Collenette du 1er juin 1999 au 5 novembre 1999. La question est de savoir si ces documents, conservés au cabinet du ministre, sont assujettis au droit d’accès.

Les faits

Pour plus de détails, voir le rapport annuel 2004-2005, p. 35 à 39.

Prochaines étapes

Voir, supra, le dossier T-210-05.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant