Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended June 30, 2015

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) has prepared this quarterly report under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal of these investigations is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal, from mediation to persuasion and litigation, as required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a culture of openness to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the OIC’s mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the OIC’s Report on Plans and Priorities 2015–2016 and Strategic Plan.

1.1. Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report was prepared on an expenditure basis. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for 2015–2016. The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by federal organizations. Organizations receive annually approved expenditure limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. In light of this, this report was prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs related to the use of spending authorities.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present the annual financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Year-to-Date Results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 22% of its authorities in the first quarter of 2015–2016. Because personnel expenses represent 83% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year. This statement also indicates an increase in the Total Available for Use of $58,000. Major factors contributing to the net increase include:

  • An increase of $30,000 due to recently signed collective agreements;
  • An increase to the employee benefit plans of $29,000; and
  • A decrease of $245 for late fees.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures decreased by an amount of $612,000 or 26% in the first quarter of 2015–2016, compared to the same period in 2014–2015. There were significant variances within elements of planned expenditures, as follows:

  • The decrease of $89,000 in Personnel expenditures is a result of payments in the 1st quarter of 2014–2015 for Retroactive Salaries that did not occur in the 1st quarter of 2015–2016;
  • The decrease of $185,000 in Professional and Special Services is mainly due to fewer legal fees, less temporary help services and lower Corporate Services –related costs; 
  • The decrease in Rentals of $47,000 is a result of the timing of the rental charges paid to Public Works and Government Services and of the software maintenance charges; and
  • The decrease of $252,000 for Other Subsidies and Payments is due to a one-time transition payment for implementing salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

A well-functioning access system is predicated on there being up-to-date legislation, sound administration and robust oversight. In the absence of this foundation, right to access federal institution information is jeopardized.

In recent years, the OIC has constantly improved its processes. This has allowed the OIC to get better results from year to year despite budget constraints. However, significant and successive budget cuts have placed the OIC at the limit of its financial and organizational flexibility.

With a Total Authority of less than $12 million in 2014–2015, the OIC fully utilized its limited resources, lapsing only $139,522. This Office has no financial flexibility to augment the investigative capacity or to set aside for contingencies. The OIC's financial situation has a direct impact on its ability to safeguard information rights under the Access to Information Act.

4. Significant changes in Operations, Personnel and Program

There were no significant changes in operations, personnel or program in the first quarter of 2015–2016.

5. Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government and programs: make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

With the Budget 2012 implementation, the OIC budget has been permanently cut by $543,000 in 2014–2015 and all future years. This will impact the OIC’s ability to carry out its mandate and progress toward its long-term vision.

Access is one of the tools that make citizen engagement in government and the public policy process possible. When the system is at risk, it is more than just an inconvenience to requesters; ultimately, it is the health of Canadian democracy that is at stake.

Approved by:

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.LCPACMAMBA
Director General, Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer

Gatineau, Canada
June 30, 2015

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

  Fiscal year 2015–2016 Fiscal year 2014–2015
(In thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016*

Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015

Year-to-date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015*

Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014

Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Vote 1: Program expenditures 9,927 2,081 2,081 9,898 2,700 2,700
Budgetary statutory authorities:
Contributions to employee benefit plans
1,332 333 333 1,303 326 326
Total budgetary authorities 11,259 2,414 2,414 11,201 3,026 3,026
Total Authorities 11,259 2,414 2,414 11,201 3,026 3,026

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

  Fiscal year 2015–2016 Fiscal year 2014–2015
(In thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016

Expended
during the
quarter ended June 30, 2015

Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015

Expended
during the
quarter ended June 30, 2014

Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Personnel 9,261 2,279 2,279 9,202 2,368 2,368
Transportation and communications 153 17 17 169 24 24
Information 61 15 15 111 19 19
Professional and special services 1,365 64 64 1,429 249 249
Rentals 257 6 6 129 53 53
Repair and maintenance 35 31 15 15
Utilities, materials and supplies 55 3 3 53 14 14
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 72 2 2 77 4 4
Other subsidies and payments 28 28 280 280
Total Budgetary Expenditures 11,259 2,414 2,414 11,201 3,026 3,026

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2015

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

1. Introduction

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel aux termes de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce document devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Le Commissariat mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le but de ces enquêtes est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en favorisant la communication de l’information du secteur public. La commissaire utilise la gamme d’outils, activités et pouvoirs à sa disposition, depuis la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.

Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. Dans l’exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l’information et préconise une culture d’ouverture pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat, on peut consulter son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2015-2016 et son Plan stratégique.

