Access to information and foreign consultations

The question of consultations with foreign governments and international organizations is part of the overall issue of implementation of the Access to Information Act. It is, in fact, one of the problems that has been denounced in recent years by both the Information Commissioner and outside specialists. Globally, the Department is having serious difficulty meeting the requirements of the Act. For example, in 2008–09, the Department posted the poorest performance of any federal entity, with 163 days being the average time it took to complete access requests.

The decision by the Information Commissioner not to assign a grade to DFAIT for 2008–09 given the magnitude of the delays in responding to access requests is a telling indication of the challenges facing the Department’s Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division. Over the last 10 years, 2002 was the only time when DFAIT received a satisfactory grade – a “B.”

DFAIT has to deal with a reality that makes it unique within the federal government. The rotation of career diplomats means that the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division cannot count on specialists on a permanent or long-term basis. It is also in the “eye of the storm” when Canada is directly involved in “hot button,” major international files. The military intervention in Afghanistan has sparked Canadians’ interest and concern and has led to a significant increase in requests for documents that would help to shed light on the meaning of the conflict. More specifically, according to its own data, the Department saw an average annual increase of 15.5% in access requests over the period from 2004 to the end of 2009.Footnote 10

The Department has made various efforts to try to improve its performance and better meet Canadians’ expectations. It recently gave Andrée Delagrave the mandate to review the situation. Ms. Delagrave has estimated that more than 40 new positions would need to be created to rectify the situation. Moreover, DFAIT is now in a race against time to eliminate the accumulated backlog in the processing of access requests, having hired some 10 contract staff.

Besides the increased number of access requests received by the Department, in justifying her call for additional funding, Ms. Delagrave cites the Department’s unique mandate in the processing of requests for access to documents: it has to take charge of the requests that are made to various departments and agencies across the federal government and concern Canada’s international relations.

The growth in this type of foreign consultations has been cited on a few occasions in the Department’s reports to Parliament and singled out by the Information Commissioner. “Consultation requests have increased significantly in recent years, to the point that they outnumber access requests,”Footnote 11 writes the Commissioner in her report entitled Out of Time, released in spring 2010. In its Report to Parliament submitted that same spring in compliance with the Access to Information Act, DFAIT is clear on the matter: “In fact, last year DFAIT processed even more requests for ATI consultations from OGDs (1039) than ATI requests for access to records under its control (665). This important role continues to put another heavy burden on the ATIP Division’s limited resources.”Footnote 12

The problems posed by these consultations and especially the backlogs incurred under this procedure tend to explain in part the Department’s poor performance in administering the Access to Information Act. Both are contributing to the discontent of the departments and agencies that have to defer to DFAIT for all access requests for documents that could affect Canada’s international relations. The final blame for these backlogs has to be borne by these departments and agencies, which are then chastised by the public and have to include these backlogs in their annual performance results.

Footnotes

Footnote 10

Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (2010). Annual Report to Parliament on the Administration of the Access to Information Act, Ottawa, page 3.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

Information Commissioner of Canada (2010). Out of Time (Special Report to Parliament), Ottawa, p. 34.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Footnote 12

Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade – Annual Report to Parliament on the Administration of the Access to Information Act - 2008–09. Online document, retrieved June 10, 2010: http://www.international.gc.ca/about-a_propos/atip-aiprp/parl0809_atia_lai.aspx?lang=eng.

Return to footnote 12 referrer


        
    
    

    
Date modified:

Accès à l’information et consultations à l’étranger

La question des consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales s’inscrit dans la problématique globale de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il s’agit en fait de l’un des problèmes qui ont été épinglés, ces dernières années, aussi bien par la commissaire à l’information que par certains spécialistes externes. Globalement, le ministère éprouve de sérieux problèmes à respecter les exigences de la Loi. Ainsi, en 2008-2009, le ministère a affiché le pire rendement au sein de l’appareil fédéral en accusant des délais moyens de 163 jours quant au traitement des demandes d’accès.

La décision de la commissaire à l’information de ne pas attribuer de cote au MAECI, pour l’année 2008-2009, devant l’ampleur des délais enregistrés à répondre aux demandes d’accès traduit bien les problèmes affrontés par la Direction de l’accès à l’information du ministère. En fait, au cours des dix dernières années, le MAECI a obtenu une note satisfaisante – un « B » – une seule fois, soit en 2002.

Le MAECI doit composer avec une réalité qui lui confère un statut très particulier au sein de l’appareil fédéral. La permutation des diplomates de carrière empêche la direction de l’accès à l’information de compter sur des spécialistes sur une base permanente et en longue durée. Il est aussi placé dans « l’œil du cyclone » lorsque le Canada est directement impliqué dans des dossiers internationaux « chauds » et majeurs. L’intervention militaire en Afghanistan suscite intérêt et inquiétude chez les Canadiens et provoque un accroissement considérable de demandes de documents qui permettraient de mieux comprendre le sens de ce conflit. De façon plus précise, le ministère a, selon ses propres données, enregistré une hausse annuelle moyenne de 15,5 % des demandes d’accès durant la période allant de 2004 à la fin 2009Note de bas de page 10.

Le ministère a tenté diverses démarches dans l’espoir d’améliorer ses résultats et de mieux répondre aux attentes des Canadiens. Il a tout récemment confié à Madame Andrée Delagrave le mandat de procéder à l’examen de la situation. Cette dernière a évalué à plus de 40 le nombre de nouveaux postes qu’il faudrait créer pour redresser la situation. Le MAECI vient d’ailleurs d’engager une course contre la montre en vue d’éliminer le retard accumulé dans le traitement des demandes d’accès précisément grâce à l’embauche d’une dizaine de contractuels.

Outre l’accroissement des demandes d’accès que reçoit le ministère, Mme Delagrave justifie cette demande de crédits additionnels par le mandat particulier assumé par le ministère, en matière de traitement des demandes d’accès à des documents : il doit prendre en charge les demandes adressées à divers ministères et organismes de l’ensemble de l’appareil gouvernemental fédéral et qui portent sur les relations internationales du Canada.

La croissance de ce type de consultations à l’étranger a été signalée à quelques reprises dans les rapports du ministère au Parlement et épinglée par la commissaire à l’information. « Les demandes de consultation se sont considérablement accrues ces dernières années au point où elles dépassent le nombre de demandes d’accèsNote de bas de page 11 », peut-on lire dans le rapport Hors délais, publié au printemps 2010. Dans son « Rapport au Parlement », déposé ce même printemps, conformément à une disposition de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le MAECI est explicite à ce sujet : « En fait, l’an dernier, le MAECI a traité encore plus de demandes de consultations en matière d’accès à l’information provenant des autres ministères (1 039) que de demandes portant sur des documents sous son contrôle (665). Ce rôle primordial ajoute encore au fardeau des ressources déjà limitées du Bureau de l’AIPRP Note de bas de page 12 ».

Les problèmes soulevés par ces consultations et avant tout les délais enregistrés sous cette procédure expliqueraient en partie la piètre performance du ministère en ce qui a trait à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’un et l’autre aliment la grogne des ministères et organismes qui doivent s’en remettre au MAECI au sujet de toutes les demandes d’accès relatives à des documents qui pourraient avoir des incidences sur les relations internationales du Canada. Le blâme final, imputable à ces délais, doit être assumé par ces ministères et organismes à qui les citoyens tiennent rigueur et qui doivent comptabiliser ces retards dans leurs résultats annuels.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 10

Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (2010). Rapport annuel au Parlement sur l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, Ottawa, page 3.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10

Note de bas de page 11

Commissaire à l’information du Canada (2010). Hors délais (Rapport spécial au Parlement), Ottawa, p. 28.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11

Note de bas de page 12

Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international – Rapport annuel au Parlement sur l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information 2008–2009.
Document en ligne, consulté le 10 juin 2010
www.international.gc.ca/about-apropos!atip-aiprp/parl0809_atia_lai.aspx?lang=fra

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 12