Annex: Sources

Access to information laws of other jurisdictions

Comparing elements of the Actto aspects of the laws found elsewhere highlighted what has become standard in the legislation in Commonwealth jurisdictions (such as the Canadian provinces, as well as the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand), in other democracies (such as the United States, Mexico and India) and also in those countries whose access laws have been singled out as being particularly strong. These include the 10 laws that received the highest scores on the Global Right to Information Rating (discussed below).Footnote 1

Model laws and guides

Model laws and guides on access to information reflect the highest standards and best practices for access to information legislation. They also provide a framework for enacting or amending legislation. The following were particularly considered:

  • Model Inter-American Law on Access to Public Information: Drafted by the Organization of American States (of which Canada is a member), in consultation with high-level public officials, experts, academics, and private sector and civil society representatives, this model law provides for the broadest possible right of access to public information among member countries. The law received 142 out of a possible 150 points on the Global Right to Information Rating—the highest score to date.Footnote 2

  • Open Government Guide: The Transparency and Accountability Initiative, with the support of the Open Government Partnership (OGP), developed this guide to help governments develop the action plans required as part of their membership in the OGP. The guide includes a chapter on the right to information.Footnote 3

  • The Global Principles on National Security and the Right to Information (Tshwane Principles): Published in 2013, these principles are the most current guidelines on how to balance access to information with other interests. They are intended for those engaged in drafting, revising, or implementing laws or provisions relating to the state’s authority to withhold information on national security grounds. However, the general principles are relevant for all aspects of an access law. The principles are based on international and national law, standards, good practices and expert opinions. They were drafted by representatives from 22 organizations and academic centres, in consultation with more than 500 experts from more than 70 countries.Footnote 4

  • A Model Freedom of Information Law: This model law, developed by the civil society group named Article 19 sets out standards for national and international freedom of information legislation, based on international and regional laws and norms, evolving state practice (as reflected in national laws and the judgments of national courts) and the general principles of law recognized by the community of nations. The United Nations and the Organization of American States have both endorsed this model law.Footnote 5

High-level Canadian reports on access reform

Canadian parliamentary committees, a special task force and the Department of Justice Canada have all studied the Act with a view to reform. The following were among the reports whose analysis and recommendations the Commissioner considered in the drafting of her report:

  • Open and Shut: Enhancing the Right to Know and the Right to Privacy: Section 75(2) of the Actrequired a parliamentary committee to conduct a comprehensive review of the provisions and operations of the Act no later than July 1, 1986 (three years after the Act came into force). Published in 1987,the report of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor General concluded that the Act had “major shortcomings and weaknesses.”Footnote 6

  • Access to Information: Making it Work for Canadians: In 2002, the Access to Information Review Task Force, composed of public servants and advised by two advisory committees,Footnote 7 was mandated with reviewing the Act. The task force also assessed the appropriateness and adequacy of the legislation, regulations and policies that related to the Act, and examined how they were being interpreted and applied within the federal government. The resulting report contained nearly 140 recommendations to improve access to information at the federal level.Footnote 8

Government and private members’ bills

The Acthas not been comprehensively amended since it was enacted, although Parliament has passed a number of piecemeal amendments.Footnote 9 In addition, some private members’ bills have unsuccessfully tried to reform or otherwise change the Act.Footnote 10The Commissioner considered this legislative activity when formulating her recommendations.

Policy instruments from the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

The President of the Treasury Board is the designated minister responsible for administering the Access to Information Act. In this capacity, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat has published a number of policy instruments, best practices, manuals, guidelines and tools to support the administration of the Act. It also collects and publishes statistics each year on individual institutions’ access to information operations. The Commissioner took these and the various policies and related guidance into consideration when formulating her recommendations.

Rating tool

The Global Right to Information Rating was particularly useful in drafting this report. This is a tool for assessing the overall strength of a country’s access to information law. The rating indicates the strengths and weaknesses of laws in seven categories: right of access, scope, requesting procedures, exceptions and refusals, appeals, sanctions and protections, and promotional measures. The tool was launched in 2011 and updated in 2013 by Access Info Europe (Spain) and the Centre for Law and Democracy (Canada), two civil society organizations with expertise on access to information.Footnote 11

Consultations

During a four-month consultation starting in Fall 2012, the Commissioner asked the public for advice and input on a broad range of issues related to the Act. Her questions encompassed all aspects of the current access to information regime, such as the coverage of the Act, exemptions and exclusions, and the powers of the Information Commissioner.Footnote 12

