Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Secret Expense Claims

Background

A journalist made access requests to the MacKenzie Valley Land and Water Board (MVLWB) seeking copies of the expense claims and monthly government credit card bills for a former chairperson of the MVLWB. In response, the Board refused to disclose the requested records, pursuant to subsection 19(1) of the Access to Information Act, to protect the privacy of the former Board chairperson. The requester complained to the Information Commissioner.

Legal Issues

Do a public official’s expense claims and government credit card bills constitute the official’s personal information which may be exempted from the right of access under subsection 19(1) of the Act?

The Information Commissioner noted that this issue is not new. Indeed, most government institutions now post expense and travel claims of senior public officials on their websites. The reason for this level of openness is that the definition of "personal information" (which may be kept secret) contains an explicit exception for information about present or former public officials which relates to their position or functions (see paragraph 3(j) of the Privacy Act).

The MVLWB accepted the commissioner’s views and disclosed the requested records.

Lessons Learned

Public officials do not have as much privacy protection as do others. It is a "red flag" when a government institution justifies secrecy about the actions of its officials on the grounds of protecting their privacy. While a zone of privacy does remain for public officials, it is limited, and does not extend to records about their expense claims and use of government credit cards. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 5 - Le secret des demandes de remboursement de dépenses

Contexte

Un journaliste avait adressé une demande d’accès à l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie (OTEVM) pour obtenir copie des demandes de remboursement de dépenses et des relevés mensuels des cartes de crédit gouvernementales d’un ancien président de l’Office. L’Office a refusé de communiquer les documents demandés en invoquant le paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information(LAI) afin de protéger la vie privée de l’ancien président. Le demandeur a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information.

Questions juridiques

Les demandes de remboursement de dépenses et les relevés mensuels de carte de crédit gouvernementale d’un fonctionnaire sont-ils des « renseignements personnels » exemptés du droit d’accès en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la LAI?

Le Commissaire a fait remarquer que cette question n’est pas nouvelle. En fait, la plupart des institutions gouvernementales affichent désormais sur leurs sites les dépenses générales et de déplacement des hauts fonctionnaires. La raison de ce degré de transparence est que la définition de la notion de « renseignements personnels » (qui peuvent être gardés secrets) comporte une exception explicite pour les renseignements concernant le poste ou les fonctions des anciens fonctionnaires ou des titulaires actuels (voir l’alinéa 3j) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels).

L’Office a accepté le point de vue du Commissaire et communiqué les documents demandés.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

La vie privée des fonctionnaires n’est pas aussi protégée que celle des autres. Il y a « alerte » lorsqu’une institution gouvernementale justifie le secret de l’information sur les actions de ses fonctionnaires en invoquant le principe de la protection des renseignements personnels. Les fonctionnaires ont droit à une certaine protection de leur vie privée, mais elle est limitée et ne s’applique pas aux documents relatifs à leur compte de dépenses et à leur usage des cartes de crédit gouvernementales.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant