Introduction

Canada’s access to information law—the Access to Information Act— came into force in 1983.Footnote 1 The Act provides Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and individuals and corporations who are present in Canada with the right to access government information, subject to certain limitations. The Information Commissioner, with the support of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about institutions’ handling of access to information requests. As such, the Information Commissioner brings a unique perspective and expertise on the operation of the Act.

The right of access has quasi-constitutional status in Canada.Footnote 2 The Supreme Court of Canada has also held that the overarching purpose of access legislation is to facilitate democracy by helping ensure that citizens have the information they need to participate meaningfully in the democratic process and that politicians and bureaucrats remain accountable to the citizenry.Footnote 3

The right of access also derives from section 2(b) of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (the right of free expression), where access to government information is a necessary precondition of meaningful expression on the functioning of government.Footnote 4

The Access to Information Act marked its 30th anniversary in 2013. Over the Act’s three decades of existence, technology, the administration of government and Canadian society have been transformed in many regards. And yet, despite these changes, the Act remains largely in its original form.

When the Act became law, information was mostly paper-based. Now, virtually all information is in electronic or digital form. The sheer volume of electronic data and the speed and methods of transmission have challenged government’s ability to collect, store, manage and share information with the public.

Moreover, the administration of government has undergone a fundamental shift since the early 1980s. Now, partnerships with, and outsourcing to, the private sector have become increasingly common ways for government to deliver services to the public.  As well, policy development and decision-making increasingly takes place in ministers’ offices, which are not covered by the Act. As a result, accessing records necessary to hold government to account has become more complex, or, in some cases, impossible.

Lastly, many governments, including Canada’s, have joined the international Open Government Partnership in response to an increasing desire on the part of the public for more transparency and accountability from government.Footnote 5 A key component of an effective and open government is a modern access to information law that maximizes timely disclosure of government information in electronic, non-static formats. This influx of information to the public increases accountability and facilitates collaboration between government and the citizenry about how best to deliver programs and services.

In light of these developments, the Commissioner recommends modernizing the Access to Information Act by:

  • extending coverage to all branches of government;
  • improving procedures for making access requests;
  • setting tighter timelines;
  • maximizing disclosure;
  • strengthening oversight;
  • disclosing more information proactively;
  • adding consequences for non-compliance; and
  • ensuring periodic review of the Act.

The Commissioner relied on a variety of sources when developing the recommendations in this report. Key sources are listed at the end of this report. (Other sources are cited in the footnotes.) Generally, the Commissioner focussed on access to information laws of other jurisdictions, model laws and guides, Canadian reports on access reform, government and private members’ bills, policy instruments, assessment tools from civil society, consultations with the public and previous reform proposals from information

Footnotes

Footnote 1

RSC, 1985, c A-1.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Canada (Information Commissioner) v Canada (Minister of National Defence), 2011 SCC 25 at para. 40.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Dagg v Canada Minister of Finance, [1997] 2 SCR 403 at para. 61.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

See Ontario (Public Safety and Security) v Criminal Lawyers’ Association, 2010 SCC 23 at para. 30.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Open Government Partnership

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Introduction

La loi canadienne en matière d’accès à l’information, plus connue sous le nom de Loi sur l’accès à l’information est entrée en vigueur en 1983Note de bas de page 1. La Loi donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et à toute personne physique ou morale présente au Canada, le droit d’accès aux documents qui relèvent des institutions fédérales, sous réserve de certaines limitations. La commissaire à l’information, appuyée par le Commissariat à l’information du Canada, enquête de manière efficace, équitable et confidentielle sur les plaintes déposées contre les institutions concernant leur façon de traiter les demandes d’accès à l’information. À ce titre, la commissaire à l’information apporte un point de vue unique et son expertise à l’application de la Loi.

Le droit d’accès possède un statut quasi constitutionnel au CanadaNote de bas de page 2. La Cour suprême du Canada a par ailleurs conclu que l’objet général de la loi en matière d’accès à l’information consiste à favoriser la démocratie en garantissant que les citoyens possèdent l’information nécessaire pour participer utilement au processus démocratique et que les politiciens et les bureaucrates demeurent responsables envers l’ensemble de la populationNote de bas de page 3.

Le droit d’accès à l’information dérive également de l’alinéa 2(b) de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés (liberté d’expression), qui stipule que l’accès à l’information gouvernementale est indispensable pour que la population puisse offrir des opinions utiles au sujet des affaires gouvernementalesNote de bas de page 4.

En 2013, on a célébré le 30e anniversaire de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Au cours des trois décennies d’existence de la Loi, la technologie, l’administration du gouvernement et la société canadienne se sont transformées à bien des égards. Pourtant, malgré ces changements, la Loi n’a pratiquement pas été modifiée.

Lorsque la Loi a été promulguée, l’information se trouvait principalement sur support papier. De nos jours, pratiquement tous les documents se trouvent sous forme électronique ou numérique. L’énorme volume de données électroniques, de même que la vitesse et les méthodes de transmission, se sont avérés un défi par rapport à la capacité du gouvernement à recueillir, à conserver, à gérer et à diffuser l’information au public.

De plus, l’administration du gouvernement a connu une transformation radicale depuis le début des années 1980. Actuellement, le gouvernement a de plus en plus recours à la création de partenariats, et à la sous-traitance, avec le secteur privé pour fournir des services au public. De surcroît, l’élaboration de politiques et la prise de décisions s’effectuent de plus en plus au sein des cabinets ministériels, qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi. En conséquence, il devient de plus en plus difficile, voire impossible, d’accéder aux documents nécessaires pour demander des comptes au gouvernement.

Enfin, un grand nombre de gouvernements, dont celui du Canada, se sont joints au mouvement international du Partenariat pour un gouvernement ouvert en réponse au désir grandissant du public d’avoir un gouvernement plus transparent et responsableNote de bas de page 5. L’un des éléments clés caractérisant un gouvernement ouvert et efficace est une législation moderne en matière d’accès à l’information qui ouvre la voie à la divulgation en temps opportun de l’information du gouvernement sous forme électronique et non statique. Cet afflux de renseignements destinés au public incite à une meilleure responsabilisation et facilite la collaboration entre le gouvernement et la population en ce qui a trait à la façon la plus efficace d’offrir des programmes et des services au public.

Compte tenu de cette évolution, la commissaire recommande la modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en effectuant les actions suivantes :

  • élargir son champ d’application à tous les organes de gouvernement;
  • améliorer les procédures de soumission de demandes d’accès;
  • fixer des délais plus serrés;
  • encourager une divulgation maximale;
  • renforcer la surveillance;
  • encourager une divulgation plus proactive de l’information;
  • ajouter des conséquences en cas de non-conformité;
  • assurer l’examen périodique de la Loi.

La commissaire a consulté un grand nombre de sources dans le cadre de l’élaboration des recommandations présentées dans ce rapport. Les sources principales sont répertoriées à la fin de ce rapport. (Les autres sources sont citées dans les notes de bas de page.) La commissaire a principalement porté son attention sur les lois d’accès à l’information d’autres juridictions, les lois types et les guides, les rapports canadiens sur la réforme de l’accès à l’information, les projets de loi émanant des députés et du gouvernement, les instruments de politique, les outils d’évaluation de la société civile, les consultations publiques et les propositions de réformes précédentes faites par les commissaires à l’information.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

L.R.C., 1985, ch. A 1

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1

Notes de bas de page 2

Canada (Commissaire à l’information) c Canada (Ministre de la Défense nationale), 2011 CSC  25 au para 40.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 2

Notes de bas de page 3

Dagg c Canada (Ministre des Finances), [1997] 2 RCS 403 au para 61.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 3

Notes de bas de page 4

Voir Ontario (Sûreté et Sécurité publique) c Criminal Lawyers’ Association, 2010 CSC 23 au para 30.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 4

Notes de bas de page 5

Partenariat pour un gouvernement transparent.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 5