Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Dead or Alive?

Background

An individual associated with the hobby of medal collecting made frequent access requests to the Library and Archives of Canada (LAC) for information about the deceased persons who had been awarded the medals. The requester was aware that, by virtue of paragraph 3(m) of the Privacy Act, such information is protected "personal information" unless the medal recipient has been dead for 20 years or more. In the past, the LAC had been willing to assist the requester by verifying whether or not proof of death was contained in the file and, if so, whether it showed that 20 years or more had elapsed since death. By so doing, the LAC assisted the requester in determining whether or not he was entitled to receive the medal recipient’s file.

The complaint to the Information Commissioner was made after LAC changed its policy; it would no longer assist the requester in determining date of death. If the requester could not prove that he was seeking information about a person who had been dead for 20 years or more, LAC would not even begin looking through the requested file; rather, it would simply refuse access based on subsection 19(1) of the Access to Information Act.

Legal Issue

Who has the onus to prove that requested information is "personal" and, hence, qualifies for exemption from the right of access under subsection 19(1) of the Act? Is it the requester? Is it the government institution?

The investigation confirmed that LAC had changed its policy, now placing the onus on the requester to provide proof of death when seeking records about other persons – even if proof of death is contained on file. The LAC did not consider that it should continue to undertake confirmation of death research for access requesters, in order to verify for them whether or not requesters have a right of access to another person’s information.

The Information Commissioner disagreed with the LAC view. The jurisprudence is clear that the onus of proof that secrecy is justifiable is on the party asserting it, in this case, on the LAC. Before the LAC may invoke subsection 19(1) to refuse disclosure of requested information, it must be satisfied that the information is "personal", and information about a person who has been dead for 20 years or more is not "personal".

Consequently, if there is proof in the file that a person has been dead for 20 years or more, then the information must be disclosed to the requester.

The LAC promised to review its policy, and it disclosed the specific records requested by the complainant.

Lessons Learned

Whenever a government institution proposes to refuse disclosure on the basis of subsection 19(1) of the Act, it bears the onus of demonstrating that the information is "personal". If there is evidence in the file that the person to whom the information relates has been dead for 20 years or more, then the information is not "personal" and access may not be denied under subsection 19(1). 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 7 - Mort ou vivant?

Contexte

Un collectionneur de médailles avait l’habitude de faire des demandes d’accès à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) pour obtenir des renseignements sur les personnes décédées à qui des médailles avaient été attribuées. Le demandeur savait que, en vertu de l’alinéa 3m) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ces renseignements sont des « renseignements personnels » protégés à moins que le récipiendaire de la médaille soit décédé depuis 20 ans ou plus. Jusque-là, BAC s’était montré disposé à aider le demandeur en vérifiant si le dossier contenait un certificat de décès et, dans ce cas, si 20 ans s’étaient écoulés depuis le décès. Ce faisant, BAC aidait le demandeur à déterminer s’il pouvait avoir accès au dossier du récipiendaire.

Le demandeur a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information lorsque la politique de BAC a changé : le Ministère n’aiderait plus le demandeur à déterminer la date de décès des récipiendaires de médaille. Si le demandeur ne pouvait pas faire la preuve qu’il cherchait de l’information sur une personne décédée depuis 20 ans ou plus, BAC ne vérifierait même pas le dossier demandé. Il se contenterait de rejeter la demande en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Question juridique

À qui revient le soin de prouver que les renseignements demandés sont « personnels » et, par conséquent, protégés du droit d’accès en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la LAI? Au demandeur? À l’institution gouvernementale?

L’enquête a permis de confirmer que BAC avait changé de politique et qu’il incombait désormais au demandeur de faire la preuve du décès des personnes sur lesquelles il désirait obtenir des renseignements, même si la preuve du décès se trouvait dans leur dossier. BAC estimait qu’il n’avait pas à continuer de faire des recherches pour confirmer des dates de décès au profit de demandeurs d’accès pour déterminer si ceux-ci avaient le droit de consulter les renseignements personnels d’autres personnes.

Le Commissaire s’est dissocié du point de vue de BAC. La jurisprudence est claire : la preuve de la justification du secret incombe à la partie qui revendique le secret, en l’occurrence à BAC. Avant que le Ministère puisse invoquer le paragraphe 19(1) pour refuser de communiquer des renseignements, il doit savoir s’il s’agit de renseignements personnels protégés ou de renseignements concernant une personne décédée depuis 20 ans ou plus.

Par conséquent, si le dossier contient la preuve que la personne est décédée depuis 20 ans ou plus, l’information doit être fournie au demandeur.

BAC a promis de réviser sa politique et a communiqué les documents demandés au plaignant.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Lorsqu’une institution gouvernementale a l’intention de refuser de communiquer des renseignements en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la LAI, il lui revient de prouver que ces renseignements sont « personnels ». Si le dossier contient la preuve que la personne en question est décédée depuis 20 ans ou plus, les renseignements ne sont plus « personnels », et on ne peut y refuser l’accès en vertu du paragraphe 19(1).

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant