Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

CHAPTER III: Investigations and Reviews

Commissioner-initiated complaints

As indicated earlier in this report, the Information Commissioner initiated 760 complaints this year against government institutions. What is to be made of this high number? Does it indicate a shift in the commissioner’s approach to oversight?

Here is the explanation. The 760 complaints were made against three government institutions: Royal Canadian Mounted Police (481), Privy Council Office (126), and the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (153). All the complaints were of delay. Indeed, in each case, the initiated complaints covered all access requests to these three institutions that had not been answered, despite the lapse of statutory deadlines (i.e. all requests in "deemed-refusal" status). The first reason for the commissioner’s decision to initiate these complaints was a long-term inability by these institutions to respect statutory response deadlines. The second reason was the apparent failure of these institutions to act on recommendations for improvement that the Commissioner had made to these institutions in previous report cards. The third reason, perhaps the most important, was concern that a "squeeky-wheel-gets-the-grease" approach (i.e. awaiting the receipt of individual complaints of delay against these institutions) was unfair to the many requesters whose answers were late but who did not choose to make complaints to the Commissioner.

This systemic approach to the problem of delay in answering access requests will be used with greater frequency, given a recent trend upward in the number of delay complaints.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Enquêtes et examens

Les plaintes déposées par le Commissaire

Comme nous l’avons dit, le Commissaire à l’information a, cette année, pris l’initiative de 760 plaintes contre des institutions gouvernementales. Que penser de ce chiffre? Signifie-t-il que le Commissaire a changé de perspective?

Voici l’explication. Ces 760 plaintes ont été déposées contre trois institutions gouvernementales : la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (481), le Bureau du Conseil privé (126) et le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (153). Toutes les plaintes ont trait à des retards de réponse. En fait, dans chaque cas, les plaintes avaient trait à toutes les demandes d’accès adressées à ces trois institutions auxquelles celles-ci n’avaient pas répondu bien que le délai ait été écoulé (toutes les demandes avaient le statut de « refus présumé ») La première raison de la décision du Commissaire était l’incapacité de longue date de ces institutions à respecter les délais de réponse. La deuxième était l’échec manifeste de ces institutions à donner suite aux recommandations du Commissaire pour améliorer leur « fiche de rendement ». La troisième, et peut-être la plus importante, était le souci qu’une méthode passive (attendre les plaintes adressées contre ces institutions) n’était pas juste pour les nombreux demandeurs d’accès qui n’avaient pas obtenu de réponse dans les délais prévus et qui avaient décidé de ne pas adresser de plainte au Commissaire.

Cette perspective systémique du problème des retards de réponse sera plus souvent adoptée, compte tenu de la récente tendance à la hausse du nombre de plaintes pour retard.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant