Letter to the Speaker of the Senate

May 2015

Senator Leo Housakos
Speaker of the Senate
Ottawa ON  K1A 0A4

Dear Mr. Speaker:

Pursuant to section 39 of the Access to Information Act (the Act), I have the honour to submit to Parliament a special report on an investigation into an access to information request for the Canadian Long-gun Registry.

As Information Commissioner, it is incumbent upon me to inform Parliament about my investigation which findings can be found in Appendix 1.

The genesis for the complaint was a request made on March 27, 2012, before the coming into force of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act, for:

An electronic copy of: a) all records in the Canadian Firearms Registry related to the registration of firearms that are neither prohibited firearms nor restricted firearms and are under the control of the Commissioner of Firearms; and b) all records related to the registration of firearms that are neither prohibited firearms nor restricted firearms that are under the control of each chief firearms officer. [translated]

The request was further clarified to “I would like to have access to the Firearms Registry database.” [translated]

On April 13, 2012, I wrote to the then Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, the Honourable Vic Toews, to inform him that any records for which a request had been received under the Act were subject to the right of access and could not be destroyed until a response had been provided under the Act and any related investigation and court proceedings were completed. Minister Toews responded on May 2, 2012 providing assurances that the RCMP would abide by the right of access described in section 4 of the Act. See Appendix 2.

Between October 25 and October 29, 2012, the RCMP destroyed all electronic records of non-restricted firearms, with the exception of those belonging to Quebec residents.

On January 11, 2013, the RCMP provided a response to the requester.

On February 1, 2013, my office received a complaint alleging that additional records should exist following the response provided by the RCMP. Specifically the complaint made three allegations:

  1. That the information provided was incomplete (missing both columns and registrations);
  2. That the RCMP did not justify the incomplete response;
  3. That by destroying the responsive records, the RCMP obstructed his right of access, pursuant to section 67.1 of the Act.

After a lengthy investigation, I concluded that the response was incomplete. I made the following recommendations to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, the Honourable Steven Blaney on March 26, 2015:

  • Process the information relating to the registration of non-restricted firearms in the province of Quebec (64 fields identified in the course of my investigation) and include this information in a new response to the requester.
  • Process all images of the registration and transfer applications that still exist within the Canadian Firearm Information System (CFIS) pertaining to non-restricted firearms and include this information in a new response to the requester; and
  • Preserve these records until the conclusion of my investigation and any related proceedings.

The Minister’s response can be found in Appendix 3.

I also concluded that the RCMP destroyed records responsive to the request with the knowledge that these records were subject to the right of access guaranteed by subsection 4(1) of the Act. As a result, as well on March 26, 2015, I referred the matter to the Attorney General of Canada for possible obstruction of the right of access under section 67.1 of the Act. I have not received a response to this letter of referral.

In order to preserve the rights of the complainant, pursuant to section 42 of the Act, I will also file a court application before the Federal Court.

On May 7, 2015, the government introduced Bill C-59 in Parliament, entitled the Economic Action Plan 2015 Act, No. 1. Sections 230 and 231 of the Bill amend the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act (the ELRA). Section 29 of the ELRA authorized the destruction of records in the Canadian Firearms Registry related to the registration of firearms that are neither prohibited firearms nor restricted firearms (commonly referred to as the Long-gun Registry).

Section 230 of Bill C-59 amends section 29 of the ELRA to exclude the operation of the Access to Information Act (the Act) retroactive to October 25, 2011, the date on which the ELRA was introduced in Parliament. It ousts the application of the Act, in particular the provisions guaranteeing the right of access (s.4), the right to make a complaint (s.30), the Commissioner’s investigative powers (s.36), the Commissioner’s power to make recommendations and report on the findings of an investigation (s.37), and the right of requesters and the Information Commissioner to seek judicial review before the Federal Court (ss. 41, 42 and 46). It also retroactively ousts the offence of obstructing the Commissioner in the performance of her duties and functions (s.67) and the offence of obstructing the right of access, including by destroying records (s.67.1).  

Section 230 also requires that any request, complaint, investigation, application, judicial review, appeal or other proceeding under the Access to Information Act, in existence on or after October 25, 2011, must be determined in light of the fact that the ELRA, as amended, retroactively excludes the operation of the Act. This would effectively render any action taken under the Act in relation to the Long-gun Registry void.

Section 230 also provides that the ELRA retroactively supersedes any other Act of Parliament in the event of any inconsistency and that the destruction of the records shall take place despite any requirements to retain the records or copies contained in any other Act.

Finally, section 231 provides that no administrative, civil or criminal proceedings lie against the Crown for the destruction of the records related to the Long-gun Registry from the date the ELRA came into force, April 5, 2012. This section also provides that no administrative, civil or criminal proceedings lie against the Crown for any act or omission done in purported compliance with the Act between October 25, 2011 and the coming into force of section 231.

The proposed changes in Bill C-59 will deny the right of access of the complainant, it will deny the complainant’s recourse in court and it will render null and void any potential liability against the Crown.

Bill C-59 sets a perilous precedent against Canadians’ quasi-constitutional right to know.

I submit this special report to Parliament in the hopes that parliamentarians will carefully consider the implications of Bill C-59. I am available to appear before any committee considering Bill C-59.

Yours sincerely,

 

 

 

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Lettre au Président du Sénat

Mai 2015

Sénateur Leo Housakos
Président du Sénat
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A4

Monsieur le Président,

En vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la « Loi »), j’ai l’honneur de présenter au Parlement un rapport spécial sur l’enquête d’une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre canadien des armes d’épaule.

En tant que commissaire à l’information, il m’incombe d’informer le Parlement de l’enquête dont les constatations se retrouvent à l’annexe 1.

La genèse de la plainte est une demande d’accès à l’information faite le 27 mars 2012, avant l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule, portant sur :

Une copie électronique de : a) tous les registres et fichiers relatifs à l’enregistrement des armes à feu autre que les armes à feu prohibées ou les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte qui se trouvent dans le Registre canadien des armes à feu et qui relèvent du commissaire aux armes à feu; et b) tous les registres et fichiers relatifs à l’enregistrement des armes à feu autres que les armes à feu prohibées ou les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte qui relèvent de chaque contrôleur des armes à feu.

La demande a été clarifiée à « Je désire avoir accès à la base de données du registre d’armes à feu ».

Le 13 avril 2012, j’ai écrit au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile de l’époque, l’honorable Vic Toews, pour l’informer que tout document sujet à une demande d’accès en vertu de la Loi est assujetti au droit d’accès et ne peut être détruit avant qu’une réponse n’ait été donnée en vertu de la Loi et que toute enquête y afférant et procédure judiciaire ne soient complétées. Dans sa réponse du 2 mai 2012, le ministre Toews assure que la GRC respectera le droit d’accès décrit à l’article 4 de la Loi. Voir l’annexe 2.

Entre le 25 et le 29 octobre 2012, la GRC a détruit tous ses dossiers électroniques d’armes à feu sans restrictions, à l’exception de ceux concernant les résidents du Québec.

Le 11 janvier 2013, la GRC a répondu au demandeur.

Le 1er février 2013, le Commissariat à l’information a reçu une plainte selon laquelle il devait exister d’autres informations, à la suite de la réponse de la GRC. Plus précisément, la plainte contient trois allégations :

  1. Les renseignements fournis sont incomplets (manque des champs et d’enregistrements).
  2. La GRC n’a pas justifié la réponse incomplète.
  3. La GRC a entravé le droit d’accès du plaignant, en vertu de l’article 67.1 de la Loi, en détruisant les données répondant à la demande.

Après une longue enquête, j’ai conclu que la réponse était incomplète. Le 26 mars 2015, j’ai fait les recommandations suivantes au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, l’honorable Steven Blaney :

  • traiter l’information relative à l’enregistrement d’armes à feu sans restrictions dans la province de Québec (64 champs recensés dans le cadre de mon enquête) et l’inclure dans une nouvelle réponse à l’intention du demandeur;
  • traiter toutes les images des demandes d’enregistrement et de transfert qui existent encore dans le Système canadien d’information relativement aux armes à feu (SCIRAF) et qui sont relatives aux armes à feu sans restrictions, et les inclure dans une nouvelle réponse à l’intention du demandeur;
  • préserver ces documents jusqu’à la conclusion de mon enquête et de toute procédure connexe.

La réponse du ministre se trouve à l’annexe 3.

J’ai également conclu que la GRC avait détruit des documents répondant à la demande avec la connaissance que ces documents étaient sujets au droit d’accès garanti par le paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi. Conséquemment, le 26 mars 2015, j’ai également soumis l’affaire au procureur général du Canada pour l’obstruction possible au droit d’accès aux termes de l’article 67.1 de la Loi. Je n’ai pas reçu de réponse à cette lettre de renvoi.

Afin de préserver les droits du plaignant, je déposerai selon l’article 42 de la Loi une demande à la Cour fédérale dans le cadre de cette affaire.

Le 7 mai 2015, le gouvernement a déposé au Parlement le projet de loi C-59, intitulé Loi no 1 sur le plan d’action économique de 2015. Les articles 230 et 231 du projet de loi modifient la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule (LARA). L’article 29 de la LARA autorise la destruction des fichiers relatifs à l’enregistrement des armes à feu autres que les armes à feu prohibées ou les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte qui se trouvent dans le Registre canadien des armes à feu (communément appelé « registre des armes d’épaule »).

L’article 231 du projet de loi C-59 modifie l’article 29 de la LARA pour exclure de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (Loi) rétroactivement au 25 octobre 2011, date à laquelle la LARA a été déposée au Parlement. Ceci retire l’application de la Loi, en particulier les dispositions qui garantissent le droit d’accès à l’information (art. 4), le droit de porter plainte (art. 30), les pouvoirs d’enquête de la Commissaire (art. 36), le pouvoir de la Commissaire de faire des recommandations et faire rapport de ses conclusions d’enquête (art. 37) et le droit des demandeurs et de la Commissaire de déposer une requête en révision judiciaire devant la Cour fédérale (art. 41, 42 et 46). Il exclut également de façon rétroactive l’infraction d’entraver la Commissaire dans l’exercice de ses pouvoirs et de ses fonctions (art. 67) et l’infraction d’entraver le droit d’accès, incluant par la destruction de documents (art. 67.1).

L’article 230 requiert également que toute demande, plainte, enquête, recours en révision, révision judiciaire, appel ou toute autre procédure en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui existait le ou après le 25 octobre 2011, doit tenir compte du fait que la LARA, comme amendée, exclue rétroactivement l’application de la Loi. Ceci rendrait effectivement nulle toute action prise en vertu de la Loi relative au registre des armes d’épaule.

L’article 230 stipule également que la LARA l’emporte rétroactivement sur toute autre loi du Parlement en cas d’incompatibilité et que la destruction des documents doit avoir lieu malgré toute exigence de les conserver ou d’en conserver des copies.

Enfin, l’article 231 prévoit que la Couronne bénéficie d’une immunité en matière administrative, civile ou criminelle pour la destruction de documents du registre des armes d’épaule depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la LARA le 5 avril 2012. Cet article prévoit également l’immunité de la Couronne en matière administrative, civile ou criminelle pour tout acte ou omission commis, en vue de l’observation présumée de la Loi pendant la période entre le 25 octobre 2011 et le jour de l’entrée en vigueur de l’article 231.

Les modifications proposées dans le projet de loi C-59 auront pour effet de répudier le droit d’accès du plaignant, de répudier ses recours devant les tribunaux et de dégager la responsabilité potentielle de la Couronne.

Le projet de loi C-59 établit un précédent dangereux contre le droit quasi constitutionnel des Canadiens à l’information.

Je soumets ce rapport spécial au Parlement dans l’espoir que les parlementaires examineront soigneusement les implications du projet de loi C-59. Je suis disponible pour comparaitre devant les comités qui étudieront le projet de loi C-59.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Président, mes salutations distinguées.

 

 

 

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada