Introduction

From coast to coast across Canada, reaction was fierce the day after publication of the access to information Report CardsFootnote 2 by the federal Information Commissioner. For example, the Halifax daily The Chronicle Herald was quick to call the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) the “bad boy on the block.”Footnote 3 According to a Globe and Mail columnist, the federal Information Commissioner, seeing the Department’s performance, even had to “create” a special off-the-charts “red alert” category for it.Footnote 4 Greg Weston, of the daily Ottawa Sun, opined, “Not surprisingly … Foreign Affairs has also been home to some of the most egregious waste and mismanagement of taxpayers’ money anywhere in government.”Footnote 5 In Le Devoir, Manon Cornelier writes that, literally, “[Translation] the situation was allowed to fester.”Footnote 6 Across the country, the tone was similar, with DFAIT’s handling of the Access to Information Act meeting with harsh criticism and even disillusionment.

Over the course of the past decade, the Department earned few kudos from the federal Information Commissioner in her reports to Parliament. This year, despite obvious improvements, DFAIT received the worst grade given out since the inception of the “report cards,” which assess, on a comparative basis, the performance of a number of departments and agencies as regards access to information. The Information Commissioner summed up the situation in no uncertain terms: “Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s performance was so poor that the OIC could not rate it against its established criteria.”Footnote 7

Year after year, DFAIT’s difficulty in fulfilling its obligations under the 1982 Access to Information ActFootnote 8 has been examined in many different ways by officials of the Department and the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada. The issue of DFAIT-led consultations with foreign governments and international organizations seeking their consent for the disclosure of documents requested under the Act has come into sharper focus in recent years. In her previous report, the Information Commissioner had noted a very significant increase in the number of access requests within the framework of this consultation procedure.Footnote 9

In actuality, what are the practical consequences of the use of this procedure? Is the Department beset with a monumental task, a sort of “mission impossible”? In what way are foreign consultations complicating the processing of access requests received by DFAIT? These concise questions are the foundation of this study, conducted at the request of the Information Commissioner.

This study will take a two-pronged approach, which, it is hoped, will help to narrow down the problem. First, it will seek to quantitatively measure the scope of the phenomenon of DFAIT’s foreign consultation process, and attempt to extrapolate its impact on the overall processing of access to information requests received by DFAIT. The findings of this exercise will then provide the basis for a comparison of how this aspect of access to information is handled in five other countries that also manage access to information legislation with similar requirements.

Besides contributing to an understanding of the issue of consultations with foreign governments and international organizations, this study will also attempt to propose possible steps for streamlining the process used by DFAIT in connection with one of the most complex constraints of the Access to Information Act. This endeavour clearly holds much promise, as the issue does not seem to have captured the attention of researchers or specialists, nor that of access to information oversight officials in countries where such a system of administrative transparency is in place.

Footnotes

Footnote 2

Information Commissioner of Canada (2010) – Out of Time (2008 – 2009 Report Cards), Ottawa, 150 pages.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Rick Zemanek (2010) – “End the federal foot dragging,” The Chronicle Herald, Halifax, April 25, page S-5.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Lawrence Martin (2010). “In Ottawa, secrecy is the issue that keeps on giving,” The Globe and Mail, Toronto, April 15, page A-17.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Greg Weston (2010). “Access to nothing. Going ‘off-grid’ latest trick to avoid public scrutiny,” Ottawa Sun, Ottawa, April 15, p. 9.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Manon Cornelier (2010). “Information raréfiée,” Le Devoir, Montreal, April 14, page A-3.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

Information Commissioner (2010) – See note 1; page 3

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

Access to Information Act, Chapter A-1.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Information Commissioner (2009). Report Cards (2007 – 2008). Ottawa.

