Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires

Year


National Defence 

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2007-2008)
1. Number of requests carried over: 674
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 219
Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2008-2009— Exclude requests included in Part A
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 1669
4.A How many were completed within the statutory 30-day time limit? 538
4.B How many were completed beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed ? 0
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed ? 0
  1-30 days: 0
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 1097
6.A How many were completed within the extended time limit? 637
6.B How many exceeded the extended time limit? 51
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 20
  31-60 days: 12
  61-90 days: 10
  Over 91 days: 9
7. Number of requests carried over in 2009-2010? 443
8. As of April 1 st , 2009, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation? 100
Part C: Contributing Factors
9. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
 

Significant Issues: 

Broad and vague nature of many ATI requests

Many requesters submit requests that are not for specific records but instead for categories of records or for all records pertaining to a particularly expansive or vague subject. Many requests contain insufficient information to identify all appropriate record holders or to identify a clear scope in terms of time, location etc.... Many of these requests are not in the spirit of section 6 of the Act. The term “sufficient detail” in that section is not defined and may be interpreted in many ways. This situation requires that DND staff spend significant amounts of time attempting to contact the requester and assisting them in re-scoping the request so that they can be properly processed. This does not always work effectively, either because some requesters resist re-scoping or because record holders misinterpret the scope of the request or because the re-scoped request still entails a large amount of work. Often DND staff and record holders are not aware of the extent of work that will be involved or do not realize that a request can be interpreted more expansively until late in the process. Such broad and vague requests commonly require an extension beyond the 30 days that the Act sets out as a norm. Taking an extension under 9(1)(a) is a very inexact process because that extension must be taken within the first 30 days and the full extent of the work involved may not be known at that time. It is also very difficult to estimate how large a volume of records will be produced in such cases. When many more records are produced than expected the time spent conducting the review process can be much longer than anticipated, causing deemed refusal situations. 

Requests for records containing matters of operations security

A large number of requests are received pertaining to Canadian Forces operations, primarily in Afghanistan. Many of these records are very sensitive in nature and great care must be taken to review them appropriately for any information that may compromise the safety of Canadian troops, allies or the success of operations. Such information is not necessarily obvious to Access to Information staff (DAIP) so consultations must be undertaken with operational commands and with the Strategic Joint Staff Information Support Team (SJS IST), which is tasked with this review. This review necessarily adds time to the processing of these requests. The volume of these requests coupled with the need for the Operations Security Review discussed above, has resulted in a large number of these cases falling into deemed refusal.  

Requests for records located outside Canada

This is related to the previous point in that most of these records pertain to Afghanistan. It is not always clear to DAIP at the outset whether responsive records are likely to be held outside the country and this may not be realized until late in the process. When they are in a theatre of operations such as Afghanistan, it is problematic not only because of the distance but also because personnel in Afghanistan are understandably quite busy with operational matters that may delay them directing their attention to an ATI request. This clearly falls within the scope of unreasonable interference with operations as described in section 9(1) (a) of the ATIA but not necessarily the requirement regarding volume of records.  

Requests filed in bulk

This continues to be a problem although it has eased somewhat since the last reporting period. There is no limit on the number of requests that any single requester can submit at any one time and some requesters do submit bulk requests. This is not always a problem, particularly when the requests are on various subjects. Although they are all due on the same date they can be divided amongst analysts within DAIP and assigned to various record holders. The problematic requests come from requesters who submit bulk requests that must be directed to the same record holder. One requester submitted 145 requests in this reporting period (125 of which were submitted between May and August) and which were almost entirely tasked to the same organization for response. This is a strain on the abilities of that organization to search and review the records in a timely fashion. In such a case, it is not possible to respond to all of the requests within 30 days. This can be problematic if each request individually does not meet the standard of a large volume of records required for an extension under 9(1)(a). 

Consultations sent to other institutions

The response time for consultations sent to PCO is particularly long. In this reporting period PCO has required that all section 69 consultations be sent through the office of the DND/CF Legal Advisor. This additional step has caused an even longer delay, as this is an additional burden on DND CFLA, which is primarily occupied with providing legal advice. Consultations with DFAIT are also notable because of lengthy response times. 

Consultations received from other institutions

A number of consultations from Library and Archives Canada during this reporting period have been very large (hundreds or thousands of pages) consisting of entire records groups. Not all of the documents in the records groups pertain to this institution and in some instances only a small numbers of the records are relevant. The sorting out and review of these files has been very time consuming and has taken away from DAIP efforts to process ATI requests.

Staff shortages

DAIP staff numbers are still insufficient to close all incoming requests and also deal with the current backlog.

10.
Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others

Request re-scoping

As part of the duty to assist, the tasking officers in DAIP have been making greater efforts to work with the requesters to scope their requests so that they reflect what the requesters are truly searching for and in an effort to process requests as quickly and efficiently as possible. 

Streamlined SJS IST review process

DAIP consults the Strategic Joint Staff Information Support Team (SJS IST) on requests that result in records containing matters of operations security. This is a particularly important process given CF operations in Afghanistan but it has tended to slow down the departmental response time to ATI requests. During this reporting period DAIP and SJS IST agreed to a policy change intended to speed up this consultation process. The main change involves DAIP sending for review only the records intended for release with the exemptions and exclusions already applied. This cuts down on the amount of records in the consultation process. DAIP also undertook measures to expedite the delivery of consultation packages. These changes have increased the efficiency of consultations and it is anticipated that 2009-2010 will show marked statistical improvements in review time. 

Professional Development Plan

The DAIP Professional Development Plan (PDP) was put into full swing in this reporting period with 7 analysts participating. The PDP allows for participants to join at the PM-02 level and, after participating in a progressive series of assessed Job Training Assignments, to be promoted to PM-03 and PM-04 without competition. This program has been well received by the DAIP staff and has helped improve morale. 

DAIP expansion The Department has acquired additional resources and accommodations to handle the higher volume of requests.

Administrative Complaint Process

In response to the changes instituted by the Information Commissioner to expedite the complaint process, DAIP changed the procedures for dealing with administrative complaints. Those complaints are now handled centrally by the Compliance and Training Team. This, along with the efforts of the Office of the Information Commissioner, has resulted in a large increase in efficiency in the complaint resolution process, as can be seen by the amount of complaints closed in this reporting period (345 vs. 99 in 07-08). This has the added benefits of freeing the Access Team analysts from  

dealing with administrative complaints so they can devote more time to the actual review of the records and accelerate the completion of requests as well as allowing the Compliance and Training Team to notify the Director of any systemic problems they may note in DAIP processing. 

Training

In this reporting period a total of 62 training sessions were given and 1,367 participants were familiarized with the Act and given a better understanding of their obligations and of the process within DND/CF. Customized sessions were also provided to specialized groups. DAIP continues to fund training sessions outside of the National Capital Region. The training sessions are intrinsic to achieving increased compliance with both the Access to Information and Privacy legislation.  

Informal Releases

1,401 informal requests for information were processed by DAIP in support of the DND/CF broader objective of providing Canadians with relevant information on an informal and timely basis. This number does not include numerous e-mails or telephone calls from potential requesters who were redirected to other informal routes in order to obtain the information. These requests were for records previously released formally. DAIP posts the text of previously released requests on their internet site and requesters contact them for copies of these records. As most of these releases are on compact disk, DAIP provides this service free of charge.

Part D: Completion Time
11. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009?
  >30 days: 34.75% (580 requests) 31 days to 60 days: 14.08% (235 requests) 61 days to 120 days: 19.53% (326 requests) <121 days: 34.15% (620 requests) % was rounded up and may not total 100%
Part E: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
12. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for the 2008-2009.

  

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Défense nationale

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2007-2008)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 674
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 219
Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 1669
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 538
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 0
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée 0
  1 - 30 jours 0
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 0
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 1097
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant l’échéance prorogée 637
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 51
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 20
  31 - 60 jours 12
  61 - 90 jours 10
  Plus de 91 jours 9
7. Nombre de demandes reportées en 2009-2010 443
8. Nombre de demandes en présomption de refus au 1 er  avril 2009 100
Partie C : Facteurs contributifs
9. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi). Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
 

Enjeux importants  

Nature générale et vague de nombreuses demandes d’AAI

Bon nombre de demandeurs présentent des demandes qui ne concernent pas des documents précis, mais plutôt des catégories de documents ou encore tous les documents ayant trait à un sujet particulièrement étendu ou vague. Bon nombre de demandes ne contiennent pas suffisamment d’information pour recenser tous les détenteurs de documents concernés ou définir de manière claire le temps qui sera nécessaire, l’endroit, etc. Et bon nombre de ces demandes ne respectent pas l’esprit de l’article 6 de la Loi. Les termes « suffisamment précis » de cet article ne sont pas définis, ce qui prête à de nombreuses interprétations. Cette situation exige du personnel du MDN de consacrer beaucoup de temps à tenter de communiquer avec le demandeur et à l’aider à établir de nouveau la portée de la demande afin de pouvoir la traiter adéquatement. Cela ne fonctionne pas toujours efficacement, parce que certains demandeurs sont réticents à l’idée de redéfinir la portée de la demande, que le détenteur d’un document interprète mal la portée de la demande ou que la demande dont la portée a été revue implique encore une grande quantité de travail. Il arrive souvent que le personnel du MDN et les détenteurs de documents ne soient pas au fait de l’ampleur du travail qu’il faudra exécuter ou ne réalisent pas qu’une demande puisse avoir une large portée avant que le processus ne soit très avancé. De telles demandes générales et vagues nécessitent habituellement une prorogation au-delà des 30 jours qui, selon la Loi, constituent la norme. Demander une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a) est un processus très inexact étant donné que cette prorogation doit être prise dans les 30 premiers jours, et la pleine ampleur du travail en cause n’est peut-être pas connue à ce moment là. Il est également très difficile d’estimer l’ampleur du volume de documents produits dans de tels cas. Lorsque le nombre de documents produits est beaucoup plus élevé que prévu, le temps consacré au processus d’examen peut être beaucoup plus long que ce à quoi on s’attendait, ce qui engendre des situations de présomptions de refus. 

Demandes de documents touchant des questions de sécurité opérationnelle

Un grand nombre de demandes reçues ont trait aux opérations des Forces canadiennes, essentiellement en Afghanistan. Quantité de ces documents sont de nature très délicate, et il faut les examiner avec le plus grand soin pour cerner toute information pouvant compromettre la sécurité des troupes canadiennes et des alliés ou le succès des opérations. De tels renseignements ne sautent pas nécessairement aux yeux du personnel de la Division de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (DAIPRP), de sorte qu’il faut mener des consultations auprès des commandements opérationnels ainsi qu’auprès de l’Équipe de soutien à l’information de l’État-major interarmées stratégique (ESI EMIS), qui a la tâche de mener cet examen. Cet exercice alourdit inévitablement le temps de traitement de ces demandes. Le volume de ces demandes combiné à la nécessité de l’examen de la sécurité des opérations dont il a été question ci-dessus a engendré un grand nombre de cas du genre se retrouvant dans les présomptions de refus.  

