Appendix 2: Letter to the Honourable Vic Toews on April 13, 2012 and May 2, 2012 Response

April 13, 2012

The Honourable Vic Toews, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
Public Safety Canada
Minister’s Office
269 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0P8

Our file: 3211-01340
RCMP file: GA-3951-3-00183/12

Dear Minister Toews:

I write to you in your capacity as head of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (the RCMP) pursuant to the Access to Information Act (the Act) with regard to a complaint under the Act that I am currently investigating. That complaint relates to a request made to the RCMP on December 28, 2011, for “a copy of the Canadian Firearms Information System (the gun registry database) with the same level of information released in A-2008-04874 but from the inception of the registry under December 19, 2011.”

On January 20, 2012, the RCMP replied to the request, informing the requester that a total of $1,500.00 had been assessed under subsection 11(2) of the Act for search and preparation of the responsive records.

On February 29, 2012, my office received a complaint from the requester about the RCMP’s assessment of fees and on March 20, 2012, the RCMP was provided with a notice of intention to investigate and summary of complaint in relation to this complaint. Also, we requested that the RCMP provide specific information and records to this office in relation to the complaint.

While we have not, at this time, requested a copy of the records responsive to the underlying request, I am writing to you now to ensure that these records are preserved pending a substantive response to the request and the expiry of any time period to make a complaint on the response to my office and any related court proceedings.

I am aware that the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act, 2012, c. 6 (the new Act) received Royal Assent on April 5, 2012, and will come into force on a day or days to be fixed by Order in Council. Upon coming into force, this new Act will amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act to remove the requirement to register firearms that are neither prohibited nor restricted. It will also provide for the destruction of existing records, held in the Canadian Firearms Registry and under the control of firearms officers, which relate to the registration of such firearms.

Indeed, pursuant to subsection 29(1) of the new Act, the Commissioner of Firearms will have the responsibility of ensuring the destruction as soon as feasible of all records in the Canadian Firearms Registry related to the registration of firearms that are neither prohibited nor restricted, and all copies of those records under the Commissioner’s control.

Given the impending coming into force of this new legal requirement, I thought it prudent to write to you at this time to alert you to the fact that any records responsive to requests made under the Act prior to the coming into force of this provision are subject to the right of access to any record under the control of a government institution recognized by subsection 4(1) of the Act. This is to say that any records under the control of the RCMP, including those under the control of the Commissioner of Firearms and/or the Canadian Firearms Program, for which a request has been received under the Act before the coming into force of subsection 29(1) of the new Act are subject to the right of access and cannot be destroyed until a response has been provided under the Act and any related investigation and court proceedings are completed. This, of course, applies to the records responsive to the above-noted request.

I request that you inform me by April 30, 2012, whether you agree not to destroy any records in the Canadian Firearms Registry related to the registration of non-prohibited and non-restricted firearms and that are responsive to requests under the Act received by the RCMP before the coming into force of subsection 29(1) of the new Act.  

Should your officials wish to discuss any aspect of this matter before April 30, 2012, they may communicate with Emily McCarthy, Acting Assistant Commissioner at (613) 995-2665.

Yours sincerely,

Suzanne Legault

c.c.: Commissioner of the RCMP
       RCMP ATIP Coordinator

 


 

Ms. Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada
112 Kent Street
Ottawa, Ontario    KlA 1H3

Dear Ms. Legault:

Thank you for your correspondence of April13, 2012, regarding a complaint filed under the Access to Information Act related to a request for information pertaining to the Canadian Firearms Information System (CFIS).

I have provided a copy of your correspondence to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and have been advised that they will contact your office directly to assist with the resolution of this complaint in a timely manner.

With respect to your question on destruction of records in the CFIS, please be assured that the RCMP will abide by the right of access described in section 4 of the Act and its obligations in that regard.

I trust that this information addresses your concerns.
Yours sincerely,

Vic Toews, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

c.c.: Superintendent Yves Marineau
       Officer in charge, RCMP Access to Information and Privacy Branch

Annexe 2 : Lettre à l’honorable Vic Toews du 13 avril 2012 et la réponse du 2 mai 2012

[traduction]

13 avril 2012

L'honorable Vic Toews, C.P., député
Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile
Sécurité publique Canada
Cabinet du Ministre
269, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8

Numéro de notre dossier :                3211-01340
Numéro de dossier de la GRC :       GA-3951-3-00183/12

Monsieur le Ministre,

Je vous écris en votre qualité de responsable de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), conformément à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (la Loi), en ce qui a trait à une plainte déposée en vertu de cette loi à la suite de laquelle je mène actuellement une enquête. Cette plainte fait référence à une demande adressée à la GRC le 28 décembre 2011 en vue d'obtenir « une copie du Système canadien d'information relativement aux armes à feu (la base de données du registre des armes à feu) contenant le même niveau de divulgation de renseignements que A-2008-04874, mais comprenant les données depuis la création du registre avant le 19 décembre 2011. » [traduction]

Le 20 janvier 2012, la GRC a répondu à la demande en informant le demandeur qu'il avait été déterminé qu'un montant total de 1 500 $ était requis en vertu du paragraphe 11(2) de la Loi en vue de la recherche et de la préparation des dossiers pertinents.

Le 29 février 2012, mon bureau a reçu une plainte du demandeur au sujet de l'évaluation des frais réalisée par la GRC. Le 20 mars 2012, la GRC a reçu un avis d'enquête et un résumé de la plainte en question. En outre, nous avons demandé à la GRC de fournir des renseignements et des documents précis à notre bureau par rapport à la plainte.

Bien que, jusqu'à présent, nous n'ayons pas demandé une copie des dossiers pertinents par rapport à la demande initiale, je vous écris maintenant pour m'assurer que ces dossiers sont conservés en attendant une réponse à la demande et l'échéance de toute période accordée pour faire une plainte au sujet de la réponse à mon bureau, ainsi que toute autre procédure judiciaire connexe.

Je sais que la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule, 2012, ch. 6 (la nouvelle loi) a reçu la sanction royale le 5 avril 2012, et qu'elle entrera en vigueur à une date qui sera fixée par décret. Lorsqu'elle entrera en vigueur, cette nouvelle loi modifiera le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu afin de supprimer l'obligation d'enregistrer les armes à feu autres que les armes à feu prohibées ou les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte. Elle permettra également la destruction des dossiers existants, qui sont tenus dans le registre canadien des armes d’épaule par les contrôleurs des armes à feu et qui ont trait à l'enregistrement de ces armes à feu.

En fait, conformément au paragraphe 29(1) de la nouvelle loi, le commissaire aux armes à feu aura la responsabilité d'assurer la destruction, dans les plus brefs délais, de tous les dossiers du registre canadien des armes d'épaule concernant l'enregistrement des armes à feu autres que les armes à feu prohibées ou les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte, et de toutes les copies de ces dossiers actuellement sous le contrôle du commissaire.

Étant donné l'imminence de l'entrée en vigueur de cette nouvelle obligation juridique, j'ai estimé prudent de vous écrire aujourd'hui afin de vous informer du fait que tout dossier pertinent relatif à des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi avant l'entrée en vigueur de cette disposition est assujetti au droit d'accès à n'importe quel dossier sous le contrôle d'une institution gouvernementale reconnue aux termes du paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi. Ainsi, tous les documents relevant du commissaire aux armes à feu ou du Programme canadien des armes à feu, pour lesquels une demande a été reçue en vertu de la Loi avant l’entrée en vigueur du paragraphe 29(1) de la nouvelle Loi, sont assujettis au droit d’accès et ne peuvent être détruits avant qu’une réponse ait été fournie en vertu de la Loi et que toute enquête ou action en justice ait été terminée. Cela s'applique, bien entendu, aux documents visés par la demande susmentionnée.

Je vous demande de me faire savoir, d'ici au 30 avril 2012, si vous acceptez de ne pas détruire les documents du Registre canadien des armes à feu qui concernent l'enregistrement d'armes à feu non prohibées et sans restrictions, et qui sont visés par des demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi et reçues par la GRC avant l'entrée en vigueur du paragraphe 29(1) de la nouvelle Loi.  

Si vos représentants souhaitent discuter d'un aspect relatif à cette question avant le 30 avril 2012, ils peuvent communiquer avec Emily McCarthy, commissaire adjointe par intérim, au 613-995-2665.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, mes salutations distinguées.

Suzanne Legault

c. c.      Commissaire de la GRC
            Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de la GRC

 


 

[traduction]

2 mai 2012

Madame Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada
112, rue Kent
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1H3

Madame,

Je vous remercie pour votre lettre datée du 13 avril 2012, qui portait sur une plainte déposée en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information au sujet d'une demande de renseignements sur le Système canadien d'information relativement aux armes à feu (SCIRAF).

J'ai transmis une copie de votre lettre à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), et j'ai été avisé que celle-ci communiquera directement avec votre bureau pour faciliter le règlement de la plainte en temps opportun.

En ce qui concerne votre question portant sur la destruction de documents dans le SCIRAF, soyez assurée que la GRC respectera le droit d’accès décrit à l’article 4 de la Loi et ses obligations en la matière.

J'espère que ces renseignements répondent à vos préoccupations.
Veuillez agréer, Madame, mes salutations distinguées.

Vic Toews, C.P., c.r., député

c. c.     Surintendant Yves Marineau
           Coordonnateur responsable, Sous-direction de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de la GRC