Findings and comparison

Some clear observations may be drawn from this summary of the legal framework and procedures for consultations with foreign governments and international organizations by target countries.

Consultations were adjusted to get a real sense of the implicit requirement contained in the legislation of the five countries and Canada with regard to international relations. Nothing is specifically spelled out in the wording of the legislations.

Consultations are conducted in each of these countries, but to significantly varying degrees, going from the first-ranked U.S. and Canada, to New Zealand, the United Kingdom and Mexico who initiate very few.

In the U.S., consultations with foreign governments are many, reaching several hundred every year by estimates of the branch responsible for implementing the FOI Act. The consultation procedure is used only if documents have not been assigned security classification in accordance with a very specific “executive order.”Footnote 25 On the other hand, contrary to the Canadian Access to Information Act, the Freedom of Information Act does not allow refusal to disclose a document obtained from a foreign government solely because it was obtained confidentially – it must also be classified for reasons of national security.Footnote 26

Consultations initiated by Australia and New Zealand, where this practice is seldom used, mainly concern consular documents, which are often governed by that country’s privacy legislation. In Mexico, data is not gathered on the subject due to the leeway that is given to government departments and agencies in that regard. Finally, in the United Kingdom, consultations with foreign governments are few and far between. The access to information legislation directorate in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office initiates consultations only if disclosure of the document requested is blocked. Such consultations are decided on a case-by-case depending on the public interest the document may have.

Canada is the only country to have a precise and restrictive directive on the subject, developed more than 17 years ago by the Treasury Board Secretariat, imposing the consultation process on both the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade and all government departments and agencies. It is a blanket rule that applies to access requests likely to have an effect on relations between Canada and another country.

In all countries briefly examined in this study, such consultations may be initiated by a variety of stakeholders in government departments and agencies, starting with the department of foreign affairs. Canada is the only country that does not allow its departments and agencies to directly contact foreign counterparts or colleagues.

These findings are illustrated in Table 12.

 

Table 12: Basis and Conditions for Foreign Consultations between Target Countries and Canada
Country Consultations Initiated
Under the Access to Information Legislation According to a Government Directive By Foreign Affairs By Departments/ Agencies
United States No No State Department Yes
Australia No No Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Yes
New Zealand No No Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Yes
United Kingdom No “Guidance”Footnote 27 Foreign and Commonwealth Office Yes
Mexico No No Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriores Yes
Canada No Yes (TBS) DFAIT No

Footnotes

Footnote 25

Executive Order 13256 on Classified National Security Information.

Return to footnote 25 referrer

Footnote 26

Letter from Nicholas Mulville Murphy, Senior Advisor, Office of Information Programs and Services, (State Department), August 23, 2010.

Return to footnote 26 referrer

Footnote 27

On simple recommendation by the Ministry of Justice, without any restrictions.

Return to footnote 27 referrer

Constatations et comparaisons

De cette schématisation du cadre légal et de la pratique concrète des consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales par les pays-cibles, on peut dégager quelques constatations très concrètes.

En fait, les consultations ont été mises au point pour traduire concrètement l’exigence implicite que l’on retrouve dans les législations des 5 pays et du Canada au chapitre des relations internationales. Elles ne s’inscrivent comme telles dans aucun de ces textes législatifs.

De telles consultations se pratiquent dans chacun de ces pays, mais à des intensités très variable : depuis les États-Unis et le Canada, qui figurent au tout premier rang, jusqu’à la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Royaume-Uni et le Mexique où l’on en relève peu. 

Aux États-Unis, les consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers sont relativement importantes : elles sont de l’ordre de plusieurs centaines par année, estime-t-on à la direction responsable de la mise en œuvre du FOI Act. On ne fait recours à la procédure des consultations qu’en présence de documents qui n’ont pas été affectés d’une cote de sécurité en vertu d’un « executive order » très spécifiqueNote en bas de page 25. Par contre, « à l’opposé de la Loi canadienne sur l’accès à l’information, le Freedom of Information Act ne permet pas de refuser l’accès à un document obtenu d’un gouvernement étranger au seul motif que cette remise aurait été faite sous le sceau de la confidence; ce document doit avoir fait l’objet d’une « classification » au titre de la sécurité nationale »Note en bas de page 26.

En Australie et en Nouvelle Zélande, où on a peu recours à la pratique de telles consultations, ces démarches visent avant tout des documents de nature consulaire, le plus souvent des documents qui tombent sous l’emprise de la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Au Mexique, on ne collige pas de données à ce sujet en raison de la marge de manœuvre laissée aux ministères et organismes à ce propos. Enfin, au Royaume-Uni, les consultations auprès de gouvernements étrangers ne sont pas légion. La direction de la loi d’accès au Foreign and Comonwealth Office n’entreprend une telle démarche que si le principe de remise du document demandé est arrêté. C’est l’intérêt public du document en cause qui incite à lancer pareille consultation, au cas par cas.

Seul le Canada dispose d’une directive précise et contraignante, élaborée il y a plus de 17 ans par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, qui impose de telles consultations et au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international et à l’ensemble des ministères et organismes. C’est la règle qui prévaut en présence de demandes d’accès susceptibles d’exercer un effet sur les relations entre un pays et le Canada.

Dans tous les pays examinés ici de façon sommaire, ces consultations peuvent être menées par de nombreux acteurs, ministères et organismes, à commencer évidemment par le ministère des Affaires étrangères. Seul le Canada exclut cette procédure où les ministères et organismes peuvent s’adresser directement à leurs homologues ou correspondants étrangers.

Ces constatations sont schématisées dans le tableau 12.

 

Tableau 12 : Fondements et modalités des consultations à l’étranger dans les pays-cibles et le Canada
Pays Consultations menées
en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en vertu d’une directive gouvernementale par les Affaires étrangères par les ministères / organismes
États-Unis Non Non State Department Oui
Australie Non Non Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Oui
Nouvelle-Zélande Non Non Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Oui
Royaume-Uni Non “Guidance”Note en bas de page 27 Foreign and Commonwealth Office Oui
Mexique Non Non Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriores Oui
Canada Non Oui (SCT) MAECI Non

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 25

Executive Order 13256 on Classified National Security Information.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 25 referrer

Note de bas de page 26

Lettre de Nicholas Mulville Murphy, senior advisor, Office of Information Programs and Services, (State Department ), le 23 août 2010.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 26 referrer

Note de bas de page 27

Il s’agit d’une simple recommandation émise par le Ministry of Justice et qui ne revêt aucune dimension contraignante.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 27 referrer