Avenues for consideration

Foreign consultations relating to access to information requests raise a series of legal and sometimes diplomatic issues. As far as DFAIT is concerned, foreign consultations put a strain on the Department’s overall performance because they add significant delays to the processing of access to information requests.

Before this study was launched, the following question set the stage for a comparative look at how five countries handle consultations with foreign governments and international organizations. Can avenues be identified to help DFAIT improve its process?

Two points need to be made before responding to the question.

First, it should be noted that this research concerns only foreign consultations; it sets aside other initiatives grouped under the same label that may be undertaken by any of the Department’s directorates, including the Access to Information Branch. Such internal initiatives may, or may not, end up being included in the foreign consultation process.

Secondly, it is also important to keep in mind the very specific character of these consultations, which are part of the dialogue between countries, as well as the fact that they necessarily rely on diplomatic practices and style. As such, diplomats must think twice before following up with the foreign affairs department of the host country regarding a case that is languishing.

This structured study of the processes and procedures used by the five reference countries results in two proposed avenues to consider in order to alleviate the problem DFAIT has been facing over the past several years.

(1) The first avenue concerns the technical side of the consultation process, once the principle of such an initiative has been established by DFAIT. Similarly to what is done by other foreign affairs departments, consultation officials at DFAIT, in cooperation with their foreign missions, should identify the best gateway for soliciting consultations with other countries. Are normal channels through the foreign affairs department of the country concerned always preferable? In some cases, the answer is clear given traditional practices and the reciprocity that has developed in this very specialized dialogue.

Otherwise, would it not be more efficient to direct such requests through the country’s embassy located in the nation’s capital? The question warrants consideration in the case of countries to which access requests have yet to be directed or which have received very few such requests in recent years. Such an approach could enhance relations between DFAIT and the embassies in question and may even produce unexpected dividends.

On a more basic level, the Department would also gain by expediting document handling procedures, using its missions to direct consultation requests to foreign affairs departments of the country concerned. To reduce delays and depending on the destination, the possibility of sending documents by the fastest and most frequent diplomatic pouch should be examined. That would be a clear demonstration of DFAIT’s interest in this aspect of diplomatic duties.

Given the ever-increasing volume of reciprocal access to information consultations between Ottawa and Washington, it might be useful to streamline procedures currently in place. Access to information officials at the State Department and at DFAIT would benefit from initiating discussions in that regard.

(2) The second avenue to explore involves a more thorough examination of DFAIT practices over the past twenty years and the principles underlying consultations with foreign governments. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade is solely responsible for engaging in consultations with foreign governments and international organizations. Traditional diplomatic practices and the mandate conferred by the Treasury Board Secretariat regarding consultations have solidly anchored this way of doing things.

In light of information gathered from practices in four of the countries in this comparative study, this issue warrants review. Similarly, increased specialization in various spheres of international relations – including access to information – provides a basis to question what was yesterday considered a certainty. Globalization does not only concern trade and the economy; it involves a great number of stakeholders who turn the wheels of international life at various levels.

It might therefore be useful to allow some departments or agencies to initiate foreign consultations under pre-determined conditions. Particularly concerned would be departments that maintain significant and sustained contact with foreign counterparts in government departments or international organizations through well-established ties and in accordance to procedures.

Such streamlining would in fact match one of the options considered some time ago by the Treasury Board Secretariat with regard to such initiatives by very specific entities: “Only when an established and acceptable system of liaison and consultation already exists should direct consultation take place. External Affairs should be kept informed of these channels of consultation.”Footnote 28 The Ministry of Justice in the United Kingdom, which plays a similar role to that of the Treasury Board Secretariat with regard to access to information, has adopted the same principle by publishing its “guidance” on international relations issues.Footnote 29

A two-tier procedure might be considered for a department or agency to directly engage in consultations. It should first establish for DFAIT the nature and strength of the ties maintained with its foreign counterparts. When an access request is received, the department or agency could provide DFAIT with the wording of the proposed foreign consultation and the rationale behind the anticipated decision. DFAIT would then have ten working days to issue its comments and suggestions, or even an outright refusal. (Figure 3).

Proposed consultation process with foreign governments by Canadian government departments and agencies

Text version

Figure 3 illustrates the proposed consultation process with foreign governments by Canadian government departments and agencies. The proposed consultation process would follow these steps:

  1. The Canadian departments and agencies communicate the consultation request to DFAIT.
  2. DFAIT communicates either its agreement or refusal to the Canadian departments and agencies.
  3. If the Canadian departments and agencies receive DFAIT’s agreement:
    1. The Canadian departments and agencies send a request for consultation to the departments and agencies of the country consulted.
    2. The departments and agencies of the country consulted may consult with the Department of Foreign Affairs of the country consulted.
    3. The departments and agencies of the country consulted communicate the result of the consultation to the Canadian departments and agencies.
 

This procedure preserves DFAIT’s right to ultimately review requests and borrows from practices in four of the five countries studied in this comparison. Such an approach would streamline the consultation process and avoid delays incurred when documents are sent back and forth between foreign affairs departments in the two countries concerned. It would also considerably shorten lengthy delays under the current system, therefore reducing departmental and agency grumbling about DFAIT.

This discussion should involve both DFAIT and the Treasury Board Secretariat in view of the latter’s responsibilities relating to Access to Information Act implementation.

The Information Commissioner should also be involved in weighing these options due to their international dimension. She could consider calling on her counterpart commissioners in other countries to study this issue and, in so doing, possibly jumpstart the move towards a common framework that would harmonize and streamline foreign consultations.

These proposals do not affect internal DFAIT procedures. Reviewing various aspects of a request for access (sent directly to DFAIT or through a department or agency) that impacts Canada’s international relations constitutes a considerable burden for DFAIT.

Again, these avenues and suggestions concern only the international dimension of consultations initiated on behalf of federal government departments and agencies. They could result in measures that lighten DFAIT’s burden related to determining the impact that a request for access could have on Canada’s international relations. Finally, such streamlining would no doubt enable departments and agencies to respond more quickly to requests for access to documents that may have international ramifications.

The overarching goal of these possible steps is to ensure that citizens have access to requested documents within a reasonable amount of time and in accordance with the provisions and spirit of the 1982 Act. The proposed options are in keeping with the objectives expressed by the Department in its response to the report published by the Information Commissioner a few months ago.

Footnotes

Footnote 28

Treasury Board Secretariat (1993). Mandatory Consultations (Information and Privacy Policy), Ottawa, December 1 (Section 9: Consultation).

Return to footnote 28 referrer

Footnote 29

Ministry of Justice (2008). Freedom of Information Guidance – Exemptions Guidance – Section 27: International Relations, London, 14 May, page 11: “The advice of FCO officials should normally be sought before you consult foreign governments or international organizations about the disclosure of information, although on subjects where other public authorities have well-established international relationships it may be sufficient to keep FCO officials informed.” 

Return to footnote 29 referrer


        
    
    

    
Date modified:

Pistes et perspectives

Les consultations à l’étranger en relation avec les demandes d’accès à l’information soulèvent une série de questions d’ordre juridique et parfois diplomatique. En ce qui concerne le MAECI, elles représentent l’une des dimensions du problème qui grève la performance générale de ce ministère en creusant des délais importants en ce qui a trait au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information.

A l’origine de cette recherche, une question a justifié le regard comparatif porté sur la façon dont cinq pays s’acquittent précisément de ces consultations auprès de gouvernements étrangers ou d’organisations internationales. Qu’est-il possible de dégager, sous forme de pistes à explorer ou de perspectives à dessiner, en vue de contribuer à l’amélioration de cette charge assumée par le MAECI?

Deux rappels préliminaires s’imposent avant de tenter de répondre à cette question.

En premier lieu, est-il besoin de signaler que cette recherche ne vise que les consultations menées à l’étranger; elle met entre parenthèses les démarches regroupées sous cette même appellation et menées au sein de l’une ou l’autre direction du ministère, sans oublier la Direction générale de l’accès à l’information. Ces démarches internes peuvent déboucher, ou non, sur le processus de consultation à l’étranger.

En second lieu, il est tout aussi important d’évoquer, ne serait-ce que pour mémoire, le caractère très particulier dans lequel s’inscrivent ces consultations : ces dernières relèvent du dialogue interétatique et sont nécessairement tributaires des usages et du style diplomatiques. Ainsi, tout diplomate doit y penser deux fois plutôt qu’une avant de tenter un rappel auprès du ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays-hôte au sujet d’un dossier en retard.

Au terme de cette recherche structurée autour des démarches et procédures privilégies par cinq pays de référence, on peut proposer deux pistes à explorer en vue d’alléger le problème tel que vécu depuis quelques années au MAECI.

(1) La première piste vise les modalités techniques de consultation, une fois le principe de telle démarche arrêtée par le MAECI. A la lumière de ce que pratiquent d’autres ministères des Affaires étrangères, les responsables des consultations au MAECI devraient, en collaboration avec leurs missions à l’étranger, imaginer la meilleure porte d’entrée pour solliciter une consultation de la part d’un autre pays. Est-il préférable de toujours utiliser le canal habituel du ministère des Affaires étrangères dans les pays visés par une consultation? Dans certains cas, la réponse est évidente, en raison des habitudes tracées et parfois de la réciprocité qui s’est installée dans ce dialogue très spécialisé.

Dans d’autres cas, ne serait-il pas plus efficace, de faire transiter cette demande par l’ambassade du pays en question dans la capitale fédérale? La question mérite examen lorsqu’il s’agit d’un pays qui n’a pas encore fait l’objet d’une telle démarche ou qui a été fort peu sollicité au cours des dernières années. Ce pourrait bonifier la relation entre l’ambassade et le MAECI et même produire des dividendes inattendus.

A un niveau plus élémentaire, le ministère aurait aussi tout intérêt à privilégier les procédures d’acheminement les plus rapides en ce qui a trait aux documents que ses missions devront remettre au ministère des Affaires étrangères en vue d’une consultation. En vue de réduire les délais, il y aurait lieu d’examiner la possibilité de faire parvenir ces documents en utilisant la valise diplomatique la plus rapide et la plus fréquente selon chaque poste de destination. Ce serait signifier, de façon concrète, l’intérêt que porte le ministère à cette dimension des tâches diplomatiques.

Devant l’ampleur, d’ailleurs croissante, des consultations menées réciproquement entre Ottawa et Washington au titre de l’accès à l’information, il y aurait lieu de songer à une tentative de simplification des procédures en place. Les responsables de la direction de l’accès à l’information au State Department et au MAECI y gagneraient à engager une discussion à ce propos.

(2) La seconde hypothèse à envisager implique une réflexion plus substantielle sur la pratique suivie depuis plus de deux décennies par le MAECI et sur les principes à la base même des consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international conduit seul ces consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales. Le respect des normes diplomatiques classiques et le mandat confié en matière de consultations par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ont installé cette façon de faire sur des bases solides.

A la lumière des informations glanées sur les pratiques suivies dans quatre des pays retenus aux fins de cette comparaison, cette interrogation se justifie. De même, la spécialisation accrue des divers domaines des relations internationales – y compris en matière d’accès à l’information – incite à s’interroger sur ce qui hier encore relevait de la certitude. La mondialisation n’est pas seulement affaire de commerce et d’économie; elle implique un grand nombre d’acteurs qui poussent à la roue de la vie internationale dans des registres variés.

Ainsi, il y aurait lieu d’imaginer la possibilité de permettre à certains ministères ou organismes d’engager des consultations à l’étranger, selon des modalités à définir. Il s’agirait des ministères qui entretiennent des relations importantes et suivies avec leurs homologues étrangers, ministères ou organisations internationales, grâce à des liens et procédures bien établis.

Procéder ainsi correspondrait d’ailleurs à l’une des pistes envisagées, il y a un bon moment, par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor en vue de telles démarches engagées par des entités bien précises : « Des consultations directes auront lieu seulement s’il y a déjà en place un système de liaison et de consultation établi. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, précise cette note, devrait être avisé de ces canaux de consultation »Note de bas de page 28. Le Ministry of Justice, qui joue, au Royaume-Uni, un rôle analogue au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor en matière d’accès à l’information, a souscrit au même principe en publiant ses conseils (guidance) en matière de relations internationalesNote de bas de page 29.

