Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PRIVACY ACT

Annual Report

April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2008

ATIP Secretariat

Table of Contents

 

1. Introduction
2. Organization
3. Delegation Order
4. Statistical Report
5. Interpretation of the Statistical Report
6. Privacy Impact Assessments

7. New Data Matching Activities and Data Sharing Activities

8. Training Activities

9. Disclosures of Personal Informationad hoc

10. Changes to the Institution’s Organization, Programs, Operations or Policy

11. New and/or Revised Privacy Policies

12. Major Changes as a Result of Issues Raised by the Privacy Commissioner

13. Major Changes as a Result of Issues Raised by the Auditor General

14. Privacy Complaints

15. Applications/Appeals Submitted to the Federal Court, or the Federal Court of Appeal

Appendix A: Delegation Order—April 18, 2007
Appendix B: Delegation Order—July 3, 2007
Appendix C: Delegation Order—November 30, 2007
Appendix D: Statistical Report

1. Introduction

This report is submitted to Parliament by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC). It is the first annual report for the OIC pursuant to Section 72 of the Privacy Act.1 The following sections provide information on the activities of the institutional Privacy program.

The purpose of the Privacy Act 1 is to protect the privacy of individuals with respect to personal information about themselves held by federal government institutions and provide individuals with a right of access to that information.

The mandate of the Information Commissioner of Canada is to investigate complaints related to the disclosure of information under the Access to Information Act (ATIA).2 When royal assent was received on December 12, 2006, for the Federal Accountability Act,3 the OIC and approximately 70 other agencies became subject to the provisions of both the ATIA and the Privacy Act. The OIC then established an Access to Information and Privacy program from the ground up, and prepared to achieve operational readiness for April 1, 2007.

In its initial year of operation, the institutional ATIP program was staffed with one position: the Director of Information Management, who was responsible for all aspects of request processing. Over the course of the year a submission to the Treasury Board Secretariat was prepared for funding effective April 1, 2008, in order to ensure full capacity as the ATIP program got underway.



2. Organization

During the reporting period, the OIC was set up along four business lines:

The Complaints Resolution and Compliance Branch carries out investigations and dispute resolution efforts to resolve complaints.

The Policy, Communications and Operations Branch monitors federal institutions’ performance under the Act, provides strategic advice and direction for the Office to address systemic and policy issues, leads the Office’s external relations with the public, the government and Parliament, and provides strategic and corporate leadership in the areas of financial management, administration and security, internal audit and information management. This Branch is also responsible for the OIC’s ATIP function.

The Legal Services Branch represents the Commissioner in court cases and provides legal advice on investigations and legislative and administrative matters.

The Human Resources Branch oversees all aspects of human resources management—staffing, classification, staff relations, employment equity, planning, learning and development, compensation and official languages—and provides advice to managers and employees on human resources issues.

1 Privacy Act, R.S., 1985, c. P-21
2 Access to Information Act, R.S. 1985, c.A-1
3 Federal Accountability Act, 2006, c.9

The ATIP Secretariat within the Policy, Communications and Operations Branch carries out the administration and processing of requests for information under the Privacy Act. The ATIP Secretariat is staffed by the position of Director, Information Management.



3. Delegation Order

Under the Privacy Act, the head of the institution is responsible for setting out what powers have been delegated, and to whom, under a delegation order.

In its first year of operation, the institutional privacy program worked with three successive delegation orders. The change in orders is attributable to the fact that the ATIP Secretariat continued to grow from the time of its inception, and this evolution was then reflected in the delegation orders. The first order stipulates that the institutional ATIP Coordinator holds delegated authority under the Act along with the Senior Legal Advisor. The second order named the Assistant Commissioner of the Policy, Communications and Operations Branch and the ATIP Coordinator. The third order, which was in place at the end of the reporting period, included the third position of Senior Policy Analyst.

A copy of all three delegation orders is attached as Appendices A, B and C.



4. Statistical Report

The statistical report is attached as Appendix D.

5. Interpretation of the Statistical Report

The following section provides information on requests received by the OIC under the Privacy Act. Given the low number of requests received during the reporting period, statistics are only available for the following categories of information:

  • requests received during the reporting period
  • disposition of requests completed
  • exemptions invoked
  • method of access
  • completion times
  • costs

The remaining categories of information cited on the TBS statistical report on the Privacy Act were not applicable to the requests received by the OIC.



5.1 Requests Received Under the Privacy Act

There were three requests received during the reporting period. Each one was completed before the end of the fiscal year—none were carried over.

5.2 Disposition of Requests Completed

Of the three requests completed, two resulted in full disclosure. The remaining file resulted in partial disclosure of the information requested.

5.3 Exemptions Invoked

Only one exemption was invoked during the reporting period. The exemption was pursuant to section 26 of the Act, which deals with the personal information of another person.



5.4 Completion Times

All three requests were completed within 30 days.

5.5 Method of Access

Two of the completed requests were provided to the applicants in photocopies. The remaining file was examined in the reading room and copies were subsequently provided to the requester.



5.6 Costs

Financial (all reasons)
Salary $1,052
Administration (O&M) $1,020
TOTAL $2,072
Person year utilization (all reasons)
Person year (decimal format) 0.02

6. Privacy Impact Assessments

Given that the reporting period represented the first year that the OIC was subject to the ATIA and the Privacy Act, the ATIP Secretariat focused on developing and implementing the processes for responding to requests.



7. New Data Matching Activities and Data Sharing Activities

No data matching activities or data sharing activities were undertaken during the reporting period.



8. Training Activities

The ATIP Secretariat is responsible for providing the OIC as a whole with training and ongoing coaching on interpretation of the legislation and organizational Privacy processes. The initial step taken by the ATIP Secretariat to ensure institutional readiness to implement the Privacy Act was to make sure all employees were trained on the provisions of the legislation, their responsibilities and the institutional processes. Training was provided to all employees in both French and English.



9. Disclosures of Personal Information

Section 8(2) of the Privacy Act stipulates under which circumstances personal information under the control of a government institution may be disclosed. During the reporting period, no personal information under the control of the OIC was disclosed under subsection 8(2).



10. Changes to the Institution’s Organization, Programs, Operations or Policy

When the OIC became subject to the Act, the organization had to move quickly to ensure operational readiness. The OIC staffed the ATIP Secretariat with one position, that of the Director, Information Management, and also set up a reading room. Additionally, a submission was prepared for Treasury Board Secretariat to request funding for positions, processing software, office furniture and equipment.



11. New and/or Revised Privacy Policies

During the reporting period work began on the necessary policy instruments to support the work of the ATIP Secretariat. 

12. Major Changes as a Result of Issues Raised by the Privacy Commissioner

The Privacy Commissioner of Canada raised no issues during the reporting period. 



13. Major Changes as a Result of Issues Raised by the Office of the Auditor General or other Agents of Parliament

The Office of the Auditor General of Canada raised no issues during the reporting period.

14. Privacy Complaints

There were no privacy complaints received during the period in question.



15. Applications/Appeals Submitted to the Federal Court, or the Federal Court of Appeal

There were no appeals submitted to the Federal Court during the reporting period.

Appendix A

Appendix A



Appendix B

Appendix B



Appendix C

Appendix C



Appendix D

Appendix D

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

LOI SUR LA PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Rapport annuel

1er avril 2007 – 31 mars 2008

Secrétariat de l'AIPR

Table des matières

1. Introduction
2. Organisation
3. Ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs
4. Rapport statistique
5. Interprétation du rapport statistique

6. Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

7. Nouvelles activités de couplage et d'échange de données

8. Activités de formation

9. Communication des renseignements personnels

10. Modifications apportées à l’organisation, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques de l’institution

11. Politiques sur la protection des renseignements personnels nouvelles ou révisées

12. Principaux changements à la suite des préoccupations exprimées par la Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée

13. Principaux changements à la suite des préoccupations exprimées par la vérificatrice générale

14. Plaintes concernant la vie privée

15. Demandes ou appels déposés devant la Cour fédérale ou la Cour d’appel fédérale

Annexe A: Ordonnance de délégation—18 avril 2007
Annexe B: Ordonnance de délégation—3 juillet 2007
Annexe C: Ordonnance de délégation—30 novembre 2007
Annexe D: Rapport statistique

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport est présenté au Parlement par le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (CIC). Il s’agit du premier rapport annuel préparé par le CIC conformément à l’article 72 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.1 Les sections qui suivent comportent de l’information sur les activités entourant le programme institutionnel de protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a pour objet de protéger les renseignements personnels relevant des institutions fédérales et de conférer aux personnes un droit d’accès aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent.

Le Commissaire à l’information du Canada a pour mandat d’enquêter sur les plaintes liées à la communication de renseignements en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.2 La Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité 3a reçu la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006, date à laquelle les dispositions de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ont commencé à s’appliquer au CIC ainsi qu’à quelque 70 autres organismes. Le CIC a ensuite élaboré et mis sur pied un programme de l’accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP), puis a assuré sa préparation opérationnelle en vue du 1er avril 2007.

Durant la première année de son exécution, le programme institutionnel de l’AIPRP ne comptait qu’un seul poste, celui du directeur de la gestion de l’information, qui était responsable de tous les aspects relatifs au traitement des demandes. Au cours de l’année, une demande de financement a été préparée aux fins de soumission au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), en date du 1er avril 2008, afin d’offrir toutes les ressources nécessaires au programme de l’AIPRP. 



2. Organisation

Durant la période visée par le rapport, le CIC était divisé en quatre secteurs d’activités :

La Direction du règlement des plaintes et du respect de la loimène des enquêtes et des activités de règlement des différends en vue de la résolution des plaintes.

La Direction des politiques, des communications et des opérations suit le rendement des institutions fédérales en vertu de la Loi, fournit des conseils et de l’orientation stratégiques au Commissariat afin de régler les enjeux systémiques et stratégiques, dirige les relations externes du Commissariat avec le public, le gouvernement et le Parlement et fournit un leadership stratégique et intégré dans les domaines de la gestion financière, de l’administration et de la sécurité, de la vérification interne et de la gestion de l’information. Cette direction est aussi responsable de l’AIPRP au sein du Commissariat.

La Direction des services juridiques représente le Commissaire dans les dossiers judiciaires et offre des conseils juridiques sur les enquêtes et les questions législatives et administratives.

La Direction des ressources humaines supervise tous les aspects de la gestion des ressources humaines, de la dotation, de la classification, des relations avec les employés, de l’équité en emploi, de la planification, de l’apprentissage et du perfectionnement, de la rémunération et des langues officielles et fournit des conseils aux gestionnaires et aux employés sur les questions concernant les ressources humaines.

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, L.R., 1985, ch. P-21
Loi sur l’accès a l’information, L.R. 1985, ch. A-1
Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, 2006, ch.9

C’est au Secrétariat de l’AIPRP, relevant de la Direction de la politique, des communications et des opérations, que revient l’administration et le traitement des demandes de renseignements soumises en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP est composé du directeur de la gestion de l’information.



3. Ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs

Selon la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le responsable de l’institution est chargé de déterminer les pouvoirs qui ont été délégués et d’en désigner les délégataires dans une ordonnance de délégation.

Durant la première année de son exécution, le programme institutionnel de l’AIPRP a été exécuté sous trois ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs successives. Cette situation peut s’expliquer par le fait que le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP a continué d’évoluer depuis sa création et c’est cette évolution qui se reflète dans les ordonnances de délégation. La première ordonnance prévoyait que le coordonnateur institutionnel de l’AIPRP détenait, conformément à la Loi, des pouvoirs délégués avec le conseiller juridique principal. La deuxième ordonnance nommait le Commissaire adjoint de la Direction de la politique, des communications et des opérations ainsi que le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP. Enfin, la troisième ordonnance, en vigueur à la fin de la période visée par le rapport, nommait le troisième poste d’analyste principal de la politique ainsi que les deux postes déjà désignés.

Les trois ordonnances de délégation de pouvoirs se trouvent aux annexes A, B et C.



4. Rapport statistique

Le rapport statistique est joint à l’annexe D.

5. Interprétation du rapport statistique

La présente section contient de l’information sur les demandes reçues par le CIC en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Compte tenu du peu de demandes reçues pendant la période visée par le présent rapport, les statistiques ne sont disponibles que pour les catégories d’information suivantes :

  • demandes reçues au cours de la période visée par le rapport
  • réponses données aux demandes traitées
  • exemptions invoquées
  • mode de communication
  • délai de traitement
  • coûts

Les autres catégories d’information énoncées dans le rapport statistique du SCT sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels n’étaient pas applicables aux demandes reçues par le CIC.



5.1 Demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Trois demandes ont été reçues au cours de la période visée par le rapport. Elles ont toutes été traitées avant la fin de l’exercice financier; aucune n’a été reportée.

5.2 Réponses données aux demandes traitées

Des trois demandes traitées, deux ont abouti à une communication complète. La troisième a donné lieu à une communication partielle des renseignements demandés.

5.3 Exemptions invoquées

Seule une exemption a été invoquée au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport. L’exemption en question était invoquée en vertu de l’article 26 de la Loi relatif aux renseignements personnelsd’une autre personne.



5.4 Délai de traitement

Les trois demandes ont été traitées dans les 30 jours suivant leur réception ou avant.

5.5 Mode de communication

Deux des personnes dont la demande a été traitée ont reçu des photocopies des renseignements demandés; la troisième personne a pu les examiner dans la salle de lecture, puis a reçu des copies.



5.6 Coûts

FINANCIERS (RAISONS)
Traitement 1 052 $
Administration (F et E) 1 020 $
TOTAL 2 072 $
Années-personnes utilisées
Années-personnes (nombre décimal) 0,02


6. Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée

Puisque le présent rapport visait la première année où le CIC était soumis à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP s’est concentré sur la conception et la mise en œuvre des processus de réponse aux demandes.

7. Nouvelles activités de couplage et d'échange de données



Aucune nouvelle activité de couplage et/ou d'échange de données n’a été entreprise pendant la période en question.



8. Activités de formation

Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP est responsable, pour l’ensemble du CIC, de la formation et de l’encadrement continu en matière d’interprétation de la législation et des processus organisationnels de protection des renseignements personnels. La première mesure prise par le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP pour assurer l’état de préparation opérationnelle à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a été de veiller à ce que les employés aient reçu une bonne formation sur les dispositions de la législation, leurs responsabilités et les processus institutionnels. La formation a été fournie à tous les employés en français et en anglais.

9. Communication des renseignements personnels

Le paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi énonce les circonstances dans lesquelles des renseignements personnels qui relèvent d’une institution fédérale peuvent être communiqués. Pendant la période visée par le présent rapport, aucun renseignement personnel relevant du CIC n’a été communiqué en vertu du paragraphe 8(2).



10. Modifications apportées à l’organisation, aux programmes, aux opérations ou aux politiques de l’institution

Lorsque le CIC est devenu assujetti à la Loi, l’organisation a dû réagir rapidement pour garantir l’état de préparation opérationnelle. Le CIC a doté le secrétariat de l’AIPRP avec le poste de Directeur de la gestion d’information, et a aussi créé une salle de lecture. De plus, le CIC a soumis une demande de fonds au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, afin d’assurer de nouveaux postes, un logiciel pour le traitement des demandes, et des meubles et équipement de bureau.

11. Politiques sur la protection des renseignements personnels nouvelles ou révisées

Au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport, le travail sur les instruments de politique nécessaires a été entrepris pour appuyer le travail du Secrétariat de l’AIPRP. 



12. Principaux changements à la suite des préoccupations exprimées par la Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée

La Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée n’a exprimé aucune préoccupation au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.



13. Principaux changements à la suite des préoccupations exprimées par la vérificatrice générale

La vérificatrice générale n’a exprimé aucune préoccupation au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.



14. Plaintes concernant la vie privée

Aucune plainte concernant la vie privée n’a été reçue au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.



15. Demandes ou appels déposés devant la Cour fédérale ou la Cour d’appel fédérale

Aucun appel n’a été déposé devant la Cour fédérale au cours de la période visée par le présent rapport.

Annexe A

Annexe A



Annexe B

Annexe B



Annexe C

Annexe C



Annexe D

Annexe D