Executive Summary

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) is having serious difficulty fulfilling its access to information obligations within the time limits imposed by the Access to Information Act. In her report entitled Out of Time, presented to Parliament this spring, the Information Commissioner notes, among other problem areas, the Department’s consultations with foreign governments and international organizations for access requests it receives, as well as its consultations on behalf of a number of departments and agencies. Such consultations are initiated when the documents being sought may affect Canada’s international relations or if the documents are from a foreign government or international organization.

This comparative study seeks primarily to understand the impact of these consultations, not only on how access is managed at DFAIT, but also on the departments and agencies that have to defer to the Department, pursuant to a Treasury Board Secretariat directive. It will also attempt to identify possible steps that DFAIT could consider to streamline the procedures put into place for this foreign consultation process.

Such consultations account for approximately 10% of all access files processed by DFAIT. Most of these consultations are conducted on behalf of federal departments and agencies. Of the access requests received by the Department, barely 3% are the subject of consultations.

The results of a summary examination of these consultations during the 2008–09 and 2009–10 fiscal years speak for themselves. For example, some 30 foreign governments were the subject of such consultations by Canada. The United States topped the list of countries receiving the most consultation requests. The average length of time it took to receive decisions from foreign governments was 83 and 151 days, respectively, for each of these two years. Of the consultations initiated in 2008–09, responses from foreign governments were, in June 2010, on average, 574 days overdue, or more than 19 months.

The consultation process is fraught with ramifications, not only for members of the public awaiting a response, but also for the Access to Information Division at DFAIT and such units in the other federal departments and agencies involved in this process. The cumulative delays invariably affect DFAIT’s performance in access to information matters.

Five countries were chosen for comparison purposes with Canada in terms of how they deal with provisions governing international relations where document access requests are concerned. Such provisions are contained in access legislation in the United States, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and Mexico. These five countries have several constitutional and administrative traits in common with Canada, hence this comparative study.

There is no requirement in the legislation in any of these five countries or in Canada for such consultations to be initiated. Rather, it is an implicit concept arising from the obligation imposed on each of these countries to maintain good diplomatic relations with countries concerned by access requests. In Canada, a directive issued by the Treasury Board Secretariat confers upon DFAIT the exclusive mandate to initiate such consultations with foreign countries regarding access requests it receives, as well as consultations on behalf of other federal departments and agencies. These consultations, which are conducted through traditional diplomatic channels, are directed solely to the departments of external affairs of the countries concerned.

Two possible avenues for reducing the scope of the problem that has plagued DFAIT for several years now can be identified from this study, which focuses on the processes and procedures favoured by these five reference countries.

(1) The first avenue concerns the technical side of the consultation process. In view of practices of other departments of external affairs, consultation officials at DFAIT, in cooperation with their missions abroad, should identify the best gateway for soliciting consultations with other countries. Is it preferable to always use the habitual foreign affairs channel? In some cases, would it not be more efficient to direct such requests to the embassy of the country in question in the nation’s capital? This question warrants consideration in the case of countries to which access requests have yet to be directed or which have received very few such requests in recent years. Such an approach could enhance relations between DFAIT and the embassies in question and even produce unexpected dividends.

Given the ever-increasing scope of the reciprocal consultations between Ottawa and Washington in access to information matters, consideration should be given to attempting to streamline the procedures in place. Access to information officials at the State Department and at DFAIT would benefit from initiating discussions in that regard.

On a more fundamental level, it would also be in DFAIT’s interest to use the quickest channels it can for documents that its missions have to forward to departments of external affairs for consultation purposes. The possibility of sending such documents using the quickest diplomatic pouch for each destination post should be explored.

(2) The second avenue to be investigated involves a more thorough examination of the practices in use at DFAIT for more than two decades and of the very principles underlying consultations with foreign governments.

This consideration is warranted in view of the information gleaned concerning the practices in use in four of the countries chosen for comparison purposes. Consequently, the possibility that certain departments and agencies could engage consultations directly in other countries, subject to terms and conditions to be established, is conceivable. The departments in question would be ones that maintain significant and ongoing relations with their foreign counterparts, departments or international organizations, through well-established relations and procedures.

Such an approach would also be in line with an option envisaged some time ago by the Treasury Board Secretariat: “Only when an established and acceptable system of liaison and consultation already exists should direct consultation take place. External Affairs should be kept informed of these channels of consultation.”Footnote 1 The UK Ministry of Justice, which plays a role similar to that of the Treasury Board Secretariat in matters of access to information, recently adopted this principle.

A two-tier procedure is conceivable. A department or agency would first have to establish for DFAIT the nature and significance of the relations maintained with its foreign counterparts. When an access request arises, the department or agency should provide DFAIT with the wording of the proposed foreign consultation and the rationale behind the anticipated decision. DFAIT would then have 10 working days to forward to the entity concerned its comments and suggestions, or even its categorical refusal.  

Such an approach would streamline the consultation process and avoid delays incurred when documents are sent back and forth between Foreign Affairs in the two countries concerned. It would also reduce the lengthy delays under the current system.

This discussion should involve both DFAIT and the Treasury Board Secretariat in view of the latter’s responsibilities with regards to the implementation of the Access to Information Act.

These avenues and perspectives should also be of interest to the Information Commissioner. She could consider calling on her fellow commissioners in the other countries to study this issue and, in so doing, possibly jump-starting the move towards a common framework that would harmonize and streamline foreign consultations.

The overarching goal of these possible steps is to ensure that citizens have access to requested documents within a reasonable amount of time, in keeping with the provisions and spirit of the Act of 1982.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Treasury Board Secretariat (1993). Chapter 2–7 (Exemptions - General), Section 9 (Consultation)

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Sommaire

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) éprouve de sérieuses difficultés à s’acquitter de ses obligations en matière d’accès à l’information à l’intérieur des délais imposés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Parmi les problèmes relevés par la commissaire à l’information dans son rapport Hors délai, soumis au Parlement, ce printemps, figurent les consultations menées par le ministère auprès des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales pour les demandes d’accès qui lui parviennent et pour le compte de plusieurs ministères et organismes. De telles consultations sont engagées lorsque les documents sollicités peuvent avoir un impact sur les relations internationales du Canada ou s’il s’agit de documents provenant d’un gouvernement étranger ou d’une organisation internationale.

Cette recherche comparative vise d’abord à comprendre l’impact de ces consultations sur la gestion de l’accès au MAECI et sur les ministères et organismes qui doivent s’en remettre au ministère, conformément à une directive du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Elle a également comme objectif de dégager des pistes et perspectives qui permettraient au MAECI d’envisager un allégement des procédures mises en place pour assumer cette démarche de consultation à l’étranger.

Ce type de consultation représente environ 10 % de l’ensemble des dossiers d’accès traités par le MAECI. La majeure partie de ces consultations est menée pour le compte des ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral. Des demandes d’accès reçues par le ministère, à peine 3 % font l’objet de consultations.

Un examen sommaire de ces consultations, au cours des exercices financiers 2008-2009 et 2009-2010, aboutit à des résultats éloquents. Ainsi, une trentaine de gouvernements étrangers font l’objet de telles consultations par le Canada. Au premier rang de ceux-ci, les États-Unis qui reçoivent la grande majorité des avis de consultation. Le délai moyen en ce qui a trait à la réception de la décision arrêtée par un gouvernement étranger a été respectivement de 83 et 151 jours, pour chacune de ces deux années. Des consultations engagées en 2008-2009, l’attente de réponses en provenance de gouvernements étrangers accusait, en juin 2010, un retard moyen de 574 jours, soit plus de 19 mois.

L’impact du processus de consultation est lourd aussi bien pour le citoyen en attente d’une réponse que pour les directions de l’accès à l’information du MAECI et des ministères et organismes de l’appareil fédéral impliqués dans ce processus. L’accumulation des délais affecte inévitablement les résultats que peut afficher le MAECI en matière d’accès à l’information.

Cinq pays ont été retenus aux fins de comparaison avec le Canada en ce qui a trait à la façon de prendre en charge les dispositions relatives aux relations internationales dans les demandes d’accès aux documents. Pareille disposition figure dans les lois d’accès des États-Unis, de l’Australie, de la Nouvelle-Zélande, du Royaume-Uni et du Mexique. Ces cinq pays partagent avec le Canada plusieurs caractéristiques constitutionnelles et administratives qui justifient cette étude comparative.

Rien dans les législations de ces 5 pays, ni au Canada, n’impose le lancement de telles consultations; il s’agit d’une notion implicite qui se dégage de l’obligation faite à chacun de ces pays d’assurer le maintient de bonnes relations diplomatiques avec les pays concernés par des demandes d’accès. Au Canada, une directive émise par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor confère au MAECI le mandat exclusif d’engager de telles consultations avec les pays étrangers au sujet des demandes d’accès dont il est le récipiendaire, tout autant que pour le compte des autres ministères et organismes. Ces consultations empruntent les canaux diplomatiques classiques et visent uniquement les ministères des Affaires étrangères des pays concernés.

