Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

How Much Secrecy is Appropriate for a Draft Audit Report?

Background

A journalist made a request to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) for access to a copy of the report (or draft report) of an internal audit of travel and hospitality expenses. At the time of the request, the report of the audit had not been approved by the CRA’s management, so it was considered to be a draft report. CRA decided to refuse access to any portion of the report relying on paragraphs 21(1)(a) and (b) of the Access to Information Act to justify its decision. The requester did not accept that every portion qualified for exemption, and he complained to the Information Commissioner.

Legal Issues

Paragraph 21(1)(a) authorizes refusal to disclose internal advice or recommendations; paragraph 21(1)(b) authorizes refusal to disclose accounts of internal consultations or deliberations. CRA argued that the very purpose of audit reports is to provide senior management with advice and recommendations and that such reports contain accounts of consultations and deliberations among public officials. Moreover, the CRA argued, the very process of getting approval for a draft audit report is itself a "consultation and deliberation" – a process which should be kept confidential. According to CRA, it fully intended to publicly disclose the final report, but did not consider it appropriate to disclose a draft version which might contain misleading, incorrect or incomplete information.

The Information Commissioner reminded CRA of its obligation, set out in section 25 of the Act, to avoid blanket secrecy in favor of a page-by-page, line-by-line analysis into specific portions which may deserve secrecy. For example, the Information Commissioner reminded CRA that factual and background information would not qualify for exemption and should be disclosed.

The department agreed that it should not have decided to withhold the entire draft audit report; it agreed that portions could have been severed and disclosed without revealing advice, recommendations or accounts of consultations or deliberations.

The requester suggested that, rather than asking the CRA to prepare and release a severed version of the draft report, the CRA be asked to give him an advance copy of the final version, when it was ready. CRA agreed, and, on that basis, the complaint was considered resolved.

Lessons Learned

In most institutions there is concern about disclosure, under the Act, of draft audit reports or audit reports in the approval process. Some of this concern relates to the integrity of the audit process (i.e. concerns about incomplete, inaccurate, or misleading content); some of the concern relates to a perceived need to "manage the message". Most government institutions do not wish to disclose audit reports until the institution’s head, its public affairs branch, and, in some cases, central agencies have been fully informed, and until a communications "plan" or "line" has been developed. No matter what the concern, however, it is rarely justifiable to withhold a draft report in its entirety. By their nature, audit reports contain descriptive and factual information that will not qualify for section 21 exemptions. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 9 - Dans quelle mesure un rapport de vérification provisoire doit-il rester secret?

Contexte

Un journaliste avait adressé une demande d’accès à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) pour obtenir copie du rapport (ou du rapport provisoire) de vérification interne de dépenses de déplacement et d’hébergement. Au moment de la demande, le rapport n’avait pas encore été approuvé par la direction de l’Agence, et il a donc été considéré comme un rapport « provisoire ». L’ARC a décidé de refuser l’accès à une quelconque partie du rapport, invoquant les alinéas 21(1)a) et b) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information(LAI) pour justifier sa décision. Le demandeur n’a pas accepté que toutes les parties du rapport devaient être refusées et il a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information.

Questions juridiques

L’alinéa 21(1)a) permet de refuser de communiquer des avis ou recommandations internes, et l’alinéa 21(1)b) permet de refuser de communiquer les comptes rendus de consultations ou délibérations internes. L’ARC a fait valoir que l’objet des rapports de vérification est précisément de fournir à la haute direction des conseils et recommandations et que ces rapports contiennent des comptes rendus de consultations et délibérations entre fonctionnaires. Elle a ajouté que la procédure d’approbation d’un rapport provisoire est en soi une procédure de « consultation et délibération » et qu’elle doit rester confidentielle. Selon l’Agence, elle avait l’intention de publier intégralement son rapport définitif, mais elle considérait qu’il ne convenait pas de communiquer une version provisoire pouvant contenir des renseignements trompeurs, inexacts ou incomplets.

Le Commissaire a rappelé à l’ARC que, selon l’article 25 de la LAI, elle avait l’obligation d’éviter le principe général du secret et de lui préférer une analyse page par page et ligne par ligne pour déterminer les parties justifiant le secret. Le Commissaire a rappelé, par exemple, que les renseignements factuels et contextuels ne sont pas exemptés et doivent être communiqués.

Le ministère a reconnu qu’il n’aurait pas dû décider de retenir tout le rapport provisoire et que des parties auraient pu y être prélevées et communiquées sans révéler les avis et recommandations ou les comptes rendus de consultations et délibérations.

Le demandeur a proposé, au lieu de demander à l’ARC de préparer et de lui communiquer une version tronquée, que l’Agence lui adresse, lorsque le document sera prêt, un exemplaire anticipé du rapport définitif. L’ARC a accepté, et la plainte a ainsi été considérée comme réglée.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

La plupart des institutions se soucient de la communication, en vertu de la LAI, de rapports de vérification provisoires ou en cours d’approbation. La raison en est, entre autres, l’intégrité de la procédure de vérification (des renseignements pourraient encore être trompeurs, inexacts ou incomplets), mais aussi le souci de « gestion du message ». Ces institutions ne souhaitent pas communiquer leurs rapports de vérification tant que le responsable, sa direction générale des affaires publiques et, dans certains cas, les organismes centraux n’ont pas été informés intégralement et qu’un « plan » ou une « stratégie » de communication n’a pas été établi. Quelle que soit la préoccupation, cependant, il est rarement justifiable de retenir un document provisoire tout entier. Par nature, les rapports de vérification contiennent des données descriptives et factuelles qui ne sont pas exemptées en vertu de l’article 21.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant