Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) has prepared this quarterly report under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal of these investigations is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal, from mediation to persuasion and litigation, as required.
The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a culture of openness to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the OIC’s mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the OIC’s  Report on Plans and Priorities 2015-2016  and Strategic Plan.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report was prepared on an expenditure basis. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for 2015-2016. The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by federal organizations. Organizations receive annually approved expenditure limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. In light of this, this report was prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs related to the use of spending authorities.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present the annual financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Year-to-Date Results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 23% of its authorities in the second quarter of 2015–2016. Because personnel expenses represent 81% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year.
This statement also indicates an increase in the Total Available for Use of $20,000. Major factors contributing to the net increase include:

  • An increase of $30,000 due to recently signed collective agreements;
  • An increase to the employee benefit plans of $29,000;
  • A decrease of $38,000 related to the carry forward provision received in Q2 of 2015–2016; and
  • A decrease of $245 for late fees.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures decreased by an amount of $107,000 or 4% in the second quarter of 2015−2016, compared to the same period in 2014−2015. There were significant variances within elements of planned expenditures, as follows:

  • The decrease of $235,000 in Personnel expenditures is a result of less full time employees due to more vacant positions in the 2nd quarter of 2015–2016 compared to 2014–2015; and
  • The increase of $146,000 in Professional and Special Services is a result of additional litigation requiring external legal expertise and an increase in temporary help services for internal services.  

Risks and Uncertainties

A well-functioning access system is predicated on there being up-to-date legislation, sound administration and robust oversight. In the absence of this foundation, the right of access to information held by federal institutions is jeopardized.

In recent years, the OIC has constantly improved its processes. This has allowed the OIC to get sustainable results year after year despite budget constraints. However, significant and successive budget cuts have placed the OIC at the limit of its financial and organizational flexibility.

With the Budget 2012 implementation, the OIC budget has been permanently cut by $543,000 in 2014-2015 and all future years. The OIC has also been absorbing the majority of salary increases since 2012.

Access is one of the tools that make citizen engagement in government and the public policy process possible. When the system is at risk, it is more than just an inconvenience to requesters; ultimately, it is the health of Canadian democracy that is at stake.

With a Total Authority of less than $12 million in 2014–2015, the OIC fully utilized its limited resources, lapsing only $139,522. This Office has no financial flexibility to augment the investigative capacity or to set aside for contingencies. The OIC’s financial situation has a direct impact on its ability to safeguard information rights under the Access to Information Act.

Significant changes in Operations, Personnel and Program

Effective September 8, 2015, Emily McCarthy resigned as Assistant Commissioner. Layla Michaud assumed the duties of this position on an acting basis from that date.

Approved by:

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.LCPACMAMBA
Director General, Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer

Gatineau, Canada
September 30, 2015

 

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

 

Fiscal year 2015 – 2016

Fiscal year 2014 – 2015

(In thousands of dollars)

Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Note de bas de page 1 Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2015 Year-to-date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Note de bas de page 2 Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2014 Year-to-date used at quarter-end

Vote 1: Program expenditures

10,076

2,296

4,377

10,085

2,410

5,110

Budgetary statutory authorities:
Contributions to employee benefit plans

1,332

333

666

1,303

326

652

Total budgetary authorities

11,408

2,629

5,043

11,388

2,736

5,762

Total Authorities

11,408

2,629

5,043

11,388

2,736

5,762

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

 

Fiscal year 2015 – 2016

Fiscal year 2014 – 2015

(In thousands of dollars)

Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016

Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2015

Year-to-date used at quarter-end

Planned expenditures for the year ending  March 31, 2015

Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2014

Year-to-date used at quarter-end

Personnel

9,261

2,081

4,360

9,202

2,316

4,684

Transportation and communications

153

29

46

169

30

54

Information

61

23

38

111

11

30

Professional and special services

1,514

447

511

1,616

301

550

Rentals

257

37

43

129

47

100

Repair and maintenance

35

2

2

31

2

17

Utilities, materials and supplies

55

9

12

53

12

26

Acquisition of machinery and equipment

72

8

10

77

13

17

Other subsidies and payments

 (7)

21

4

284

Total Budgetary Expenditures

11,408

2,629

5,043

11,388

2,736

5,762

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Introduction

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel aux termes de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce document devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Le Commissariat mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le but de ces enquêtes est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en favorisant la communication de l’information du secteur public. La commissaire utilise la gamme d’outils, activités et pouvoirs à sa disposition, depuis la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.
Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. Dans l’exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l’information et préconise une culture d’ouverture pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat, on peut consulter son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2015-2016 et son Plan stratégique.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé selon la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses 2015-2016. Les organismes fédéraux ne peuvent dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les organisations reçoivent, par l’entremise de lois de crédits, des limites annuelles approuvées ou, par l’entremise de lois, des pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. À la lumière de ce qui précède, ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation des états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore établies en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’état des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 23 % de ses autorisations au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2015-2016. Étant donné que les dépenses liées au personnel représentent 81 % des dépenses prévues, les dépenses se répartissent uniformément sur toute l’année. Cet état indique aussi une augmentation des crédits totaux disponibles pour l’utilisation de 20 000 $. Voici les principaux facteurs liés à cette augmentation nette :

  • une augmentation de 30 000 $ en raison des conventions collectives signées récemment;
  • une augmentation des régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés de 29 000 $;
  • une augmentation de 38 000 $ des affectations concernant le report de fonds reçues au deuxième trimestre de 2015-2016; et
  • une diminution de 245 $ pour les frais de retard.

Comme le tableau 1 l’indique, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont diminuées de 107 000 $ ou 4% au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2015-2016, comparativement à la même période en 2014-2015. Il y avait des écarts importants par rapport à certains éléments des dépenses prévues comme suit :

  • une diminution de 235 000 $ dans les dépenses reliées au « Personnel » résultant du fait qu’il y avait plus de postes vacants, donc moins d’employés à temps plein durant le deuxième trimestre de 2015-2016, comparativement à 2014-2015; et
  • une augmentation des dépenses « Services professionnels et spéciaux » de 146 000 $ résultant de litiges supplémentaires nécessitant une expertise juridique externe ainsi qu’une augmentation dans les services d'aide temporaire pour les services internes.

Risques et incertitudes

Un système d’accès à l’information qui fonctionne bien est fondé sur une législation à jour, une saine administration et une surveillance rigoureuse. En l’absence de cette base, le droit d’accès à l’information des institutions fédérales est compromis.

Depuis les dernières années, le Commissariat améliore ses processus de façon constante. Ceci a permis au Commissariat d’obtenir des résultats durables année après année, malgré les contraintes budgétaires. Cependant, les importantes réductions successives ont poussé le Commissariat à la limite de sa marge de manœuvre financière.

La mise en œuvre du Budget 2012 a réduit de façon permanente le budget du Commissariat de 543 000 $ en 2014-2015 et pour toutes les années suivantes. Le Commissariat a également absorbé la majorité des augmentations salariales depuis 2012.

L’accès à l’information est l’un des outils qui rendent possible la participation des citoyens au gouvernement et au processus d’élaboration des politiques publiques. Lorsque le système d’accès est en péril, la situation ne cause pas seulement des inconvénients aux demandeurs; à la longue, elle met en jeu la santé même de la démocratie au Canada.

Avec des Autorités totales de moins de 12 millions en 2014-2015, le Commissariat a pleinement utilisé ses ressources limitées, n’ayant que 139 522 $ d’autorisations inutilisées en fin d’exercice. Le Commissariat n’a pas de marge financière pour augmenter la capacité d'enquête ou pour  mettre de côté des fonds pour les imprévus. La situation financière du Commissariat a une incidence directe sur sa capacité de protéger les droits à l’information garantis par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Le 8 septembre 2015, Emily McCarthy a démissionné de sa position de Commissaire adjointe. Layla Michaud assume les fonctions reliées au poste de façon intérimaire depuis cette date.

Document approuvé par :

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.LCPACMAMBA
Directrice générale, Services organisationnels, et dirigeante principale des finances

Gatineau, Canada
30 septembre 2015

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015

(en milliers de dollars)

Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

 

Crédits totaux disponibles  pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page 2 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programmes

10 076

2 296

4 377

10 085

2 410

5 110

Autorisations législatives budgétaires :
Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés

1 332

333

666

1 303

326

652

Autorisations budgétaires totales

11 408

2 629

5 043

11 388

2 736

5 762

Autorisations totales

11 408

2 629

5 043

11 388

2 736

5 762

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

 

Exercice 2015-2016

Exercice 2014-2015

(en milliers de dollars)

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015

 

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

 

Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015

 

Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014

 

Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

 

Personnel

9 261

2 081

4 360

9 202

2 316

4 684

Transport et communications

153

29

46

169

30

54

Information

61

23

38

111

11

30

Services professionnels et spéciaux

1 514

447

511

1 616

301

550

Location

257

37

43

129

47

100

Services de réparation et d’entretien

35

2

2

31

2

17

Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements

55

9

12

53

12

26

Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage

72

8

10

77

13

17

Autres subventions et paiements

(7)

21

4

284

Total des dépenses budgétaires

11 408

2 629

5 043

11 388

2 736

5 762

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2