Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Table of Contents

1 Introduction

This report to Parliament describes the activities of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) for 2010-2011 that support compliance with the Privacy Act. It is submitted pursuant to section 72 of the Privacy Act.1

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by federal institutions, and to provide individuals with a right of access to that information.

The mandate of the Information Commissioner is to investigate complaints under the Access to Information Act(the Act)from individuals who feel that their rights to access have not been respected by federal institutions. The Commissioner is also authorized to initiate a complaint relating to requesting or obtaining access to records under the Act if there are reasonable grounds to do so.2

This report details the activities and accomplishments of the Access to Information and Privacy program as they pertain to the Privacy Act . Some highlights include:

  • We completed formal requests in an average of 16.5 days.
  • We completed two Preliminary-Privacy Impact Assessments (PPIAs) regarding the implementation of the electronic corporate records repository and the new corporate Intranet website.
  • We contributed innovative approaches to enhance the organization's ability to respond to evolving business requirements. One initiative provided for the temporary deployment of two members of the Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat to help with the investigative function.

2 Organization

The Information Commissioner is an Agent of Parliament and ombudsperson appointed by Parliament under the Access to Information Act. The Commissioner is supported by the OIC, an independent public body established in 1983 under the Act to respond to complaints from the public about access to information.

The OIC was restructured at the end of the reporting period into three branches as follows:

  • The Complaints Resolution and Compliance (CRC) Branch investigates individual complaints about the processing of access requests, conducts dispute resolution activities and makes formal recommendations to institutions, as required. It also assesses federal institutions' compliance with their obligations and carries out systemic investigations and analysis.

  • Legal Services represents the Commissioner in court and provides legal advice on investigations, legislative issues and administrative matters. It closely monitors the range of cases having potential litigation ramifications for the OIC and access to information in general. It also assists investigators by providing them with up-to-date and customized reference tools on the evolving technicalities of the case law.

  • Corporate Services provides strategic and corporate leadership in human resources and financial management, internal audit as well as information management and technology. It provides policy direction and conducts the OIC's external relations with a wide range of stakeholders, notably Parliament, government and representatives of the media. It is also responsible for managing the OIC's access to information and privacy function.

The Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Secretariat processes access requests filed under the Act for records under the control of the OIC. Prior to the restructuring of the Corporate Services Branch, the ATIP Secretariat comprised four staff members:

  • the Director, Information Management Division, who also holds full delegated authority under the Act as institutional ATIP Coordinator;

  • the Director, ATIP Secretariat, who is responsible for the management of the Secretariat, including oversight of request administration, policy development and training, and holds full delegated authority under the Act as ATIP Coordinator;

  • the Senior ATIP Analyst, who is responsible for the processing of complex and/or voluminous files and the second review of completed requests; and

  • the Junior ATIP Analyst, who administers less complex and smaller volume applications under the Act.

Since the demand in the ATIP Secretariat decreased this year, we were in a position to offer additional support to increase the organization's investigation capacity. Two staff members were temporarily assigned to the CRC Branch to boost capacity and maximize efficiencies.

3 Delegation Order

Under the Act, the Information Commissioner is the designated head of the institution, for the purpose of administering the legislation.

The delegation order signed January 18, 2010 was still in force at the start of the reporting period. The order delegated full authority under section 73 to the Interim Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations; the Acting Director, Information Management; and the ATIP Manager (see Appendix A).

During the reporting period, one change was made in the delegated authority. In September 2010, the delegation to the ATIP Deputy Director was revoked as this individual was being assigned temporarily to assist in investigating complaints (see Appendix B). The revocation of the delegation ensured there was no conflict of interest as the employee assumed new responsibilities. A new delegation order was then issued authorising the Acting Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations as well as the Director, Information Management to exercise authority under the Act (see Appendix C).

4 Statistical Report

The statistical report is attached as (see Appendix D).

5 Interpretation of the Statistical Report

This section provides details on the six requests the ATIP Secretariat processed under the Privacy Act during the reporting period. Only those sections of the Act that were applicable to those requests will be discussed in this section.

5.1 Requests received under the Privacy Act

We received six requests under the Privacy Act during this fiscal year. All of these, were completed before March 31, 2011.

5.2 Disposition of requests completed

Of the six requests completed, two were disclosed in part, two were transferred to another institution with a greater interest, one was disclosed in full and one was abandoned by the applicant.

5.3 Exemptions invoked

Section 22 of the Act was invoked three timesin order to protect OIC investigations.

5.4 Completion times

All files were completed within the original 30 days. The average turnaround time for a request under thePrivacy Act was 16.5 days.

5.5 Method of access

In all three cases, copies of the records were provided to the requester in a CD format.

5.6 Costs

Costs to administer the OIC privacy program between April 1, 2010, and March 31, 2011

Financial Amount

Amount

Salary

$8,606.42

Administration (O&M)

$328.62

Total

$8,935.04

Person Year (decimal format)

0.3

6 Privacy Impact Assessments

During the reporting period two Preliminary-Privacy impact assessments (PPIA) were completed. The first PPIA covered the implementation of the electronic corporate records repository — RDIMS. No significant privacy risks were identified. The PPIA will be posted on the corporate website upon approval by the OIC Executive Committee.

A second PPIA was done to assess privacy risks associated with the implementation of the new corporate Intranet website. The PPIA identified the need for signed consent forms to be completed by OIC employees prior to their pictures or other personal information being posted on the site. The OIC has therefore mitigated any risks to privacy rights by implementing a procedure requiring consent forms to be completed before any employees' personal information is posted on the site.

7 Data-sharing Activities

There were no new data-sharing activities during the reporting period.

8 Education and Training Activities

During 2010−2011, the ATIP Secretariat conducted three training sessions, in both official languages, on the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and related processes.

Legal Services provided one-on-one training on the legislation for all new employees. They also offered four sessions on the Act in general, two sessions on the duty to assist, and four sessions on the exercise of discretion.

The ATIP staff attended the 18th Congress of the Association sur l'accès et la protection de l'information held in Quebec City. This three-day conference provided an opportunity to see the developments underway in the Quebec provincial access to information and privacy community.

9 Changes to the Organization, Programs, Operations or Policies

9.1 Organizational restructuring

As discussed above, the OIC underwent a restructuring at the end of the reporting period. The former Policy, Communications and Operations Branch was streamlined with a view to enhancing controls and accountability for all corporate functions, including access to information. Policy development and systemic affairs are now under the responsibility of the Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch. The new Corporate Services Branch includes human resource management.

9.2 IM/IT strategy

The continued implementation of the organization's strategy to renew its information management and information technology further contributed to maintaining our excellent performance in quickly handling access to information and privacy requests.

In 2008 a preliminary assessment of our information management and information technology (IM/IT) program was completed and a five-year strategic plan was developed and approved by the Treasury Board Secretariat. The plan sets out the roadmap to integrate the IM/IT infrastructure and develop it to full maturity with the applications, policies and processes needed to fully meet the organization's business requirements.

During the reporting period we operationalized Year 2 of the IM/IT strategy. Our projects included implementing an electronic corporate records repository (RDIMS). The IM section developed and delivered group training on RDIMS and IM, and subsequently posted the training on the OIC website in both official languages to facilitate access. A support function for RDIMS was implemented, including a network of trained IM practitioners representing each business area. The IT team provided programming and technical support to the project.

The IM Section also finished the work on a corporate wide effort to identify and describe all records held by the OIC into a corporate universal classification system.

The division also made an electronic training module on the classification of sensitive information available on the website for all users.

Finally, the first-ever disposition of records under the Multi-Institutional Disposition Authority (MIDA) for case files took place this year. We disposed of more than 20,000 investigative files and began shipping records of archival value to Library and Archives Canada (LAC) to preserve the documentary heritage of Canadians. We also began the disposition of records under the MIDAs for common administrative functions. We anticipate completing the disposition of financial records and ATI files by the end of 2011−2012.

In the IT area, we focused on upgrades to our network which resulted in a 30% reduction in service calls overall to the IT Help Desk. We also worked closely with the investigative branch to customize an off-the shelf software solution to its case management needs. Through user acceptance testing, we further refined the product to fully meet investigators' needs. The new system will be deployed starting in April 2011.

The IT team also focussed on developing sound reporting tools that would enable senior management to monitor the progress of investigations more effectively.

10 New Policies or Procedures

Throughout the year we revised and refined our ATIP Procedures Manual. This document provides a detailed look at the steps required to process an access to information request. The six pillars of the access to information and privacy regime at the OIC are as follows:

1. Full implementation of duty to assist

  • Exercise discretion to waive application fee.
  • Advise requesters on ways to clarify their requests to facilitate faster and greater disclosure.
  • Expedite consultation process when required.
  • Provide interim releases when time extensions are necessary.

2. Maximum disclosure

  • Apply a presumption in favour of disclosure and due consideration to the public interest in the information requested. Severances are applied only when the access to information and privacy coordinator is satisfied that disclosure would result in specific and probable harm to the interest covered under a discretionary exemption.

3. Minimal extensions of deadlines

  • Resort to extensions only when unavoidable and for the shortest time possible.

4. Timeliness of responses

  • Release as soon as possible without waiting for the 30-day deadline.

5. Confidentiality of the investigative process

  • Refrain from making recommendations to institutions consulting the office regarding information that could be the subject of a subsequent investigation, thereby eliminating any potential conflict of interest.

6. Protection of personal information

  • Guarantee the privacy, confidentiality and security of personal information in accordance with the Privacy Act.

In the interest of reducing the request processing time as much as possible, the ATIP Secretariat, with the full support of the executive committee, reduced the tasking time for document retrieval from 7 days to 5 days. As a result, we are able to process our requests more quickly. This initiative was key to our achieving and maintaining an average turnaround time of 16.5 days on requests.

11 Privacy Complaints and Investigations

Four complaints were lodged with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner (OPC) during the reporting period, and three were still open as of March 31, 2011.

The complaint investigation that was closed this year had a finding of "not-well founded". In this instance the requester complained that OIC was denying him access to his personal information by applying exemptions to the records he requested under the Privacy Act. The Privacy Commissioner reviewed our application of the exemptions and found that none of the requester's personal information had been withheld from him.

Appendix A

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix B

Appendix C

Appendix C

Appendix D

Appendix D

Appendix D

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Table des matières

1 Introduction

Le présent rapport au Parlement décrit les activités du Commissariat à l'information du Canada (le Commissariat) pour 2010–2011, qui appuient le respect de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il est présenté en vertu de l'article 72 de cette même Loi1.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a pour objectif de protéger la vie privée des individus relativement à leurs renseignements personnels détenus par les institutions fédérales et de conférer aux personnes un droit d'accès aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent.

La commissaire à l'information du Canada a pour mandat d'enquêter sur des plaintes déposées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (la Loi) par des personnes qui soutiennent que leur droit d'accès n'a pas été respecté par une institution fédérale. La commissaire peut également déposer une plainte pour demander ou obtenir l'accès à des documents en vertu de la Loi si elle a des motifs raisonnables de le faire2.

Le présent rapport présente en détail les activités et les réalisations du programme d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels conformément à la Loi. Soulignons notamment les réalisations suivantes :

  • Nous avons traité les demandes officielles dans un délai moyen de 16,5 jours.

  • Nous avons complété deux évaluations préliminaires des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée, un concernant la mise en œuvre du système d'archivage ministériel électronique et l'autre concernant la mise en œuvre du nouveau site intranet du Commissariat.

  • Nous avons adopté des approches novatrices visant à accroître l'habilité de l'organisation à s'adapter à l'évolution des exigences fonctionnelles. Une de ces initiatives consistait à affecter temporairement deux membres du personnel du Secrétariat de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels afin d'aider aux enquêtes.

2 Organisation

La commissaire à l'information est une agente du Parlement ainsi qu'une protectrice du citoyen nommée par le Parlement en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, la commissaire reçoit l'appui du Commissariat à l'information, un organisme gouvernemental indépendant créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi pour répondre aux plaintes émanant du public concernant l'accès à l'information.

Le Commissariat a été restructuré à la fin de la période couverte par ce rapport et compte désormais les trois directions suivantes :

  • La Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la Loi(RPRL) enquête sur les plaintes individuelles concernant le traitement des demandes d'accès, mène des activités de règlement des différends et, au besoin, émet des recommandations formelles aux institutions. La directionévalue également la conformité des institutions à leurs obligations en vertu de la Loiet effectue des enquêtes et des analyses systémiques.

  • La Direction des services juridiques représente la commissaire devant les tribunaux et offre des conseils juridiques relativement aux enquêtes et aux questions législatives ou administratives. Elle suit de près différents dossiers comportant des risques de litige pour le Commissariat ou l'accès à l'information en général. Elle assiste également les enquêteurs en leur fournissant des outils de référence à jour et adaptés à leur besoins concernant les subtilités de la jurisprudence et leur évolution.

  • La Direction des services organisationnels assure un leadership stratégique et institutionnel en ressources humaines, en gestion financière, en vérification interne ainsi qu'en technologie et gestion de l'information. Elle fournit une orientation en matière de politiques et gère les relations externes avec une vaste gamme d'intervenants, notamment le Parlement, le gouvernement et les représentants des médias. Cette direction est également responsable du programme d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels au sein du Commissariat.

Le Secrétariat de l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) traite les demandes d'accès déposées en vertu de la Loi qui concernent les documents relevant du Commissariat. Avant la restructuration de la Direction des services organisationnels, le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP comprenait quatre membres du personnel :

  • la directrice, Division de la gestion de l'information, qui, à titre de coordonnatrice institutionnelle de l'AIPRP, détient également la totalité des pouvoirs délégués conformément à la Loi;

  • le directeur, Secrétariat de l'AIPRP, qui est responsable de la gestion du Secrétariat, y compris de la surveillance de l'administration des demandes, du développement des politiques et de la formation et qui, à titre de coordonnateur de l'AIPRP, détient également la totalité des pouvoirs délégués conformément à la Loi;

  • l'analyste principal de l'AIPRP, qui est responsable du traitement des dossiers complexes ou volumineux et du deuxième examen des demandes traitées; et

  • l'analyste subalterne de l'AIPRP, qui administre les demandes moins complexes et moins volumineuses présentées en vertu de la Loi.

Comme la demande au Secrétariat de l'AIPRP a diminué cette année, nous avons été en mesure d'offrir un soutien additionnel au développement de la capacité d'enquête de l'organisation. Deux membres du personnel ont été temporairement affectés à la Direction du RPRL pour renforcer la capacité et maximiser l'efficience.

3 Ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs

Conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la commissaire à l'information est désignée responsable de l'institution et veille à l'administration de la présente loi.

L'ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs, signé le 18 janvier 2010, était en vigueur au début de la période couverte par le présent rapport. Cette ordonnance conférait à la commissaire adjointe par intérim, Politiques, communications et opérations, à la directrice intérimaire, Gestion de l'information, et au gestionnaire de l'AIPRP tous les pouvoirs en vertu de l'article 73 de la Loi (voir l'annexe A).

Pendant la période couverte par le présent rapport, un changement a été apporté au pouvoir délégué. En septembre 2010, la délégation du directeur adjoint du Secrétariat de l'AIPRP a été révoquée, puisqu'il a été affecté temporairement pour apporter son soutien aux enquêtes sur les plaintes (voir l'annexe B). La révocation de cette délégation a permis d'éviter tout conflit d'intérêts dans le cadre des nouvelles responsabilités de cet employé. Une nouvelle ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs a été conférée en vertu de la Loi à la commissaire adjointe par intérim, Politiques, communications et opérations ainsi qu'à la directrice, Gestion de l'information (voir l'annexe C).

4 Rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique est joint à l'annexe D.

5 Interprétation du rapport statistique

Cette partie décrit en détail les six demandes traitées par le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP au cours de la période couverte par le présent rapport en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il ne sera question dans cette partie que des sections de la Loi qui touchent ces demandes.

5.1 Demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Nous avons reçu six demandes en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pendant l'exercice en cours. Toutes ces demandes ont été traitées avant le
31 mars 2011.

5.2 Disposition des demandes traitées

Sur les six demandes traitées, deux ont donné lieu à une communication partielle, deux ont été transférées à une autre institution davantage concernée, une a été entièrement communiquée et une autre a été abandonnée par le demandeur.

5.3 Exceptions invoquées

L'article 22 de la Loi a été invoqué à trois reprises pour protéger les enquêtes du Commissariat.

5.4 Délais de traitement

Tous les dossiers ont été traités au cours des 30 premiers jours. Le délai de traitement moyen d'une demande reçue en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a été de 16,5 jours.

5.5 Mode de communication

Dans ces trois cas, des copies des dossiers ont été fournies au demandeur sur un disque compact.

5.6 Coûts

Coût de l'administration du programme d'accès à l'information du Commissariat entre le 1er avril 2010 et le 31 mars 2011

Finances

Montant

Salaires

8 606,42 $

Administration (E&M)

328,62 $

Total

8 935,04 $

Années‑personnes (nombre décimal)

0,3

6 Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Pendant la période couverte par le présent rapport, deux évaluations préliminaires des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée ont été réalisées. La première d'entre elles concernait la mise en œuvre du système d'archivage ministériel électronique — le SGDDI. Aucun risque important n'a été constaté pour la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette évaluation sera affichée sur le site Web du Commissariat lorsqu'elle aura été approuvée par le Comité exécutif du Commissariat.

La deuxième évaluation préliminaire des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée concernait la mise en œuvre du nouveau site intranet du Commissariat. Elle a démontré qu'il est nécessaire de demander à tous les employés du Commissariat de signer un formulaire de consentement avant d'afficher leur photographie ou d'autres renseignements personnels sur le site. Le Commissariat a donc atténué tous les risques pesant sur les droits de la protection des renseignements personnels grâce à une procédure exigeant que les employés remplissent un formulaire de consentement avant l'affichage de leurs renseignements personnels sur le site.

7 Activités de partage des données

Il n'y a pas eu de nouvelles activités de partage des données au cours de la période couverte par le présent rapport.

8 Éducation et formation

Au cours de 2010−2011, le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP a tenu trois séances de formation sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ainsi que leurs processus connexes, ce dans les deux langues officielles.

Les Services juridiques ont dispensé de la formation individuelle sur la législation à tous les nouveaux employés. Ils ont également offert quatre séances sur la Loi en général, deux sur l'obligation de prêter assistance et quatre sur l'exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire.

Le personnel de l'AIPRP a assisté au 18e congrès de l'Association sur l'accès et la protection de l'information s'étant déroulé dans la ville de Québec. Cette conférence de trois jours a été l'occasion de prendre connaissance des développements en cours dans la communauté de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du Québec.

9 Modifications apportées à l'organisation, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques

9.1 Restructuration organisationnelle

Tel qu'indiqué précédemment, le Commissariat a connu des restructurations à la fin de la période couverte par le présent rapport. L'ancienne Direction des politiques, communications et opérations a été rationalisée dans le but d'améliorer les contrôles et la responsabilité pour toutes les fonctions du Commissariat, y compris l'accès à l'information. L'élaboration des politiques et les affaires systémiques sont maintenant placées sous la responsabilité de la Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la Loi. La gestion des ressources humaines incombe à la nouvelle Direction des services organisationnels.

9.2 Stratégie de GI/TI

La mise en œuvre continue de la stratégie organisationnelle visant à renouveler sa gestion de l'information et ses technologies de l'information a également contribué au maintien de notre excellent rendement en permettant une gestion rapide des demandes d'accès à l'information.

En 2008, une évaluation préliminaire de notre programme de gestion de l'information et de technologie de l'information (GI/TI) a été effectuée et un plan stratégique quinquennal a été élaboré et approuvé par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce plan établit la voie à suivre pour intégrer l'infrastructure de GI/TI et l'amener à maturité avec les applications, les politiques et les processus nécessaires pour répondre pleinement aux exigences opérationnelles de l'organisation.

Au cours de la période couverte par le rapport, nous avons mis en œuvre la seconde année de la stratégie de GI/TI. Nos projets comprenaient la mise sur pied d'un dépôt des dossiers électroniques de l'organisation (SGDDI). La section de la GI a élaboré et dispensé de la formation de groupe sur le SGDDI et la GI, et a ensuite affiché cette formation sur le site Web du Commissariat dans les deux langues officielles pour en faciliter l'accès. Une fonction de soutien pour le SGDDI a été mise en place, comprenant un réseau de spécialistes de la GI représentant chaque secteur opérationnel. L'équipe de TI a fourni la programmation et le soutien technique pour le projet.

La section de la GI a également terminé le travail consistant à désigner et à décrire tous les dossiers que détient l'organisation dans un système de classification universel intégré.

La division a également mis un module de formation électronique sur la classification de l'information sensible à la disposition de tous les usagers du site Web.

Enfin, la première disposition de documents en vertu de l'Autorisation pluri-institutionnelle de disposer de documents (APDD) a eu lieu cette année. Nous avons disposé de plus de 20 000 dossiers d'enquête et avons commencé à expédier nos dossiers de valeur historique à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC), afin de préserver le patrimoine documentaire des Canadiens. Nous avons également commencé à disposer des documents relatifs aux fonctions administratives communes en vertu de l'APDD. Nous prévoyons terminer la disposition des dossiers financiers et des dossiers d'accès à l'information d'ici la fin de 2011−2012.

En ce qui concerne le secteur de la TI, nous avons mis l'accent sur l'amélioration de notre réseau, ce qui s'est traduit par une réduction de 30 % du nombre d'appels de service au Bureau d'aide de la TI. Nous avons également travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la direction des enquêtes, afin d'adapter un logiciel de série à ses besoins en matière de gestion de cas. Au moyen d'essais d'acceptation par l'utilisateur, nous avons affiné davantage le produit, afin qu'il réponde pleinement aux besoins des enquêteurs. Le nouveau système sera mis en œuvre à compter d'avril 2011.

L'équipe de la TI s'est également employée à mettre au point de bons outils de production de rapports permettant à la haute direction de suivre plus efficacement les progrès des enquêtes.

10 Nouvelles politiques ou procédures

Durant l'année, nous avons revu et amélioré notre manuel des procédures d'AIPRP. Ce manuel présente de façon détaillée les étapes à suivre pour traiter une demande d'accès à l'information. Les six piliers de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels au Commissariat sont les suivants :

1. Mise en œuvre intégrale de l'obligation de prêter assistance

  • Exercer le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer aux frais de demande.
  • Conseiller les demandeurs sur les façons de clarifier leurs demandes, afin de permettre une divulgation plus complète et plus rapide.
  • Accélérer le processus de consultation, s'il y a lieu.
  • Offrir des documents provisoires lorsqu'une prorogation de délai est nécessaire.

2. Divulgation optimale

  • Appliquer une présomption de divulgation et tenir dûment compte de l'intérêt public à l'égard de l'information demandée. Les prélèvements ne sont appliqués que dans les cas où le coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels est convaincu que la divulgation causerait préjudice spécifique et probable aux intérêts protégés en vertu d'une exception discrétionnaire.

3. Prorogations et délais minimaux

  • Recourir aux prorogations seulement lorsqu'elles sont inévitables et pour la plus courte durée possible.

4. Rapidité des réponses

  • Communiquer les documents dès que possible sans attendre la fin du délai de 30 jours.

5. Confidentialité du processus d'enquête

  • S'abstenir de présenter des recommandations aux institutions qui consultent le Commissariat relativement à de l'information qui pourrait faire l'objet d'une enquête subséquente, afin d'éliminer toute possibilité de conflit d'intérêts.

6. Protection des renseignements personnels

  • Garantir la protection, la confidentialité et la sécurité des renseignements personnels conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Pour accélérer le traitement des demandes d'accès, le Secrétariat de l'AIPRP, avec l'appui plénier du comité exécutif, a réduit de 7 à 5 jours le temps de recherche documentaire. En conséquence, nous avons été en mesure de traiter les demandes dans un délai moyen de 16.5 jours.

11 Plaintes et enquêtes concernant la protection de la vie privée

Quatre plaintes ont été déposées auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada pendant la période couverte par ce rapport, et trois d'entre elles étaient encore ouvert en date du 31 mars 2011.

La conclusion d'une plainte, dont le dossier a été clos au cours du présent exercice, a été trouvée « non fondée ». Dans ce cas, le demandeur s'était plaint que le Commissariat lui refusait l'accès à ses renseignements personnels en appliquant des exceptions aux dossiers qu'il demandait en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. La commissaire à la protection de la vie privée a passé en revue les exceptions et a conclu qu'aucun des renseignements personnels du demandeur ne lui avait été refusé.

Annexe A

Annexe A

Annexe B

Annexe B

Annexe C

Annexe C

Annexe D

Annexe D