Safeguarding Independent Review of Solicitor-Client Privilege Claims

Resolution of the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Information and Privacy Commissioners

Iqaluit, Nunavut, October 17-18, 2017

Context

Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial Information and Privacy Commissioners (IPCs) perform a vital oversight function by ensuring that public bodies comply with their obligations under access to information and privacy legislation. IPCs perform an important first level of independent review about the manner in which public bodies process requests for access to information.

The independent review function performed by each of Canada’s IPCs fundamentally depends on their ability to examine responsive records over which public bodies claim exemptions, including the exemption for solicitor-client privilegeFootnote 1, in order to determine that such claims have been properly asserted.

In Alberta (Information and Privacy Commissioner) v. University of Calgary, 2016 SCC 53 (University of Calgary), the Supreme Court of Canada recently determined that the legislative language used in Alberta’s Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIP) did not express a sufficiently clear and unambiguous intention to empower the Alberta Commissioner to compel records for review when solicitor-client privilege is claimed over those records. The Supreme Court reached this conclusion despite language in FOIP authorizing the Alberta Commissioner to compel the production of records notwithstanding “any privilege of the law of evidence.”

IPCs are concerned there is considerable variation in the legislative language used to confer powers, including the power to compel the production of records, upon IPCs at the federal, provincial and territorial levels. Given this variability, Canada’s IPCs are concerned about the potential ramifications of the Supreme Court’s ruling in University of Calgary for the proper functioning of access to information and privacy legislation across the country.

Whereas

  • Access to information and privacy are quasi-constitutional rights that are fundamental to individual self-determination, democracy, accountability and good government;
  • The decisions made by public bodies with respect to the disclosure of information must be independently reviewed in order to ensure that the fundamental objectives of access and privacy legislation at all levels are fulfilled;
  • Canada’s IPCs perform an important first level of independent review by reviewing the manner in which public bodies process requests for access to information, including personal information. Canada’s IPCs have been tasked by Legislatures and Parliament with overseeing public bodies in this regard;
  • Canada’s IPCs recognize the importance of the protections afforded by solicitor-client privilege for the proper functioning of Canada’s legal system;
  • The IPCs have practices and procedures in place to ensure confidentiality and security of information provided to them, including information over which public bodies have claimed solicitor-client privilege;
  • Providing IPCs with records over which solicitor-client privilege is claimed for the purposes of independent review does not constitute waiver of this privilege. The IPCs’ review of these records is only to confirm whether they are subject to solicitor-client privilege. IPCs do not disclose the records or use them for any other purpose; and
  • The Supreme Court has determined that legislative language purporting to set aside solicitor- client privilege must be clear, explicit and unequivocal.

Therefore

Where there is any doubt about the adequacy of existing legislative language, Canada’s IPCs call upon the governments in such jurisdictions to amend their access to information and privacy legislation to express the unambiguous intention that the associated Commissioner is authorized to compel the production of records over which solicitor-client privilege is claimed in order to determine whether this exemption has been properly asserted.

List of signatories

Suzanne Legault,
Information Commissioner of Canada

Daniel Therrien,
Privacy Commissioner of Canada

Jill Clayton,
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta

Drew McArthur,
Acting Information and Privacy Commissioner for British Columbia

Charlene Paquin,
Ombudsman for Manitoba

Donovan Molloy, Q.C.,
Information and Privacy Commissioner for Newfoundland and Labrador

Elaine Keenan Bengts,
Information and Privacy Commissioner for the Northwest Territories and Information and Privacy Commissioner for Nunavut

Catherine Tully,
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Nova Scotia

Brian Beamish,
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario

Karen A. Rose,
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Prince Edward Island

Me Jean Chartier,
President, Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec

Ronald J. Kruzeniski, Q.C.,
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Saskatchewan

Diane McLeod-McKay,
Information and Privacy Commissioner of Yukon

Footnotes

Footnote 1

In this resolution, the term “solicitor-client privilege” includes litigation privilege

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Protéger l’examen indépendant des documents pour lesquels le secret professionnel de l’avocat est invoqué

Résolution des commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux

Iqaluit (Nunavut), les 17 et 18 octobre

Contexte

Les commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada (les commissaires) assument un rôle de surveillance essentiel en assurant que les institutions publiques respectent leurs obligations en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée. Les commissaires effectuent un premier niveau d’examen indépendant en examinant la façon dont les institutions publiques traitent les demandes d’accès aux documents.