Return to footnote 9 referrer


        
    
    

    
Date modified:

Introduction

D’un bout à l’autre du Canada, la réaction a été musclée au lendemain de la publication des Fiches de rendement en matière d’accès à l’informationNote de bas de page 2 par la commissaire fédérale à l’information. Ainsi, le quotidien de la capitale de la Nouvelle Écosse, The Chronicle Guardian, n’a pas hésité à qualifier le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) de « chenapanNote de bas de page 3 ». Devant les résultats relevés au ministère, la commissaire fédérale à l’information, souligne l’un des chroniqueurs de The Globe and Mail, a même dû « inventer » une catégorie hors normes et sonner l’alerte rougeNote de bas de page 4. Et Greg Weston, du quotidien Ottawa Sun, de ne pas s’étonner de cette situation de la part « du pire gestionnaire des deniers publics dans l’ensemble du gouvernementNote de bas de page 5 ». Dans Le Devoir, Manon Cornelier considère qu’on a littéralement « laissé pourrir la situation »Note de bas de page 6. Dans l’ensemble du pays, le ton est semblable, la critique acerbe et même désabusée à l’égard de la gestion, par le MAECI, de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Au cours de la décennie qui vient de se terminer, le ministère a rarement été l’objet de félicitations de la part du commissaire fédéral à l’information dans ses rapports au Parlement. Cette année, malgré d’évidentes améliorations, le MAECI a obtenu la pire note décernée depuis l’invention des « fiches de rendement » qui permettent d’évaluer, sur un mode comparatif, la performance d’un certain nombre de ministères et organismes en matière d’accès à l’information. La commissaire à l’information a résumé la situation dans un langage à peine feutré : « Le rendement d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada s’est avéré si faible que le Commissariat n’a pu le coter suivant les critères établisNote de bas de page 7 ».

D’année en année, cette difficulté du MAECI à s’acquitter de ses obligations conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information de 1982Note de bas de page 8 a été examinée de multiples façons par les autorités du ministère et aussi par le Commissariat à l’information. Le problème des consultations menées par le MAECI auprès de gouvernements étrangers et auprès d’organisations internationales en vue d’obtenir leur assentiment, ou non, quant à la remise de certains documents demandés en vertu de cette loi s’est précisé, ces dernières années. Dans son rapport précédent, la commissaire à l’information avait d’ailleurs signalé l’accroissement très significatif des demandes d’accès qui s’inscrivent dans cette procédure de consultation.Note de bas de page 9

Dans les faits, quelles sont les conséquences pratiques du recours à cette procédure? Le ministère fait-il face à une tâche démesurée, une forme de « mission impossible »? En quoi les consultations menées à l’étranger grèvent-elles le traitement des demandes d’accès reçues par le MAECI? Formulées de façon lapidaire ces questions constituent la base de cette recherche menée à la demande de la commissaire à l’information.

Dans l’espoir de mieux cerner ce problème, cette étude sera axée autour de deux démarches. Dans un premier temps, il s’agira de mesurer quantitativement l’ampleur du phénomène des consultations à l’étranger par le MAECI et de tenter d’en supputer les effets sur le traitement global des demandes d’accès à l’information reçues par le MAECI. Les résultats ainsi obtenus structureront ensuite une comparaison avec le traitement réservé à cette dimension de l’accès à l’information dans cinq autres pays qui gèrent, eux aussi, une loi sur l’accès à l’information aux exigences analogues.

Outre la compréhension du problème des consultations auprès de pays étrangers ou d’organisations internationales, cette recherche vise aussi à dégager des pistes d’allègement de la procédure suivie par le MAECI à l’égard de l’une des contraintes les plus complexes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cet objectif est sans doute très prometteur, car il s’agit là d’une question qui ne semble pas avoir retenu l’attention des chercheurs et des spécialistes, ni des autorités de contrôle en matière d’accès à l’information dans les Pays qui se sont dotés d’un tel régime de transparence administrative.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 2

Commissaire à l’information du Canada (2010) – Hors délais (Fiches de rendement 2008 – 2009), Ottawa, 150 pages.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Traduction libre de l’expression « bad boy on the block ». Rick Zemanek (2010) - « End the federal foot dragging », The Chronicle Herald, Halifax, le 25 avril, page S-5.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Lawrence Martin (2010). « In Ottawa, secrecy is the issue that keeps on giving », The Globe and Mail, Toronto, le 15 avril, page A-17.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Greg Weston (2010). « Access to nothing. Going off-grid’ latest trick to avoid public scrutiny » Ottawa Sun, Ottawa, le 15 avril, p. 9.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Manon Cornelier (2010). « Information raréfiée », Le Devoir, Montréal, le 14 avril, page A-3.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Commissaire à l’information (2010) – Voir note 1; page 4

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Loi sur l’accès à l’information, Chapitre A-1.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Information Commissioner (2009). Report Cards (2007 – 2008). Ottawa.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9