Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

May a Government Institution Unilaterally Convert an Access to Information Act Request into a Privacy Act Request?

Background

A lawyer made requests, on behalf of two clients, to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) under the Access to Information Act. The requests were for records relating to the clients’ income tax affairs. The requests were made on official access to information (ATI) request forms, accompanied by the required application fees. Approximately one week after receiving the requests, CRA wrote to the lawyer to say that the requests did not comply with section 6 of the Act. Section 6 requires that access requests "provide sufficient detail to enable an experienced employee of the institution with a reasonable effort to identify the record."

The lawyer did not understand how he could be more specific because he wanted all records held by CRA concerning their income tax affairs. He made a complaint to the Information Commissioner.

CRA decided to proceed to gather the responsive records, but also decided, unilaterally, to convert the ATI requests into Privacy Act requests.

Legal Issues

Must an access requester formulate requests with specifics as to what branches of the institution may hold the records, or what functional areas are relevant to the subject of the request? That was one issue raised by this complaint. The second was whether a government institution may, unilaterally, convert an ATI request into a Privacy Act request.

The Information Commissioner concluded, on the first issue, that section 6 of the Act does not require a sophisticated knowledge, on the part of the requesters, concerning the organization, business processes, records management systems, or functional divisions of the government institution to which a request is made. Rather, it assumes that experienced officials of the government institution will do their part to comply with requests, even if the requests are for all records on a particular topic.

The Information Commissioner acknowledged that it is always good practice for government institutions to clarify requests, and for ATIP officials to keep in close communication with requesters so that access requests are well-formulated and well-understood. The Information Commissioner emphasized, however, that the Act gives no authority to government institutions to decide that access requests which are broadly worded are improper.

With respect to the second issue, the Information Commissioner concluded that requesters have the right to choose whether to make requests for information under either the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act. Some requesters will choose to request information about themselves under the Access to Information Act because a greater array of records is available under that Act (whereas, under the Privacy Act, one may only receive access to one’s own personal information). On the other hand, there are fees for making a request and obtaining copies under the Access to Information Act, while there are no fees under the Privacy Act. It is up to the requester, however, not the receiving institution, to decide which Act should govern the processing of the request.

CRA agreed to process the requests under the Access to Information Act, without further clarification, and responses were provided.

Lessons Learned

Government institutions walk a fine line when trying to be helpful to access requesters. For example, they may believe that fees could be eliminated if an access request is converted into a Privacy Act request. Even if that is the prudent course, it should not be taken without the requester’s consent. And, too, institutions may feel that the time and fees associated with a broadly worded access request could be reduced if the request is more narrowly focused. Even if they are correct, it is rarely an acceptable answer to decide that the request does not comply with section 6. The prudent course is to develop a good communication with the requester to encourage a reformulation of the request; if the requester wishes to proceed with a broadly-worded request, that is his or her right. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 4 - Une institution gouvernementale peut-elle unilatéralement convertir une demande d’accès à l’information en une demande de protection des renseignements personnels?

Contexte

Un avocat avait, pour le compte de deux clients, demandé à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) de communiquer des renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI). Les demandes concernaient des documents ayant trait à la situation fiscale de ses clients. Les demandes ont été adressées sur des formulaires officiels en vertu de la LAI et accompagnés des frais requis. Environ une semaine après avoir reçu les demandes, l’ARC a écrit à l’avocat pour lui dire que les demandes n’étaient pas conformes à l’article 6 de la LAI. Cette disposition prévoit que les demandes d’accès « doi[ven]t être rédigée[s] en des termes suffisamment précis pour permettre à un fonctionnaire expérimenté de l’institution de trouver le document sans problèmes sérieux ».

L’avocat ne voyait pas en quoi il pouvait être plus précis, car il voulait tous les documents conservés par l’ARC sur la situation fiscale de ses clients. Il a adressé une plainte au Commissaire à l’information.

L’ARC a décidé de réunir les documents utiles, mais, également, de façon unilatérale, de convertir la demande en vertu de la LAI en demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Questions juridiques

Un demandeur d’accès doit-il formuler sa demande en précisant les services de l’institution qui pourraient conserver les documents ou les secteurs fonctionnels qui correspondent au sujet de la demande? Voilà l’une des questions soulevées par cette plainte. La seconde est de savoir si une institution gouvernementale peut unilatéralement convertir une demande en vertu de la LAI en une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Dans le premier cas, le Commissaire a conclu que l’article 6 de la LAI ne suppose pas, de la part des demandeurs, une connaissance approfondie de l’organisation, des procédures opérationnelles, des systèmes de gestion des documents ou des divisions fonctionnelles de l’institution gouvernementale à qui la demande est adressée. Il prévoit plutôt que des fonctionnaires « expérimentés » feront ce qu’il faut pour répondre à la demande, même si celle-ci concerne « tous les documents » relatifs à un certain sujet.

Le Commissaire a reconnu qu’il est toujours bon que les institutions gouvernementales clarifient les demandes et que les fonctionnaires de l’AIPRP collaborent étroitement avec les demandeurs pour que les demandes d’accès soient bien formulées et bien comprises. Il a cependant rappelé que la Loi ne permet pas aux institutions gouvernementales de décider que les demandes d’accès à caractère général sont mal formulées.

Dans le deuxième cas, le Commissaire à l’information a conclu que les demandeurs ont le droit de décider s’ils font une demande en vertu de la LAI ou en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements. Certains demandeurs choisiront de faire une demande sur eux-mêmes en vertu de la LAI parce que cette Loi autorise l’accès à un plus vaste éventail de documents (alors que, en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, on n’a accès qu’à ses propres renseignements personnels). Par ailleurs, une demande d’accès en vertu de la LAI et l’obtention de documents dans ce cadre sont assorties de frais, alors que ce n’est pas le cas des demandes adressées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il revient cependant au demandeur, et non pas à l’institution à qui la demande est adressée, de déterminer la Loi en vertu de laquelle la demande sera traitée.

L’ARC a accepté de traiter les demandes en vertu de la LAI, sans autres éclaircissements, et elle a fourni les réponses demandées.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Les institutions gouvernementales ont peu de marge lorsqu’elles essaient d’aider les demandeurs d’accès. Par exemple, une institution peut penser qu’il est possible d’éliminer des frais en convertissant une demande en vertu de la LAI en une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Même si cela semble une démarche prudente, elle ne doit pas en décider sans le consentement du demandeur. L’institution peut également estimer que le temps de traitement et les frais associés à une demande d’accès à caractère général pourraient être réduits si la demande est plus précise. Même si elle a raison, le fait de décider que la demande n’est pas conforme à l’article 6 est rarement une réponse acceptable. Il vaut mieux établir de bonnes communications avec le demandeur pour l’encourager à reformuler la demande. Si celui-ci désire maintenir sa demande générale, c’est son droit.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant