Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Low Points

A particularly troubling low point was the former Liberal government’s refusal to accept the expressed will of Parliament (and its own promise) to introduce a bill to amend and strengthen the Access to Information Act. Instead, the former government pushed legislative proposals (such as the so-called whistleblower protection law) that derogated from the right to know, and took specific decisions to deprive the Information Commissioner of sufficient funds to perform his watchdog function.

Equally concerning were the actions taken by the former Liberal administration at the end of the Information Commissioner’s seven-year term (the term expired on June 30, 2005). Prior to the end of the Information Commissioner’s term, Parliament voted by overwhelming majority – including the Liberal government’s front benches – to extend the Information Commissioner’s term by one year. Subsection 54(3) of the Access to Information Act permits such a course of action. It provides:

"The Information Commissioner, on the expiration of a first or any subsequent term of office, is eligible to be re-appointed for a further term not exceeding seven years."

The former Liberal government rejected the expressed will of the House of Commons in two disturbing ways. First, the former government announced that the commissioner’s term would be extended for only three months; second, it effected the extension of term pursuant to subsection 54(4) of the Access to Information Act, rather than pursuant to subsection 54(3), quoted above.

Subsection 54(4) of the Act states:

"In the event of the absence or incapacity of the Information Commissioner, or if the office of Information Commissioner is vacant, the Governor in Council may appoint another qualified person to hold office instead of the Commissioner for a term not exceeding six months, and that person shall, while holding that office, have all of the powers, duties and functions of the Information Commissioner under this or any other Act of Parliament and be paid such salary or other remuneration and expenses as may be fixed by the Governor in Council."

The clear words of subsection 54(4) indicate that this provision is not intended for dealing with the renewal, extension, or re-appointment of a sitting information commissioner. The section specifically refers to "absence or incapacity of the Information Commissioner or if the office of the Information Commissioner is vacant". None of these conditions existed when the former Liberal administration invoked subsection 54(4) to extend the Information Commissioner’s term by three months. The section also uses the phrase: "… may appoint another qualified person to hold office instead of the commissioner… ." The former Liberal government used this provision to extend the sitting commissioner’s term; it did not appoint another person in the commissioner’s stead.

Why would a government take this course? What is the practical distinction between extending the term of a sitting information commissioner pursuant to subsection 54(3) and doing so pursuant to subsection 54(4)?

The distinction is significant, and it is this: a re-appointment pursuant to subsection 54(3) preserves the independence of the commissioner. It preserves his or her protection against dismissal by the government (the Act requires approval of the House and Senate for dismissal) and it preserves the salary protection which the Act gives to commissioners (commissioners must be paid a salary equal to the salary of a judge of the Federal Court). On the other hand, a person appointed pursuant to subsection 54(4) has no statutory protection against summary dismissal by the government and the government retains sole discretion to set the appointee’s level of remuneration.

In other words, a person re-appointed pursuant to subsection 54(3) is the Information Commissioner of Canada and a true Officer of Parliament, whereas a person appointed pursuant to subsection 54(4) is an "at pleasure" appointee of the government-of-the-day charged with carrying out the commissioner’s functions.

The former Liberal administration adopted the same troubling approach a second time when it extended the commissioner’s term for a further six months to March 31, 2006. For nine months, thus, Canadians have not had the benefit of an information commissioner who is, in law, independent of government.

Effective April 1, 2006, the Conservative government also invoked subsection 54(4) of the Act to extend the commissioner’s term by six months. Given the flawed approach taken by the previous Liberal administration, the Conservative government had little choice but to repeat the error until Parliament returns and an information commissioner can be appointed with full independence of government and genuine Officer of Parliament status.

In the process of reforming the Access to Information Act, care must be taken by Parliament to remove from future governments the opportunity to interfere with the Information Commissioner’s independence in end-of-term situations.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Les bas...

Il y a eu un creux de la vague particulièrement troublant lorsque l’ancien gouvernement libéral a refusé d’entériner la volonté expresse du Parlement (et de tenir, ce faisant, ses promesses) de modifier et de consolider la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il a préféré mettre de l’avant des propositions législatives (par exemple, la Loi sur la protection des dénonciateurs) qui dérogeaient au droit de savoir et il a pris des mesures pour priver le Commissaire à l’information des fonds dont celui-ci avait besoin pour remplir sa fonction de surveillance.

Tout aussi inquiétantes ont été les mesures prises par l’ancien gouvernement libéral à la fin du septennat du Commissaire à l’information (son mandat expirait le 30 juin 2005). Avant la fin du mandat du Commissaire, le Parlement a voté, par une écrasante majorité (y compris les députés libéraux de premier rang), la prolongation d’une année du mandat du Commissaire. Le paragraphe 54(3) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information permet de prendre ce genre de mesure. Il se lit comme suit :

« Le mandat du Commissaire à l’information est renouvelable pour des périodes maximales de sept ans chacune. »

L’ancien gouvernement libéral a rejeté la volonté expresse de la Chambre des communes de deux façons tout aussi troublantes l’une que l’autre. Il a d’abord annoncé que le mandat du Commissaire serait prolongé de trois mois seulement, puis il a donné forme à la prolongation en vertu du paragraphe 54(4) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et non pas du paragraphe 54(3), cité plus haut.

Le paragraphe 54(4) de la Loi se lit comme suit :

« En cas d’absence ou d’empêchement du Commissaire à l’information ou de vacance de son poste, le gouverneur en conseil peut confier à toute personne compétente, pour un mandat maximal de six mois, les pouvoirs et fonctions conférés au titulaire du poste par la présente loi ou une autre loi fédérale et fixer la rémunération et les frais auxquels cette personne aura droit. »

Les termes sans équivoque du paragraphe 54(4) indiquent bien que cette disposition n’a rien à voir avec le renouvellement, la prolongation ou la reconduction du mandat du Commissaire titulaire. Cette disposition renvoie précisément à « [l]’absence ou [l]’empêchement du Commissaire à l’information ou [la] vacance de son poste », et aucune de ces situations n’était en vigueur au moment où l’ancien gouvernement libéral a invoqué le paragraphe 54(4) pour prolonger le mandat du Commissaire à l’information de trois mois. Il est également question, dans cette disposition, du fait que le gouverneur en conseil « (…) peut confier à toute personne compétente (…) les pouvoirs et fonctions conférés au titulaire (…) ». L’ancien gouvernement libéral s’est servi de cette disposition pour prolonger le mandat du Commissaire; il n’a pas nommé quelqu’un d’autre à sa place.

Pourquoi le gouvernement s’y est-il pris de cette façon? Quelle est la distinction, sur le plan pratique, entre prolonger le mandat d’un Commissaire en poste en vertu du paragraphe 54(3) ou du paragraphe 54(4)?

La distinction est importante, et c’est celle-ci : une reconduction en vertu du paragraphe 54(3) préserve l’indépendance du Commissaire. Elle maintient sa protection contre son renvoi par le gouvernement (la Loi prévoit que le renvoi doit être approuvé par la Chambre des communes et par le Sénat) et elle maintient la protection de son salaire (les commissaires doivent recevoir une rémunération égale à celle des juges de la Cour fédérale). Par contre, toute personne nommée en vertu du paragraphe 54(4) n’est pas protégée contre un congédiement sommaire par le gouvernement, et celui-ci conserve le pouvoir discrétionnaire de fixer sa rémunération.

Autrement dit, une personne dont le mandat est reconduit en vertu du paragraphe 54(3) est le Commissaire à l’information du Canada et un véritable haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, tandis qu’une personne nommée en vertu du paragraphe 54(4) est chargée, « selon le bon plaisir » du gouvernement du jour, de remplir les fonctions de Commissaire.

L’ancien gouvernement libéral a employé la même méthode inquiétante une seconde fois pour prolonger le mandat du Commissaire de six autres mois, jusqu’au 31 mars 2006. C’est ainsi que, pendant neuf mois, les Canadiens n’ont pas eu droit à un Commissaire à l’information juridiquement indépendant du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement conservateur a, lui aussi, invoqué le paragraphe 54(4) de la Loi pour prolonger le mandat du Commissaire de six mois à partir du 1er avril 2006. Comme l’ancien gouvernement libéral avait procédé ainsi, le gouvernement conservateur n’avait pas d’autre choix que de répéter l’erreur jusqu’à ce que le Parlement reprenne ses travaux et qu’un Commissaire à l’information puisse être nommé à titre de véritable haut fonctionnaire du Parlement, entièrement indépendant du gouvernement.

Si le Parlement veut réformer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, il lui faudra prendre garde de ne plus donner aux gouvernements ultérieurs la possibilité de compromettre l’indépendance du Commissaire à l’information en fin de mandat.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant