Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires

Year


Privy Council Office  

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2007-2008)
1. Number of requests carried over: 260
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 134
Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2008-2009— Exclude requests included in Part A
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 650
4.A How many were completed within the statutory 30-day time limit? 303
4.B How many were completed beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed ? 14
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed ?  
  1-30 days: 6
  31-60 days: 2
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 6
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 311
6.A How many were completed within the extended time limit? 133
6.B How many exceeded the extended time limit? 36
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 4
  31-60 days: 7
  61-90 days: 9
  Over 91 days: 16
7. Number of requests carried over in 2009-2010? 163
8. As of April 1 st , 2009, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation? 34
Part C: Contributing Factors
9. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
 
  • As a hub of government, and given the horizontal nature of its work, the Privy Council Office (PCO) controls records that often relate to other government departments or third parties – that may have been written by or contain input from another organization. It is therefore necessary to extend the request period as permitted by section 9 of the Access to Information Act. Consultations with these partners are essential to ensure comprehensive and balanced consideration of the information.
  • In support of the designated Minister under section 70 of the Act, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) sets out the “directives and guidelines concerning the operation of this Act and the regulations”1. Accordingly, the determination of whether a record under the control of a federal department is a Cabinet Confidence rests with Cabinet Confidences Counsel (CCC) in PCO. All government departments, including PCO, must submit records to Cabinet Confidences Counsel for review and certification. This review by CCC necessitates extension under paragraph 9(1)(b). Given the nature of its work, a significant number of PCO records contain Cabinet Confidences.
 
  • The work of PCO is wide-ranging, detailed, and frequently highly sensitive – including the development of legislation, foreign affairs and policy, matters relating to economic, federal-provincial, national and international security, Cabinet Committees, etc. As a result of this complexity, more time is required for the review of such PCO records than would be necessary for an income tax form or procurement invoice. Extensions taken to accommodate the review of such complex records are both necessary and responsible.
 
  • Requests to PCO frequently ask for information that involves multiple Offices of Primary Interest, which can increase the volume of records and extend the time necessary for their offices and the ATIP Division to complete the request, including necessary consultations.
 
  • PCO has worked to improve its turnaround time from OPIs through improved liaison, streamlining of processes and reductions in paper burden. However, in periods where the department is focused on providing intensive support to the government (in moving forward a legislative agenda, or during election periods), extensions under 9(1)(a) (volume) may be necessary.
 
  • The shortage of qualified personnel in ATIP is a recognized issue across government. Additional government organizations made subject to ATIP legislation in 2006 and the ongoing retirement of ATIP practitioners only increase demand. In this “seller’s market”, departments effectively compete among themselves for a limited pool of workers. PCO has been under-staffed by between two to eight FTEs for the last two years. A shortage of staff and increased file-to-officer ratios inevitably impact the department’s ability to respond to requests in a timely manner.
 
  • “List” files are requests directed to PCO for lists of briefing notes prepared for the Prime Minister within specific date ranges. In 2008-2009, PCO received 56 such “list” requests, amounting to 9% of its total work volume, all from one requester. The review of “list” files involves substantially more time than is evident from the page count for a given file. Although the lists themselves may only be a few pages in length, they often refer to several hundred pages of documents that require review by OPIs, ATIP Division, and Cabinet Confidences Counsel. Extensions taken under paragraph 9(1)(b) to accommodate this subsection 69(1) review range from 120 to 365 days or longer. The approval process for the reviewed list also takes longer, since each ‘author’ OPI must be consulted for possible exemptions to the list titles themselves. It should be noted that PCO does not frequently extend due dates under paragraph 9(1)(a) (Volume/Interference with Government Operations). Most extensions are taken under paragraph 9(1)(b) of the Act.
 
  • In its 1999-2000 annual report, the Information Commissioner detailed its views on the administration of extension provisions under the ATIA. With respect to extensions under paragraphs 9(1)(a) and (b) it was stated that “if the extension is claimed under paragraphs 9(1)(a) or (b), the duration of extensions should be consistent with historical experience in the institution in processing similar requests. If the extension is claimed under paragraph 9(1)(b), the duration of the extension should ordinarily not be more than 30 days (which would be the response period if the consulted institution had received the request directly) and rarely, if ever, should such an extension be more than 60 days, taking into account the fact that third parties have a maximum of 60 days to make their views known.” The Commissioner also concluded that “as a general rule, when an institution’s information holdings are well managed, the ATIP unit is adequately resourced, and processing procedures are streamlined, extensions should only be required for a low percentage of requests”.
 
  • Since then, aaccess requests received by PCO have doubled (FY 1999-2000 to FY 2008-009). Similarly, consultations from other departments have doubled in volume (from 199 received in FY 99/00 to 403 received in FY 08/09). The increase in number of requests received by the PCO is consistent with levels across government departments. Annual reports by the OIC have noted the increase in the number of extensions taken by departments. There is a correlation between these facts which would benefit from deeper analysis. In short, volume increases, staff shortages, increasingly complex files and the need for consultations all directly affect a department’s ability to complete requests without a time extension.
 
10.
Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others
  • PCO has one process for all requests. This provides requesters with access to records in a fair and equal manner, in full compliance with the Access to Information Act. The focus of the process is to complete a detailed review and release records with maximum efficiency and minimal impact on PCO Offices of Primary Interest (OPIs). Continuous improvement is pursued as a standard business practice.
  • PCO has addressed the chronic shortage of qualified ATIP personnel through its Officer Development Program, now in operation. The program builds a stable cadre of professionals through four levels of expertise, with skills specific to PCO demands.
 
  • The time taken under an extension directly relates to the amount of work required to process the request in as short a time as reasonably possible. In order to more accurately define the time required for consultations, PCO ATIP officers check with the party to be consulted about how much time it will need to complete its review. In our view, this constitutes good client service in providing an accurate estimate of when the requester will receive the response. Applicants are advised of this when they are notified in writing of the reason for the extension. The letter also informs the applicant of his/her right to complain to the Information Commissioner about the extension.
Part D: Completion Time
11. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009?
  This number cannot be generated by the PCO case management database. PCO follows the protocol required by TBS and OIC reporting requirements. Time to complete requests is calculated from 1-30 days, 31-60 days, 61-90 days, and over 90 days. To obtain an actual day-count of the average completion time for all requests would require professional reprogramming of the case management software.   It should be noted that PCO is committed to providing the information requested by the OIC. In June 2009, PCO wrote to the OIC requesting “...in order to more fully harmonize the reporting relationship, [that] PCO be advised of any new areas of statistical investigation [the OIC] may introduce, beyond those found in the 2007-2008 Questionnaire. Notification of any changes to requirements will assist PCO in meeting its obligations under the Access to Information Act, and ensure its data gathering remains comprehensive and relevant.”
Part E: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
12. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for the 2008-2009.
Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Bureau du Conseil privé

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2007-2008)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 260
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 134
Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 650
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 303
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 14
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 6
  31 - 60 jours 2
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 6
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 311
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant l’échéance prorogée 133
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 36
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 4
  31 - 60 jours 7
  61 - 90 jours 9
  Plus de 91 jours 16
7. Nombre de demandes reportées en 2009-2010 163
8. Nombre de demandes en présomption de refus au 1 er  avril 2009 34
Partie C : Facteurs contributifs
9. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi). Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
 
  • En tant que plaque tournante du gouvernement, et compte tenu de la nature horizontale de son travail, le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) contrôle des documents qui ont souvent trait à d’autres ministères ou à des tiers – des documents qu’a pu rédiger ou auxquels a participé une autre organisation. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de proroger la période de demande, comme le permet l’article 9 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il est essentiel de consulter ces partenaires pour assurer une prise en compte complète et équilibrée de l’information.
  • Pour appuyer le ministre désigné en vertu de l’article 70 de la Loi, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) énonce des « instructions et directives nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de la présente loi et de ses règlements »1. Par conséquent, c’est le conseiller juridique du BCO chargé des documents confidentiels du Cabinet qui détermine si un document relevant d’un ministère fédéral est un document confidentiel du Cabinet. Tous les ministères, y compris le BCP, doivent présenter les documents au conseiller juridique en question pour qu’il en fasse l’examen et l’attestation. Cet examen du conseiller nécessite une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)b). Étant donné la nature de son travail, le BCP détient un nombre appréciable de dossiers contenant des documents confidentiels du Cabinet.
  • Le travail du BCP est vaste, détaillé et souvent très délicat – ce qui inclut l’élaboration de lois, des affaires et des politiques étrangères, des questions concernant la sécurité économique, fédérale provinciale, nationale et internationale, des comités du Cabinet, etc. En raison de cette complexité, il faut consacrer davantage de temps à l’examen de tels documents du BCP que ce ne serait le cas pour un formulaire d’impôt ou une facture d’achat. Les prorogations prises pour réaliser l’examen de tels documents complexes sont des mesures nécessaires et responsables.
  • Les demandes faites au BCP ont fréquemment trait à de l’information impliquant de multiples bureaux de première responsabilité (BPR), ce qui peut accroître le volume de documents et prolonger le temps dont ont besoin les bureaux et la Division de l’AIPRP pour régler la demande, sans oublier les consultations nécessaires.
  • Le BCP s’est efforcé d’améliorer le délai d’exécution des BPR par le biais d’une meilleure liaison, de la simplification des processus et de la réduction des formalités administratives. Toutefois, dans les périodes où le Ministère se concentre sur la prestation d’un soutien intensif au gouvernement (pour faire progresser un programme législatif ou encore en période électorale), il peut être nécessaire d’obtenir des prorogations en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) (volume).
  • La pénurie de personnel qualifié dans le domaine de l’AIPRP est un problème reconnu à l’échelle du gouvernement. Le fait d’avoir assujetti des organisations gouvernementales additionnelles aux lois de l’AIPRP en 2006, combiné à la retraite continue de spécialistes de l’AIPRP, a entraîné une hausse des demandes. Dans ce « marché vendeur », les ministères se font concurrence pour un bassin limité de travailleurs. Il manque au BCP depuis deux ans entre deux et huit ETP. Une pénurie de main-d’œuvre et des ratios accrus de dossiers pris en charge par agent engendrent des répercussions inévitables sur la capacité du Ministère de répondre aux demandes en temps voulu.
  • Les fichiers « listes » regroupent des demandes adressées au BCP concernant des listes de notes de synthèse préparées à l’intention du premier ministre à l’intérieur d’une période précise. En 2008-2009, le BCP a reçu d’une seule personne 56 demandes de listes du genre, ce qui représente 9 % de son volume de travail. L’examen des fichiers listes suppose beaucoup plus de temps que ne le donne à entendre le compte de pages pour un dossier donné. Bien que les listes elles-mêmes puissent ne totaliser que quelques pages, elles font souvent référence à plusieurs centaines de pages de documents qui nécessitent un examen par des BPR, la Division de l’AIPRP et le conseiller juridique chargé des dossiers confidentiels du Cabinet. Les prorogations accordées aux termes de l’alinéa 9(1)b) pour donner suite à la révision prévue au paragraphe 69(1) vont de 120 à 365 jours, sinon davantage. Le processus d’approbation pour la liste révisée consume également plus de temps étant donné qu’il faut consulter chaque BPR « auteur » en vue d’exceptions possibles aux titres mêmes de la liste. Notons que le BCP ne proroge pas souvent les délais en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) (volume/entrave du fonctionnement de l’institution). La plupart des prorogations sont accordées aux termes de l’alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi.
  • Dans son rapport annuel de 1999-2000, le commissaire à l’information énonçait en détail ses opinions concernant l’administration des dispositions relatives aux prorogations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. En ce qui concerne les prorogations aux termes des alinéas 9(1)a) et b), le commissaire s’est exprimé de la manière suivante : « Si la prorogation du délai est demandée aux termes des alinéas 9(1)a) ou b), la durée des prorogations doit être compatible avec l’expérience passée de l’institution dans le traitement de demandes similaires. Si la prorogation du délai est demandée aux termes de l’alinéa 9(1)b), sa durée ne devrait ordinairement pas dépasser 30 jours (qui seraient le délai de réponse prévu si l’institution consultée avait directement reçu la demande); rarement, et encore, une telle prorogation peut-elle dépasser 60 jours, compte tenu du fait que les tiers intéressés ont un délai maximal de 60 jours pour faire connaître leur opinion. » Le commissaire a conclu ainsi : « En règle générale, lorsque le fonds de renseignements d’une institution est bien géré, que l’unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels est bien dotée en ressources et que les méthodes de traitement sont rationalisées, des prorogations ne sont requises que pour un faible pourcentage des demandes. »
  • Depuis, les demandes d’accès reçues par le BCP ont doublé (exercices 1999-2000 à 2008-2009). Dans le même ordre d’idées, le volume de consultations d’autres ministères a doublé (199 durant l’exercice 1999-2000 par rapport à 403 durant l’exercice 2008-2009). La hausse du nombre de demandes reçues par le BCP concorde avec les niveaux observés dans tous les ministères. Dans ses rapports annuels, le Commissariat a également pris note de l’augmentation du nombre de prorogations prises par les ministères. Il existe entre ces faits une corrélation qui nécessiterait une analyse approfondie. En résumé, les hausses de volume, les pénuries de main-d’œuvre, les dossiers toujours plus complexes et la nécessité de recourir à des consultations sont autant de choses qui freinent la capacité d’un ministère de régler les demandes sans prorogation.
10.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres
  • Le BCP applique un processus pour toutes les demandes. Les demandeurs jouissent ainsi d’un accès juste et égal aux documents, dans le respect complet de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ce processus a pour objet la réalisation d’un examen détaillé et la communication de documents avec une efficacité maximale et des répercussions minimales sur les BPR du BCP. La quête d’une amélioration continue est une pratique opérationnelle normalisée.
  • Le BCP s’est attaqué à la pénurie chronique de personnel qualifié en AIPRP par le biais de son Programme de perfectionnement des agents, maintenant opérationnel. Le Programme favorise la mise en place d’un cadre stable de professionnels dans quatre niveaux d’expertise, avec des compétences propres aux exigences du BCP.
  • Le temps accordé par une prorogation est directement consacré au travail requis pour traiter la demande avec autant de célérité que ce à quoi on peut raisonnablement s’attendre. Afin de définir avec plus de précision le temps requis pour mener des consultations, les agents du BCP chargés de l’AIPRP vérifient auprès de la partie à consulter le temps qu’il lui faudra pour réaliser son examen. D’après nous, le fait de fournir une estimation précise du moment où le client recevra la réponse constitue un bon service à la clientèle. Les demandeurs sont informés de la chose lorsqu’on leur indique par écrit la raison de la prorogation. La lettre les informe également de leur droit de se plaindre de la prorogation auprès du commissaire à l’information.
Partie D : Temps de traitement
11. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2008-2009?
  La base de données de gestion des cas du BCP ne peut fournir ce nombre. Le Bureau applique le protocole requis par le SCT et le Commissariat en matière de production de rapports. Le temps pris pour régler les demandes est calculé en tranches de 1-30 jours, 31-60 jours, 61-90 jours, et plus de 90 jours. Pour obtenir une moyenne du nombre réel de jours pris pour régler toutes les demandes, il faudrait effectuer une reprogrammation professionnelle du logiciel de gestion des cas.   Notons que le BCP s’engage à fournir l’information requise par le Commissariat. En juin 2009, le BCP a écrit au Commissariat pour lui demander de l’informer de tout nouveau domaine d’enquête statistique qu’il pouvait adopter, outre ceux contenus dans le questionnaire de 2007-2008, dans le but d’en arriver à une complète harmonisation des rapports hiérarchiques. L’avis de toute modification aux exigences aidera le BCP à répondre à ses obligations aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et à s’assurer que sa collecte de données demeure complète et pertinente.
Partie E : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
12. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour l’exercice 2008-2009.