Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Who Do the Department’s Lawyers Really Work for?

Background

An individual concerned about the government’s refusal to pay interest on the retroactive amounts awarded to her by way of disability pension made an access request to Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC), now known as Human Resources and Social Development (HRSD), for records about Canada Pension Plan (CPP) Disability Plan. In particular, she asked for records concerning a recently launched class action suit against the government seeking interest on retroactive disability pension payments.

In response, HRSD provided 12 pages of records as well as a few previously released records. Only one record (the statement of claim) was provided (or exempted) concerning the related class action suit.

In particular, HRSD did not, in response to the request, search for relevant records which may have been held by the department’s in-house lawyers. HRSD took the view that its lawyers are employees of the Department of Justice and, even though the lawyers’ offices may be on HRSD premises, any records held exclusively by them and not shared with HRSD employees, are Department of Justice records, not HRSD records. Under this view, the requester would have to make an access request to the Department of Justice rather than to HRSD for any records the in-house lawyers might hold relating to the pension interest class action.

Legal Issues

Does an access request, addressed to HRSD, cover records relevant to the request which are held by the HRSD legal branch?

The investigation confirmed that two class actions had been filed seeking payment of interest on retroactive CPP disability pension payments. HRSD’s in-house lawyers were seized of these actions, and HRSD was the "client" department.

The investigation confirmed that some 53 pages of records relevant to the access request were held exclusively in HRSD’s legal services branch.

The Information Commissioner concluded that the lawyer in HRSD’s legal branch, who had physical possession of records relevant to the access request, was an employee of the Department of Justice. He also took into account the fact that the records the lawyer possessed consisted of an exchange of communications between Department of Justice lawyers which were not shared (or intended to be shared) with HRSD employees.

In these circumstances, the commissioner concluded that the 53 records were not under the control of HRSD and, hence, a separate request would have to be made for them to the Department of Justice.

Lessons Learned

Although Department of Justice lawyers may be housed in and work for another government institution, not all records held by those lawyers will be considered to be under the control of the client department. Some record held by lawyers consist of communications between or among Department of Justice lawyers which are not shared with, or intended to be shared with, officials of the client department. Such records remain under the control of the Department of Justice and access requests for them must be addressed to the Department of Justice. 

Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

Cas 2- Pour qui les avocats du ministère travaillent-ils effectivement?

Contexte

Une personne, inquiète du fait que le gouvernement avait refusé de verser des intérêts sur des montants rétroactifs versés sous forme de pension d’invalidité, avait adressé une demande d’accès à Développement des ressources humaines Canada (ministère désormais connu sous le nom de Développement social Canada ou DSC) pour obtenir des documents sur le Programme de prestations d'invalidité du Régime de pensions du Canada. Elle demandait notamment des documents concernant un recours collectif récemment entamé contre le gouvernement pour obtenir le versement d’intérêts sur des versements de pension d’invalidité rétroactifs.

DSC a répondu en fournissant douze pages de documents et quelques documents déjà publiés. Un document seulement (la demande introductive d’instance) concernait le recours collectif.

Signalons notamment que DSC n’a pas, en réponse à cette demande, cherché les documents utiles que les avocats du Ministère auraient pu avoir en leur possession. Le Ministère estimait que ses avocats étaient des employés du ministère de la Justice et que, même si leurs bureaux se trouvaient dans les locaux de DSC, les documents dont ils avaient la possession exclusive et qu’ils ne partageaient pas avec les employés du Ministère étaient, en fait, des documents du ministère de la Justice. Ainsi, la demandeuse devait adresser une demande d’accès au ministère de la Justice et non à DSC pour obtenir des documents que les avocats internes pouvaient avoir en leur possession concernant le recours collectif en question.

Questions juridiques

Une demande d’accès adressée à DSC couvre-t-elle des documents conservés par la Direction générale des services juridiques du Ministère?

Après enquête, le Commissaire a confirmé que deux recours collectifs avaient été entamés pour obtenir le versement d’intérêts sur des paiements rétroactifs de pension d’invalidité. Les avocats de DSC ont été saisis de ces recours, et DSC était le ministère « client ».

Il a également confirmé que quelque 53 pages de documents ayant trait à la demande d’accès étaient exclusivement conservés à la Direction générale des services juridiques du Ministère.

Le Commissaire a conclu que l’avocat de la Direction générale des services juridiques de DSC qui avait en sa possession des documents ayant trait à la demande d’accès était effectivement un employé du ministère de la Justice. Il a également tenu compte du fait que les documents que l’avocat avait en sa possession consistaient en un échange de correspondance entre des avocats du ministère de la Justice et qu’ils n’étaient pas communiqués (ou n’étaient pas censés être communiqués) aux employés de DSC.

Cela étant, le commissaire a conclu que les 53 documents en question ne se trouvaient pas sous le contrôle de DSC et que, par conséquent, il fallait adresser une demande d’accès distincte au ministère de la Justice à cet égard.

Leçons tirées de l’expérience

Les avocats du ministère de la Justice peuvent avoir leurs bureaux dans les locaux d’une autre institution gouvernementale et travailler à son service, mais les documents qu’ils ont en leur possession ne sont pas tous nécessairement considérés comme étant sous le contrôle du ministère client. Certains de ces documents sont des communications entre les avocats du ministère de la Justice et ne sont pas communiqués ou ne sont pas censés être communiqués aux fonctionnaires du ministère client. Ces documents restent sous le contrôle du ministère de la Justice, et c’est à ce ministère que doivent être adressées les demandes d’accès les concernant.

Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant