Contents

1 Introduction

This report to Parliament describes the activities of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) for 2011–2012 under the Privacy Act.Footnote 1 It was prepared and is being tabled pursuant to section 72 of the Act.

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to safeguard the privacy of individuals by protecting personal information about them held by federal institutions, and to provide individuals with a right of access to that information.

The OIC is an independent public body set up in 1983 under the Access to Information Act. Our mission is to conduct efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions' handling of access to information requests. The goal of our work is to maximize compliance with the Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal—from information and mediation to persuasion and litigation, when required.

The OIC became subject to the Act in 2007. Since then, we have made every effort to provide exemplary service to requesters. We have also reported annually to Parliament on the administration of our privacy program. Here are some highlights from 2011–2012:

  • We completed formal requests in an average of 15.8 days.
  • No complaints were filed against us about our administration of the Privacy Act during 2011–2012. 

2 Organization

The Information Commissioner of Canada is an Agent of Parliament and ombudsperson appointed by Parliament under the Access to Information Act. The Commissioner is supported by the OIC. The OIC has three branches, as follows:

  • The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch investigates individual complaints about the processing of access requests, conducts dispute resolution activities and makes formal recommendations to institutions, as required. It also assesses federal institutions' compliance with their obligations under the Access to Information Act and carries out systemic investigations and analysis.  
  • Legal Services represents the Commissioner in court and provides legal advice on investigations, legislative issues and administrative matters. It closely monitors the range of cases having a potential impact on our mandate and on access to information in general. Legal Services also assists investigators by providing them with up-to-date and customized reference tools on the evolving technicalities of the case law.
  • Corporate Services provides strategic and corporate leadership in planning and reporting, communications, human resources and financial management, security and administrative services, internal audit, as well as information management and technology. It conducts external relations with a wide range of stakeholders, notably Parliament, government and representatives of the media. It is also responsible for managing our access to information and privacy function.

The Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Secretariat processes all requests filed under the Privacy Act for records under the control of the OIC. The ATIP Secretariat had two staff members in 2011–2012:

  • The Director, ATIP Secretariat, is responsible for the management of the Secretariat, including overseeing request administration, policy development and training. The Director holds full delegated authority under the Act as ATIP Coordinator.
  • The ATIP Officer is responsible for processing requests and holds some delegated authority, for extension of time limits and arranging translation of requested records, when required.

3 Delegation order

Under the Privacy Act, the Information Commissioner is the designated head of the institution, for the purpose of administering the legislation.

At the start of the reporting period, the delegation order the Commissioner signed in September 2010 was in effect (see Appendix A). This order gave full authority for decisions under the Act to the Interim Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations, and to the Director, Information Management.

On April 21, 2011, the Commissioner revoked the authority delegated to the Interim Assistant Commissioner (see Appendix B) and to the Director, Information Management (see Appendix C). A new delegation order was put in place to reflect organizational changes. That order gives full authority to the Director General, Corporate Services, and to the Director, ATIP Secretariat (see Appendix D).

On the July 16, 2011, the Commissioner modified this delegation order to give limited authority to the ATIP Officer (see Appendix E).

4 Interpretation of the statistical report

The OIC's statistical report details all aspects of the processing of privacy requests received by the ATIP Secretariat from April 1, 2011, to March 31, 2012 (see Appendix F).

4.1 Requests received under the Privacy Act

We received five requests under the Privacy Act in 2011–2012, one fewer than in the previous reporting period. We completed all of these requests before March 31, 2012. As well, we processed one consultation request from another institution.

4.2 Disposition of requests completed

Of the five requests we completed, we disclosed all the requested information in one case. For three requests, we determined that no records existed. The final request was abandoned by the applicant.

4.3 Exemptions

We invoked no exemptions under the Privacy Act in 2011–2012.

4.4 Completion times

We completed all five requests under the Privacy Act within 30 days. The average turnaround time was 15.8 days. We completed the one consultation request within 15 days of receipt.

4.5 Method of access

We released the records associated with the one request for which we had records on CD-ROM.

4.6 Costs

Category of cost Amount
Salary $7,620
Administration (operations and management) $121
Total $7,741
Person-years 0.3

Costs incurred during the reporting period are calculated based on the salaries of ATIP Secretariat members and expenses associated with the administration of the Act.

5 Privacy Impact Assessments

The OIC neither initiated nor completed any Privacy Impact Assessments in 2011–2012. These assessments are required when an organization changes the purposes for which it gathers personal information or gathers new information.

6 Public interest disclosures

The OIC made no disclosures of information under paragraph 8(2)(m) of the Privacy Act during the reporting period. These disclosures are made when the Commissioner decides that releasing the information clearly outweighs any invasion of privacy of the person to whom the records relate or when releasing the information would benefit the person in question.

7 Changes to the organization, programs, operations or policies

During 2011–2012, theATIP Secretariat was separated from the OIC's IM/IT Division and now reports directly to the Director General, Corporate Services. This has streamlined the approval process and facilitated the timely processing of requests.

Throughout the year, we continued to revise and refine our ATIP Procedures Manual. This document provides a detailed look at the steps required to process a privacy request.

After successfully implementing our new electronic records management system in the spring of 2011, we began work to renew the legal case management system. We also began to modernize the architecture behind our networks and continued to enhance the security of our systems to protect the sensitive information we collect from institutions. We expect each of these measures to have a positive impact on our ability to retrieve records and respond to requests.

8 Education and training

During 2011–2012, the ATIP Secretariat conducted individual training sessions, in both official languages, on the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act, and related processes. A total of 5 of our approximately 100 employees took this training in 2011–2012.

9 Complaints

No complaints against us were lodged with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC) during the reporting period. Three were carried over from the previous fiscal year and closed in 2011–2012.

Of these three, one was closed as Resolved and one was Well-founded/Resolved. Both of these were the result of administrative errors on our part. The final complaint was settled during the course of the investigation.

We were advised of one privacy breach during the year, in which we inadvertently sent a document associated with an investigation, and containing personal information about the complainant, to the wrong institution. Upon learning of this breach, we immediately reported it to the OPC. We are awaiting a response from the OPC on the matter.

Appendix A

Delegation orders for the purpose of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

Text Version

Appendix B

Delegation orders for the purpose of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

Text Version

Appendix C

Delegation orders for the purpose of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

Text Version

Appendix D

Delegation orders for the purpose of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

Text Version

Appendix E

Delegation orders for the purpose of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act

Text Version

Schedule

Text Version

Appendix F

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Text Version

Table des matières

1 Introduction

Le présent rapport au Parlement décrit les activités du Commissariat à l'information du Canada (le Commissariat) pour l'année 2011-2012 en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnelsNote de bas de page 1. Il a été préparé et est présenté selon l'article 72 de la Loi.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a pour objectif de protéger la vie privée des individus relativement à leurs renseignements personnels détenus par les institutions fédérales et de conférer aux personnes un droit d'accès à ces renseignements.

Le Commissariat est un organisme public indépendant créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Notre mission consiste à mener des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes visant le traitement par des institutions fédérales des demandes d'accès à l'information. Notre travail a pour but de maximiser la conformité à la Loi, tout en favorisant la divulgation de l'information du secteur public. La commissaire se sert d'un vaste éventail d'outils, exerce les activités nécessaires et use de tous les pouvoirs dont elle dispose — communication, médiation, persuasion et règlement de litige, selon les besoins.

Depuis que le Commissariat a été assujetti à la Loi en 2007, nous ne ménageons aucun effort pour offrir des services exemplaires aux demandeurs. Nous avons également déposé, une fois par année, un rapport au Parlement sur l'administration de notre programme de protection des renseignements personnels. Voici quelques faits saillants de nos activités en 2011-2012 :

  • Nous avons traité les demandes officielles dans un délai moyen de 15,8 jours.
  • En 2011-2012, aucune plainte n'a été déposée au sujet de notre administration de la Loi.

2 Organisation

La commissaire à l'information est une agente du Parlement ainsi qu'une protectrice du citoyen nommée par le Parlement en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Elle reçoit l'appui du Commissariat, qui comprend les trois directions suivantes :

  • La Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la Loi enquête sur les plaintes individuelles concernant le traitement des demandes d'accès, mène des activités de règlement des différends et, au besoin, émet des recommandations formelles aux institutions. La direction évalue également la conformité des institutions à l'égard de leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi et effectue des enquêtes et des analyses systémiques.  
  • La Direction des services juridiques représente la commissaire devant les tribunaux et offre des conseils juridiques relativement aux enquêtes et aux questions législatives ou administratives. Elle suit de près différents dossiers comportant des risques de litige pour le Commissariat ou l'accès à l'information en général. Elle assiste également les enquêteurs en leur fournissant des outils de référence à jour et adaptés à leurs besoins concernant les subtilités de la jurisprudence et leur évolution.
  • La Direction des services organisationnels assure un leadership stratégique et institutionnel en planification, en établissement de rapports, en ressources humaines, en gestion financière, en services de sécurité et d'administration, en vérification interne ainsi qu'en technologie et en gestion de l'information. Elle gère les relations externes avec une vaste gamme d'intervenants, notamment le Parlement, le gouvernement et les représentants des médias. Cette direction est également responsable du programme d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels au sein du Commissariat.

Le Secrétariat de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) traite les demandes d'accès déposées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, qui concernent les documents relevant du Commissariat. Son personnel comptait deux membres en 2011-2012 :

  • le directeur du Secrétariat de l'AIPRP, qui est responsable de la gestion du Secrétariat, y compris la surveillance de l'administration des demandes, du développement des politiques et de la formation et qui, à titre de coordonnateur de l'AIPRP, détient aussi la totalité des pouvoirs délégués en vertu de la Loi; et
  • l'agent de l'AIPRP, qui est responsable du traitement des demandes et qui détient certains pouvoirs délégués, comme la prolongation des délais et l'organisation de la traduction des documents demandés, au besoin.

3 Ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs

En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la commissaire à l'information est la responsable désignée de l'institution, pour les besoins de l'administration de la législation.

L'ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs, signée en septembre 2010 (voir annexe A), était en vigueur au début de la période couverte par le présent rapport. Cette ordonnance conférait à la commissaire adjointe par intérim, Politiques, communications et opérations et à la directrice, Gestion de l'information tous les pouvoirs en vertu de la Loi.

Le 21 avril 2011, la commissaire a révoqué les pouvoirs délégués à la commissaire adjointe par intérim (voir annexe B) et à la directrice, Gestion de l'information (voir annexe C). Une nouvelle ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs a été conférée en vue de refléter les changements organisationnels. Cette ordonnance confère tous les pouvoirs à la Directrice générale, Services organisationnels et au directeur, Secrétariat de l'AIPRP (voir annexe D).

Le 16 juillet 2011, la commissaire a modifié cette ordonnance pour conférer des pouvoirs limités à l'agent de l'AIPRP (voir annexe E).

4 Interprétation du rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique expose en détail tous les aspects du traitement des demandes reçues par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP entre le 1er avril 2011 et le 31 mars 2012 (voir annexe F).

4.1 Demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Nous avons reçu cinq demandes en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pendant l'exercice financier 2011-2012, soit une de moins qu'à l'exercice précédent. Toutes ces demandes ont été traitées avant le 31 mars 2012. De plus, nous avons traité une demande de consultation d'une autre institution.

4.2 Catégorie des demandes traitées

Sur les cinq demandes traitées, une a donné lieu à une communication totale, trois nous ont amenés à conclure qu'aucun document n'existait et la dernière a été abandonnée par le demandeur.

4.3 Exceptions invoquées

Aucune exception n'a été invoquée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels en 2011-2012.

4.4 Délais de traitement

Les cinq dossiers ont été traités dans les 30 jours. Le délai moyen de traitement était de 15,8 jours. La demande de consultation a été traitée dans les 15 jours suivant sa réception.

4.5 Mode de communication

Nous avons communiqué les documents associés à la seule demande pour laquelle nous détenions des documents en format CD.

