Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires

Year


Human Resources and Skills Development Canada 

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2007-2008)
1. Number of requests carried over: 124
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 27
Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2008-2009— Exclude requests included in Part A
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 350
4.A How many were completed within the statutory 30-day time limit? 175
4.B How many were completed beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed ? 13
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed ?  
  1-30 days: 13
  31-60 days: 0
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 103
6.A How many were completed within the extended time limit? 33
6.B How many exceeded the extended time limit? 6
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 4
  31-60 days: 2
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 0
7. Number of requests carried over in 2009-2010? 58
8. As of April 1 st , 2009, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation? 2
Part C: Contributing Factors
9. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include: Æ Requests for large volume of records Æ Approval process of access requests Æ Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time) Æ Staff shortages Æ Requests filed in bulk Æ Consultations with other institutions Æ Others
 

The 2008-2009 fiscal year was not typical, as this year was one of transition for HRSDC’s ATIP Division. On July 14, 2008, the Department’s two offices (HRSD and Service Canada) charged with the administration of access to information and privacy legislation were integrated. In addition to this merger, the fiscal year also saw significant changes in the management team and a high turnover of employees.   As well as the fact that this was a transition year, the following two factors affected HRSDC’s ability to respond to requests in a timely manner:

  • Consultations with other departments: Consultations were required on 103 requests, or approximately a third of requests completed.
  • Requests for large volume of records: The average number of pages to review per request is 150 pages. However, during 2008-2009, HRSDC has responded to 28 requests for over 500 pages.
 

One of the Department’s major efforts following the merger was to reduce the number of privacy requests that were in backlog status. By December of 2008, HRSDC had successfully reduced the backlog by 90%. Because officers process both access to information and privacy requests, reducing this backlog of privacy requests had an impact on HRSDC’s response times to access to information requests.

10.

Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:

  • Informal treatment of requests
    • treamlined approval process
      • Partial release of records
        • Fast track process for common requests Others

As mentioned above, the two units responsible for the ATIP functions integrated in 2008-2009. While the merger seems to have had a negative impact on timeliness initially, in the medium to long term, it is expected that it will contribute to helping HRSDC improve its performance beyond “average” performance in the years to come. Some of the main purposes of bringing the 2 offices together included:

    • to make more efficient use of the pool of talent and to create a critical mass better able to meet the ATIP needs of the Department;
    • to maximize knowledge transfer from experienced officers to newer staff, leading to growing strong expertise in-house; and
    • to rethink work processes and operational policy that were in place.
    • Following the integration, some internal processes were revisited in order to bring both teams together and to support the harmonization of policies and procedures. For example, the internally established timeframes for processing requests was adjusted slightly to ensure that all parties had sufficient time to respond to requests. Also, the signing authority for certain functions has been elevated to the director and/or manager levels. In addition to the re-organization of the ATIP unit, the Department has the following long-standing practices, which are used in order to support the timely delivery of information:
    • Informal reviews: informal reviews are encouraged for follow-up requests, requests for records that are already available to the public, and for information that is to be posted on the internet (the ATIP unit vets the information on an informal basis). In 2008-2009, HRSDC reviewed records for at least 23 informal requests;
    • Partial release of records: When possible, HRSDC undertakes partial releases;
    • Fast track process for common requests: While HRSDC does not have a two-tiered approach for responding to requests, there are a few very limited exceptions to that rule:
    • Requests that are deemed personal in nature (for example, the requester insists on submitting the request under the ATI Act, while it should really be processed under the Privacy Act) usually do not require any time or effort in terms or briefing senior management and communications officials; and
    • At the time that the Offices of Primary Interest gather and submit the records to the ATIP Division, they are asked whether or not they would like to see the final package prior to its release. In most but not all cases, the OPI asks for final review.
    • Other: A key focus in the ATIP Division is the delivery of training courses. During the period in question, the ATIP Division has provided more than 80 training sessions to over 1,000 employees across the Department. The short timeframes associated with ATIP, as well as the importance of respecting timelines for access to information requests, are the primary focus of the sections dealing with access to information requests.
    • In addition to the long-standing practices described above, the following measures are currently being implemented to improve the Department’s performance:
    • In June 2009, HRSDC moved from the ATIPflow and ATIPimage Advanced computer programs to the next generation ATIP software, namely AccessPro Case Management and AccessPro Redaction. While staff are still adapting to the new system, it is expected that this will make the processing of requests more efficient.
    • A protocol has been established and is being sent from HRSDC’s Corporate Secretary to senior executives (ADMs and Regional Executive Heads). The protocol outlines the OPI’s roles and responsibilities vis-à-vis access to information requests.
    • A quarterly performance report, which details the time taken by all parties involved in processing requests and administering the Act, is being reinstated in October 2009. The report will be shared with HRSDC’s senior management team.
Part D: Completion Time
11. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009?
  61.2 days (attributable to extensions required on 103 requests)
Part E: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
12. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for the 2008-2009.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2007-2008)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 124
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 27
Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 350
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 175
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 13
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 13
  31 - 60 jours 0
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 0
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 103
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant l’échéance prorogée 33
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 6
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 4
  31 - 60 jours 2
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 0
7. Nombre de demandes reportées en 2009-2010 58
8. Nombre de demandes en présomption de refus au 1 er  avril 2009 2
Partie C : Facteurs contributifs
9.

Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi). Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :

  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
  L’exercice 2008-2009 a été particulier dans la mesure où il s’agissait d’une année de transition pour la Division de l’AIPRP de RHDCC. Le 14 juillet 2008, on a intégré les deux bureaux du Ministère (RHDC et Service Canada) chargés de l’administration des lois sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Outre cette fusion, il est survenu des changements substantiels dans l’équipe de gestion auxquels s’est ajouté un fort roulement de personnel.
En plus du fait qu’il s’agissait d’une année de transition, les deux facteurs suivants ont eu une incidence sur la capacité de RHDCC de répondre aux demandes en temps opportun :
  • Consultations auprès d’autres ministères : En tout, 103 demandes ont nécessité des consultations, ce qui représente environ le tiers des demandes traitées.
  • Demandes d’un vaste volume de documents : Le nombre moyen de pages à examiner par demande s’élève à 150. Toutefois, en 2008 2009, RHDCC a répondu à 28 demandes pour plus
L’un des principaux efforts du Ministère dans la foulée de la fusion fut de réduire le nombre de demandes de renseignements personnels faisant partie de l’arriéré. En décembre 2008, RHDCC avait réussi à réduire l’arriéré de 90 %. Étant donné que les agents traitent et les demandes d’accès à l’information et les demandes de renseignements personnels, les efforts de réduction de l’arriéré des demandes de renseignements personnels n’ont pas été sans conséquence pour les délais d’exécution des réponses aux demandes d’accès à l’information.
10.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres
Tel que mentionné ci-dessus, les deux unités responsables des fonctions d’AIPRP ont fusionné en 2008-2009. Bien que la chose semble avoir eu au départ des répercussions négatives sur l’exécution rapide du programme d’accès à l’information, nous nous attendons, à moyen ou long terme, à ce qu’elle aide RHDCC à améliorer son rendement pour s’élever au-dessus de la moyenne dans les années à venir. Au nombre des objectifs liés à la fusion, mentionnons les suivants :
  • Faire un meilleur usage du bassin de compétences et créer une masse critique pour mieux pouvoir répondre aux besoins du Ministère sur le plan de l’AIPRP.
  • Maximiser le transfert de connaissances depuis les agents expérimentés vers les nouveaux employés, ce qui favorisera la croissance d’une solide expérience interne.
  • Repenser les processus de travail et les politiques opérationnelles qui étaient en place.
Par suite de l’intégration, nous avons revu quelques processus internes pour rassembler les deux équipes et appuyer l’harmonisation des politiques et des procédures. À titre d’exemple, nous avons apporté un léger ajustement aux délais de traitement établis à l’interne afin de s’assurer que toutes les parties aient suffisamment de temps pour répondre aux demandes. De plus, le signataire autorisé de certaines fonctions a été promu au rang de directeur ou de gestionnaire, ou les deux.
Outre la réorganisation de l’unité de l’AIPRP, le Ministère poursuit des pratiques établies de longue date pour favoriser la prestation rapide de l’information. Ce sont les suivantes :
  • Examens informels : On encourage les examens informels des demandes de suivi, des demandes d’information déjà accessible au public ou d’information destinée à être publiée sur Internet (l’unité de l’AIPRP étudie en détail l’information de manière informelle). En 2008-2009, RHDCC a examiné des documents pour au moins 23 demandes informelles;
  • Communication partielle des documents : Dans la mesure du possible, RHDCC effectue des communications partielles.
  • Processus accéléré des demandes courantes : Bien que RHDCC n’applique pas une approche en deux volets pour répondre aux demandes, il existe quelques exceptions très limitées à cette règle :
  • En temps normal, on ne consacre ni temps, ni effort à breffer la haute direction et les responsables des communications dans le cas des demandes jugées personnelles de nature (par exemple, lorsque le demandeur insiste pour présenter sa demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information alors qu’il faudrait la traiter au titre de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels).
  • Lorsque les bureaux de première responsabilité (BPR) rassemblent et présentent les documents à la Division de l’AIPRP, on leur demande s’ils souhaitent ou non voir la trousse finale pour l’approuver avant qu’elle ne soit communiquée. Dans bien des cas, une approbation est nécessaire, mais il arrive parfois que le BPR ne l’exige pas.
  • Autre : La Division de l’AIPRP attache un vif intérêt à la prestation de cours de formation. Durant la période de référence, la Division de l’AIPRP a offert plus de 80 séances de formation à plus de 1 000 employés du Ministère. Les délais serrés pour l’AIPRP, de même que l’importance de respecter les échéanciers liés aux demandes d’accès à l’information, sont au cœur des préoccupations des sections traitant ces demandes.
  • Outre les pratiques établies de longue date décrites ci-dessus, le Ministère est à mettre en œuvre les mesures suivantes pour améliorer son rendement :
  • En juin 2009, RHDCC est passé des programmes informatiques avancés ATIPflow et ATIPimage aux logiciels d’AIPRP de la prochaine génération, à savoir AccessPro Case Management et AccessPro Rédaction. Bien que le personnel en soit encore à s’adapter au nouveau système, on s’attend à ce que ce dernier rende plus efficace le traitement des demandes.
  • RHDCC a établi un protocole que la secrétaire ministérielle de RHDCC expédie aux cadres supérieurs (SMA et cadres supérieurs régionaux). Le protocole énonce les rôles et responsabilités des BPR à l’égard des demandes d’accès à l’information.
  • En octobre 2009, nous avons rétabli le rapport de rendement trimestriel, qui décrit en détail le temps pris par toutes les parties en cause dans le traitement des demandes et l’administration de la Loi. L’équipe de la haute direction ministérielle se verra remettre le rapport tous les trimestres.  
Partie D : Temps de traitement
11. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2008-2009?
  61.2 jours (en raison des prorogations nécessaires pour 103 demandes)
Partie E : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
12. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour l’exercice 2008-2009.