Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Open Government

Resolution of Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy Commissioners

September 1, 2010 – Whitehorse, Yukon

CONTEXT

Calls for greater openness and transparency are exerting increasing pressure on governments to transform their traditional, reactive information dissemination methods into a mode that facilitates proactive disclosure. Furthermore, governments around the world are recognizing the value of sharing information with the public in accessible, open formats. They understand that collaborating with citizens, businesses and non-government organizations to enrich their information resources improves communication channels, promotes citizen engagement, instils trust in government, fosters economic opportunities and ultimately results in more open and responsive democratic government.

Technology now affords public institutions the opportunity to directly engage citizens, to proactively disclose information and to support the renewal of the social contract between government and citizens.

Open government is linked to access to information legislation. However, it extends the concepts inherent in these laws to promote an entirely new way of viewing the role of government and the participation of citizens in it. While access to information provides a right of access to government information, the laws are fundamentally reactive because access is granted only after a request is made.

Access to information and privacy commissioners are advocates for open government and promote the paradigm shift from reactive to proactive disclosure, and ultimately to open government.

The basic tenets of a sound open government strategy are:

  • Commitment of governments at all levels to lead a cultural change conducive to open government. Governments should anchor the principles in statutory and policy instruments that provide clear objectives, assign responsibility and accountability, and prescribe specific timeframes. Governments should develop robust programs to ensure that access mechanisms are built into the design and implementation stages of all new programs and services to facilitate and enhance proactive disclosure of information. The instruments should also include due consideration for privacy, confidentiality, security, Crown copyright and all relevant laws.
  • Participation of the public through ongoing, broad-based public consultations. Governments should consult the public to determine what information they need to assess their accountability. Consultation should become the basis for establishing priorities for the disclosure and exploitation of information resources.
  • Open, accessible and reusable information. This means that information should be disseminated free or at minimal cost, and supported by data structures to assist in the discovery, understanding and interpretation of the information. It should be provided in open standard formats that are adaptable and reusable. Governments should also collaborate with and encourage citizens, businesses and non-government organizations to participate in the development and maximize the use of technology to enrich their information resources.

IN THIS CONTEXT, CANADA’S ACCESS TO INFORMATION AND PRIVACY COMMISSIONERS (“COMMISSIONERS”) RESOLVE AS FOLLOWS:

  1. The Commissioners endorse and promote open government as a means to enhance transparency and accountability which are essential features of good governance and critical elements of an effective and robust democracy.
  2. The Commissioners call on the federal and all provincial and territorial governments to declare the importance of open government, including specific commitments for stronger standards for transparency and participation by the public.
  3. Governments should build access mechanisms into the design and implementation stages of all new programs and services to facilitate and enhance proactive disclosure of information.
  4. Through ongoing consultations with the public, governments should routinely identify data sources and proactively disclose information in open, accessible and reusable formats. Public access to information should be provided free or at minimal cost.
  5. In implementing open government policies, the federal and all provincial and territorial governments should give due consideration to privacy, confidentiality, security, Crown copyright and all relevant laws.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Transparence gouvernementale

Résolution des commissaires canadiens de l’accès à l’information

et à la protection de la vie privée

Le 1er septembre 2010 – Whitehorse, Yukon

CONTEXTE

Des appels à une plus grande ouverture et transparence exercent une pression croissante sur les gouvernements afin que ceux-ci changent leurs méthodes traditionnelles et réactionnelles de communication de l’information en méthodes qui favorisent une diffusion automatique. Partout dans le monde, des gouvernements reconnaissent l’importance de communiquer l’information au public de façon transparente et accessible. Ils comprennent que la collaboration avec les citoyens, les entreprises et les organismes non gouvernementaux en vue de multiplier leurs sources d’information améliore les voies de communication, encourage l’engagement des citoyens, accroît la confiance envers le gouvernement, favorise les opportunités économiques et finalement, conduit à un gouvernement démocratique plus ouvert, transparent et réceptif.

Les technologies permettent maintenant aux institutions publiques d’entrer en contact direct avec les citoyens, de dévoiler l’information de façon automatique et de soutenir, par la diffusion de l’information, le contrat social entre le gouvernement et les citoyens.

La transparence des gouvernements s’appuie sur les lois sur l’accès à l’information. Cependant, il faut aller plus loin que le concept à la base de ces lois afin de promouvoir une toute nouvelle vision du rôle du gouvernement et de la participation des citoyens dans celui-ci. Bien que l’accès à l’information permette un droit d’accès à l’information gouvernementale, ces lois sont fondamentalement réactionnelles puisque l’accès n’est accordé que sur demande.

Les commissaires de l’accès à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée encouragent la transparence gouvernementale et promeuvent un changement de paradigme d’une divulgation réactive vers une divulgation proactive, pour arriver en bout de ligne à la transparence gouvernementale.

Voici les principes de base d’une stratégie de transparence gouvernementale :

  • L’engagement des gouvernements à tous les niveaux afin de promouvoir un changement de culture favorisant la transparence. Les principes devraient être établis par des instruments législatifs et politiques qui comportent des objectifs clairs, déterminent les responsabilités et les obligations de rendre compte, et prévoient des échéanciers précis. Afin de contribuer à la divulgation de l’information de façon automatique, les gouvernements devraient étoffer des programmes qui assurent l’intégration des mécanismes d’accès et de transparence dans les étapes de la conception et la mise en œuvre de tous les nouveaux programmes et services. Ces instruments devraient prendre en considération la protection des renseignements personnels, la confidentialité, la sécurité, les droits d’auteur et toutes autres lois pertinentes.

  • La participation du public grâce à une vaste consultation publique permanente. Les gouvernements devraient consulter la population pour déterminer quelle information est requise pour obtenir une reddition de comptes. Les consultations devraient constituer la base pour déterminer les priorités concernant la divulgation et l’utilisation de l’information.

  • De l’information complète, accessible et exploitable. Cela signifie que l’information devrait être diffusée gratuitement ou à coût minime, et comprendre les structures de données pour faciliter la recherche, la compréhension et l’interprétation de l’information. Elle devrait également être présentée dans des formats standards, ouvert et apte à être adapté et réutilisé. Les gouvernements devraient également collaborer avec les citoyens, les entreprises et les organismes non gouvernementaux, les encourager à participer au processus et maximiser l’utilisation des technologies afin de multiplier les accès à l’information.

DANS CE CONTEXTE, LES COMMISSAIRES À L’INFORMATION ET À LA PROTECTION DE LA VIE PRIVÉE DU CANADA (« COMMISSAIRES ») ADOPTENT LES RÉSOLUTIONS SUIVANTES :

1. les commissaires soutiennent et encouragent la transparence des gouvernements et la reddition de comptes qui sont des fondements importants d’une bonne gouvernance et des éléments essentiels pour une démocratie forte et efficace;

2. les commissaires demandent au gouvernement fédéral et à tous les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux de reconnaître l’importance de la transparence gouvernementale et de prendre des engagements précis pour rehausser les normes de transparence et la participation du public;

3. les gouvernements devraient établir des mécanismes d’accès et de transparence dès les étapes de la conception et de la mise en œuvre de tous les nouveaux programmes et services afin de faciliter et améliorer la divulgation automatique de l’information.

4. par le moyen de consultations publiques continues, les gouvernements devraient régulièrement cerner les sources de renseignements, et les diffuser de façon automatique, transparente et dans un format exploitable. L’accès du public à l’information devrait être gratuit ou à coût minime;

5. dans la mise en œuvre d’une politique de transparence gouvernementale, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux devraient accorder une attention particulière à la protection des renseignements personnels, à la confidentialité, à la sécurité, aux droits d’auteur et à toutes autres lois pertinentes.