Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Gotcha!

Background

While in a Canadian jail, awaiting deportation, an individual made an access request to the RCMP for copies of agreements between U.S. agencies and the RCMP regarding the sharing of information. Some four months after receiving the request, the RCMP still had not given out the records; it had missed the response deadline by some three months. Yet, at that point, the requester had been deported. The RCMP decided that the requester had lost his right of access because he was no longer present in Canada. The RCMP informed the requester that his "requests are no longer deemed to be valid and are considered by this office to be abandoned." The requester complained to the Information Commissioner.

Legal Issue

If an individual is entitled to make access requests by virtue of being present in Canada, is the entitlement lost if the person ceases to be present in Canada before the response is given?

In this case, the issue was made more complex by the fact that, but for the RCMP’s foot-dragging, the response might have been issued before the requester’s deportation.

The requester argued that, by virtue of Extension Order No. 1, he was properly qualified to make his access request, that his entitlement did not cease upon his deportation and that, if the RCMP had answered in a timely manner, he would have received his records while present in Canada. Section 2 of the Access to Information Act Extension Order No. 1 states:

"2. This right to be given access under subsection 4(1) of the Access to Information Act to records under the control of a government institution is hereby extended to include all individuals who are present in Canada but who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents within the meaning of the Immigration Act and all corporations that are present in Canada."

The RCMP also invoked Extension Order No. 1 as authority for its view. It pointed to the opening words: "This right to be given access …"; in the RCMP’s view, these words make it clear that the requester must be in Canada both at the time of the request and at the time access is given. In support of its position, the RCMP pointed to the Treasury Board Guidelines, Chapter 2-2, page 1, which states that the requester (unless otherwise qualified) must be physically in Canada "both at the time that the request is filed and at the time that access is given".

The Information Commissioner concluded that the RCMP, and the Treasury Board Guidelines, had misinterpreted the intent of Extension Order No. 1. In particular, the Information Commissioner concluded that the RCMP’s interpretation was too open to abuse to be appropriate. In the Information Commissioner’s view, the critical moment is the date of the access request; if the requester is "qualified" at that date, then he or she has a continuing right to receive access even if the qualification is subsequently lost.

The RCMP, without giving up its legal position, but recognizing that its own delay was a cause of the problem, agreed to continue processing the request.

Lessons Learned

Cases such as this one will be rare. The better practice in such cases is for government institutions to respect the right of access if the process was triggered by a qualified requester, even if the requester thereafter ceases to be qualified. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 6 - Pris au piège!

Contexte

Alors dans une prison canadienne en attendant d’être expulsée, une personne avait adressé une demande d’accès à la GRC pour obtenir copie d’accords conclus entre des organismes américains et la GRC concernant le partage d’information. Environ quatre mois après avoir reçu la demande, la GRC n’avait toujours pas fourni les documents. Elle avait dépassé le délai de réponse d’environ trois (3) mois. Mais, à ce moment-là, le demandeur avait été expulsé. La GRC a alors décidé que celui-ci avait perdu son droit d’accès puisqu’il n’était plus au Canada. Elle a informé le demandeur que ses demandes n’étaient plus considérées comme valables et qu’elles étaient abandonnées. Le demandeur a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information.

Questions juridiques

Si une personne a le droit de faire une demande d’accès en raison de sa présence au Canada, perd-elle son droit si elle ne se trouve plus au Canada avant d’obtenir une réponse?

Dans ce cas, la question est d’autant plus complexe que, n’eût été la lenteur de la GRC, le demandeur aurait pu obtenir une réponse avant d’être expulsé.

Le demandeur a fait valoir que, en vertu du Décret d’extension no 1, il avait le droit de faire cette demande d’accès, que son droit n’avait pas cessé après son expulsion et que, si la GRC lui avait répondu en temps voulu, il aurait reçu les documents tandis qu’il était encore présent au Canada. L’article 2 du Décret d’extension no 1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information se lit comme suit :

2. Le droit d'accès aux documents des institutions fédérales que prévoit le paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est étendu à toute personne physique présente au Canada qui n'est pas un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent au sens de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiéset à toute personne morale qui est présente au Canada.

La GRC a, elle aussi, invoqué le Décret d’extension no 1 pour étayer son point de vue. Elle a attiré l’attention sur les premiers mots : « Le droit d'accès aux documents (…) » : selon elle, ces mots attestent que le demandeur doit se trouver au Canada au moment de la demande et au moment où il obtient l’accès. À l’appui de sa position, la GRC a rappelé les Lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor (chapitre 2-2, page 1), qui prévoient que le demandeur (à moins d’avis contraire) doit être présent au Canada « au moment où la demande est produite et au moment où l'accès aux renseignements est donné ».

Le Commissaire à l’information a conclu que la GRC et les Lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor interprétaient incorrectement l’intention du Décret d’extension no 1. Il a notamment estimé que l’interprétation qu’en faisait la GRC était trop susceptible d’abus pour être la bonne. Selon lui, le moment critique est la date de la demande d’accès : si le demandeur remplit les conditions requises à ce moment-là, il conserve son droit d’accès même s’il ne remplit plus les conditions par la suite.

La GRC, sans renoncer à sa position juridique, mais reconnaissant que son retard était la cause du problème, a accepté de poursuivre le traitement de la demande.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Des cas comme celui-ci sont rares. La meilleure solution dans ce cas est, pour les institutions gouvernementales, de respecter le droit d’accès si la procédure a été déclenchée par un demandeur remplissant les conditions requises, même si celui-ci ne les remplit plus par la suite.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant