Access to information regulations of target countries

The following is an overview of fundamental characteristics of the legislation and regulations governing access to information of the countries selected for this comparison.

United States

In 1966 and long after SwedenFootnote 30 did so, the U.S. adopted the Freedom of Information Act (5 U.S.C. # 552), which inspired almost all access legislation later enacted throughout the world. Finland pioneered the movement in 1951. The phenomenal development of the machinery of government at the time of the New Deal, the proliferation of secrecy in administrative activities during World War II and the Cold War led Congress to turn the page and encourage this effort toward transparency. The FOIA, acronym adopted by most public administrations, has in fact served as a basis for legislation later implemented in the West, Oceania and, finally, on all continents.Footnote 31

The American access to information legislation was profoundly reworked in 1974. It has gone through various periods where attempts to increase transparency alternated with sometimes brutal efforts to stop the trend. George W. Bush’s administration was notable for the implementation of a series of obstacles justified by the fight against terrorism. As soon as President Obama entered the White House, he had the Open Government Act of 2007 enacted. Since then, a whole series of measures and innovations have given concrete expression to the President’s wish to encourage a culture of transparency throughout the machinery of government using new information and communications technologies.Footnote 32

According to the Act, any person, whether corporation or private individual, may exercise the right to access federal administration documents, including any documents produced by agencies, departments and entities in the machinery of federal government.

American legislators did not set out an administrative or quasi-legal mechanism to settle disputes relating to refusals to disclose documents by any component of the federal structure. Beyond a simple administrative review, the author of a request must go to court in the hope of having the refusal to disclose reversed, either in total or in part, under the provisions of the Freedom of Information Act.

The Department of Justice plays the role of legal advisor to all entities subject to U.S. access legislation. With the publication of the Freedom of Information Act Guide, the Department explains the provisions of the Act for the benefit of officials responsible for its implementation.

Australia

Australia’s Parliament adopted The Freedom of Information Act in 1982. The legislation has since undergone a number of changes and has only recently been profoundly reworked.Footnote 33 It is nevertheless from the 1982 legislation, which is still in force, that useful information was collected for this study.

Any “person” may request access to public administration documents as well as any personal information concerning him or her that are held by any political or administrative entity.

In cases of unsatisfactory response or dispute, the author of a request must first ask the government department or agency concerned to reconsider the decision. Thereafter, the individual may submit a request to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, whose decisions may be appealed to the federal court and, finally, to the High Court. Outside this process, the Ombudsman may be asked to intervene.

The 1982 legislation targets all government departments and agencies. Courts are also subject to the Act with regard to administrative issues.

In recent years, the unit responsible for implementing the Act and promulgating directives and advice has been installed within the Prime Minister’s Cabinet. The entity is under the authority of the Cabinet Secretary and Special Minister of State to the Parliament on the Operation of the Act.

New Zealand

New Zealand is one of the small group of countries that implemented a system governing access to information in the early 1980s. The Official Information Act was adopted by its Parliament in Wellington in 1982.

Only citizens and permanent residents as well as companies established in New Zealand may exercise the right to access the administration’s documents.

The Ombudsman’s office, which comprises a group of individuals, is responsible for settling any disputes in addition to fulfilling other duties. The recommendations of the Ombudsman may be appealed to higher courts.

The legislation covers practically the entire public system, from central ministries to cities and municipalities, and concerns all documents produced and held in government offices.

The original law had established an “Information Authority” whose mandate was to promote access to information and support government departments and agencies; this institution was abolished in 1988. Since then, the Ministry of Justice has been responsible for developing and distributing document listings but does not play an overall role similar to that of Canada’s Treasury Board Secretariat.

Finally, the Ombudsman offers advice to government departments and agencies in published information documents intended for individuals looking for a particular document as well as guides to facilitate the work of government officials responsible for handling access requests.

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom enacted access to information legislation in 2000 following long internal debate and numerous consultations with other countries in the Westminster system, including Canada. It was the fulfilment of an old electoral promise made by the Labour Party that had been put aside at the end of the 70s when Margaret Thatcher took office.

This legislation gives everyone access to the administration’s documents, without any particular restrictions such as citizenship or residence.

The 2000 legislation came into force in January 2005 and concerns almost all the United Kingdom’s public sector, except for Scotland. It also includes the two Houses of Parliament, as evidenced by the “expense claim scandal” that dogged members of Parliament just last year.

With the adoption of the Act in 2000, the Westminster Parliament divided related responsibilities and mandates between two government departments and created two new entities.

(1) Parliament established the position of Information Commissioner under the authority of the Minister of Justice, who also publishes statistics on the processing of access requests by all government offices.

The Commissioner of Information is mandated to ensure the respect of both the access legislation and the Data Protection Act, 1998 being its latest version.

The Commissioner of Information settles disputes resulting from the legislation’s implementation by officials responsible for the task in various government departments and agencies. His decision-making power is enforced with the issue of “notices” after he has received and studied a case.

(2) The Commissioner of Information’s decisions may be appealed to the Information Tribunal, created by the same legislation. Also included in the Act is the possibility of appealing decisions rendered by that Tribunal before the High Court of Justice.

The Secretary of State is responsible for developing and distributing a code of practice to government offices in order to provide guidance in processing access to information requests.

Finally, the Ministry of Justice, created in 2007 and placed under the authority of the Lord Chancellor, is responsible for developing a code of practice on document management, from production to destruction, for the files and records produced by the public administration and agencies targeted by the legislation.

Mexico

The Mexican federal state passed access to information and privacy protection legislation in 2002. This law established the proactive disclosure of a considerable number of documents.

Anyone may exercise the right to access documents held by any component of government, including Parliament and the judicial system.

The Mexican system of access to information and privacy protection is under the authority of the Instituto Federal de Acceso a la Información (IFAI), composed of five commissioners.

The IFAI carries out all mandates related to access to information and privacy legislation, including dispute settlement, and renders its decisions in public hearings. Decisions may be appealed to federal courts, but only the original requestors may pursue this option; the IFAI’s decisions against government departments and agencies are final.

The IFAI is responsible for applying the law throughout the federal political system. It has the mandate to enact implementing regulations relating to the legislation and establish standards on document classification.Footnote 34

Footnotes

Footnote 30

Comeau, Paul-André (2006) - “Accès à l’information : perspectives internationales,” Barreau du Québec (Service de la formation continue), Cowansville, Éditions Yvon Blais: p. 38.

Return to footnote 30 referrer

Footnote 31

The most recent listing of countries having enacted legislation on access to information is dated 2008. It is the work of Roger Vleugels – Overview of all 86 FOIA Countries: http://right2info.org/laws/Vleugels-Overview-86-FOIA-Countries-9.08.pdf

Return to footnote 31 referrer

Footnote 32

Davies, Alysia and Dara Lithwick (2010). Government 2.0 and Access to Information: 2. Recent Developments in Proactive Disclosure and Open Data in the United States and Other Countries, Ottawa, Library of Parliament, April 15, p. 1 – 5.

Return to footnote 32 referrer

Footnote 33

Davies Alysia and Dara Lithwick – See note 17: pages 8 – 12.

Return to footnote 33 referrer

Footnote 34

IFAI assumes responsibilities similar to those born by the Canadian Treasury Board Secretariat.  

Return to footnote 34 referrer

Régimes d’accès à l’information des pays-cibles

Voici, présentées de façon schématisée, les caractéristiques fondamentales, des lois et régimes d’accès à l’information de chacun des pays sur lesquels repose la comparaison de cette étude.

Les États-Unis

En 1966, les États-Unis ont adopté, après le lointain précédent de la SuèdeNote de bas de page 30, le Freedom of Information Act (5 U.S.C.# 552), législation qui a inspiré la presque totalité des lois d’accès mises en place par la suite à travers le monde. La Finlande avait lancé le mouvement en ce sens, en 1951. Le développement phénoménal de l’appareil gouvernemental, à l’époque du New Deal, la propagation du secret dans l’activité administrative durant la Deuxième guerre et la Guerre froide ont amené le Congrès à favoriser cette initiative en faveur de la transparence. Le FOIA, selon l’acronyme adopté dans la plupart des administrations publiques, a d’ailleurs servi de base aux législations qui seront mises en place par la suite en Occident, en Océanie et enfin sur tous les continentsNote de bas de page 31.

Le régime américain a été profondément remanié en 1974. Il a connu diverses périodes où alternent tentatives en vue d’accroître la transparence et coups de frein parfois assez brutaux. Les années du régime George W. Bush ont été caractérisées par la mise en place d’une série d’entraves toutes justifiées par le combat contre le terrorisme. Dès son entrée à la Maison Blanche, le Président Obama a changé de cap en faisant adopter l’Open Governement Act, en 2007. Depuis toute une série de mesures et d’innovations concrétisent la volonté du Président de favoriser la culture de la transparence dans l’ensemble de l’appareil gouvernemental, en misant sur les NTIC.Note de bas de page 32

Selon la loi, toute personne, morale ou physique, peut se prévaloir du droit d’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale. De même, elle vise l’ensemble des organismes, départements et entités de l’appareil gouvernemental fédéral.