Demandes de documents situés hors du Canada

Cette question a trait au point précédent dans la mesure où la plupart de ces documents sont relatifs à l’Afghanistan. Ce n’est pas toujours clair pour la DAIPRP de savoir d’entrée de jeu si les documents se rapportant à la demande sont conservés à l’extérieur du pays, et elle peut ne s’en rendre compte que lorsque le processus est très avancé. Lorsque les documents se trouvent en plein théâtre d’opérations, comme en Afghanistan, l’affaire devient problématique non seulement en raison de la distance, mais aussi parce que le personnel est, on le comprendra, plutôt occupé avec les opérations, de sorte qu’il pourrait tarder à s’intéresser à une demande de l’AI. Une telle situation est clairement visée par l’alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui fait état de cas où « l’observation du délai entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution », mais pas nécessairement par la prescription relative au volume de documents.  

Demandes soumises en vrac

Cette situation demeure problématique, malgré qu’elle se soit un peu améliorée depuis la dernière période de référence. Il n’y a aucune limite au nombre de demandes que peut soumettre une personne en tout temps, et certaines personnes les font parvenir en vrac. Ce n’est pas toujours un problème, particulièrement lorsque les demandes portent sur divers sujets. Bien que le délai soit le même pour toutes les demandes, on peut les diviser entre les analystes de la DAIPRP et les attribuer à divers détenteurs de documents. Le problème vient des demandeurs qui font parvenir de multiples demandes qu’il faut remettre au même détenteur de documents. Un demandeur a présenté 145 demandes durant la période de référence en question (125 d’entre elles ont été reçues entre mai et août), et il a fallu les remettre presque toutes à la même organisation à des fins de réponse. Une telle situation a mis à l’épreuve les capacités de cette organisation de chercher et d’examiner les documents en temps voulu. Dans un tel cas, il n’est pas possible de répondre à toutes les demandes en moins de 30 jours. Cela peut poser problème si chaque demande, prise individuellement, ne répond pas à la norme d’un « grand nombre de documents » requis pour pouvoir réclamer une prorogation en vertu de l’alinéa 9(1)a). 

Consultations expédiées à d’autres institutions

Le délai de réponse dans le cas des consultations expédiées au  BCP est particulièrement long. Pour cette période de référence, le BCP a exigé que toutes les consultations visées par l’article 69 passent par le bureau du conseiller juridique des FC/MDN. Cette étape supplémentaire a engendré un délai encore plus long puisqu’elle représente un fardeau additionnel pour le CJFC/MDN, qui s’occupe essentiellement de fournir des conseils juridiques. Les consultations auprès du MAECI se distinguent également par leurs très longs délais de réponse. 

Consultations reçues d’autres institutions

Plusieurs consultations de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada durant la période de référence étaient très imposantes (des centaines et des centaines de pages). Elles consistaient en des groupes entiers de documents. Les dossiers des groupes de documents ne se rapportaient pas tous à ces institutions, et dans certains cas, seulement un petit nombre de ces documents étaient pertinents. Le tri et l’examen de ces fichiers ont pris beaucoup de temps et ont mobilisé des efforts que la DAIPRP aurait pu consacrer au traitement des demandes d’AAI.  

Pénurie de main-d’œuvre

Les employés de la DAIPRP ne suffisent pas encore à régler toutes les demandes reçues. Ils doivent également s’occuper de l’arriéré actuel.

10.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres

Redéfinir la portée des demandes

Dans le cadre de leur obligation de prêter assistance, les agents d’attribution des tâches de la DAIPRP ont fait d’énormes efforts pour travailler avec les demandeurs afin de redéfinir la portée de leurs demandes pour qu’elles témoignent de ce qu’ils recherchent vraiment et dans le souci également de traiter les demandes le plus rapidement et efficacement possible. 