1.1. Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé selon la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses 2015-2016. Les organismes fédéraux ne peuvent dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les organisations reçoivent, par l’entremise de lois de crédits, des limites annuelles approuvées ou, par l’entremise de lois, des pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. À la lumière de ce qui précède, ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation des états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore établies en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’état des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 22 % de ses autorisations au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016. Étant donné que les dépenses liées au personnel représentent 83 % des dépenses prévues, les dépenses se répartissent uniformément sur toute l’année. Cet état indique aussi une augmentation des crédits totaux disponibles pour l'utilisation de 58 000 $. Voici les principaux facteurs liés à cette augmentation nette :

  • une augmentation de 30 000 $ en raison des conventions collectives signées récemment;
  • une augmentation des régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés de 29 000 $;
  • une diminution de 245 $ pour les frais de retard.

Comme le tableau 1 l’indique, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont diminuées de 612 000 $ ou 26% au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016, comparativement à la même période en 2014-2015. Il y avait des écarts importants par rapport à certains éléments des dépenses prévues comme suit :

  • une diminution de 89 000 $ dans les dépenses reliées au « Personnel » résultant du paiement des salaires rétroactifs durant le premier trimestre de 2014-2015 qui n'a pas eu lieu dans le premier trimestre de 2015-2016;
  • une diminution des dépenses « Services professionnels et spéciaux » de 185 000 $ attribuable principalement à une diminution des frais légaux, des services d’aide temporaires et des frais reliés aux Services organisationnels;
  • une diminution des dépenses « Location » de 47 000 $ résultant de la synchronisation des dépenses de location payées à Travaux publics et services gouvernementaux Canada ainsi que des dépenses liées au maintien des logiciels; et
  • une diminution de 252 000 $ sous « Autres subventions et paiements » attribuable à un paiement de transition unique dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du régime de paye en arrérages par le Gouvernement du Canada.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Un système d’accès à l’information qui fonctionne bien est fondé sur une législation à jour, une saine administration et une surveillance rigoureuse. En l’absence de cette base, le droit d’accès à l’information des institutions fédérales est compromis.

Depuis les dernières années, le Commissariat améliore ses processus de façon constante. Ceci a permis au Commissariat d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats d’année en année malgré les contraintes budgétaires. Cependant, les importantes réductions successives ont poussé le Commissariat à la limite de sa marge de manœuvre financière.

Avec des Autorités totales de moins de 12 millions en 2014-2015, le Commissariat a pleinement utilisé ses ressources limitées, n’ayant que 139 522 $ d’autorisations inutilisées en fin d’exercice. Le Commissariat n’a pas de marge financière pour augmenter la capacité d'enquête ou pour  mettre de côté des fonds pour les imprévus. La situation financière du Commissariat a une incidence directe sur sa capacité de protéger les droits à l'information garantis par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Il n’y a pas eu de changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016.

5. Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

La mise en œuvre du Budget 2012 a réduit de façon permanente le budget du Commissariat de 543 000 $ en 2014-2015 et pour toutes les années suivantes. Cette situation aura une incidence sur la capacité du Commissariat d’exécuter son mandat et de travailler à la réalisation de sa vision à long terme.

L’accès à l’information est l’un des outils qui rendent possible la participation des citoyens au gouvernement et au processus d’élaboration des politiques publiques. Lorsque le système d’accès est en péril, la situation ne cause pas seulement des inconvénients aux demandeurs; à la longue, elle met en jeu la santé même de la démocratie au Canada.

Document approuvé par :

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.LCPACMAMBA
Directrice générale, Services organisationnels, et dirigeante principale des finances

Gatineau, Canada
30 juin 2015

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programmes 9 927 2 081 2 081 9 898 2 700 2 700
Autorisations législatives budgétaires :
Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés
1 332 333 333 1 303 326 326
Autorisations budgétaires totales 11 259 2 414 2 414 11 201 3 026 3 026
Autorisations totales 11 259 2 414 2 414 11 201 3 026 3 026

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

  Exercice 2015-2016 Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 9 261 2 279 2 279 9 202 2 368 2 368
Transport et communications 153 17 17 169 24 24
Information 61 15 15 111 19 19
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 365 64 64 1 429 249 249
Location 257 6 6 129 53 53
Services de réparation et d’entretien 35 31 15 15
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 55 3 3 53 14 14
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 72 2 2 77 4 4
Autres subventions et paiements 28 28 280 280
Total des dépenses budgétaires 11 259 2 414 2 414 11 201 3 026 3 026