De cette recherche structurée autour des démarches et procédures privilégiées par ces cinq pays de référence, on peut dégager deux pistes à explorer en vue d’alléger le problème tel que vécu depuis plusieurs années au MAECI.

(1) La première piste vise les modalités techniques de consultation. A la lumière de ce que pratiquent d’autres ministères des Affaires étrangères, les responsables des consultations au MAECI devraient, en collaboration avec leurs missions à l’étranger, repérer la meilleure porte d’entrée pour solliciter une consultation auprès d’un autre État. Est-il préférable de toujours utiliser le canal habituel du ministère des Affaires étrangères? Dans certains cas, ne serait-il pas plus efficace, de faire transiter cette demande par l’ambassade du pays en question dans la capitale fédérale? La question mérite examen lorsqu’il s’agit d’un pays qui n’a pas encore fait l’objet d’une telle démarche ou qui a été fort peu sollicité au cours des dernières années. Cette façon de faire pourrait bonifier la relation entre l’ambassade et le MAECI et même produire des dividendes inattendus.

Devant l’ampleur, d’ailleurs croissante, des consultations menées réciproquement entre Ottawa et Washington au titre de l’accès à l’information, il y aurait lieu de songer à une tentative de simplification des procédures en place. Les responsables de la direction de l’accès à l’information au State Department et au MAECI y gagneraient à engager une discussion à ce propos.

A un niveau plus élémentaire, le ministère aurait aussi tout intérêt à privilégier les procédures d’acheminement les plus rapides en ce qui a trait aux documents que ses missions devront remettre au ministère des Affaires étrangères en vue d’une consultation. Il y aurait lieu d’examiner la possibilité de faire parvenir ces documents en utilisant la valise diplomatique la plus rapide, selon chaque poste de destination.

(2) La seconde hypothèse à envisager implique une réflexion plus substantielle sur la pratique suivie depuis plus de deux décennies par le MAECI et sur les principes à la base même des consultations auprès des gouvernements étrangers.

A la lumière des informations glanées sur les pratiques suivies dans quatre des pays retenus aux fins de cette comparaison, cette interrogation se justifie. Ainsi, il y aurait lieu d’imaginer la possibilité de permettre à certains ministères ou organismes d’engager directement des consultations à l’étranger, selon des modalités à définir. Il s’agirait des ministères qui entretiennent des relations importantes et suivies avec leurs homologues étrangers, ministères ou organisations internationales, grâce à des liens et procédures bien établis.

Procéder ainsi correspondrait d’ailleurs à l’une des pistes envisagées, il y a un bon moment, par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor : « Des consultations directes auront lieu seulement s’il y a déjà en place un système de liaison et de consultation établi. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères devrait être avisé de ces canaux de consultation »Note de bas de page 1. Le Ministry of Justice, qui joue, au Royaume-Uni, un rôle analogue au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor en matière d’accès à l’information, a tout récemment souscrit au même principe.

On pourrait imaginer une procédure en deux temps. Un ministère ou un organisme devrait tout d’abord établir à l’intention du MAECI la nature et l’importance des liens entretenus avec ses homologues étrangers. Lors d’une demande d’accès, le ministère ou l’organisme devrait soumettre au MAECI la formulation de l’avis sollicité à l’étranger et la justification de la décision envisagée. Le MAECI disposerait alors de dix jours ouvrables pour transmettre à l’entité concernée ses commentaires et suggestions, voire même son refus catégorique.

Cette procédure allégerait la démarche de consultation en évitant les délais de transmission aller-retour de documents aux Affaires étrangères des deux pays concernés. Elle permettrait aussi de réduire les délais considérables qu’entraine l’actuelle façon de faire.

Cette réflexion devrait mobiliser aussi bien le MAECI que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor en raison des responsabilités que ce dernier exerce au chapitre de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Ces pistes et perspectives devraient aussi retenir l’attention de la commissaire à l’information. Elle pourrait envisager inviter ses collègues commissaires dans les autres pays à se pencher sur cette question et peut-être favoriser le cheminement vers un cadre commun en vue d’harmoniser et de simplifier les consultations à l’étranger.

Il s’agit là de pistes qui visent avant tout à permettre au citoyen d’obtenir accès aux documents sollicités dans des délais convenables, conformément aux dispositions et à l’esprit de la Loi de 1982.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (1993). Chapitre 2 – 7 (exceptions - général), Section 9 (Consultation), Ottawa, 1 décembre. 

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1