Processus d’examen rationalisé de l’ESI EMIS

La DAIPRP consulte l’équipe de soutien de l’information de l’Équipe de soutien à l’information de l’État-major interarmées stratégique (ESI EMIS) dans le cas des demandes qui touchent des documents ayant trait à des questions de sécurité opérationnelle. C’est un processus particulièrement important étant donné les opérations que mènent les FC en Afghanistan, sauf qu’il tend à ralentir le taux de réponse aux demandes d’AAI. Durant la période de référence, la DAIPRP et l’ESI EMIS ont convenu de modifier la politique dans le but d’accélérer ce processus de consultation. Le principal changement implique que la DAIPRP expédie pour examen les seuls documents destinés à être communiqués et qui contiennent déjà des exemptions et des exclusions. Cette mesure réduit le nombre de documents faisant l’objet d’une consultation. La DAIPRP prend également des mesures pour accélérer l’envoi de trousses de consultation. Ces changements ont accru l’efficacité des consultations, et on prévoit des améliorations statistiques marquées en 2009-2010 au chapitre de la durée des examens. 

Plan de perfectionnement professionnel

Le plan de perfectionnement professionnel (PPP) de la DAIPRP a été pleinement mis en branle durant la période de référence, avec la participation de sept analystes. Le PPP permet aux participants d’atteindre le niveau PM-02 et, après avoir participé à une série progressive d’affectations de formation en cours d’emploi évaluées, d’être promus aux niveaux PM-03 et PM-04 sans concours. Le personnel de la DAIPRP a bien accueilli ce programme, qui a aidé à rehausser le moral. 

Élargissement de la DAIPRP

Le Ministère a acquis des ressources et locaux additionnels pour gérer le volume plus élevé de demandes.

Processus des plaintes administratives

En réaction aux changements institués par le commissaire à l’information pour accélérer le processus de plainte, la DAIPRP a modifié ses procédures de gestion des plaintes administratives. Elles sont dorénavant prises en charge de manière centrale par l’équipe de conformité et de formation. Ce changement et les efforts déployés par le Commissariat à l’information ont amélioré considérablement l’efficacité du règlement des plaintes, comme on peut le constater par le nombre de plaintes résolues au cours de la période visée par ce rapport (345 par rapport à 99 en 2007-2008). Ces modifications ont eu un autre avantage : elles ont libéré les analystes de l’équipe d’accès qui n’ont plus à s’occuper des plaintes de nature administrative, leur permettant ainsi de consacrer davantage de temps à l’examen des documents et d’accélérer le traitement des demandes. L’équipe de conformité et formation peut aviser le directeur de tout problème systémique noté lors du traitement des demandes par la DAIPRP.  

Formation

Pendant la période visée par le présent rapport, 62 séances de formation ont été organisées et 1 367 participants ont été sensibilisés à la Loi; ils comprennent mieux leurs obligations et la démarche à suivre au sein des FC/MDN. Des séances personnalisées ont également été organisées pour des groupes spécialisés. La DAIPRP continue à financer les séances de formation tenues en dehors de la région de la capitale nationale. Les séances en cause sont indispensables pour assurer la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  

Demandes non officielles

En tout, 1 401 demandes de renseignements non officielles ont été traitées par la DAIPRP, dans l’appui de l’objectif global des FC/MDN qui consiste à fournir des renseignements pertinents aux Canadiens de manière informelle et en temps utile. Ce chiffre ne tient pas compte des nombreux courriels ou appels téléphoniques de demandeurs éventuels qui ont été aiguillés vers d’autres canaux officieux pour obtenir les renseignements recherchés. Ces demandes concernaient des documents qu’on avait déjà communiqués de manière officielle. La DAIPRP affiche sur son site Internet le texte de demandes auparavant reçues, et les demandeurs communiquent avec elle pour obtenir une copie de ces documents. Comme la majorité de ces documents communiqués se trouvent sur disque compact, la DAIPRP offre ce service gracieusement.

Partie D : Temps de traitement
11. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2008-2009?
  >30 jours: 34.75% (580 demandes) 31 jours à 60 jours: 14.08% (235 demandes) 61 jours à 120 jours: 19.53% (326 demandes) <121 jours: 34.15% (620 demandes) % a été raflés et mais s’élèvent pas à 100%
Partie E : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
12. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour l’exercice 2008-2009.