Le législateur américain n’a pas prévu de mécanisme administratif ou quasi judiciaire pour trancher les litiges au sujet des documents refusés par l’une ou l’autre composante de la structure gouvernementale. Au-delà du simple réexamen administratif, le demandeur doit s’adresser aux tribunaux dans l’espoir de faire renverser un refus, total ou partiel, d’obtenir un document en vertu des dispositions du Freedom of Information Act.

C’est le ministère de la Justice qui joue le rôle de conseiller juridique pour l’ensemble des entités soumise à la loi sur l’accès des États-Unis. En publiant le Freedom of Information Act Guide, le ministère explicite les dispositions de la loi à l’intention des responsables de sa mise en œuvre.

L’Australie

C’est en 1982 que le Parlement de ce pays a adopté The Freedom of Information Act. Cette législation a connu depuis un certain nombre de modifications et elle vient tout juste d’être profondément remaniéeNote de bas de page 33. C’est néanmoins en fonction de la loi de 1982, encore en vigueur, que se dégagent les enseignements utiles à cette recherche.

Toute « personne » se voit reconnaître le droit de demander accès aux documents de l’administration publique et aux renseignements personnels détenus à son sujet par l’une ou l’autre entité politique ou administrative.

En cas d’insatisfaction ou de litige, l’auteur d’une demande doit d’abord solliciter, du ministère ou de l’organisme visé, une révision de la décision en question. Il lui est ensuite possible de soumettre sa requête au Administrative Appeals Tribunal, dont les décisions peuvent éventuellement être portées devant la cour fédérale, puis le High Court. En marge de ce processus, l’intervention de l’Ombudsman peut aussi être sollicitée.

La Loi de 1982 vise l’ensemble des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux. Les tribunaux y sont assujettis en ce qui concerne les aspects administratifs.

Ces toutes dernières années, c’est au sein du cabinet du Premier ministre qu’a été installée la cellule responsable de la mise en œuvre de la loi et de la promulgation des directives et conseils. Cette entité est placée sous l’autorité du Secrétaire du cabinet et Ministre d’état (Cabinet Secretary and Special Minister of State to the Parliament on the Operation of the Act).

La Nouvelle-Zélande

La Nouvelle-Zélande fait partie du peloton restreint des pays qui se sont dotés, au début des années 1980, d’un régime d’accès à l’information. Le « Official Information Act » a été adopté par le Parlement de Wellington en 1982.

Seuls les citoyens et les résidents permanents, de même que les sociétés qui ont pignon sur rue en Nouvelle-Zélande, peuvent se prévaloir du droit d’accès aux documents de l’administration.

C’est à l’Ombudsman qu’a été confiée la responsabilité de régler les litiges éventuels. Il s’agit en fait d’un groupe d’ombudsmans qui assument plusieurs autres responsabilités. Les recommandations de l’Ombudsman peuvent faire l’objet d’un appel devant les tribunaux supérieurs.

Cette Loi couvre la presque totalité du système public, depuis les ministères centraux jusqu’aux villes et municipalités. Elle vise l’ensemble des documents produits et détenus dans les composantes de l’appareil public.

La Loi originale avait établi une « Information Authority » qui avait mandat de promouvoir la diffusion de l’accès à l’information et d’appuyer les ministères et organismes; cette institution a été abolie en 1988. Le ministère de la Justice a depuis la responsabilité de favoriser la mise au point et la diffusion des répertoires de documents, mais ne joue pas un rôle global analogue à celui du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, au Canada.

Enfin, l’Ombudsman exerce certaines fonctions de conseil auprès des ministères et organismes en publiant des documents d’information à l’intention des personnes à la recherche de l’un ou l’autre document ou encore des guides destinés à faciliter le travail des responsables de l’accès dans l’appareil public.

Le Royaume-Uni

Le Royaume-Uni s’est doté d’une Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 2000, au terme de longs débats internes et de multiples consultations menées dans d’autres pays dits du système de Westminster, dont le Canada. C’était la concrétisation d’une vieille promesse électorale du parti travailliste qui avait été balayée, fin des années 70, par l’arrivée au pouvoir de Madame Thatcher.

Cette loi ouvre l’accès aux documents de l’administration à toute personne, sans aucune exigence particulière, telle citoyenneté ou résidence.

La Loi de 2000, qui est entrée en vigueur en janvier 2005, vise à peu près l’ensemble du secteur public du Royaume-Uni, à l’exception de l’Écosse. Elle englobe également les deux Chambres du Parlement, comme on a pu le constater au moment du « scandale » des frais réclamés par les députés des Communes, il y a tout juste un an.

En adoptant la Loi de 2000, le Parlement de Westminster a partagé les responsabilités et mandats qui y sont rattachés entre deux Ministres et a créé deux nouvelles entités.

Le Parlement a établi (1) le poste d’Information Commissioner, qui est placé nominalement sous l’autorité du Ministre de la Justice. Ce dernier assume d’ailleurs la publication des statistiques relatives au traitement des demandes d’accès dans l’ensemble de l’appareil public.

Le commissaire à l’information a mandat d’assurer le respect de la loi sur l’accès et de la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (Data Protection Act) en place, dans sa nouvelle mouture, depuis 1998.

Le commissaire à l’information doit régler les plaintes et litiges qui résultent de la mise en œuvre de la loi par les personnes responsables de cette tâche dans l’ensemble des ministères et organismes. Il jouit d’un pouvoir décisionnel contraignant sous forme de « notices » qu’il peut émettre après avoir étudié le cas soumis à son attention.

C’est devant (2) le Tribunal de l’information (Information Tribunal), créé par cette même loi, que peuvent être portées en appel les décisions arrêtées par le commissaire à l’information. A également été insérée, dans la loi, la possibilité d’en appeler des décisions de ce tribunal devant le High Court of Justice.

Le Secretary of State est responsable de l’élaboration et de la dissémination dans l’appareil public d’un « code de pratique » qui sert de guide au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.

Enfin, le Ministry of Justice, créé en 2007 et placé sous l’autorité du Lord Chancellor, doit s’acquitter de la mise au point d’une code de pratique pour la gestion des documents, depuis leur production jusqu’à leur destruction, des dossiers et documents (records) de l’administration publique et des organismes visés par la loi.

Le Mexique

L’État fédéral du Mexique a voté une loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels, en 2002. Cette loi établit le principe de la divulgation proactive d’un nombre appréciable de documents.

Toute personne peut se prévaloir du droit d’accès aux documents détenus par toutes les composantes de l’appareil fédéral, compris le Parlement et le système judiciaire.

Le régime mexicain d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels est placé sous l’autorité d’un Institut fédéral de l’accès à l’information gouvernementale publique» (IFAI), composé de 5 commissaires.

Cet Institut assume l’ensemble des mandats qui découlent de la mise en place d’une loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels. L’Institut entend les litiges qui peuvent intervenir en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels. Il rend ses décisions en séance publique. Ces décisions peuvent faire l’objet d’un appel devant les tribunaux fédéraux, mais seuls les demandeurs ont le droit de se prévaloir de cette possibilité; les décisions de l’Institut sont finales en ce qui a trait aux organismes et ministères.

L’IFAI est responsable de l’application de la loi dans l’ensemble du système politique fédéral. Il détient le mandat d’édicter les règlements de mise en œuvre de la loi et d’établir des normes quant à la classification des documentsNote de bas de page 34.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 30

Comeau, Paul-André (2006) - « Accès à l’information : perspectives internationales », Barreau du Québec (Service de la formation continue), Cowansville, Éditions Yvon Blais : p. 38.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 30

Note de bas de page 31

Le dernier répertoire des États qui disposent d’une loi d’accès à l’information date de 2008. Il est l’oeuvre de Roger Vleugels – Overview of all 86 FOIA Countries : http://right2info.org/laws/Vleugels-Overview-86-FOIA-Countries-9.08.pdf

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 31

Note de bas de page 32

Davies, Alysia and Dara Lithwick (2010). Governement 2.0 and Access to Information : 2. Recent Developments in Proactive disclosure and Open Data in the United States and Other Countries, Ottawa, Library of Parliament, 15 avril, p. 1 – 5.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 32

Note de bas de page 33

18 – Davies Alysia and Dara Lithwick – Voir note 17 : pages 8 – 12.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 33

Note de bas de page 34

IFAI assume, entre autres, les responsabilités dévolues, dans le régime fédéral canadien, au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. 

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 34