Foreign consultations by target countries

How do target countries meet the obligations imposed by their respective access to information laws with regard to international relations? Using this question as a framework, the next section provides a systematic comparison of procedures DFAIT developed since the 1982 legislation came into effect and the issue of a Treasury Board Secretariat directive on consultations.

This section provides an overview of legislative provisions and regulations that frame the handling of access requests likely to affect international relations in the five countries, followed by an examination of their consultation practices.

1. Legislative and regulatory framework

United States

The first exemption mentioned in the 1966 Act provides for the exclusion of documents relating to national security and foreign policy (Section 7, b, 1, A). The exemption is based on the security level attributed to this type of document and has been the subject of a great number of court rulings.

The concept of consultations is not specifically mentioned in the wording of the law; it is inferred from a logical interpretation of the first exemption. Similarly, there is no procedure or regulation that requires other government entities to consult the State Department or even direct to that department any access requests that might impact U.S. international relations.

Australia

Australia’s 1982 legislation provides for special handling of documents that have an impact on international relations or relate to defence and national security issues (s. 33). Access to such documents is restricted if their disclosure risks damaging Australia’s relations with another state or an international organization. The same restriction applies to documents confidentially obtained from another government or international organization. The legislation does not provide for any type of consultation with foreign governments or international organizations.

No procedures have been established requiring other departments or agencies to direct requests to the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). Neither is there any requirement to consult with that department when a requested document has an impact on Australia’s foreign relations.

New Zealand

New Zealand’s 1982 legislation included specific provisions on handling documents that have an impact on international relations or are related to defence or national security issues (s. 6b). Access to such documents is restricted if their disclosure risks damaging New Zealand’s relations with another country or an international organization. The same restriction applies to documents confidentially obtained from another government or international organization.

The Ombudsman – or any other government entity – has not issued directives to other departments or agencies regarding the handling of access to information requests that might impact New Zealand’s international relations. There is no obligation to consult the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT).

United Kingdom

Similarly to legislation enacted in most of the other countries, the United Kingdom’s 2000 legislation (s. 27) stipulates that access to certain documents relating to international relations and national security may be refused.

An important provision of the legislation states that a minister may sign a certificate that “establishes” the existence of possible damage if a particular document were to be published, therefore restricting access and preventing the Commissioner from intervening.

Government departments and agencies who receive access requests governed by section 27 do not have a formal obligation to direct them to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. However, in a recent note, the Ministry of Justice encouraged those entities to solicit an opinion before directly consulting with another government or international organization.Footnote 23

Mexico

Mexico’s 2002 legislation provides for the exemption of documents that impact the Mexican government’s international relations (s. 13). The exemption applies when the documents have been confidentially obtained from foreign governments or international organizations. The same obligation holds when requested documents risk damaging the development of Mexico’s international relations.

There is no particular provision in the legislation that deals with exemptions relating to international relations issues. The question of foreign consultations is not mentioned in guidelines published by IFAI, or by any other government entity.

2. Consultation practices

Legal provisions and the regulatory context in place in each of the five countries compared provide a backdrop for the manner in which each country engages in consultations with foreign governments and international organizations.

United States

In the U.S., most consultations with foreign governments and international organizations are conducted by the State Department. That practice stems from that government department’s experience on the subject and the complexity or sensitivity of the documents targeted by such an action.

Other government departments and entities also directly consult their foreign counterparts on occasion – nothing prevents them from doing so. It is up to officials responsible for access to information in each department or agency to decide whether they solicit State Department services and advice before taking action. For reasons of efficiency, such officials generally have considerable leeway in initiating foreign consultations.

As a matter of course, the State Department sends requests for consultation directly to the Washington embassy of the country concerned. The State Department engages in consultations with a good number of countries, including Canada. Such consultations are given relatively long deadlines, which are considered inevitable.

On the other hand, the Department also receives a number of consultation requests from foreign governments, Canada ranking first in that regard.Footnote 24

Australia

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) generates a certain number of consultations with foreign governments and international organizations.

In other government departments and agencies, the decision on whether to consult Foreign Affairs regarding a specific request rests with the official responsible for access to information, with no other obligation than the exercise of prudence. In most cases, such departments and agencies communicate directly with their foreign counterparts.

Foreign consultations conducted or received by Foreign Affairs totalled 30 during 2008–09. Of that number, about ten came from the U.S., the United Kingdom and Canada.

New Zealand

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT) may, on occasion, engage in foreign consultations despite there being nothing in the legislation or regulatory wording that compels them to do so. The decision is made according to the perceived need for such an approach or for reasons of diplomacy.

A significant number of other government entities, including the Prime Minister and the Cabinet, the New Zealand Security Intelligence Information, the New Zealand Police and the New Zealand Defence Force, engage in such consultations directly with foreign counterparts with whom they maintain contact. Such consultations take place outside the “diplomatic umbrella” of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Year to year, New Zealand engages in few consultations with foreign governments. Similarly, it receives only a very few consultation requests from foreign countries.

United Kingdom

There being no formal requirement to do so, the unit responsible for the FOIA in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office engages in few consultations with foreign governments and international organizations. Such consultations take place only if the Department agrees to release the document and wishes to obtain, for diplomatic reasons, the agreement of the foreign government concerned.

The Foreign Office opts in favour of efficiency in its consultations in the express hope that FOIA deadlines will be met. It will therefore intervene directly with the foreign country’s embassy or high commission in London or use traditional diplomatic channels through its diplomatic mission in the country concerned by the request.

Similarly, some government departments and agencies engage in this type of consultation when deemed appropriate. In respect of “good practices” favoured by the Ministry of Justice, they occasionally request an opinion of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Since the FOIA became effective in 2005, foreign consultations have been few; conversely, the Ministry receives a limited number of consultation requests from foreign governments.

Mexico

In Mexico, consultations with foreign governments or international organizations are infrequent. While the legislation does not require it, prudence may occasionally bring the Secretaria de Relaciones Exteriores (SRE) to engage in such an initiative.

Other units of the federal government may also approach their usual contacts regarding access requests that concern them. For its part, the SRE does not get involved unless the document in question or its content directly concern the Department’s mandate.

The number of foreign consultations is very small and the SRE receives few consultation requests from foreign countries or international organizations.

In short, because there are no provisions in their respective access to information legislation that specifically refer to foreign consultations, all five countries in this comparison study follow similar procedures. In each case, the government department or agency that receives an access request that may impact international relations directly contacts the foreign counterpart concerned by the request (Figure 2). This procedure does not exclude the possibility that the foreign affairs department will be consulted beforehand.

Process for consultations with foreign governments by target country government departments and organizations

Text version

Figure 2 illustrates the steps of the consultations conducted with foreign governments by target country government departments and organizations. The consultation process follows these steps:

  1. The departments and agencies of the target countries do an initial consultation with the departments and agencies of the country consulted.
  2. The departments and agencies of the target countries may consult the Department of Foreign Affairs of the target countries.
  3. The departments and agencies of the country consulted may consult the Department of Foreign Affairs of the country consulted.
  4. The departments and agencies of the country consulted communicate the result of the consultation to the departments and agencies of the target countries.
 

Footnotes

Footnote 23

Ministry of Justice (2008). Freedom of Information Guidance – Exemptions guidance: Section 27: International Relations, London, 14 May: page 11.

Return to footnote 23 referrer

Footnote 24

In 2008, DFAIT generated 77 of the 101 requests for consultation received by the State Department. In 2009, this proportion grew further: out of a total of 206 consultations, 172 came from Ottawa.

Return to footnote 24 referrer

Consultations à l’étranger par les pays-cibles

Comment les pays-cibles répondent-ils aux obligations que leur impose leur propre loi sur l’accès à l’information en ce qui a trait aux relations internationales? Cette question structure le chapitre qui suit et ouvre la voie à une comparaison systématique avec les façons de faire développées au MAECI, depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la loi de 1982 et l’édiction d’une directive en matière de consultation par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

L’examen des procédures développées par ces cinq pays suppose au préalable un regard sur les dispositions législatives et réglementaires qui devraient encadrer le traitement des demandes d’accès susceptibles de soulever des questions en matière de relations internationales.

1. Le cadre législatif et réglementaire

Les États-Unis

La Loi de 1966 prévoit, à sa première exemption, l’exclusion des documents relatifs à la sécurité nationale et à la politique étrangère (Section 7, b, 1, A). Cette exemption, basée sur la cote de sécurité attribuée à ce type de documents, a fait l’objet d’un grand nombre de décisions des tribunaux.

La notion de consultation n’est pas explicitée dans le texte de loi; elle se dégage de l’interprétation logique de cette première exemption. De même, il n’existe pas de procédure ou règlement qui imposerait aux autres composantes de l’appareil gouvernemental l’obligation de consulter le State Department ou même de s’en remettre à ce ministère lorsqu’ils reçoivent des demandes d’accès avec incidences possibles sur les relations internationales des États-Unis.

L’Australie

La Loi de 1982 impose un traitement particulier en ce qui a trait aux documents relatifs aux relations internationales et aux questions liées à la défense et à la sécurité nationales (Art 33). De tels documents doivent être soustraits à l’accès si leur divulgation peut projet préjudice aux relations de l’Australie avec un autre État ou une organisation internationale. La même réserve vise les documents obtenus, sous le sceau de la confidentialité, d’un autre gouvernement ou d’une organisation internationale. La Loi ne prévoit pas le recours à une forme ou l’autre de consultation avec des gouvernements étrangers ou des organisations internationales.

Le gouvernement n’a pas établi, à l’intention des autres ministères ou organismes, une procédure qui impliquerait un transfert de dossier au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce (DFAT). Rien de prévu non plus en ce qui a trait à un type de consultation auprès de ce dernier, lorsque l’objet du document sollicité peut avoir incidence sur les relations étrangères de l’Australie.

La Nouvelle-Zélande

La Loi de 1982 comprend des dispositions précises en ce qui a trait aux documents relatifs aux relations internationales et aux questions relatives à la défense et à la sécurité nationales (Art 6 b). De tels documents doivent être soustraits à l’accès si leur divulgation devait porter préjudice aux relations de la Nouvelle-Zélande avec un autre pays ou une organisation internationale. La même réserve vise les documents obtenus, sous le sceau de la confidentialité, d’un autre gouvernement ou d’une organisation internationale.

L’Ombudsman - ou toute autre entité gouvernementale - n’a pas émis de directives à l’intention des autres ministères ou organismes qui seraient saisis de demandes d’accès qui impliqueraient l’un ou l’autre des aspects des relations internationales de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Aucune obligation de consultation auprès du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce (MFAT). 

Le Royaume-Uni

A l’instar des législations en vigueur dans la plupart des autres pays, la Loi de 2000 du Royaume-Uni stipule (article 27) que certains documents en matière de relations internationales, tout comme en ce qui a trait à la sécurité nationale, peuvent être exemptés des demandes d’accès.

Disposition importante de la loi, un ministre peut signer un certificat qui « établit » l’existence de la possibilité d’un préjudice advenant la publication d’un document précis et ainsi soustraire ce document à l’accès et à l’intervention du commissaire.

Les ministères et organismes, saisis de demandes d’accès qui tombent sous l’emprise de l’article 27, n’ont pas l’obligation formelle de s’en rapporter au Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Toutefois, le ministère de la Justice, dans une circulaire récente, encourage ces derniers à solliciter un tel avis avant de consulter directement un autre gouvernement ou une organisation internationaleNote de bas de page 23.

Le Mexique

La Loi de 2002 prévoit l’exemption des documents qui ont trait aux relations internationales du gouvernement mexicain (art 13). Cette exemption s’impose s’il s’agit de documents obtenus de façon confidentielle de gouvernements étrangers ou d’organisations internationales. Même obligation si la divulgation des documents sollicités peut nuire au développement des relations internationales du Mexique.

Aucune disposition particulière n’est inscrite dans la Loi quant à la mise en œuvre de cette exemption en matière de relations internationales. La notion de consultation n’est pas reprise dans les notes directrices publiées par l’IFAI – ou par toute autre entité gouvernementale.

2. La pratique des consultations

Ces dispositions légales et le contexte réglementaire mis en place dans chacun des cinq pays de la comparaison tissent la toile de fond sur laquelle vont éventuellement se pratiquer les consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales.

Les États-Unis

Aux États-Unis, la plupart des consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales sont enclenchées par le State Department. Ce fait s’explique en raison à la fois de l’expérience du Département d’État dans le domaine et aussi de la complexité ou de la sensibilité des documents ciblés par cette démarche.

Les autres ministères et entités gouvernementales pratiquent, à l’occasion, des consultations directes auprès de leurs homologues étrangers : rien ne les en empêche. Il revient aux responsables de l’accès à l’information dans ces ministères et organismes de recourir, ou non, aux services et aux conseils du State Department avant de s’engager dans cette voie. Règle générale, ces responsables disposent d’une réelle marge de manœuvre qui leur permet de lancer des consultations à l’étranger dans un objectif d’efficacité.

Règle générale, le State Department transmet directement ses demandes de consultation à l’ambassade à Washington du pays concerné. Les consultations menées par le State Department visent un bon nombre de pays, dont le Canada. Elles s’encadrent dans des délais relativement importants, délais considérés comme inévitables.

En contrepartie, ce ministère reçoit aussi un certain nombre de demandes de consultation en provenance de gouvernements étrangers, au premier rang desquels se trouve le CanadaNote de bas de page 24

L’Australie

Le Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFTA) est l’auteur d’un certain nombre de consultations menées auprès de quelques gouvernements étrangers et organisations internationales.

Dans les autres ministères et organismes, la décision de consulter ou non les Affaires étrangères au sujet d’une demande précise incombe au responsable de l’accès à l’information, sans aucune obligation si ce n’est une forme de prudence. Dans la plupart des cas, ces ministères et organismes s’adressent, sans intermédiaire, à leur contrepartie étrangère.

L’ensemble des consultations, amorcées par le ministère des Affaires étrangères ou transmises à ce dernier par un pays étranger, s’est élevé à 30 durant l’année financière 2008-2009. De ce nombre, une dizaine provenait des États-Unis, du Royaume-Uni et du Canada.

La Nouvelle-Zélande

Le Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT) peut, à l’occasion, engager, des consultations à l’étranger, même si rien dans la loi ou les textes règlementaires ne le lui impose. Décision est prise en fonction de la nécessité perçue d’une telle démarche ou encore pour des motifs diplomatiques.

Un nombre appréciable d’autres entités gouvernementales procèdent à de telles consultations directement auprès d’homologues étrangers avec qui ils entretiennent des relations; c’est le cas du Premier ministre et du cabinet, du New Zealand Security Intelligence Information, de la New Zealand Police, de la New Zealand Defence Force. Ces consultations sont menées à l’extérieur du « parapluie diplomatique » du ministère des Affaires étrangères.

La Nouvelle-Zélande engage peu de consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers, d’une année à l’autre. De même, elle ne reçoit que de rares demandes de consultation de la part des pays étrangers.

Le Royaume-Uni

En l’absence d’obligation formelle, l’unité responsable de la FOIA au Foreign and Commonwealth Office limite le nombre de consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales. Une telle consultation n’intervient que si le ministère a tranché en faveur de la remise du document et veut, par respect des usages diplomatiques, obtenir l’aval du gouvernement étranger concerné par cette démarche.

Le Foreign Office opte en faveur de l’efficacité dans ses consultations dans l’espoir avoué de respecter les échéances établies par le FOIA. C’est ainsi qu’il intervient soit directement auprès de l’ambassade ou du Haut Commissariat, sur la place de Londres, ou encore utilise les canaux diplomatiques classiques en passant par sa mission diplomatique dans le pays concerné.

De même, certains ministères et organismes se chargent eux-mêmes de ce type de consultations lorsqu’ils le jugent à propos. En respectant les « bonnes pratiques », favorisées par le ministère de la Justice, ils sollicitent à l’occasion l’avis du Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur du FOIA, en 2005, les consultations à l’étranger ont été peu nombreuses; de même le ministère reçoit un nombre relativement restreint de demandes de consultation de la part des gouvernements étrangers.

Le Mexique

Au Mexique, les consultations à l’étranger, aussi bien auprès des gouvernements tiers que des organisations internationales, sont peu fréquentes. La loi n’y incite pas, seul un jugement de prudence peut amener, à l’occasion le Secretaria de Relacion Exteriores (SRE) à engager de telles démarches.

Les autres composantes de l’appareil gouvernemental fédéral peuvent également frapper à la porte de leurs interlocuteurs habituels à propos de demandes d’accès qui impliquent ces derniers. Pour sa part, le SRE n’intervient que si le document visé et son contenu concernent directement le mandat du ministère.

Le nombre de consultations à l’étranger demeure très marginal. De la même façon, le SRE n’a que peu de demandes de consultation en provenance de pays étrangers ou d’organisations internationales.

Bref, en l’absence de dispositions dans leur loi sur l’accès à l’information au sujet des consultations à l’étranger, les cinq pays retenus aux fins de cette comparaison, ont recours à des procédures similaires. Dans chacun des cas, le ministère ou l’organisme saisi d’une demande d’accès qui peut avoir un impact sur les relations internationales entre directement en contact avec son homologue étranger visé par la requête en question (Graphique 2). Cette procédure n’exclut pas la possibilité d’une consultation préalable auprès du ministère des Affaires étrangères.

Étapes de consultations auprès de gouvernements étrangers menées par les ministères et organismes des pays-cibles

Version texte

Le graphique 2 illustre les étapes de consultations auprès de gouvernements étrangers menées par les ministères et organismes des pays-cibles. Le processus des consultations suit les étapes suivantes :

  1. Les ministères et organismes des pays-cibles font une consultation initiale avec les ministères et organismes du pays consulté.
  2. Les ministères et organismes du pays consulté peuvent possiblement consulter le ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays consulté.
  3. Les ministères et organismes des pays-cibles peuvent possiblement consulter le ministère des Affaires étrangères des pays-cibles.
  4. Les ministères et organismes du pays consulté transmettent le résultat de la consultation aux ministères et organismes des pays-cibles.
 

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 23

Ministry of Justice (2008). Freedom of Information Guidance – Exemptions guidance: Section 27: International Relations, London, 14 Mai : page 11.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 23

Note de bas de page 24

Ainsi, en 2008, des 101 demandes de consultation reçues par le State Department, 77 provenaient du MAECI. En 2009, cette proportion est encore plus importante : sur un total de 206 consultations, exactement 172 émanaient d’Ottawa.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 24