Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Questionnaires

Year


Environment Canada 

Part A: Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year (2007-2008)
1. Number of requests carried over: 276
2. Requests carried over from the prior fiscal year— in a deemed-refusal situation on the first day of the new fiscal year 183
Part B: New Requests received in fiscal year 2008-2009— Exclude requests included in Part A
3. Number of requests received during the fiscal period 892
4.A How many were completed within the statutory 30-day time limit? 556
4.B How many were completed beyond the statutory 30-day time limit where no extension was claimed ? 123
4.C How long after the expiry of the statutory 30-day time limit did it take to complete the request where no extension was claimed ?  
  1-30 days: 56
  31-60 days: 22
  61-90 days: 12
  Over 91 days: 33
5. How many were extended pursuant to section 9? 40
6.A How many were completed within the extended time limit? 16
6.B How many exceeded the extended time limit? 24
6.C How long after the expiry of the extended deadline did it take to respond?  
  1-30 days: 9
  31-60 days: 7
  61-90 days: 0
  Over 91 days: 8
7. Number of requests carried over in 2009-2010? 173
8. As of April 1 st , 2009, how many requests are in a deemed-refusal situation? 101
Part C: Contributing Factors
9. Please describe the most significant issues that affected your institution’s ability to respond to access to information requests in a timely manner (within 30 days and/or statutory timelines). These may include:
  • Requests for large volume of records
  • Approval process of access requests
  • Difficulties to retrieve records (OPIs turnaround time)
  • Staff shortages
  • Requests filed in bulk
  • Consultations with other institutions
  • Others
  a) Workload challenges
  • Over the last fiscal year, Environment Canada’s ATIP Secretariat has been challenged by rising workloads. The number and complexity of requests, as well as the volume of pages reviewed, has increased.
  • In 2008-2009, Environment Canada received 35% more requests under the Access to Information Act than the previous fiscal year and the number of pages reviewed increased by 55%. In addition, the number of privacy requests increased slightly however the number of pages reviewed under the Privacy Act was five times greater that the previous year.
  • During this period, Environment Canada was also responsible for processing requests for Parks Canada. This accounted for an additional 93 requests processed under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act with approximately 30,000 pages to be reviewed
b) Staff shortages and staffing turnover
  • The shortage of qualified ATIP personnel is one of the most significant challenges facing Environment Canada’s ATIP office.
  • Despite running ten staffing processes at various levels over the last two years, we have been unable to fill all the vacant positions within the unit.
  • There are 18 FTEs in the ATIP Office; however we currently have 9 vacant positions.
  • Staff turnover has also impacted our ability to capitalize on institutional corporate memory. Only two employees within the ATIP Secretariat have more than five years experience with the Department. These two employees spend considerable time coaching and mentoring new employees within the unit.
c) Program response times & information management challenges
  • The environment continues to be a priority for the government resulting in a challenging operational context for Environment Canada due to increased policy and program activity.
  • Heavy workloads associated with regulatory initiatives and meeting government priorities have impacted the Department’s ability to respond to requests in a timely fashion.
  • During 2008-2009, the average response time for programs to provide documents to the ATIP Office was 26 days. This directly affects the ability of ATIP staff to review the documents, determine extensions, conduct consultations and respond within the legislated deadlines
  • Requests also frequently necessitate the retrieval of a large volume of information and documentation from several areas within the Department.
  d) Consultations with other government departments
  • As the environment is a shared jurisdiction and EC is a regulatory department, a large number of requests processed within the department require consultations with third parties and with other government departments, such as Foreign Affairs and International Trade and the Department of Justice. Consultations with Legal Counsel, Privy Council Office are particularly onerous due to the administrative burden in preparing schedules for large volumes of documents.
  • Other government departments with which we consult are also facing heavy workloads and as a result, the consultation process may be quite lengthy and directly impact the EC’s ability to reply within the statutory deadlines.
10.
Please describe any practices or policies developed/undertaken by your institution to improve the timely delivery of your access to information program and where possible, indicate how successful these practices/policies have been. These may include:
  • Informal treatment of requests
  • Streamlined approval process
  • Partial release of records
  • Fast track process for common requests
  • Others
a) Efforts to address workload challenges
  • Despite the increase in workload, Environment Canada closed more requests than it received last year. Although a backlog of requests still exists, the Department is working diligently on reducing the number of active requests by hiring consultants specifically to work on the older files.
  • Environment Canada has also begun working with program officials to make routine documents, such as call-ups for temporary help available to the public informally.
  • In addition, as of April 1, 2009, the Parks Canada ATIP Office became operational and as a result, Environment Canada is no longer responsible for the workload associated with requests to the Parks Canada Agency
b) Efforts to address staffing challenges
  • Recognizing that recruitment and retention challenges are likely to persist, Environment Canada has implemented an ATIP Professional Development Program. This is a longer term measure aimed at improving recruitment and retention issues as well as addressing succession planning needs within the Unit. The first recruitment of PM-01 and PM-02 level advisors within the Professional Development program is currently underway. It is our intention to finalize staffing these positions in Fall 2009.
  • We are also continuing our attempts to staff other vacancies within the unit with a PM-04 selection process currently underway. However, only four candidates have passed our initial screening of applications in this process. .
  • In 2007-2008, the ATIP Secretariat restructured into two teams and added two team leader positions. This has also contributed to improved operations. When additional positions are staffed, we will be able to fully implement the planned team structure.
  • Until staffing can be completed, the department is continuing to utilize consultants to assist in the processing of requests
  • We have also hired two students within the ATIP Secretariat. The students have worked on special projects within the Unit and have gained valuable experience and knowledge that can be used within Environment Canada as well as all federal government institutions subject to the Acts.
c) Efforts to address program response times & information management challenges
  • ATIP Secretariat staff routinely reminds program officials of the importance of providing records within the required timeframes. This is also emphasized during all training and awareness sessions. In 2008-2009, Environment Canada conducted targeted training sessions for approximately 140 employees.
  • In addition, the ATIP Secretariat has been working with program staff within the branches of the Department to assist in streamlining processes to expedite the retrieval and review of information.
  • EC is faced with information management challenges relating to the large amount of documentation found within the Department and the lack of a standard electronic document storage mechanism across the country.
  • An enterprise electronic document and collaboration solution, based on SharePoint, has been developed to capture documents to facilitate both access to and preservation of information with lasting business value. This tool, called E-Collab, is being rolled out across the department, along with awareness training on information management (IM) responsibilities.
  • Additional improvements include development of processes and guidelines; documentation of best practices, and provision of services, particularly in the area of data management.
  d) Efforts to address consultation delays
  • ATIP staff conducts regular follow-ups on the status of consultations and where possible, we negotiate partial releases of records or the re-scoping of requests to reduce consultations
Part D: Completion Time
11. What is the average completion time for all requests completed in 2008-2009?
  27.44 days
Part E: Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act
12. Please attach your institution’s completed Report on the Access to Information (Form TBS/SCT 350-62) for the 2008-2009.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Questionnaires

Année


Environnement Canada

Partie A : Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent (2007-2008)
1. Nombre de demandes reportées 276
2. Demandes reportées de l’exercice précédent — en présomption de refus le premier jour du nouvel exercice 183
Partie B : Nouvelles demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009 — à l’exception des demandes inscrites à la Partie A
3. Nombre de demandes reçues au cours de l’exercice 892
4.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant le délai obligatoire de 30 jours? 556
4.B Nombre de demandes réglées au-delà du délai de 30 jours pour lesquelles on n’a pas invoqué de prorogation 123
4.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après le délai de 30 jours pour régler les demandes pour lesquelles aucune prorogation n’a été invoquée  
  1 - 30 jours 56
  31 - 60 jours 22
  61 - 90 jours 12
  Plus de 91 jours 33
5. Nombre de demandes dont le délai a été prorogé en vertu de l’article 9 40
6.A Nombre de demandes réglées durant l’échéance prorogée 16
6.B Nombre de demandes réglées après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée 24
6.C Nombre de jours nécessaires après l’expiration de l’échéance prorogée pour régler la demande  
  1 - 30 jours 9
  31 - 60 jours 7
  61 - 90 jours 0
  Plus de 91 jours 8
7. Nombre de demandes reportées en 2009-2010 173
8. Nombre de demandes en présomption de refus au 1 er  avril 2009 101
Partie C : Facteurs contributifs
9. Veuillez décrire les facteurs qui ont eu la plus grande influence sur la capacité de votre institution à répondre rapidement aux demandes de communication (en moins de 30 jours et/ou selon les délais prévus par la Loi). Il peut s’agir des facteurs suivants :
  • Demandes portant sur un nombre élevé de documents
  • Processus d’approbation des demandes de communication
  • Difficultés à obtenir des documents (temps de traitement dans les BPR)
  • Pénurie d’employés
  • Grande quantité de demandes simultanées
  • Consultations auprès d’autres institutions
  • Autres
  a) Défis liés à la charge de travail
  • Lors du dernier exercice, le Secrétariat à l’AIPRP d’Environnement Canada a eu à gérer des charges de travail à la hausse. Le nombre et la complexité des demandes se sont accrus, tout comme le nombre de pages examinées.
