Foreign consultation system

The issue of consultations with foreign governments involves legal considerations and regulatory requirements. It is also coupled with administrative procedures, which ultimately give it a particular role in the access to information system as it is structured in Canada.

In virtually all access to information legislation, special treatment is given to requests for documents potentially impacting on the country’s international relations. Canada is not immune to what is almost a rule. The object of the provisions established to that end is the maintenance of harmonious relations between countries and with international organizations. Questions of national security are also part of this concern.

In the legislation of 1982, provisions governing international relations, in the broad sense, are relatively well circumscribed. All documents communicated or entrusted to the Government of Canada by another government or an international organization are subject to an imperative exemption: they cannot be disclosed to a requester unless the government or organization in question explicitly consents to the disclosure (section 13). The government has discretionary authority as regards documents pertaining to issues of defence, national security, diplomatic correspondence with another country and international negotiations (section 15).

Parliament enacted a special procedure for reviews of decisions given under either of those two sections. In specifying (section 52) that the Chief Justice of the Federal Court may hear such applications for reviews, Parliament, in a way, is affirming the exceptional nature of these kinds of documents. The conditions for action by the Information Commissioner when called upon to investigate a complaint of that nature must be interpreted in exactly the same manner (section 59(2)).

It can no doubt be affirmed that the notion of consultation is implicit in the provision that allows the government – in fact, DFAIT – to disclose certain documents when consent has been given by the foreign country or international organization. The Department has developed an entire set of procedures to deal with this aspect of processing access requests made directly to it.

The consultation system, which is exactly what is at issue, has in fact been expanded under a regulation issued by the Treasury Board Secretariat more than 17 years ago.Footnote 13 Under that regulation, any department or agency that receives an access request concerning any aspect of international relations must defer to DFAIT. This department alone has the authority to decide whether to take steps in that regard with another government or international organization. That prerogative was also clearly reaffirmed by the Department following a request from the Department of National Defence, which, in 1997, wanted to deal directly with its counterpart in the United States.Footnote 14

DFAIT does not initiate foreign consultations until it has conducted a detailed review of requests for documents whose impact on Canada’s international relations is considered a serious possibility. These files are therefore screened according to very specific criteria that are codified in procedures followed by staff of the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division.Footnote 15 Consequently, DFAIT does not consult certain governments on account of the presumptive attitude of these countries.Footnote 16

DFAIT engages in foreign consultations in respect not only of access to information requests made directly to it, but also of requests from other departments and agencies. Conversely, it is approached by foreign governments that also have access to information structures containing provisions governing the status of international relations.

In fact, the foreign consultations process is coupled with another obligation that DFAIT must fulfil under the same Treasury Board Secretariat directive, but this time with regard to the Privacy Act.Footnote 17 Acting under the same objective, i.e., maintaining harmonious relations with other countries and/or international organizations, the Department can therefore decide to initiate foreign consultations in respect of personal information. This procedure applies not only to requests for personal information made to the Department, but also to files from other departments and agencies.

This process is relatively complex. It involves a significant number of players whose actions correspond in fact to the different stages in the consultation process. It can be illustrated as follows (Figure 1).

Steps in consultations conducted by DFAIT with foreign governments on behalf of departments and agencies

Text version

Figure 1 illustrates the steps of the consultations conducted by DFAIT with foreign governments on behalf of departments and agencies. The consultation process follows these steps:

  1. Canadian departments or agencies do an initial consultation with DFAIT.
  2. DFAIT communicates the consultation request to the Canadian diplomatic mission.
  3. The Canadian diplomatic mission communicates the consultation request to the Department of Foreign Affairs of the country consulted.
    1. The Department of Foreign Affairs of the country consulted may consult other departments or agencies of the country consulted.
  4. The Department of Foreign Affairs of the country consulted communicates the result of the consultation to the Canadian diplomatic mission.
  5. The Canadian diplomatic mission communicates the result of the consultation to DFAIT.
  6. DFAIT communicates the result of the consultation to the Canadian departments or agencies.
 

Footnotes

Footnote 13

Treasury Board Secretariat (1993) – Access to Information and Privacy, Exemptions - General, Ottawa: para. 9.

Return to footnote 13 referrer

Footnote 14

Internal memorandum signed on December 22, 1997, by Michael C. Welsh, Director, U.S. General Relations Division. “We believe that this proposal would significantly erode DFAIT’s responsibility for pursuing, on behalf of all government departments, consultation with the U.S. prior to the release of documents which could be expected to be injurious to the conduct of international relations.”

Return to footnote 14 referrer

Footnote 15

Pending.

Return to footnote 15 referrer

Footnote 16

“Some foreign governments, such as China, India, Korea and perhaps others, may object to being consulted on their records. They consider that the information was given in confidence and should remain confidential.” Internal DFAIT document. Reference document: Annex H, Copy of study conducted re: sections 13 and 15.

Return to footnote 16 referrer

Footnote 17

Privacy Act, R.S.C. 1985, ch. P-21.

Return to footnote 17 referrer

Le régime de consultation à l’étranger

La problématique des consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers répond à des considérations légales et à des impératifs d’ordre règlementaire. Elle se double aussi de procédures administratives qui achèvent de lui conférer une place très particulière dans le régime d’accès à l’information tel que structuré au Canada.

Dans la presque totalité des lois en matière d’accès à l’information, un traitement particulier est réservé aux demandes de documents qui peuvent avoir un impact sur les relations internationales de l’État. Le Canada n’échappe pas à ce qui constitue presque une règle. L’objectif des dispositions établies à cette fin est d’assurer le maintien de relations harmonieuses entre les Pays et aussi avec les organisations internationales. S’inscrivent aussi dans cette préoccupation les questions liées à la sécurité nationale.

Dans la loi de 1982, les dispositions en matière de relations internationales, au sens large du terme, sont relativement bien cadrées. L’ensemble des documents communiqués ou confiés au gouvernement canadien par un autre gouvernement ou une organisation internationale est soumis à une exception impérative : ils ne peuvent être remis à un demandeur, à moins du consentement explicite du gouvernement ou de l’organisation en question (art. 13). Le gouvernement dispose d’un pouvoir discrétionnaire en ce qui a trait aux documents relatifs aux questions de défense, de sécurité nationale et aux correspondances d’ordre diplomatique avec un autre État, de même qu’aux négociations internationales (art. 15).

Le législateur a entouré d’une procédure particulière la révision d’une décision rendue en vertu de l’un ou l’autre de ces deux articles. En spécifiant (art. 52) la qualité du juge en chef de la Cour fédérale qui peut entendre pareille demande de révision, il consacre en quelque sorte le caractère exceptionnel de ce type de documents. C’est exactement de la même façon que doivent s’interpréter les modalités d’intervention du commissaire à l’information lorsque saisi d’une plainte dans ce domaine (art. 59(2)).

On peut sans doute affirmer que la notion de consultation est implicite dans la disposition qui permet au gouvernement – en fait au MAECI – de rendre accessible certains documents lorsque l’État étranger ou l’organisation internationale y consent. Le ministère a mis au point toute une série de procédures pour prendre en charge cette dimension du traitement des demandes d’accès qui lui sont directement adressées.

Le régime de consultations, puisque c’est de cela dont il s’agit, a été en fait élargi par un règlement émis par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, voilà plus de 17 ansNote de bas de page 13. En vertu de ce règlement, tout ministère ou organisme saisi d’une demande d’accès qui vise une dimension ou l’autre des relations internationales doit s’en remettre au MAECI. C’est à ce ministère et à lui seul qu’incombe la décision d’engager, ou non, une démarche à ce sujet auprès d’un autre État ou d’une organisation internationale. Il s’agit d’ailleurs là d’une prérogative clairement réaffirmée par le ministère à la suite d’une demande émanant du ministère de la Défense nationale qui, en 1997, souhaitait traiter directement avec son homologue des États-UnisNote de bas de page 14.

Le MAECI ne recourt au processus de consultation à l’étranger qu’après un examen détaillé des demandes de documents dont l’impact sur les relations internationales du Canada est considéré comme une possibilité sérieuse. Il y a donc tamisage de ces dossiers en fonction de critères établis de façon très précise et codifiés dans des procédures suivies par le personnel de la direction de l’accès à l’informationNote de bas de page 15. Ainsi, le MAECI ne consulte pas certains gouvernements en raison de l’attitude présumée de ces paysNote de bas de page 16.

Le MAECI est amené à engager des consultations à l’étranger aussi bien au regard des demandes d’accès à l’information qui lui sont directement destinées que pour les requêtes en provenance d’autres ministères et organismes. A l’inverse, il est aussi sollicité par des gouvernements étrangers qui vivent également sous un régime d’accès à l’information grevé de dispositions relatives à l’état des relations internationales.

En fait, le régime de consultations à l’étranger se double d’une autre obligation que le MAECI doit assumer en vertu de la même directive du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, mais cette fois-ci en regard de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels Note de bas de page 17. En fonction du même objectif, la préservation de relations harmonieuses avec les autres Pays ou les organisations internationales, le ministère peut alors décider de procéder à des consultations à l’étranger en matière de renseignements personnels. Cette procédure vise aussi bien les demandes de renseignements personnels adressées au ministère que les dossiers en provenance des autres ministères et organismes.

Ce processus est relativement complexe. Il implique un nombre important d’acteurs dont l’intervention correspond en fait aux différentes étapes de cette consultation. On peut le schématiser de la façon suivante (Graphique 1).

Étapes des consultations menées par le MAECI auprès de gouvernements étrangers pour le compte de ministères et organismes

Version texte

Le graphique 1 illustre les étapes des consultations menées par le MAECI auprès de gouvernements étrangers pour le compte de ministères et organismes. Le processus des consultations suit les étapes suivantes :

  1. Les ministères et organismes du Canada font une consultation initiale avec le MAECI .
  2. Le MAECI transmet la demande de consultation à la Mission diplomatique du Canada.
  3. La Mission diplomatique du Canada transmet la demande de consultation au ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays consulté.
    1. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays consulté peut possiblement consulter certains ministères et organismes du pays consulté.
  4. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays consulté transmet le résultat de la consultation à la Mission diplomatique du Canada.
  5. La Mission diplomatique du Canada transmet le résultat de la consultation au MAECI .
  6. Le MAECI transmet le résultat de la consultation aux ministères et organismes du Canada.
 

En un mot, il s’agit d’une charge importante et relativement lourde assumée par le MAECI au nom de l’ensemble des composantes de l’appareil gouvernemental canadien.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 13

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (1993) – Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels Exceptions-Généralités, Ottawa : para 9.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 13

Note de bas de page 14

Note interne signée, le 22 décembre 1997 par Michael C. Welsh, director, U.S. General Relations Division. « We believe that this proposal would significantly erode DFAIT’s responsibility for pursuing, on behalf of all governement departments, consultation with the U.S. prior to the release of documents which could be expected to be injurious to the conduct of international relations ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 14

Note de bas de page 15

A VENIR

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 15

Note de bas de page 16

« Some foreign governments, such as China, India, Korea and perhaps others, may object to being consulted on their records. They consider that the information was given in confidence and should remain confidential ». Document interne du MAECI. Reference document: Annexe H, Copy of study conducted re: sections 13 and 15.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 16

Note de bas de page 17

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, R.C. 1985, ch. P-21.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 17