Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Disclosing Requester Identities

Background

An anonymous letter was received by the Information Commissioner, alleging improprieties within Citizenship and Immigration Canada in the processing of access requests. In particular, the writer alleged interference in, and delay of, the process by the Minister’s Office. As well, the writer alleged widespread disclosure within the department of the identities of access requesters.

Based on these allegations, the Information Commissioner initiated a complaint on his own motion and commenced an investigation.

Legal Issues

Does the Minister’s Office have an involvement in the processing of access requests in Citizenship and Immigration Canada and, if so, is such involvement proper? Are the identities of access requesters used and disclosed in accordance with the requirements of the Privacy Act? These were the principal issues addressed by the investigation.

With respect to the involvement of the Minister’s Office, the investigation confirmed that, in the past, the Minister’s Office was part of the access to information process. Without a sign-off from the Minister’s Office, access requests could not be answered. However, because of the delays caused by such a process, the department had made significant changes.

At the time of the investigation (and for some 6-8 months prior to it), the Minister’s Office received notice of selected impending access disclosures, but it played no approval role or did it have any delaying effect. The investigation confirmed that the Minister’s Office played no role in deciding whether or not to exempt requested information.

With respect to the issue of disclosure of requester identities, the investigation determined that care was taken by officials to disclose requester identities only to the extent necessary to process the request. For example, officials in operating areas who are tasked to find requested records are not informed of the requesters’ identities; neither are identities disclosed to senior officials or the Minister’s Office.

Consequently, the commissioner was satisfied that the anonymous allegations did not have merit at the time they were investigated.

Lessons Learned

Departments are becoming more sensitive to the need to separate their access to information process from their communications services to the minister. By so doing, delays and unnecessary disclosures of requester identities are likely to be avoided. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 8 - Divulgation de l’identité des demandeurs

Contexte

Le Commissaire à l’information avait reçu une lettre anonyme alléguant des irrégularités dans le traitement des demandes d’accès à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada. L’auteur de la lettre alléguait notamment que le Cabinet du ministre s’ingérait dans la procédure et la retardait. Il affirmait également que l’identité des demandeurs d’accès était largement communiquée dans le ministère.

Compte tenu de ces allégations, le Commissaire à l’information a lui-même formulé une plainte et entamé une enquête.

Questions juridiques

Le Cabinet du ministre a-t-il un rôle à jouer dans le traitement des demandes d’accès à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et, dans ce cas, ce rôle est-il irrégulier? L’identité des demandeurs d’accès est-elle utilisée et communiquée conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels? Voilà les principales questions auxquelles l’enquête devait permettre de répondre.

Pour ce qui est du rôle du Cabinet du ministre, l’enquête a permis de confirmer que, auparavant, celui-ci participait à la procédure de traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information. Il fallait l’approbation du Cabinet du ministre pour donner suite à une demande d’accès. Cependant, en raison des retards causés par cette procédure, le ministère a apporté des changements importants à son mode de traitement.

Au moment de l’enquête (et quelque 6 à 8 mois avant), le cabinet du ministre était informé de certaines demandes d’accès en souffrance, mais il ne jouait pas un rôle d’approbation et n’était pas la source de retards. L’enquête a permis de confirmer que le Cabinet du ministre ne jouait aucun rôle dans la décision de refuser ou de communiquer l’information demandée.

Pour ce qui est de la divulgation de l’identité des demandeurs d’accès, l’enquête a permis de déterminer que les fonctionnaires prenaient soin de ne communiquer cette identité que dans la mesure nécessaire au traitement des demandes. Par exemple, les fonctionnaires chargés, dans les secteurs opérationnels, de trouver les documents demandés ne sont pas informés de l’identité des demandeurs. Cette identité n’est pas non plus communiquée aux hauts fonctionnaires ou au Cabinet du ministre.

Par conséquent, le Commissaire s’est dit convaincu que les allégations anonymes n’étaient pas fondées au moment de l’enquête.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Les ministères sont de plus en plus sensibles à la nécessité de séparer la procédure de traitement des demandes d’accès de leurs services de communications au ministre. Ce faisant, on a des chances d’éviter des retards et la divulgation inutile de l’identité des demandeurs d’accès.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant