Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PRIVACY ACT

Annual Report

April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009

Table of Contents

1. Introduction

2. Organization

3. Delegation Order

4. Statistical Report

5. Interpretation of the Statistical Report

6. Privacy Impact Assessments

7. Data-sharing activities

8. Education and training activities

9. Changes to institution’s organization, programs, operations or policy

10. New policies or procedures

11. Privacy complaints

Appendix A - Delegation, OIC Nov 30 2007

Appendix B - Delegation, OIC Nov 10 2008

Appendix C - Statistical report

Appendix D - Supplemental Reporting Requirements

Introduction

This report to Parliament describes the activities of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC), that support compliance with the Privacy Act in accordance in accordance with section 72.

The purpose of the Privacy Act is to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by federal institutions, and to provide individuals with a right of access to that information.

The Information Commissioner’s mandate is to investigate complaints under the Access to Information Act (ATIA) from individuals who feel that their rights to access have not been respected by federal institutions. The Commissioner is also entitled to initiate a complaint if there are reasonable grounds to do so.

The period from April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009 was an event-filled time for the OIC on several fronts. Highlights in this report include:

  • We increased the capacity in the ATIP Secretariat to process requests. The Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) approved funding for 2008-2009 that was used to hire two new ATIP analysts as well as to purchase an electronic request processing system which was implemented mid-year. An ATIP Assistant position was also created from the existing budget.
  • We made considerable strides in our information management, both in the ATIP Secretariat, and in the larger organization. Improvements such as network consolidation, business process transformation and a shift to electronic service delivery helped us to operate more efficiently, while at the same time assisting our clients.


Organization

The OIC has 82 full-time employees. It is divided into four main branches.

  • The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch carries out investigations and dispute resolution efforts to resolve complaints.
  • The Policy, Communications and Operations Branch assesses federal institutions’ performance under the Act, conducts systemic investigations and analyses, provides strategic policy direction for the Office, leads the Office’s external relations with the public, the government and Parliament, and provides strategic and corporate leadership in the areas of financial management, internal audit and information management.
  • The Legal Services Branch represents the Commissioner in court cases and provides legal advice on investigations as well as legislative and administrative matters.
  • The Human Resources Branch oversees all aspects of human resources management and provides advice to managers and employees on human resources issues.

The ATIP Secretariat which was established within the Policy, Communications and Operations Branch, administers and processes requests for OIC information under the ATIA and the Privacy Act. The staff of the ATIP Secretariat comprised four persons:

  • the Director, Information Management Division, who, as institutional ATIP Coordinator also holds the full delegated authority under the ATIA and the Privacy Act;
  • the Senior ATIP analyst who is responsible for the processing of complex and/or voluminous files, and the second review of completed requests;
  • the Junior ATIP analyst who administers straightforward smaller volume applications under the ATIA; and
  • the ATIP Assistant who enters all applications into the electronic system, acknowledges requests, performs imaging services, produces reports and is responsible for other administrative tasks as required.


Delegation Order

Under the Privacy Act, the head of the institution is responsible for setting out what powers have been delegated, and to whom, under a delegation order.

During the reporting period, two consecutive delegation orders were put in place that echoed changes in staffing within the organization. At the beginning of the year, the delegation order provided that the Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations, the ATIP Coordinator, and the Senior Policy Analyst were entitled to administer the Act. The second order stipulated that the delegated authority was held by the Assistant Commissioner, the Director, Information Management, and the Director, Strategic Case Management.

Copies of both delegation orders are attached as Appendices A and B.

Statistical Report

The statistical report is attached as Appendix C



Interpretation of the Statistical Report

This section provides the details on the 2 requests made under the Privacy Act to the ATIP Secretariat during the reporting period. Only those sections of the Act that were applicable to those requests will be discussed.

Requests received under the Privacy Act

One of the two requests received was completed during the reporting period and one was carried over into the new fiscal year.

Disposition of requests completed

The request completed during the reporting period resulted in partial disclosure.

Exemptions invoked

Two exemptions were applied during the reporting period. Section 26 was invoked to protect the personal information of a third party, and information that was related to law enforcement was exempted under subparagraph 22 (1) (b) (iii).

Completion times

The request was completed within the 30 day time limit.

Method of Access

When the request was completed, photocopies were provided to the applicant.

Costs

The total costs of the Privacy program for the OIC during the reporting period was $7,502.20, which breaks down as follows:

Salary: $4,824.63

Administration: $2,677.57



Privacy Impact Assessments

There were no privacy impact assessments completed during the fiscal year.

Data-sharing Activities

There were no new data sharing activities during the reporting period.

Education and training activities

A new training module was developed in 2008-2009 to assist OIC program officials in understanding their responsibilities in retrieving records and making recommendations. The module which will be offered early in the next fiscal year outlines the step by step process for officials to follow in carrying out their responsibilities under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. Analysts in the ATIP Secretariat will also receive section-specific training offered by the Treasury Board Secretariat as required.

Changes to institution’s organization, programs, operations or policy

Enhancing our information management capacity

Information management (IM) is critical to the success of our new business model. We produce a significant amount of documentation in the form of investigation files, legal opinions, memos, briefings, correspondence and other information. In turn, we receive a significant amount of information from external sources. To take best advantage of all this information, we must manage it in such a way that we can easily coordinate, re-use, re-purpose and distribute it in a useful, targeted and responsible manner.

In 2008–2009, we conducted a thorough assessment of our IM capacity. Consequently, we created a new IM division—regrouping the information technology (IT) function, the Records Centre, Library Services and the Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat—and developed a comprehensive long-term IM/IT strategy designed to make IM service delivery more proactive.

IM/IT renewal

In 2008–2009, we developed a five-year strategic plan aimed at positioning us as a leader in resolving access to information complaints and providing agile and enhanced service delivery. This plan identified a number of IM/IT renewal initiatives designed to enable us to create, manage, access and share information and knowledge with a seamless technology infrastructure. We focused our efforts on the most critical issues that were having a direct impact on our productivity, left us vulnerable to security breaches, and caused instability in our infrastructure. Our initiatives included the following:

  • We established a new unit with a director and five IT professionals, who are responsible for implementing our IM/IT vision.
  • We created a proactive service delivery model that anticipates business needs and identifies strategic solutions.
  • We consolidated our IT infrastructure, with appropriate and up-to-date software and processes, including tools for project and change management.
  • We updated or developed and implemented all the required policies and procedures.
  • We increased security measures to protect data, both at rest and in transit across our network, according to their security classification while minimizing the impact of existing and emerging threats to the integrity of the information.

The results of our IM/IT renewal initiatives have been immediate and significant. The successful consolidation of the network and desktop environment has had a positive impact on our productivity while improving overall IT security, stability and management.



Records management

Since the Office of the Information Commissioner was founded in 1983, we have conducted thousands of investigations. Over the years, the volume of files associated with closed investigations increased to the point that we had to take decisive action to manage the overwhelming quantity of paper records. In 2008–2009, we developed our first Records Disposition Authority to determine how long we should keep present and future paper and electronic records created by investigators.

We also increased the capacity of our records section, in anticipation of the work we will have to do to develop and implement an institutional information management framework. Specifically, we created the positions of Manager, Information Management, and Manager, Records, to develop and maintain critical elements of an IM framework, such as a universal classification system, business rules and a concept of operations, as well as additional disposition authorities to cover all institutional records.

Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat

Since our organization became subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act in 2007, we have proactively managed our access to information program with the goal of achieving perfect compliance with the law. We used new funding obtained in 2007 to staff analyst positions and to purchase electronic request processing software. Electronic processing allows us to manage records associated with access and privacy requests more efficiently, maximize compliance with deadlines, and deliver records on CD-ROM, which effectively eliminates photocopy fees—a potential barrier to access.

The resulting improvement in information management has had several benefits:

  • reproduction fees have been eliminated;
  • packages of records are easily re-created, when necessary;
  • statistical reporting is more accurate; and
  • the overall quality of the packages of records we release is generally improved, in terms of organization of the records, legibility, contextualization of information and completeness and accuracy.

The impact of better information management has also allowed us to build our access to information and privacy capacity. Given the widespread shortage in qualified personnel across federal institutions, and the need for more junior staff to come up to speed quickly, having reliable electronic records keeping and accompanying processes means that we can spend less time on training than previously and allows for greater ease of succession.



New policies or procedures

We also developed and approved a Use of Electronic Networks Policy governing use of the corporate network. The policy, which was approved in late 2008 and implemented shortly thereafter, outlines what is considered personal information on the OIC’s network, and what expectations employees can have if their personal information is stored on the network.

Privacy Complaints

Two complaints were made under the Privacy Act by an employee who stated that the OIC had accessed his personal information on his Facebook page inappropriately. The complaint was abandoned by the applicant partway through the investigation.

The second complaint was related to information about one complaint accidentally being sent to another complainant. The Privacy Commissioner investigated and found that the complaint was well-founded; however, it was also found to be resolved since the OIC took steps to correct the situation.

Appendix A

[image]



Appendix B

[image]



Appendix C

[image]



Appendix D

[image]

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Rapport annuel

April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009

Table des matières

1. Introduction

2. Organisation

3. Arrêté sur la délégation

4. Rapport statistique

5. Interprétation du rapport statistique

6. Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

7. Activités d’échange de données

8. Éducation et formation

9. Modifications apportées à l’organisation, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques

10. Nouvelles politiques ou procédures

11. Plaintes concernant la protection des renseignements personnels

Annexe A – Délégation au commissaire à l’information, 30 novembre 2007

Annexe B – Délégation au commissaire à l’information, 10 novembre 2008

Annexe C – Rapport statistique

Annexe D – Exigences en matière de rapports supplémentaires

Introduction

Le présent rapport au Parlement décrit les activités du Commissariat à l’information du Canada relativement au respect de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (LPRP) conformément à l’article 72.

La LPRP a pour objet de protéger les renseignements personnels détenus par les institutions fédérales et de conférer aux personnes un droit d’accès aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent.

Le commissaire à l’information du Canada a pour mandat d’enquêter sur des plaintes déposées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI) par des personnes qui soutiennent que leur droit d’accès n’a pas été respecté par une institution fédérale. Le commissaire peut également prendre l’initiative d’une plainte s’il y a des motifs raisonnables de le faire.

La période du 1er avril 2008 au 31 mars 2009 a été une période très active pour le Commissariat sur plusieurs plans. Voici quelques faits saillants compris dans le présent rapport :

  • Nous avons augmenté la capacité de traitement de demandes du Secrétariat de l’AIPRP. Le financement obtenu du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) en 2008-2009 nous a permis d’embaucher deux nouveaux analystes de l’AIPRP et d’acheter un système de traitement électronique des demandes, qui a été implanté à la mi-exercice. Les ressources existantes ont permis de doter un poste d’adjoint de l’AIPRP.
  • Nous avons fait des progrès importants en matière de gestion de l’information, à la fois au Secrétariat de l’AIPRP et dans l’ensemble de l’organisation. Des améliorations comme la consolidation du réseau, la transformation des processus opérationnels et le passage à la prestation de services par voie électronique nous ont permis de travailler de manière plus efficiente, tout en répondant aux demandes de nos clients.


Organisation

Le Commissariat compte 82 employés à temps plein et est divisé en quatre directions principales.

  • La Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la Loi mène des enquêtes et des activités de règlement des différends en vue de la résolution des plaintes.
  • La Direction des politiques, des communications et des opérations évalue le rendement des institutions fédérales en vertu de la Loi, effectue des enquêtes et des analyses systémiques, offre des orientations stratégiques au Commissariat, dirige les relations externes du Commissariat avec le public, le gouvernement et le Parlement, et fournit un leadership stratégique et institutionnel dans les domaines de la gestion financière, de la vérification interne et de la gestion de l’information.
  • La Direction des services juridiques représente le commissaire dans les affaires judiciaires et offre des conseils juridiques sur les enquêtes, ainsi que sur les questions législatives et administratives.
  • La Direction des ressources humaines supervise tous les aspects de la gestion des ressources humaines et donne des conseils aux gestionnaires et aux employés sur les questions concernant les ressources humaines.

Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP, qui fait partie de la Direction des politiques, des communications et des opérations, gère et traite les demandes d’accès à de l’information relevant du Commissariat en vertu de la LAI et de la LPRP. Le personnel du Secrétariat de l’AIPRP comprend quatre personnes :

  • une directrice, Division de la gestion de l’information, qui à titre de coordonnatrice institutionnelle de l’AIPRP détient également la totalité des pouvoirs délégués conformément à la LAI et la LPRP;
  • un analyste principal de l’AIPRP, qui est responsable du traitement de dossiers complexes ou volumineux et du deuxième examen des demandes traitées;
  • un analyste subalterne de l’AIPRP, qui gère un plus petit volume de demandes simples en vertu de la LAI;
  • une adjointe à l’AIPRP, qui inscrit toutes les demandes dans le système informatique, confirme la réception des demandes, fournit des services d’imagerie, produit des rapports et est chargée d’autres tâches administratives au besoin.


Arrêté sur la délégation

Selon la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le responsable de l’institution est chargé de déterminer les pouvoirs qui ont été délégués et d’en désigner les délégataires dans un arrêté sur la délégation.

Au cours de la période visée par le rapport, deux arrêtés consécutifs sur la délégation ont été pris afin de tenir compte des changements dans le personnel de l’organisation. L’arrêté sur la délégation pris au début de l’exercice conférait à la commissaire adjointe, Politiques, communications et opérations, à la coordonnatrice de l’AIPRP et à l’analyste principal des politiques le pouvoir d’administrer la Loi. Le deuxième arrêté conférait ces mêmes pouvoirs à la commissaire adjointe, à la directrice, Gestion de l’information, et au directeur, Gestion stratégique des dossiers.

Des copies des deux arrêtés sur la délégation figurent aux annexes A et B.

Rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique figure à l’annexe C.



Interprétation du rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique donne le détail des deux demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Secrétariat de l’AIPRP au cours de la période visée par le rapport. Seuls les articles de la Loiapplicables à ces demandes seront abordés.

Demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Une des deux demandes reçues a été traitée au cours de la période visée et l’autre a été reportée à l’exercice suivant.

Réponses données aux demandes traitées

La demande traitée au cours de la période visée a abouti à une communication partielle de l’information.

Exceptions invoquées

Deux exceptions ont été appliquées au cours de la période visée. L’article 26 a été invoqué pour protéger les renseignements personnels d’un tiers, ainsi que le sous-alinéa 22(1)b)(iii) pour protéger des renseignements relatifs à l’application de la loi.

Délai de traitement

La demande a été traitée dans les 30 jours.

Mode de communication

Après le traitement de sa demande, la personne a reçu des photocopies des renseignements demandés.

Coûts

Le coût du programme de protection des renseignements personnels du Commissariat au cours de la période visée totalisait 7 502,20 $, répartis de la manière suivante :

Rémunération : 4 824,63 $

Administration : 2 677,57 $



Évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Aucune évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée n’a été effectuée au cours de l’exercice financier.

Activités d’échange de données

Aucune activité d’échange de données n’a été entreprise pendant la période en question.

Éducation et formation

Un nouveau module de formation a été élaboré en 2008-2009 en vue d’aider les agents de programme du Commissariat à mieux comprendre leurs responsabilités en matière d’extraction de dossiers et de formulation de recommandations. Ce module, qui sera offert au début du prochain exercice financier, explique étape par étape le processus que doivent suivre les agents pour s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les analystes du Secrétariat de l’AIPRP recevront également, au besoin, une formation axée sur certains articles offerte par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.  



Modifications apportées à l’organisation, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques

Amélioration de notre capacité de gestion de l’information

La gestion de l’information (GI) est cruciale au succès de notre nouveau modèle de gestion. Nous produisons une quantité appréciable de documents sous forme de dossiers d’enquêtes, d’avis juridiques, de notes de service, d’exposés, de pièces de correspondance et d’autres éléments d’information. Par ailleurs, nous recevons une somme importante d’information de sources externes. Pour tirer le maximum de toute cette information, nous devons la gérer de manière à pouvoir facilement la coordonner, la réutiliser, lui donner un autre usage et la distribuer sous une forme utile, ciblée et responsable.

En 2008-2009, nous avons réalisé une évaluation complète de nos capacités en GI. L’exercice a donné lieu à la création d’une nouvelle division de GI en regroupant la fonction de technologie de l’information (TI), le Centre de documents, les Services de bibliothèque et le Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels. Enfin, nous avons élaboré une stratégie détaillée de GI/TI à long terme visant à rendre plus proactive la prestation des services de GI.

Renouvellement de la GI/TI

En 2008-2009, nous avons élaboré un plan stratégique quinquennal pour nous permettre de nous positionner comme chef de file relativement au règlement des plaintes d’accès à l’information et à la prestation d’un service souple et amélioré. Dans ce plan, nous mettions en lumière plusieurs initiatives de renouvellement de la GI/TI qui ont pour but de nous permettre de créer, de gérer et d’échanger de l’information et du savoir – et d’accéder à cette information et ce savoir – au moyen d’une infrastructure technologique uniforme. Nous avons axé nos efforts sur les enjeux les plus cruciaux qui avaient une incidence directe sur notre productivité, nous ont rendus vulnérables aux atteintes à la sécurité des données et ont engendré de l’instabilité dans notre infrastructure. Voici quelques-unes de nos initiatives :

  • Nous avons mis sur pied une nouvelle unité composée d’un directeur et de cinq spécialistes de la TI, qui sont responsables de la mise en œuvre de notre vision de la GI/TI.
  • Nous avons créé un modèle proactif de prestation de services qui prévoit les besoins opérationnels et cerne des solutions stratégiques.
  • Nous avons consolidé notre infrastructure de TI avec des logiciels et des processus appropriés et à jour, y compris des outils pour la gestion des projets et du changement.
  • Nous avons mis à jour ou élaboré et mis en œuvre toutes les politiques et procédures requises.
  • Nous avons renforcé les mesures pour protéger les données inactives et de passage sur notre réseau, selon leur classification de sécurité, tout en réduisant au minimum les répercussions des menaces existantes et nouvelles à l’intégrité de l’information.

Nos initiatives de renouvellement de la GI/TI ont engendré des résultats immédiats et appréciables. L’unification de l’environnement de réseau et des ordinateurs de bureau a eu des répercussions positives sur notre productivité tout en améliorant la sécurité, la stabilité et la gestion globale de la TI.

Gestion des documents

Depuis la création du Commissariat à l’information en 1983, nous avons mené des milliers d’enquêtes. Au fil des ans, le volume de dossiers liés aux enquêtes fermées s’est accru au point qu’il nous a fallu prendre des mesures décisives pour gérer la quantité écrasante de documents sur support papier. En 2008-2009, nous avons créé notre première autorisation de disposer de documents pour déterminer la durée de temps pendant laquelle nous devrions garder les documents imprimés et électroniques actuels et futurs qui sont produits par les enquêteurs.

Nous avons aussi accru la capacité de notre section des documents en prévision du travail qu’il nous faudra faire pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre un cadre institutionnel de gestion de l’information. Plus particulièrement, nous avons créé les postes de gestionnaire, Gestion de l’information, et de gestionnaire, Documents, pour élaborer et tenir à jour les éléments cruciaux d’un cadre de GI, comme un système de classification universel, des règles administratives et un concept d’opérations. Nous avons également créé d’autres autorisations de disposer pour viser tout les documents institutionnels.

Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Depuis que notre organisation est devenue assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnelsen 2007, nous avons géré de manière proactive notre programme d’accès à l’information dans le but d’en arriver à une parfaite conformité avec la loi. Nous avons utilisé les nouveaux fonds obtenus en 2007 pour doter des postes d’analystes et acheter des logiciels de traitement électronique des demandes. Le traitement électronique nous permet de gérer plus efficacement les documents liés aux demandes de communication et de protection des renseignements personnels, de maximiser le respect des délais et de remettre des documents sur CD-ROM, ce qui élimine de façon efficace les frais de photocopie – un obstacle important à l’accès.

Les améliorations relatives à la gestion de l’information qui ont suivi ont apporté plusieurs avantages :

  • les frais de reproduction ont été éliminés;
  • les documents sont facilement recréés au besoin;
  • les rapports statistiques sont plus précis;
  • la qualité globale des documents que nous distribuons est généralement meilleure sur le plan de l’organisation des documents, de la lisibilité, de la mise en contexte de l’information ainsi que de l’intégralité et de la précision.

La gestion améliorée de l’information nous a également permis de développer notre capacité d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels. Compte tenu de la pénurie généralisée de personnel qualifié dans les institutions fédérales et de la nécessité que davantage d’employés subalternes progressent rapidement, le fait de pouvoir compter sur des processus électroniques fiables de conservation des documents et sur des processus connexes signifie que nous pouvons consacrer moins de temps que précédemment à la formation et obtenir plus facilement une relève.



Nouvelles politiques ou procédures

La Politique d’utilisation des réseaux électroniques qui régit l’utilisation du réseau organisationnel a été élaborée et adoptée. Adoptée vers la fin de 2008 et mise en œuvre peu de temps après, cette politique fait état de ce qui est considéré comme des renseignements personnels sur le réseau du Commissariat et indique ce à quoi les employés peuvent s’attendre si leurs renseignements personnels sont stockés sur le réseau.

Plaintes concernant la protection des renseignements personnels

Deux plaintes ont été déposées en vertu de a Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. La première a été déposée par un employé qui soutient que le Commissariat a eu accès à des renseignements personnels sur sa page dans Facebook de façon inappropriée. La plainte a été abandonnée par le plaignant en cours d’enquête.

La deuxième plainte avait trait à des renseignements concernant un plaignant qui ont été accidentellement envoyés à un autre plaignant. La commissaire à la protection de la vie privée a mené une enquête et a conclu que la plainte était fondée, mais qu’elle avait été résolue, car le Commissariat avait déjà pris des mesures pour corriger la situation.



Annexe A

 annexe_a.jpg



 

 

Annexe B

 annexe_b.jpg



Annexe C

 annexe_c.jpg



Annexe D

 annexe_d.jpg