Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires

Year


Citizenship and Immigration Canada 

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2007-2008)
1. Number of requests carried over: 1,192
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 53
Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2008-2009— Exclude requests included in Part A
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 14,037 NB: CIC received 14,034 at the time of reporting on March 31, 2009. Three (3) requests that were received in March were indexed in 2009-2010 (instead of 2008-2009), and therefore not captured for the 2008-2009 reporting period.
4.A How many were completed within the statutory 30-day time limit? 11,080
4.B How many were completed beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed ? 553
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed ?  
  1-30 days: 412
  31-60 days: 67
  61-90 days: 40
  Over 91 days: 34
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 930
6.A How many were completed within the extended time limit? 611
6.B How many exceeded the extended time limit? 83
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 47
  31-60 days: 19
  61-90 days: 11
  Over 91 days: 6
7. Number of requests carried over in 2009-2010? 1,610
8. As of April 1 st , 2009, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation? 32
Part C: Contributing Factors
9. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
 

Volumes

CIC is the most accessed federal institution, having received over 14,000 requests in 2008-2009. Volumes continue to increase – in 2008-2009, the department received over 20% more ATI requests than in 2007-2008, with no corresponding increase in resources. The number of pages reviewed has also increased substantially from just over 600,000 in 2007-2008 to 808,196 in 2008-2009. 

Difficulties retrieving records

At CIC most of the requested files come from missions overseas. Some of them are remote and/or because of budget restraints, diplomatic bags are relied on to send the documents to Canada. This often means that it can take weeks for documents to reach Canada. In order to manage our unique situation and respond to requests in a timely manner, we have identified a list of missions that encounter difficulties in providing the documents to us within the 30 day statutory deadline prescribed in the Act and take reasonable and justifiable extensions. Our practice in that regard was endorsed by the OIC in 2005, recognizing CIC’s unique situation. 

Staff shortages

Again, due to CIC’s high ATI volumes and the fact that records are coming from outside national headquarters, staff shortages are not only an issue for the ATIP Division but a challenge throughout the organization. There are areas (in particular in certain overseas missions) with limited resources and no specific funding for ATIP duties. To illustrate this, in 2008-2009 4,310 callouts for records were made to missions. Of those, the top five missions were: Chandigarh (731 callouts which represents 17%), Beijing (724 callouts which represents 16.8%), New Delhi (433 callouts which represents 10%), Hong Kong (364 callouts which represents 8.4%) and Buffalo (192 callouts which represents 4.5%). This represents a considerable volume of extra work for these missions in particular, as there are no dedicated resources for it. 

Requests filed in bulk

CIC has several bulk requestors that regularly file several (upwards of 50) requests all at the same time. Given the legislative deadline for responding, this practice puts a significant strain on the Division’s resources. Again, it also has an impact beyond the Division, as often the records have to be retrieved from overseas missions. 

Consultations with other institutions External consultations with other government departments and agencies are having an impact on our ability to meet legislative deadlines. This is particularly the case for mandatory consultations with, for example, PCO on section 69 and DFAIT on section 15. 

Others

In October 2008, multiculturalism became part of CIC’s portfolio. This resulted in an increase in volume for the Complex Cases and Issues Unit in terms of new requests, as well as inheriting nine files from Heritage Canada (representing almost 10,000 pages).

10.
Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others

Approval process

In 2005, CIC’s current system was developed after a review of the Department’s process which at that time revealed inefficiencies in the approval process which resulted in lengthy delays for certain requests. CIC’s current approach for sensitive and complex files (which represent 5% of the department’s total volume) involves giving a heads-up (not an approval process) of upcoming releases by email to those involved including only potential sensitivities. This process was further modified in 2008-2009 and Communications and the Minister’s Office are now provided with the disclosure package in a parallel process. 

Fast Track process

95% of CIC’s ATIs are requests for client related information (personal information). The ATIP division is divided into four units, one being the Fast Track Unit. Officers in this unit are at the PM-2 and PM-3 level with 2 senior reviewers that are responsible for the final signoff of the files. The PM-3’s have delegation to signoff on sections 13 and 19(1). This reduces the amount of files that need to go through the senior reviewers. To ensure that we process all of the files due on a given day, reports are printed on a daily basis to identify the requests that need to be reviewed, approved and mailed out. Due to its efficient process and monitoring activities, CIC met its legislative deadline 95% of the time in 2008-2009. 

Delegation

In 2005 and 2006, CIC made substantial changes to its Delegation of Authority for the Access to Information Act (ATIA) and Privacy Act to better enable the Department in meeting its legislative deadlines. These changes include greater delegation of authority at the PM03 and PM04 level; some increased delegation at the PM05 level; delegation of authority equal to the EX01 position for the PM06 position (which is full delegated authority for all exemptions under the Act). These additional delegations of authority are consistent with the level of experience of staff at those levels, and with the knowledge and decision-making abilities of staff who administer the ATIA. 

Director General Reporting

In an effort to improve compliance, raise knowledge and awareness, and engage senior management, several years ago ATIP Division instituted reporting for each Branch. These reports are generated and distributed monthly to Directors General across the department, indicating the number of call outs received and their performance in responding according to prescribed deadlines. The reports are then posted on the department’s internal website. 

Analysis of late files

ATIP Division conducts a monthly review and analysis of late files in an effort to specify causes for delay and to identify mitigation strategies to improve compliance. This practice was positively acknowledged in the Commissioner’s 2008-2009 Annual Report to Parliament. 

Training & Awareness

The Division provides training and awareness on ATIP throughout the department, including it as a mandatory component on CIC’s Middle Manager’s Learning Plan.

Part D: Completion Time
11. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009?
  The majority of requests (63% or 8,579) were responded to in 30 days or less. 4,175 (30.7%) requests were closed within 31-60 days. Thus, the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009 is between 30-40 days.
Part E: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
12. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for the 2008-2009.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2007-2008)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 1,192
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 53
Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 14,037 Nota : Lors de la publication du rapport, le 31 mars 2009, CIC avait reçu 14 034 demandes. Trois des demandes reçues en mars ont été indexées à l’exercice 2009-2010 (au lieu de 2008-2009) et, par conséquent, ne figurent pas au rapport de l’exercice 2008-2009.
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 11,080
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 553
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 412
  31 - 60 jours 67
  61 - 90 jours 40
  Plus de 91 jours 34
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 930
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant l’échéance prorogée 611
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 83
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 47
  31 - 60 jours 19
  61 - 90 jours 11
  Plus de 91 jours 6
7. Nombre de demandes reportées en 2009-2010 1,610
8. Nombre de demandes en présomption de refus au 1 er  avril 2009 32
Partie C : Facteurs contributifs
9. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi). Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
 

Volumes CIC est l’organisation gouvernementale la plus sollicitée, avec plus de 14 000 demandes pour l’exercice 2008-2009. Ces volumes ne cessent d’augmenter : pour l’exercice 2008-2009, le Ministère a reçu plus de 20 % de demandes d’accès à l’information (AI) de plus que pour l’exercice 2007-2008, cela que l’on constate une augmentation correspondante des ressources. Le nombre de pages examinées a également augmenté de façon notable, passant d’un peu plus de 600 000 pour 2007-2008 à 808 196 pour 2008-2009. 

Difficultés a obtenir les documents

À CIC, la plupart des dossiers demandés sont conservés dans les missions à l’étranger. Certaines de ces missions sont éloignées ou, en raison de contraintes budgétaires, s’en remettent aux valises diplomatiques pour acheminer ces documents au Canada. Cela signifie le plus souvent qu’il peut s’écouler plusieurs semaines avant qu’ils ne parviennent au Canada. Afin de gérer cet aspect unique de notre situation et de répondre aux demandes en temps opportun, nous avons dressé la liste des missions éprouvant des difficultés à nous expédier des documents dans les 30 jours réglementaires, tel que le prévoit la Loi, et usons de prolongations raisonnables et justifiables. Notre pratique en la matière a été avalisée par décret en 2005, en reconnaissance de la situation particulière de CIC.  

Pénurie de personnel

Encore une fois, en raison du volume élevé de demandes d’AI à CIC et du fait que les documents demandés sont conservés à l’extérieur à l’administration centrale, la pénurie de personnel n’est pas seulement une difficulté pour la Division de l’AIPRP, mais aussi pour l’ensemble de l’organisation. Certains secteurs (en particulier certaines missions à l’étranger) ont des ressources limitées à leur disposition et aucuns fonds prévus pour les demandes d’AIPRP.   Pour illustrer le fait, en 2008-2009, 4 310 appels de documents ont été adressés aux missions. Les cinq principales missions concernées étaient les suivantes : Chandigarh (731 appels, soit 17 %), Beijing (724 appels, soit 16,8 %), New Delhi (433 appels, soit 10 %), Hong Kong (364 appels, soit 8,4 %) et Buffalo (192 appels, soit 4,5 %). Pour ces missions en particulier, ceci représente un volume de travail supplémentaire considérable, puisqu’il n’y a aucune ressource prévue à cet effet.  

Demandes en série

CIC compte plusieurs demandeurs en série qui, régulièrement, soumettent plusieurs demandes en même temps (jusqu’à 50). Compte tenu du délai de réponse imposé par la Loi, ce mode de fonctionnement pèse lourdement sur les ressources de la Division. Là encore, les répercussions se font sentir au-delà de la Division, puisque les documents doivent très souvent être obtenus auprès des missions à l’étranger.  