4.6 Coûts

Catégorie de coûts Montant
Salaires 7 620 $
Administration (fonctionnement et gestion) 121 $
Total 7 741 $
Années-personnes 0.3

Les frais engagés au cours de la période couverte par le rapport sont calculés sur la base des salaires des membres du Secrétariat de l'AIPRP et des dépenses liées à l'administration de la Loi.

5 Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Pendant la période couverte par le présent rapport, aucune évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée n'a été réalisée. Une telle évaluation est requise quand une organisation modifie l'objectif pour lequel elle recueille des renseignements personnels ou de nouveaux renseignements.

6 Raisons d'intérêt public qui justifient la divulgation

Au cours de la période couverte par le présent rapport, le Commissariat n'a procédé à aucune divulgation d'information en vertu de l'alinéa 8(2)(m) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Ce type de divulgation est fait quand la commissaire décide que la communication de l'information justifie nettement une éventuelle violation de la vie privée de la personne concernée par les documents ou que cette personne en tirerait un avantage certain.

7 Modifications apportées à l'organisation, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques

En 2011-2012, le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP a été dissocié de la Division de la GI/TI du Commissariat et relève maintenant directement de la Directrice générale, Services organisationnels. Cette restructuration a simplifié le processus d'approbation et a favorisé le traitement rapide des demandes.

Tout au long de l'année, nous avons continué de réviser et d'améliorer le manuel des procédures en matière d'AIPRP, qui détaille la procédure concernant le traitement d'une demande de protection des renseignements personnels.

Après la mise en œuvre réussie de notre nouveau système de gestion des documents électroniques au printemps 2011, nous avons entamé le renouvellement du système de gestion des cas juridiques. Nous avons également donné le coup d'envoi à la modernisation de l'architecture de nos réseaux et poursuivi le renforcement de la sécurité de nos systèmes en vue de protéger l'information sensible recueillie auprès des institutions. Nous nous attendons à ce que ces mesures aient des répercussions positives sur notre capacité de récupération des documents et de réponse aux demandes.

8 Éducation et formation

Au cours de l'exercice 2011-2012, le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP a tenu, dans les deux langues officielles, des séances individuelles de formation sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ainsi que sur leurs processus connexes. Un total de cinq employés sur près de 100 employés ont suivi cette formation en 2011-2012.

9 Plaintes

Aucune plainte n'a été déposée auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada pendant la période couverte par le présent rapport. Trois plaintes reportées de l'exercice précédent ont été fermées en 2011-2012.

De ces trois plaintes, une a été réglée et une autre a été jugée non fondée et réglée, les deux découlaient d'erreurs administratives de notre part. La dernière plainte a été réglée dans le cadre d'une enquête.

Durant l'exercice, nous avons été informés d'une situation de violation de la vie privée, puisque nous avions envoyé par inadvertance à la mauvaise institution un document lié à une enquête qui contenait des renseignements personnels sur le plaignant. Dès que nous avons été informés de cette violation, nous l'avons signalée au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, dont nous attendons la réponse.

Annexe A

Information Commissioner's Delegation of authority to the Commissioner <em>ad hoc</em> pursuant to section 59 of the <em>Access to Information Act

Version texte

Annexe B

Information Commissioner's Delegation of authority to the Commissioner <em>ad hoc</em> pursuant to section 59 of the <em>Access to Information Act

Version texte

Annexe C

Information Commissioner's Delegation of authority to the Commissioner <em>ad hoc</em> pursuant to section 59 of the <em>Access to Information Act

Version texte

Annexe D

Information Commissioner's Delegation of authority to the Commissioner <em>ad hoc</em> pursuant to section 59 of the <em>Access to Information Act

Version texte

Annexe E

Information Commissioner's Delegation of authority to the Commissioner <em>ad hoc</em> pursuant to section 59 of the <em>Access to Information Act

Version texte

Information Commissioner's Delegation of authority to the Commissioner <em>ad hoc</em> pursuant to section 59 of the <em>Access to Information Act

Version texte

Annexe F

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Schedule

Text Version