Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Previous   Table of contents   Next

B: Report Cards: Part II

As part of the proactive mandate of the commissioner’s office, each year a department (or departments) is selected to be the subject of a broad review to determine the extent to which the department is meeting its responsibilities under the Access to Information Act. The responsibilities and requirements can be set out in the Act or its Regulations, such as the timelines required to respond to an access request. Or the responsibilities may emanate from Treasury Board Secretariat or departmental policies, procedures, or other documentation in place to support the access to information process.

Fundamental to the access to information régime are the principles set out in the "Purpose" section of the Access to Information Act. These principles are:

  • Government information should be available to the public;
  • Necessary exemptions to the right of access should be limited and specific;
  • Decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

Unlike the report cards described in Part I of this chapter, which focused on delays, the scope of these reviews seeks to capture an extensive array of data and statistical information to determine how a government institution and its Access to Information (ATI) office are supporting their responsibilities under the Act. The new report card is divided into chapters, as follows:

  • Access process and how it is managed;
  • Deemed-refusal situation;
  • Resources devoted to ATI and their adequacy;
  • Leadership framework to create a culture of access to information in the institution;
  • Information management framework as an underpinning of ATI;
  • Complaint profile for ATI from the perspective of the Office of the Information Commissioner.

In 2005-06, four institutions were selected for review – Finance Canada (Fin), the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB), Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada (PSEPC), and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). Each department completed an extensive Report Card Questionnaire. The completed questionnaire was used as the starting point for an interview with the ATI coordinator of each institution. In addition, a random sample of approximately 15 completed access request files were reviewed to determine how decisions about access requests were made, approved, and documented.

The grading scale used in the new report cards is described in the following table.

Overall Grade Overall ATI Operations
A = Ideal
  • All policies, procedures, operational plan, training plan, staffing in place
  • Evidence of senior management support including an ATI Vision
  • Streamlined approval process with authority delegated to ATIP Coordinator
  • 5% or less deemed refusals
B = Substantial
  • Minor deficiencies to the ideal that can easily be rectified
  • 10% or less deemed refusals
C = Borderline
  • Deficiencies to be dealt with
D = Below Standard
  • Major deficiencies to be dealt with
F = Red Alert
  • So many major deficiencies that a significant departmental effort is required to deal with their resolution or many major persistent deficiencies that have not been dealt with over the years

On the above grading scale, the Immigration and Refugee Board, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police each rated an "F". Their performance was Red Alert. However, Finance Canada rated a "C", Substantial Compliance. Finance Canada is to be congratulated, as, of the 19 institutions reviewed over the years, only one other received a grade other than "F" on its first report.

FINANCE CANADA

Finance Canada has made progress in reducing the deemed-refusal situation. The department is encouraged to continue its efforts to make further progress to achieve a higher grade.

This report card makes a number of recommendations for ATI operations in Finance Canada. Of particular note, an essential component in the administrative framework to support the operation of the Access to Information Act is the development of an ATI Operational Plan for the ATIP Directorate. The plan would establish priorities, tasks and resources, deliverables, milestones, timeframes, and responsibilities to implement the business plan and those recommendations in this Report Card that are accepted by the department. Other recommendations focus on the need to have up-to-date, comprehensive documentation in place to promote consistent decision-making by individuals with responsibilities in the operations supporting the Access to Information Act. These individuals require ATI training to support the fulfillment of their responsibilities.

IMMIGRATION AND REFUGEE BOARD

The report card identified a serious deemed-refusal situation and lack of an up-to-date ATI support structure in the IRB’s current policies, procedures, and technology. Although the ATIP Director (who was appointed to the position in December 2005) has recognized the need to have the support structure updated and started on some projects, there is no comprehensive plan that covers all aspects of what must be accomplished.

Of particular note among the recommendations for ATI operations in the IRB is the development of an ATI Operational and Improvement Plan for the ATIP Directorate, an essential component in the administrative framework to support the operation of the Access to Information Act. The plan would establish priorities, tasks and resources, deliverables, milestones, timeframes, and responsibilities to guide improvements to the administration of the Access to Information Act in the ATIP Directorate and the IRB. Senior management of the IRB should monitor the plan. Other recommendations focus on the need to review the access request approval process to reduce reviews. The ATIP Director has fully delegated authority to make decisions under the Access to Information Act, and that delegation should be exercised without senior level approvals. Senior staff should be informed, as required, in a parallel process.

PUBLIC SAFETY AND EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS CANADA

There exists a serious and persistent deemed-refusal situation in the department. The internal departmental process for finalizing the access request release package is subject to numerous reviews and approvals. The effect of this is to delay the processing of an access request to the point that it is almost impossible to meet the statutory requirements of the Act. Numerous reviews and approvals prior to the release of records also foster an institutional culture of "play it safe".

The report card recommended the development of an ATI Operational and Improvement Plan for the ATIP Office. The plan would establish priorities, tasks and resources, deliverables, milestones, timeframes, and responsibilities to implement the business plan and those recommendations in this Report Card that are accepted by the department. Other recommendations focus on the need to have up-to-date, comprehensive documentation in place to promote consistent decision-making by individuals with responsibilities in the operations supporting the Access to Information Act.

ROYAL CANADIAN MOUNTED POLICE

As in the report card for two other institutions, the review identified a serious and persistent deemed-refusal situation that the RCMP is just starting to address. The situation appears to be the result of staffing reductions that left the ATIP Office over a number of years with significantly fewer staff positions than required to process access requests. The condition has deteriorated to the point where three out of every four access requests have been answered beyond the statutory time requirements of the Act. Senior management of the RCMP is now engaged in solving the problem. For example, it recently allocated an additional 20 positions to the ATIP Office.

In this case too, the report card recommends that the RCMP develop an ATI Operational Plan for the ATIP Office. In addition, an ATI Improvement Plan is urgently needed to guide a dramatic improvement in the deemed-refusal situation. Both plans would establish priorities, tasks and resources, deliverables, milestones, timeframes, and responsibilities to implement the operational plan and the improvement plan, and those recommendations in this report card that are accepted by the RCMP. Other recommendations focus on the need to have up-to-date comprehensive documentation in place to promote consistent decision-making by individuals with responsibilities in the operations supporting the Access to Information Act. These individuals require regular ATI training to support the fulfillment of their responsibilities.

CONCLUSION

All four institutions have recognized that they have serious problems in the processes that support the administration of the Access to Information Act. Each institution in 2005-06 took some positive initial remedial actions. But there was no commitment, at the time of the report cards, as to precisely how and when all of the serious deficiencies described in the report cards will be addressed and how improvements will be sustained.

A critical component of the administration of the Access to Information Act is the leadership role of the ATI coordinator and senior management in a department. Senior management exercises leadership by identifying access to information as a departmental priority and then acting upon this by providing the appropriate resources, technology, training, and policies. Together with the ATI coordinator, it is important for senior management to foster a culture of openness and access to departmental information, by adopting and staying engaged in a remedial plan with clearly defined deliverables and critical dates.

The full text of the report cards is available on our website at www.oic-ci.gc.ca.



Previous   Table of contents   Next

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant

B: Fiches de rendement: Partie II

Dans le cadre du mandat proactif du Commissariat, nous choisissons chaque année un ou des ministères pour en évaluer le rendement. Cet examen vise à déterminer la mesure dans laquelle le ministère remplit ses responsabilités à l’égard de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces responsabilités et exigences sont formulées dans la Loi ou dans le Règlement, et c’est le cas, notamment, des délais de réponse aux demandes d’accès. Ces responsabilités peuvent également émaner du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ou des politiques, procédures et autres principes du ministère en matière d’accès à l’information.

Les principes énoncés dans la section de l’Objet de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sont fondamentaux pour le système d’accès à l’information. Ce sont les suivants :

  • L’information gouvernementale doit être accessible au public.
  • Les exceptions nécessaires au droit d’accès doivent être limitées et précises.
  • Les décisions relatives à la divulgation de l’information gouvernementale doivent être révisées indépendamment du gouvernement.

Contrairement à l’analyse des fiches de rendement décrites dans la Partie I de ce chapitre, qui a trait aux retards, la portée des examens dans ce cas-ci renvoie à toutes sortes de données et renseignements statistiques permettant de déterminer si une institution gouvernementale et son bureau de l’accès à l’information (AI) remplissent leurs obligations législatives. La nouvelle fiche de rendement est divisée en chapitres portant sur les aspects suivants :

  • La procédure d’accès et sa gestion.
  • Les refus présumés.
  • Les ressources consacrées à l’AI et leur suffisance.
  • Le cadre de leadership permettant d’instaurer une culture de l’accès à l’information dans l’institution.
  • Le cadre de gestion de l’information qui sous-tend l’AI.
  • Le profil des plaintes du point de vue du Commissariat à l’information.

En 2005-2006, nous avons retenu quatre institutions : Finances Canada (Fin), la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR), Sécurité publique et Protection civile (SPPC) et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). Chaque ministère a rempli un long questionnaire de fiche de rendement, dont le contenu a servi de base à une entrevue avec le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP de chaque institution. Par ailleurs, nous avons examiné un échantillon aléatoire d’une quinzaine de dossiers de demande d’accès pour voir comment les décisions sont prises, approuvées et étayées.

L’échelle de classement employé dans les nouvelles fiches de rendement est expliquée dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Classement général

Fonctionnement général de l’AI

A = Idéal

  • L’ensemble des politiques, des procédures, du plan opérationnel, du plan de formation et de la procédure de dotation est en place.
  • Les cadres supérieurs appuient manifestement le programme et l’AI fait l’objet d’une vision à l’échelle de l’institution.
  • La procédure d’approbation est simplifiée, et le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP jouit d’un pouvoir délégué.
  • 5 % ou moins de refus présumés.

B = Substantiel

  • Quelques lacunes mineures faciles à rectifier pour atteindre le niveau idéal.
  • 10 % ou moins de refus présumés.

C = Limite

  • Lacunes à régler.

D = Inférieur à la norme

  • Lacunes importantes à régler.

F = Alerte rouge

  • Les lacunes sont si nombreuses et si importantes que le ministère doit faire un effort important pour les régler ou plusieurs lacunes majeures persistent et n’ont pas été réglées au cours des années.

Selon l’échelle de classement ci-dessus, la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié, Sécurité publique et Protection civile et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ont obtenu un « F ». Leur rendement est donc au niveau de l’alerte rouge. Par contre, Finances Canada a obtenu un « C » (conformité substantielle). Il y a lieu de féliciter Finances Canada, car, des 19 institutions vérifiées au cours des années, une seule autre a obtenu mieux qu’un « F » au premier examen.

FINANCES CANADA

Finances Canada a progressé dans la réduction du nombre de refus présumés. Le ministère est invité à poursuivre ses efforts pour obtenir un meilleur classement.

Cette fiche de rendement contient un certain nombre de recommandations pour le fonctionnement de l’AI au ministère. Notons que le cadre administratif qui étaye l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information suppose à titre indispensable l’élaboration d’un plan opérationnel de l’AI pour la Direction de l’AIPRP. Le plan préciserait les priorités, les tâches et les ressources, les produits livrables, les jalons, les échéances et les responsabilités d’exécution du plan d’activité, ainsi que les recommandations de la fiche de rendement acceptées par le ministère. D’autres recommandations portent sur la nécessité de produire une documentation à jour et complète pour promouvoir la cohérence du processus décisionnel de ceux qui ont la charge de faciliter l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces responsables ont besoin de formation en matière d’AI pour remplir leurs obligations.

LA COMMISSION DE L’IMMIGRATION ET DU STATUT DE RÉFUGIÉ

La fiche de rendement a révélé un grand nombre de refus présumés et un manque de structure actualisée d’appui à l’AI dans les politiques, les procédures et la technologie actuelles de la CISR. Le directeur de l’AIPRP (nommé en décembre 2005) n’ignore pas que la structure d’appui doit être mise à jour et a entamé quelques projets à cet égard, mais il n’existe pas de plan exhaustif couvrant toutes les tâches à exécuter.

Notons, entre autres recommandations ayant trait au fonctionnement de l’AI à la CISR, qu’il y a lieu de dresser un plan d’activité et d’amélioration AI pour la Direction de l’AIPRP. Ce plan est un élément essentiel du cadre administratif qui appuie l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il précise les priorités, les tâches et les ressources, les produits livrables, les jalons, les échéances et les responsabilités associés à l’amélioration de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information à la Direction de l’AIPRP et à la CISR. La haute direction de la CISR devrait assurer le suivi de l’application du plan. D’autres recommandations ont trait à la nécessité de vérifier la procédure d’approbation des demandes d’accès pour réduire les examens. Le directeur de l’AIPRP a la délégation du pouvoir décisionnel que lui confère la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et ce pouvoir devrait être exercé sans l’intervention de la haute direction. Les cadres supérieurs devraient être informés, au besoin, selon une procédure parallèle.

SÉCURITÉ PUBLIQUE ET PROTECTION CIVILE CANADA

Le ministère affiche un nombre important et systématique de refus présumés. La procédure interne de traitement des demandes d’accès comporte un grand nombre d’examens et d’approbation. Cela a pour effet de retarder les réponses au point qu’il est presque impossible de respecter les exigences de la Loi. Ces nombreux examens et modes d’approbation avant la communication de documents favorisent également une culture institutionnelle fondée sur l’excès de prudence.

La fiche de rendement recommande l’élaboration d’un plan d’activité et d’amélioration AI pour le bureau de l’AIPRP. Le plan est censé préciser les priorités, les tâches et les ressources, les produits livrables, les jalons, les échéances et les responsabilités d’exécution du plan d’activité ainsi que les recommandations de la fiche de rendement acceptées par le ministère. D’autres recommandations portent sur la nécessité de produire une documentation à jour et complète pour promouvoir la cohérence du processus décisionnel de ceux qui sont chargés de faciliter l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

LA GENDARMERIE ROYALE DU CANADA

Comme deux autres institutions, la GRC affiche un nombre important et systématique de refus présumés, problème qu’elle vient de commencer à aborder. La situation semble être le résultat d’une réduction des effectifs, qui a laissé, depuis un certain nombre d’années, le bureau de l’AIPRP amputé d’un nombre important d’employés dont il aurait besoin pour traiter les demandes d’accès. La situation s’est détériorée au point que trois demandes d’accès sur quatre obtiennent une réponse tardive. La haute direction de la GRC a désormais décidé de régler ce problème. Par exemple, elle vient d’attribuer 20 postes supplémentaires au bureau de l’AIPRP.

Dans ce cas également, la fiche de rendement recommande que la GRC dresse un plan d’activité AI pour le bureau de l’AIPRP. On a aussi besoin, de toute urgence, d’un plan d’amélioration pour orienter les efforts destinés à résorber le nombre de refus présumés. Les deux plans devraient préciser les priorités, les tâches et les ressources, les produits livrables, les jalons, les échéances et les responsabilités d’exécution des deux plans, ainsi que les recommandations de la fiche de rendement acceptées par la GRC. D’autres recommandations portent sur la nécessité de produire une documentation à jour et complète pour promouvoir la cohérence du processus décisionnel de ceux qui sont chargés de faciliter l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces responsables ont besoin d’une formation AI pour remplir leurs obligations.

CONCLUSION

Ces quatre institutions ont reconnu qu’elles avaient des problèmes graves concernant la procédure d’application de la Loi sur l’accès àl’information. En 2005-2006, chaque institution a pris certaines mesures correctives positives, mais, au moment de la production des fiches de rendement, aucun engagement précis n’avait été annoncé concernant la façon dont chacune d’elles s’y prendrait pour combler les graves lacunes décrites, la date où ces mesures seraient adoptées ni ce que l’on ferait pour que ces améliorations soient durables.

L’un des aspects fondamentaux de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est le rôle de leadership qu’assument le coordonnateur de l’AIPRPet les cadres supérieurs dans un ministère. La haute direction exerce celeadership en considérant l’accès à l’information comme une prioritéministérielle et en veillant à ce que des ressources suffisantes y soientconsacrées et à ce que la technologie, la formation et les politiques nécessairessoient en place. Il est important que, de concert avec le coordonnateur del’AIPRP, les cadres supérieurs favorisent une culture de la transparence et del’accès en adoptant et en appliquant un plan de redressement assorti deproduits livrables clairement définis et de dates critiques.

Le texte complet des fiches de rendement est affiché sur le site Web duCommissariat, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.oic-ci.gc.ca/.



Précédent   Table des matières   Suivant