L’examen indépendant effectué par chacun des commissaires dépend fondamentalement de leur capacité à examiner les documents pertinents pour lesquels des institutions publiques invoquent des exceptions, y compris celle relative au secret professionnel de l’avocatNote de bas de page 1, afin de déterminer si ces exceptions ont été appliquées de façon adéquate.

Dans Alberta (Information and Privacy Commissioner) c. University of Calgary, 2016 SCC 53 (University of Calgary), la Cour suprême du Canada a récemment déterminé que la disposition législative utilisée dans la Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIP) de l’Alberta (loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée) n’exprime pas une intention suffisamment claire et non équivoque pour conférer au commissaire de l’Alberta le pouvoir d’obtenir aux fins d’examen les documents à l’égard desquels le secret professionnel de l’avocat est invoqué. La Cour suprême est arrivée à cette conclusion malgré la terminologie utilisée dans la FOIP qui autorise le commissaire de l’Alberta à ordonner la production de documents nonobstant toute « immunité reconnue par le droit de la preuve » [traduction].

La terminologie utilisée dans les dispositions législatives conférant les pouvoirs aux commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée varie d’une juridiction à l’autre. En raison de ces variations terminologiques, les commissaires du Canada sont préoccupés par les ramifications potentielles que la décision de la Cour suprême dans University of Calgary pourrait avoir sur l’application des lois relatives à l’accès à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée dans tout le pays.

Considérant que

  • L’accès à l’information et la protection à la vie privée sont des droits quasi constitutionnels qui sont fondamentaux à l’autodétermination individuelle, à la démocratie, à la reddition de comptes et à la bonne gouvernance;
  • Les décisions prises par les institutions publiques quant à la divulgation d’information doivent être examinées de façon indépendante afin d’assurer l’atteinte des objectifs fondamentaux de la législation en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée à tous les niveaux;
  • Les commissaires du Canada font un premier niveau d’examen indépendant en évaluant comment les institutions publiques traitent les demandes d’accès aux documents et aux renseignements personnels. Ce pouvoir de surveillance des institutions publiques a été attribué aux commissaires du Canada par les assemblées législatives et le Parlement;
  • Les commissaires reconnaissent l’importance des protections accordées par le secret professionnel de l’avocat pour le fonctionnement adéquat du système juridique canadien;
  • Les commissaires ont des pratiques et des procédures en place pour assurer la confidentialité et la sécurité de l’information qui leur est confiée, y compris l’information pour laquelle les institutions publiques ont invoqué le secret professionnel de l’avocat;
  • Le fait de fournir aux commissaires du Canada des documents pour lesquels le secret professionnel de l’avocat est invoqué dans le but de mener un examen indépendant ne constitue pas une renonciation à ce privilège. L’examen effectué par les commissaires vise seulement à confirmer si les documents sont assujettis au secret professionnel de l’avocat. Les commissaires ne divulguent pas ces documents ni ne les utilisent autrement;
  • La Cour suprême a déterminé qu’une disposition législative visant à écarter le secret professionnel de l’avocat doit être claire, explicite et non équivoque.

Par conséquent

Lorsqu’il existe un doute quant à la clarté de la terminologie utilisée dans une disposition législative existante, les commissaires demandent aux gouvernements concernés de modifier leur législation en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée afin d’exprimer l’intention manifeste que le commissaire concerné a le pouvoir d’ordonner la production de documents pour lesquels le secret professionnel de l’avocat est invoqué afin de déterminer si cette exception a été appliquée de façon adéquate.

Liste des signataires

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Daniel Therrien
Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada

Jill Clayton
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Alberta

Drew McArthur
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée par intérim de la Colombie-Britannique

Charlene Paquin
Ombudsman du Manitoba

Donovan Molloy, c.r.
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Elaine Keenan Bengts
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée du Nunavut

Catherine Tully
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Brian Beamish
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario

Karen A. Rose
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Me Jean Chartier
Président, Commission d’accès à l’information du Québec

Ronald J. Kruzeniski, c.r.
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de la Saskatchewan

Diane McLeod-McKay
Commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée du Yukon

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Dans cette résolution, le privilège relatif au litige est inclus dans l’expression « secret professionnel de l’avocat ».

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1