  • En 2008-2009, Environnement Canada a reçu 35 % plus de demandes dans le cadre de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information que lors de l’exercice précédent, et le nombre de pages examinées a augmenté dans une proportion de 55 %. De plus, si le nombre de demandes de renseignements personnels n’a que légèrement augmenté, le nombre de pages examinées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a été cinq fois supérieur à celui de l’année précédente.
  • Durant cette période, Environnement Canada devait également traiter les demandes de Parcs Canada. Cette tâche représente un total de 93 demandes additionnelles traitées conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels avec environ 30 000 pages à examiner.
b) Pénuries de main-d’œuvre et roulement de personnel
  • La pénurie d’employés qualifiés en AIPRP est l’un des défis les plus importants qui se posent au Bureau de l’AIPRP d’Environnement Canada.
  • Malgré dix processus de dotation exécutés à divers niveaux lors des deux dernières années, nous avons été incapables de pourvoir tous les postes vacants au sein de l’unité.
  • Il y a 18 ETP dans le Bureau de l’AIPRP. Toutefois, neuf postes sont actuellement vacants.
  • Le roulement de personnel a également eu des répercussions sur notre capacité à tirer profit de notre mémoire institutionnelle. Seulement deux employés du Secrétariat de l’AIPRP cumulent plus de cinq années d’expérience au sein du Ministère. Ces deux employés ont passé beaucoup de temps à encadrer les nouveaux employés au sein de l’unité.
c) Défis quant aux délais de réponse des programmes et quant à la gestion de l’information
  • L’environnement demeure une priorité pour le gouvernement, ce qui donne lieu à un contexte opérationnel difficile pour Environnement Canada en raison de l’activité accrue au chapitre des politiques et des programmes.
  • Les lourdes charges de travail liées aux initiatives réglementaires et au respect des priorités gouvernementales ont eu une incidence sur la capacité du Ministère de répondre aux demandes en temps voulu.
  • En 2008-2009, il fallait en moyenne 26 jours aux programmes pour répondre aux demandes de documents du Bureau de l’AIPRP. Cette situation a une incidence directe sur la capacité du personnel de l’AIPRP d’examiner les documents, de déterminer des prorogations, de mener des consultations et de répondre selon les délais prescrits par la loi.
  • De plus, les demandes nécessitent fréquemment l’extrait d’une grande quantité de renseignements et de documents de divers secteurs du Ministère.
d) Consultations auprès d’autres ministères
  • Comme l’environnement est une compétence partagée et qu’EC est un ministère réglementant, un grand nombre de demandes traitées au sein du Ministère nécessitent des consultations avec des tiers et d’autres ministères, tels qu’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international et le ministère de la Justice. Les consultations menées auprès du conseiller juridique du Bureau du Conseil privé sont particulièrement coûteuses en raison du fardeau administratif que représente la préparation de calendriers pour de vastes volumes de documents.
    • D’autres ministères que nous consultons se débattent également avec de lourdes charges de travail, de sorte que le processus de consultation peut se révéler plutôt long et avoir une incidence directe sur la capacité d’EC de répondre dans les délais prescrits par la loi.
10.
Veuillez décrire les pratiques ou politiques élaborées/entreprises par votre institution pour améliorer la rapidité d’exécution de votre programme d’accès à l’information. Dans la mesure du possible, veuillez indiquer le degré d’efficacité de ces pratiques/politiques. Il peut s’agir des éléments suivants :
  • Traitement informel des demandes
  • Processus d’approbation simplifié
  • Communication partielle des documents
  • Processus accéléré pour les demandes courantes
  • Autres
a) Efforts pour relever les défis posés par la charge de travail
  • En dépit de la hausse de la charge de travail, Environnement Canada a réglé davantage de demandes qu’il n’en a reçues l’année dernière. Il y a encore un arriéré, mais le Ministère travaille diligemment à réduire le nombre de demandes actives en embauchant des consultants expressément pour travailler sur les anciens dossiers.
  • Environnement Canada a également commencé à travailler avec les responsables de programme pour créer des documents courants, comme des commandes subséquentes pour l'embauche d'employés temporaires officieusement accessibles au public.
  • De plus, le 1er avril 2009, le Bureau d’AIPRP de Parcs Canada est devenu opérationnel, de sorte qu’Environnement Canada n’est plus responsable de la charge de travail liée aux demandes de l’Agence Parcs Canada.
b) Efforts pour résoudre les difficultés de dotation
  • Tenant compte du fait que les défis en matière de recrutement et de maintien en poste risquent de persister, Environnement Canada a mis en œuvre un programme de perfectionnement professionnel en matière d’AIPRP. Il s’agit d’une mesure à long terme visant à améliorer les dossiers du recrutement et du maintien en poste ainsi qu’à répondre aux besoins de planification de la relève au sein de l’unité. Le premier exercice de recrutement de conseillers juridiques de niveau PM-01 et PM-02 au sein du programme de perfectionnement professionnel est actuellement en cours. Nous avons l’intention de mener à terme la dotation de ces postes au cours de l’automne 2009.
  • Nous poursuivons également nos tentatives pour doter d’autres postes vacants au sein de l’unité par le biais d’un processus de sélection de PM-04 actuellement en cours. Toutefois, seulement quatre candidats ont franchi notre présélection initiale des candidatures.
  • En 2007-2008, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP s’est restructuré en deux équipes et ajouté deux postes de chefs d’équipe. Cet état de choses a également contribué à améliorer les opérations. Lorsque des postes additionnels seront dotés, nous serons en mesure de mettre intégralement en œuvre la structure de dotation d’équipe planifiée.
  • D’ici à ce qu’il puisse mener à terme la dotation, le Ministère continue de recourir à des consultants pour prêter main-forte dans le traitement des demandes.
  • Nous avons également embauché deux étudiants pour le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP. Les étudiants ont travaillé à des projets spéciaux au sein de l’unité et acquis une expérience et des connaissances valables pouvant être mises à profit à Environnement Canada et dans toutes les institutions fédérales assujetties aux lois.
c) Efforts pour régler les problèmes liés aux délais de réponse et à la gestion de l’information
  • Le personnel du Secrétariat de l’AIPRP rappelle régulièrement aux responsables de programme l’importance de fournir des documents dans les délais prescrits, ce qui est également mis en lumière à toutes les séances de formation et de sensibilisation. En 2008-2009, Environnement Canada a mené des séances de formation ciblées pour environ 140 employés.
  • De plus, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP a joint ses efforts à ceux du personnel des programmes au sein des directions générales du Ministère pour aider à rationaliser les processus dans le but d’accélérer l’extraction et l’examen de l’information.
  • EC est aux prises avec des défis en gestion de l’information qui ont trait à la grande quantité de documents qu’elle possède et à l’absence de mécanisme normalisé de stockage électronique des documents au pays.
  • Nous avons élaboré une solution ministérielle axée sur les documents électroniques et la collaboration. Fondée sur le logiciel SharePoint, elle permet de saisir des documents pour faciliter l’accès à l’information d’une valeur opérationnelle durable et la préservation de cette information. Cet outil, appelé E-Collab, fait l’objet d’une mise en œuvre dans tout le Ministère, en plus d’une formation de sensibilisation sur les responsabilités de gestion de l’information.
  • Au nombre des améliorations additionnelles, mentionnons l’élaboration de processus et de lignes directrices; des documents relatifs aux pratiques exemplaires; la prestation de services, particulièrement dans le domaine de la gestion des données.
d) Efforts pour résoudre les retards dans la consultation
  • Le personnel de l’AIPRP procède à des suivis réguliers de l’état des consultations. Dans la mesure du possible, nous négocions la communication partielle des documents ou la redéfinition de la portée des demandes pour réduire les consultations
Partie D : Temps de traitement
11. Quel est le temps de traitement moyen de toutes les demandes réglées en 2008-2009?
  27.44 jours
Partie E : Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
12. Veuillez joindre le rapport rempli par votre institution conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (formulaire TBS/SCT 350-62) pour l’exercice 2008-2009.