On pourrait imaginer une procédure en deux temps avant la consultation elle-même par un ministère ou organisme. Ce dernier devrait tout d’abord établir à l’intention du MAECI la nature et l’importance des liens entretenus avec ses homologues étrangers. Lors d’une demande d’accès en bonne et due forme, le ministère ou l’organisme devrait soumettre au MAECI la formulation de l’avis sollicité à l’étranger et la justification de la décision envisagée. Le MAECI disposerait alors de dix jours ouvrables pour transmettre à l’entité concernée ses commentaires et suggestions, voire même son refus catégorique. (Graphique 3).

Proposition de consultation auprès des gouvernements étrangers par les ministères et organismes du Canada

Version texte

Le graphique 3 illustre une proposition de consultation auprès des gouvernements étrangers par les ministères et organismes du Canada. Le processus proposé de consultations suivrait les étapes suivantes :

  1. Les ministères et organismes du Canada font une consultation initiale avec le MAECI.
  2. Le MAECI transmet soit son accord ou son refus aux ministères et organismes du Canada.
  3. Si les ministères et organismes du Canada reçoivent l’accord du MAECI :
    1. Les ministères et organismes du Canada font une demande de consultation aux ministères et organismes du pays consulté.
    2. Les ministères et organismes du pays consulté peuvent possiblement consulter le ministère des Affaires étrangères du pays consulté.
    3. Les ministères et organismes du pays consulté transmettent le résultat de la consultation aux ministères et organismes du Canada
 

Cette procédure, tout en conservant un droit de dernier regard au MAECI, emprunte en fait certaines de ses caractéristiques à ce que pratiquent quatre des cinq pays retenus dans cette démarche de comparaison. Elle allégerait la démarche de consultation en évitant les délais de transmission aller-retour de documents aux Affaires étrangères des deux pays concernés. Elle permettrait aussi de réduire les délais considérables qu’entraine l’actuelle façon de faire. Elle ferait baisser d’un cran la grogne entretenue, à ce chapitre, par certains ministères et organismes à l’égard du MAECI.

Cette réflexion devrait mobiliser aussi bien le MAECI que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor en raison des responsabilités que ce dernier détient au chapitre de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Ces pistes et perspectives devraient aussi retenir l’attention de la commissaire à l’information en raison de la dimension internationale de cette question. Ainsi, elle pourrait envisager inviter ses collègues commissaires dans les autres pays à se pencher sur cette question et peut-être favoriser le cheminement vers un cadre commun en vue d’harmoniser et de simplifier les consultations à l’étranger.

Ces propositions ne concernent pas les procédures internes mises en œuvre par le MAECI. L’examen, sous ses différentes dimensions, de l’impact sur les relations internationales du Canada d’une demande d’accès, qui arrive directement au MAECI ou qui lui est transmise par un ministère ou un organisme, représente un fardeau important pour le MAECI.

Ces pistes de réflexion et ces suggestions visent, il faut le répéter, la seule dimension internationale des consultations menées pour le compte des ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral. Elles pourraient déboucher sur des mesures qui allégeraient le fardeau assumé par le MAECI en ce qui a trait à l’examen des différentes dimensions d’une demande d’accès quant à leur impact sur les relations internationales du Canada. Enfin, elles permettraient sans doute aux ministères et organismes de répondre plus rapidement aux demandes d’accès à des documents à connotation internationale.

Il s’agit là de pistes qui visent avant tout à permettre au citoyen d’obtenir accès aux documents sollicités dans des délais convenables, conformément aux dispositions et à l’esprit de la Loi de 1982. Ces pistes et perspectives correspondent d’ailleurs aux objectifs exprimés par le ministère dans sa réponse au rapport publié par la commissaire à l’information, il y a quelques mois.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 28

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (1993). Consultations obligatoires (Politiques de l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels), Ottawa, 1 décembre (Section 9 : Consultation).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 28

Note de bas de page 29

Ministry of Justice (2008). Freedom of Information guidance – Exemptions guidance – Section 27: International Relations, London, 14 May, page 11: « The advice of FCO officials should normally be sought before you consult foreign governments or international organizations about the disclosure of information, although on subjects where other public authorities have well-established international relationships it may be sufficient to keep FCO officials informed ». 

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 29