Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires

Year


Indian and Northern Affairs Canada  

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2007-2008)
1. Number of requests carried over: 80
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 21
Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2008-2009— Exclude requests included in Part A
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 378
4.A How many were completed within the statutory 30-day time limit? 177
4.B How many were completed beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed ? 4
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed ?  
  1-30 days: 3
  31-60 days: 1
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 127
6.A How many were completed within the extended time limit? 77
6.B How many exceeded the extended time limit? 17
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 6
  31-60 days: 6
  61-90 days: 1
  Over 91 days: 4
7. Number of requests carried over in 2009-2010? 100
8. As of April 1 st , 2009, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation? 11
Part C: Contributing Factors
9. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
 

Increase in number of formal ATI requests: In 2006-2007 we received 268 requests. In 2007-2008 we received 332 and in 2008-2009 we received 351 requests. Due to the increased volume of requests, we were unable to meet the statutory timelines since we did not have the resources (financial and human) available.  

Requests for large volume of records: Similarly to the increase in number of requests, we have also experienced requests for greater volume of records. Some of these requests included high number of pages between ten and twenty thousand pages.  

Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time): Due to the increase of requests and their complexity, program officials have had greater difficulty in providing completed responses in the time allocated. As well, ongoing difficulties with the proper management of records have consumed greater amounts of time and effort in the identification of all relevant records.  

Staff shortages: Budgetary constraints within INAC, and the lack of experienced human resources in the ATIP community, has impeded our ability to hire sufficient and qualified staff to ensure completion of our ATI requests within the statutory timeframes.  

Consultations with other institutions: In general this has not impacted on our performance, however, specific institutions, such as the Privy Council Office and Canada Post Corporation have caused challenges in serving our requestors in a timely manner.  

Others: The integration of the former Indian Residential School Resolution Canada with INAC ATIP Office provided challenges in training the new staff in the administration/processing of INAC’s ATIP requests. This required the INAC ATIP staff to expend time and effort to support the new staff in their training.

10.
Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others

Informal treatment of requests: All requests that we deem informal are processed accordingly. For example, we have instituted an informal process to allow band members to access their band’s financial information via program officials. Information requested may be disclosed via the proactive discloser process (ie. Internet website, etc).  

Streamlined approval process: INAC has a very streamlined approval process. With respect to requests that are deemed “sensitive,” we have been recognized in the Information Commissioner’s report as having a process which does not impede the processing of ATI requests.  

Partial release of records: In an effort of respecting the rights of requestors to access information in a timely manner, we disclose records as they become available. This is in conformity with our duty to assist the requestor.  

Fast track process for common requests: INAC institutes such processes when possible. For example, requests for contractual call-ups are processed informally by our contracting office.

Part D: Completion Time
11. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009?
  62.36 days.
Part E: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
12. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for the 2008-2009.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2007-2008)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 80
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 21
Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 378
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 177
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 4
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 3
  31 - 60 jours 1
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 0
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 127
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant l’échéance prorogée 77
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 17
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 6
  31 - 60 jours 6
  61 - 90 jours 1
  Plus de 91 jours 4
7. Nombre de demandes reportées en 2009-2010 100
8. Nombre de demandes en présomption de refus au 1 er  avril 2009 11
Partie C : Facteurs contributifs
9. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi). Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
 

Augmentation du nombre de demandes de communication officielles : En 2006-2007, nous avons reçu 268 demandes de communication. En 2007-2008, le nombre s’élevait à 332 et en 2008-2009, à 351. En raison de l’augmentation du volume de demandes, il nous a été impossible de respecter les délais prescrits par la Loi, car nous ne disposions pas des ressources financières et humaines nécessaires.  

Demandes en vue d’obtenir un nombre élevé de documents : Tout comme le nombre de demandes a augmenté, il en va de même du volume de documents sollicités. Pour certaines de ces demandes, le nombre de pages pouvait atteindre entre dix et vingt mille pages.  

Difficultés d’extraction des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR) : À cause de l’augmentation du nombre de demandes et de leur complexité, les responsables du programme ont plus de mal à répondre aux demandes dans le temps alloué. De plus, des difficultés continues de gestion des documents ont entraîné un accroissement du temps et des efforts à consacrer au repérage de tous les documents pertinents.  

Pénuries d’employés : Vu les contraintes budgétaires au sein d’AINC et le manque de ressources humaines expérimentées dans la collectivité de l’AIPRP, nous n’avons pas pu engager le nombre suffisant d’employés qualifiés qui nous auraient permis de répondre aux demandes de communication dans les délais prescrits par la Loi.  

Consultations auprès d’autres institutions :  En général, les consultations n’ont pas eu d’incidence sur notre rendement. Toutefois, dans le cas de certaines institutions, comme le Bureau du Conseil privé et la Société canadienne des postes, répondre à nos demandeurs dans les délais prévus a posé des difficultés.  

Autres : L’intégration de Résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada à AINC a entraîné pour le bureau de l’AIPRP du Ministère des difficultés au chapitre de la formation des nouveaux employés en ce qui concerne l’administration et le traitement des demandes de communication. Notre personnel chargé de l’AIPRP a redoublé d’efforts pour appuyer la formation des recrues.

10.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres

Traitement informel des demandes : Toutes les demandes que nous jugeons informelles sont traitées en conséquence. Par exemple, nous avons établi un processus informel afin de permettre aux membres des bandes d’avoir accès aux renseignements financiers de leur bande par l’intermédiaire des responsables du programme. Les renseignements demandés peuvent être communiqués dans le cadre du processus de divulgation proactive (c.-à-d. le site Web, etc.).  

Processus d’approbation simplifié : AINC dispose d’un processus d’approbation très simplifié. Pour ce qui est des demandes jugées « de nature délicate », le commissaire à l’information a reconnu dans son rapport que nous avions un processus qui n’entrave pas le traitement des demandes de communication.  

Communication partielle des documents : Dans un effort de respecter le droit des demandeurs d’obtenir rapidement les renseignements demandés, nous communiquons les documents dès qu’ils sont disponibles, ce qui est conforme à notre obligation d’aider le demandeur.  

Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes : AINC met en place un processus accéléré dans la mesure du possible. Par exemple, notre bureau des marchés traite de façon informelle les commandes subséquentes.

Partie D : Temps de traitement
11. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2008-2009?
  62.36 jours
Partie E : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
12. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour l’exercice 2008-2009.