Quarterly Financial Report
For the quarter ended December 31, 2014

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) prepared this quarterly report under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal of these investigations is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal, from mediation to persuasion and litigation, as required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a culture of openness to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the OIC’s mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the OIC’s  Report on Plans and Priorities 2014-2015  and Strategic Plan.

1.1 Basis of presentation

This quarterly report was prepared on an expenditure basis. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for 2014-2015. The authority of Parliament is required before money can be spent by federal organizations. Organizations receive annually approved expenditure limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. In light of this, this report was prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs related to the use of spending authorities.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present the annual financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and year-to-date results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 24% of its authorities in the third quarter of 2014-2015. Because personnel expenses represent 81% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year. This statement also indicates a decrease in the Total Available for Use of $3.0 million. Major factors contributing to the net decrease include:

  • A decrease of $2.8 million due to the onetime $2.6 million loan received in 2013-2014 for the OIC office relocation and the associated 2014-2015 $0.2 million loan repayment reimbursed over a period of 15 years;
  • A decrease of $0.3 million due to the sunsetting of the five year IT/IM Strategy;
  • A decrease of $0.2 million as part of the Budget 2012 Spending Review (DRAP);
  • A decrease of $0.1 million due to the transfer to Public Works and Government Services Real Property related to year to year change related to resources associated with accommodation efficiencies; and
  • An increase in salary of $0.1 million due to recently signed collective agreements; and
  • An increase of $0.3 million related to reimbursement of the paylist expenditures and the carry forward from 2013-2014.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures decreased by an amount of $543,000 or 16.6% in the third quarter of 2014-2015, compared to the same period in 2013-2014. The explanation of changes is as follows:

  • The decrease of $296,000 in Professional and special services is a result of less temporary help services, less legal fees and less translation expenses paid in the third quarter of 2014-2015;
  • The decrease of $137,000 in Personnel expenditures is primarily due to more vacant positions and less severance benefits paid; and
  • The decrease of $110,000 in 2014-2015 for Acquisition of machinery and equipment is a result of payments made in the 2013-2014 OIC office relocation.

3. Risks and uncertainties

A well-functioning access system is predicated on there being up-to-date legislation, sound administration and robust oversight. In the absence of this foundation, right to access federal institution information is jeopardized.

In recent years, the OIC has constantly improved its processes. This allowed the OIC to get better results from year to year despite budget constraints. However, the significant and successive budget cuts have placed the OIC at the limit of its financial and organizational flexibility. The lapse for 2013-2014 was less than $38,000, which is approximately 0.1% of OIC’s authorities. In 2013-2014, it would have been extremely difficult for the OIC to bring one more case before the courts without risking overriding the authorities.

Paired with the OIC receiving more complaints from year to year, these combined factors have a direct impact on the OIC’s ability to safeguard information rights under the Access to Information Act.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and program

There were no significant changes in operations, personnel or program in the third quarter of 2014-2015.

5. Budget 2012 implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government and programs: make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

With the Budget 2012 implementation, the OIC budget has been permanently cut by $543,000 in 2014-2015. This will impact the OIC’s ability to carry out its mandate and progress toward its long-term vision.

Access is one of the tools that make citizen engagement in government and the public policy process possible. When the system is at risk, it is more than just an inconvenience to requesters; ultimately, it is the health of Canadian democracy that is at stake.

Approved by:

Original signed by:

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.L, CPA, CMA, MBA
Director General, Corporate Services and
Chief Financial Officer

Gatineau, Canada
December 31, 2014

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

  Fiscal year 2014-2015 Fiscal year 2013-2014
(In thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2015*

Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2014

Year-to-date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2014*

Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2013

Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Vote 40: Program expenditures 10,251 2,410 7,520 13,171 2,938 7,637
Budgetary statutory authorities:
Contributions to employee benefit plans
1,303 325 977 1,359 340 1,019
Total budgetary authorities 11,554 2,735 8,497 14,530 3,278 8,656
Total Authorities 11,554 2,735 8,497 14,530 3,278 8,656

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

  Fiscal year 2014-2015 Fiscal year 2013-2014
(In thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2015
Expended
during the
quarter ended
December 31, 2014

 

Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Planned expenditures for the year ending 
March 31, 2014
Expended
during the
quarter ended
December 31, 2013
Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Personnel 9,368 2,289 6,973 9,168 2,426 6,930
Transportation and communications 169 30 84 169 43 104
Information 111 8 38 125 32 74
Professional and special services 1,616 305 855 2,182 601 1,265
Rentals 129 34 134 205 22 87
Repair and maintenance 31 27 44 78 3 25
Utilities, materials and supplies 53 14 40 38 13 31
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 77 28 45 2,565 138 140
Other subsidies and payments 284
Total Budgetary Expenditures 11,554 2,735 8,497 14,530 3,278 8,656

Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2014

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

1. Introduction

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel aux termes de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce document devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Le Commissariat mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le but de ces enquêtes est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en favorisant la communication de l’information du secteur public. La commissaire utilise la gamme d’outils, activités et pouvoirs à sa disposition, depuis la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin.

Le Commissariat appuie également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. Dans l’exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l’information et préconise une culture d’ouverture pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat, on peut consulter son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2014-2015 et son Plan stratégique.

1. 1 Méthode de présentation

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé selon la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses 2014-2015. Les organismes fédéraux ne peuvent dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les organisations reçoivent, par l’entremise de lois de crédits, des limites annuelles approuvées ou, par l’entremise de lois, des pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. À la lumière de ce qui précède, ce rapport a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation des états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore établies en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’état des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 24 % de ses autorisations au cours du troisième trimestre de 2014-2015. Étant donné que les dépenses liées au personnel représentent 81 % des dépenses prévues, les dépenses se répartissent uniformément sur toute l’année. Cet état indique aussi une diminution de 3,0 millions de dollars des crédits totaux disponibles pour utilisation. Voici les principaux facteurs liés à cette diminution nette :

  • une diminution de 2,8 millions de dollars attribuable à un prêt unique de 2,6 millions de dollars pour le financement de la réinstallation du Commissariat reçu en 2013-2014, ainsi que la somme de 0,2 million de dollars pour le remboursement des frais en 2014-2015. Le montant total sera remboursé sur une période de 15 ans;
  • une diminution de 0,3 million de dollars attribuable à l’achèvement  de la stratégie quinquennale de GI/TI;
  • une diminution de 0,2 million de dollars à la suite de  l’examen des dépenses du Budget 2012 (PARD);
  • une diminution de 0,1 million de dollars attribuable au transfert de fonds au Service des biens immobiliers de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux concernant les changements, d’une année à l’autre, des ressources liées aux gains d’efficience sur le plan de l’espace;
  • une augmentation des salaires de 0,1 million de dollars en vertu des conventions collectives signées récemment; et
  • une augmentation de 0,3 million de dollars suite à la réception du report de fonds de 2013-2014 et du remboursement des dépenses admissibles.

Comme le tableau 1 l’indique, les dépenses budgétaires totales du Commissariat ont diminué de 543 000 $ ou 16,6 % au cours du troisième trimestre de 2014-2015, comparativement à la même période en 2013-2014. Voici les explications des changements :

  • Une diminution de 296 000 $ des dépenses liées aux services professionnels et spéciaux causée par une diminution des frais pour l’aide temporaire, pour les frais légaux et pour les dépenses de traduction payés au troisième trimestre de 2014-2015;
  • Une diminution de 137 000 $ des dépenses du personnel principalement attribuable à une augmentation des postes vacants et une diminution des indemnités de départ payées; et
  • Une diminution de 110 000 $ dans les dépenses d’acquisition de matériel et d’outillage en 2014-2015 causée par le déménagement des locaux en 2013-2014.  

3. Risques et incertitudes

Un système d’accès à l’information qui fonctionne bien est fondé sur une législation à jour, une saine administration et une surveillance rigoureuse. En l’absence de cette base, le droit d’accès à l’information des institutions fédérales est compromis.

Depuis les dernières années, le Commissariat améliore ses processus de façon constante. Ceci a permis au Commissariat d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats d’année en année malgré les contraintes budgétaires. Cependant, les importantes réductions successives ont poussé le Commissariat à la limite de sa marge de manœuvre financière. Les autorisations inutilisées pour 2013-2014 étaient inférieures à 38 000 $, ce qui représente moins de 0,1 % des autorisations du Commissariat. En 2013-2014, il aurait donc été extrêmement difficile pour le Commissariat d’amener un dossier de plus devant les tribunaux sans risquer d’outrepasser les approbations.

Jumelés au nombre accru de plaintes reçues d’années en année, ces facteurs combinés ont des conséquences directes sur la capacité du Commissariat de protéger les droits d’information garantis par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme

Il n’y a pas eu de changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et au programme au cours du troisième trimestre de 2014-2015.

5. Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

La mise en œuvre du Budget 2012 a réduit de façon permanente le budget du Commissariat de 543 000 $ en 2014-2015. Cette situation aura une incidence sur la capacité du Commissariat d’exécuter son mandat et de travailler à la réalisation de sa vision à long terme.

L’accès à l’information est l’un des outils qui rendent possible la participation des citoyens au gouvernement et au processus d’élaboration des politiques publiques. Lorsque le système d’accès est en péril, la situation ne cause pas seulement des inconvénients aux demandeurs; à la longue, elle met en jeu la santé même de la démocratie au Canada.

Document approuvé par :

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Layla Michaud, LL.L, CPA, CMA, MBA
Directrice générale, Services organisationnels et
dirigeante principale des finances

Gatineau, Canada
31 décembre 2014

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

  Exercice 2014-2015 Exercice 2013-2014
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le  31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Crédits    utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le
31 décembre  2013
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 – Dépenses de programmes 10 251 2 410 7 520 13 171 2 938 7 637
Autorisations législatives budgétaires :
Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés
1 303 325 977 1 359 340 1 019
Autorisations budgétaires totales 11 554 2 735 8 497 14 530 3 278 8 656
Autorisations totales 11 554 2 735 8 497 14 530 3 278 8 656

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

  Exercice 2014-2015 Exercice 2013-2014
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre
2014
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre
2013
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 9 368 2 289 6 973 9 168 2 426 6 930
Transport et communications 169 30 84 169 43 104
Information 111 8 38 125 32 74
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 616 305 855 2 182 601 1 265
Location 129 34 134 205 22 87
Services de réparation et d’entretien 31 27 44 78 3 25
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 53 14 40 38 13 31
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 77 28 45 2 565 138 140
Autres subventions et paiements 284
Total des dépenses budgétaires 11 554 2 735 8 497 14 530 3 278 8 656