Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2017

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) has prepared this quarterly report under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal of these investigations is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal, from mediation to persuasion and litigation, as required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a culture of openness to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the OIC’s mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the OIC’s Departmental Plan 2017-2018.

1.1. Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report was prepared on an expenditure basis. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for 2017-2018. The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by federal organizations. Organizations receive annually approved expenditure limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. In light of this, this report was prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs related to the use of spending authorities.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present the annual financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Year-to-Date Results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 22.4% of its authorities for the current fiscal year 2017-2018. Because personnel expenses represent 82.2% of expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year.

This statement also indicates a decrease in the Total Available for Use of $96,000. The net decrease is mainly due to:        

  • a decrease to the employee benefit plans (EBP) rate in from 17.2% to 15.7%.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures as of June 30, 2017 decreased by an amount of $418,000 or 14.3% when compared to the expenditures reported for the same period in 2016-2017. The net decrease is mainly attributable to:

  • a decrease in personnel type expenditures related to staffing;
  • an increase in professional and other services to assist in carrying out the OIC mandate, which mainly includes temporary help services, legal services, management consulting,  and translation service requests; and
  • a decrease in acquisitions of equipment due to purchases done in 2016-2017 to accommodate more staff and improve the network.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

In recent years, the growing numbers of access requests and the resulting number of complaints has led to a large increase in the OIC inventory of complaints (over 3,000) and consequently, to an unacceptable delay in being able to assign and complete the investigations of these complaints.

Although the Information Commissioner has reallocated and reorganized resources, outsourced services, and implemented continuous business process improvements, the OIC requires supplementary funding to avoid further increases in its inventory of complaints and to investigate the complaints it receives in a timely manner. Therefore, the OIC seek the approval of Parliament through the Supplementary Estimates B for the authority to spend in 2017-2018  unspent funds from 2016-2017 and 2015-2016 to address immediate pressure across the system, allowing the Information Commissioner to carry out her mandate effectively and ensuring that the rights conferred by the ATIA are respected. 

On June 19, 2017, the Government tabled Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts. It is currently at first reading. If passed in its current form, this legislation may impact the OIC’s mandate and the number and nature of complaints.

The OIC continues to take actions to mitigate the issues arising with the implementation of the new Phoenix pay system for its employees and monitor closely any salary payments adjustments that may be required.

4. Significant changes in Operations, Personnel and Program

June 2017 marked the end of Suzanne Legault’s 7 year mandate as Information Commissioner of Canada. The Commissioner was given a further six-month mandate ending on December 29, 2017.

There were no significant changes in operations, personnel or program in the first quarter of 2017-2018.

Approved by:

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.LCPACMAMBA
Acting Assistant Commissioner and Chief Financial Officer

Gatineau, Canada
June 30, 2017

 

Statement of authorities (unaudited)

 

Fiscal year 2017–2018

Fiscal year 2016–2017

(In thousands of dollars)

Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter end

Program expenditures

9,947

2,192

2,192

9,927

2,581

2,581

Budgetary statutory authorities – Employee benefit plans

1,248

312

312

1,364

341

341

Total Authorities

11,195

2,504

2,504

11,291

2,922

2,922

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

 

Fiscal year 2017–2018

Fiscal year 2016–2017

(In thousands of dollars)

Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018

Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2017

Year to date used at quarter end

Planned expenditures for the year ending  March 31, 2017

Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016

Year to date used at quarter end

Personnel

9,196

1,993

1,993

9,292

2,539

2,539

Transportation and communications

162

21

21

148

16

16

Information

88

24

24

63

9

9

Professional and special services

1,373

392

392

1,409

203

203

Rentals

202

51

51

216

58

58

Repair and maintenance

19

2

2

19

1

1

Utilities, materials and supplies

68

6

6

61

8

8

Acquisition of machinery and equipment

87

83

88

88

Other subsidies and payments

15

15

Total Budgetary Expenditures

11,195

2,504

2,504

11,291

2,922

2,922

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2017

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

1. Introduction

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel aux termes de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce document devrait être lu de pair avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Le Commissariat mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le but de ces enquêtes est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en favorisant la communication de l’information du secteur public. La commissaire utilise la gamme d’outils, d’activités et de pouvoirs à sa disposition, depuis la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.

Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. Dans l’exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l’information et préconise une culture d’ouverture pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat, on peut consulter son plan ministériel 2017-2018.

1.1. Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé selon la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses 2017-2018. Les organismes fédéraux ne peuvent dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les organisations reçoivent, par l’entremise de lois de crédits, des limites annuelles approuvées ou, par l’entremise de lois, des pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. À la lumière de ce qui précède, ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation des états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore établies en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’état des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 22,4 % de ses autorisations disponibles pour l’année en cours 2017-2018. Étant donné que les dépenses liées au personnel représentent 82,2 % des dépenses prévues, les dépenses se répartissent uniformément sur toute l’année.

Cet état indique aussi une diminution des crédits totaux disponibles pour l’utilisation de 96 000 $. Cette diminution s’explique principalement par :

  • une diminution du taux des régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (ASE) de 17,2 % à 15,7 %.

Comme le tableau 1 l’indique, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont diminué de 418 000 $ ou de 14,3 %  au 30 juin 2017 par rapport à la même période en 2016-2017. Cette baisse s’explique principalement par:

  • la diminution des dépenses de personnel liées à la dotation;
  • l’augmentation des services professionnels et spéciaux pour aider à l’exécution du mandat du Commissariat, lesquels comprennent principalement des services d’aide temporaire, des services de conseil en gestion et des demandes de services de traduction; et
  • la diminution des acquisitions d’équipement en raison d’achats réalisés en 2016-2017 pour accueillir plus de personnel et améliorer le réseau.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Au cours des dernières années, le nombre croissant de demandes d’accès a provoqué une hausse du nombre de plaintes. Cela a entrainé une augmentation importante dans l’inventaire des plaintes au Commissariat (plus de 3 000) et, par conséquent, a causé un retard inacceptable dans l’attribution et le traitement de l’enquête sur les plaintes reçues.

Bien que la commissaire à l’information ait réaffecté et réorganisé les ressources, externalisé des services et apporté des améliorations à ses processus d’affaires continues, du financement supplémentaire est nécessaire pour éviter de nouvelles augmentations dans l’inventaire des plaintes et afin d’enquêter sur les plaintes qu’elle reçoit, en temps opportun. Par conséquent, le Commissariat demandera l’approbation parlementaire par le biais du budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) de dépenser en 2017-2018 les fonds inutilisés de 2016-2017 et 2015-2016 afin de répondre à cette pression immédiate, permettant ainsi à la commissaire de mener à bien son mandat et de veiller à ce que les droits conférés par la LAI soient respectés.

Le 19 juin 2017, le gouvernement a déposé le projet de loi C-58, une loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et d'autres lois en conséquence. Il est actuellement à la première lecture. Si la loi est adoptée dans sa forme actuelle, cette mesure législative pourrait avoir une incidence sur le mandat ainsi que le nombre et la nature des plaintes déposées au Commissariat.

Le Commissariat continue de prendre des mesures pour atténuer les problèmes liés à la mise en œuvre du nouveau système de rémunération Phénix pour ses employés et pour surveiller de près, au besoin, les rajustements au titre des salaires.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Juin 2017 a marqué la fin du mandat de sept (7) ans de Suzanne Legault au poste de commissaire à l’information du Canada. La Commissaire a été nommée pour un mandat additionnel de six (6) mois se terminant le 29 décembre 2017.

Il n’y a pas eu de changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme au cours du premier trimestre de 2017-2018.

Document approuvé par :

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.LCPACMAMBA
Commissaire adjointe par intérim et dirigeante principale des finances

Gatineau, Canada
30 juin 2017

 

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

  Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2016-2017

(en milliers de dollars)

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

 

Crédits totaux disponibles  pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Dépenses de fonctionnement

9 947

2 192

2 192

9 927

2 581

2 581

Autorisations législatives budgétaires –
Régime d’avantages sociaux

1 248

312

312

1 364

341

341

Autorisations totales

11 195

2 504

2 504

11 291

2 922

2 922

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

 

Exercice 2017-2018

Exercice 2016-2017

(en milliers de dollars)

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017

 

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

 

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017

 

Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016

 

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

 

Personnel

9 196

1 993

1 993

9 292

2 539

2 539

Transports et communications

162

21

21

148

16

16

Information

88

24

24

63

9

9

Services professionnels et spéciaux

1 373

392

392

1 409

203

203

Location

202

51

51

216

58

58

Services de réparation et d’entretien

19

2

2

19

1

1

Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements

68

6

6

61

8

8

Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage

87

83

88

88

Autres subventions et paiements

15

15

Dépenses budgétaires totales

11 195

2 504

2 504

11 291

2 922

2 922