Consultation d’autres organismes

La consultation d’autres ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux a également des répercussions sur notre capacité à respecter les délais prévus par la Loi. Ceci est le cas en particulier des consultations obligatoires comme, par exemple, le BCP pour l’article 69 et le MAECI pour l’article 65.  

Autres

En octobre 2008, les responsabilités liées au multiculturalisme ont été confiées au portefeuille de CIC. Ceci a entraîné une hausse de volume à l’Unité des cas et questions complexes, en termes de nouvelles demandes, en plus d’hériter de neuf dossiers de Patrimoine canadien (soit environ 10 000 pages).

10.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres

Processus d’approbation

En 2005, le système actuel de CIC a été mis au point après un examen du processus en vigueur au Ministère, lequel avait révélé les dysfonctionnements du processus d’approbation, cause de lenteurs pour certaines demandes. L’approche actuelle à CIC, concernant les dossiers sensibles et complexes (qui représentent 5 % du volume total du Ministère), demande que l’on signale à l’attention du personnel impliqué – il ne s’agit pas d’un processus d’approbation – les messages ultérieurs par courriel qui ne porteront que sur de potentiels points sensibles. Ce processus a été modifié de nouveau en 2008-2009 et, désormais, les Communications et le Cabinet du ministre reçoivent la documentation divulguée par le biais d’un processus parallèle.  

Traitement accéléré

À CIC, 95 % des demandes d’AI portent sur des renseignements concernant le client (renseignements personnels). La Division de l’AIPRP se divise en quatre unités, dont l’Unité de cheminement rapide. Les agents de cette unité sont des employés de niveau PM-02 et PM-03, auxquels s’ajoutent deux examinateurs principaux chargés de la dernière étape des dossiers. Les PM-03 sont chargés de pouvoir pour la dernière étape lorsqu’il s’agit de l’article 13 et du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi. Cela réduit le nombre de dossiers destinés aux examinateurs principaux. Pour traiter tous les dossiers pour une échéance donnée, les rapports sont imprimés au quotidien pour distinguer les demandes qui doivent être examinées, approuvées et envoyées. En raison de ce processus efficace et de son suivi, CIC a été en mesure de respecter les délais prévus par la Loi dans 95 % des cas pour l’exercice 2008-2009.  

Délégation de pouvoir

En 2005 et en 2006, CIC a apporté d’importants changements à sa délégation de pouvoirs aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI) et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, afin que le Ministère puisse mieux respecter les délais prévus par la Loi. Ces changements comprenaient une plus importante délégation de pouvoirs aux niveaux PM-03 et PM-04; un peu plus de pouvoirs délégués au niveau PM-05; une délégation de pouvoirs égale au poste EX-01 pour le poste PM-06 (lequel est doté d’une délégation entière pour toutes les dispenses prévues par la Loi). Ces délégations de pouvoir supplémentaires correspondent au niveau d’expérience du personnel à ces niveaux, et aux connaissances et aux capacités de décision du personnel qui administre la LAI.  

\Rapport du directeur général

Afin de veiller à la conformité des activités, à l’amélioration des connaissances et de la sensibilisation, ainsi que d’obtenir la participation de la haute direction, la Division de l’AIPRP avait institué l’envoi de rapports pour chaque direction générale, il y a plusieurs années de cela. Sur ces rapports, créés et distribués tous les mois aux directeurs généraux du Ministère, figurent le nombre d’appels reçus et leur capacité à y répondre dans les délais prévus par la Loi. Ces rapports sont ensuite affichés sur l’intranet du Ministère.  

Analyse des dossiers en retard

La Division de l’AIPRP effectue un examen et une analyse mensuels des dossiers en retard, afin d’en établir les causes et d’élaborer des stratégies pouvant les atténuer pour une meilleure conformité d’ensemble. Cette pratique a été reçue positivement par le commissaire, dans son Rapport annuel au Parlement 2008-2009.  

Formation et sensibilisation

La Division assure une formation et une sensibilisation à l’AIPRP pour tout le Ministère, notamment dans le Plan d’apprentissage des cadres intermédiaires de CIC (composante obligatoire).

Partie D : Temps de traitement
11. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2008-2009?
  La plupart des demandes (63 %, soit 8 579) ont obtenu une réponse dans les 30 jours ou moins; 4 175 demandes, soit 30,7 %, des demandes ont été finalisées en l’espace de 31 à 60 jours. Ainsi, le délai moyen pour toutes les demandes traitées en 2008-2009 est de 30 à 40 jours.
Partie E : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
12. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour l’exercice 2008-2009.