In response, the Commissioner received submissions from 44 groups and individuals—including two petitions totalling more than 2,300 signatures—representing a broad spectrum of opinions, both from Canada and internationally. This report draws on those submissions, a summary of which may be found on the Commissioner’s website.Footnote 13

Commissioner’s reform proposals

This report took into account a number of reform proposals and supporting materials prepared by previous information commissioners. These include Commissioner John Reid’s 2006 draft bill, entitled the Open Government Act, and 2009 reform proposals by Commissioner Robert Marleau.Footnote 14

In addition, the commissioners’ annual and special reports to Parliament, as well as investigation findings, advisory notices and joint resolutions with provincial and territorial commissioners have all informed the recommendations in this report.Footnote 15

Footnotes

Footnote 1

These are the laws of Serbia, India, Slovenia, Liberia, El Salvador, Sierra Leone, Mexico, Antigua, Azerbaijan and Ukraine.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Organization of American States. Model Inter-American Law on Access to Public Information and its Implementation Guidelines. 2012. 

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Open Government Guide. Welcome to the Open Gov Guide. 2013. The chapter on right to information can be found here

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Open Society Foundations, The Global Principles on National Security and the Right to Information (Tshwane Principles). 2013. 

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Article 19. A Model Freedom of Information Law. 2006. United Nations, Report of the Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection
of the right to freedom of opinion and expression, Mr. Abid Hussain
. 2000. Organization of American States, “Report of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights to the OAS.” 1999 (Vol. III).

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Canada, Parliament, House of Commons, Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor General, Open and Shut: Enhancing the Right to Know and the Right to Privacy, 2nd Sess, 33rd Parl, No 9 (March 1987) (Chair: Blaine A. Thacker), p. xiii.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

One made up of individuals outside of government and the other of senior government officials.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

Canada, Access to Information Task Force, Access to Information: Making it Work for Canadians (Ottawa: Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2002).

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Notable among these amendments are An Act to Amend the Access to Information Act, SC 1999, c 16, which made it an offence to obstruct the right of access; the Anti-Terrorism Act, SC 2001, c 41, which added section 69.1 to the Access to Information Act, whereby records could be excluded from the Act upon the issuance of a certificate by the Attorney General; and the Federal Accountability Act, SC 2006, c 9, which codified the duty to assist requesters and increased the number of institutions covered by the Act, while at the same time adding institution-specific exemptions and exclusions.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

For example, Bill C-201, Open Government Act, 1st Sess, 38th Parl; Bill C-556, An Act to Amend the Access to Information Act (Improved Access), 2nd Sess, 39th Parl, 2008; Bill C-554, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act (Open Government Act), 2nd Sess, 39th Parl, 2008;Bill C-461, an Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act (Disclosure of Information), 2nd Sess, 41st Parl, 2013; Bill C-567, An Act to Amend the Access to Information Act (Transparency and Duty to Document), 2nd Sess, 41st Parl, 2014; Bill C-613, An Act to amend the Parliament of Canada Act and the Access to Information Act (transparency), 2nd Sess, 41st Parl, 2014.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

Access Info Europe and Centre for Law and Democracy. Global Right to Information Rating. 2013. The rating scheme only measures quality of the legal framework and not the implementation of that framework.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Footnote 12

Office of the Information Commissioner. How to get involved. 2012. 

Return to footnote 12 referrer

Footnote 13

Office of the Information Commissioner. Summary of submissions. September 2013. 

Return to footnote 13 referrer

Footnote 14

Office of the Information Commissioner. Open Government Act. October 25, 2005.; Office of the Information Commissioner. Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today's Imperatives. March 9, 2009. 

Return to footnote 14 referrer

Footnote 15

See, for example, the 2013 joint resolution of all of Canada’s information and privacy commissioners and ombudspersons: Office of the Information Commissioner. Modernizing access and privacy laws for the 21st century. 2013. 

Return to footnote 15 referrer

Annexe : Sources

Lois en matière d'accès à l'information d'autres administrations

La mise en parallèle des éléments de la Loi avec les aspects des lois d'autres administrations a fait ressortir ce qui est maintenant la norme non seulement dans la législation des juridictions du Commonwealth (les provinces canadiennes ainsi que le Royaume-Uni, l'Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande), dans d’autres démocraties (telles que les États-Unis, le Mexique et l’Inde) et également dans les pays dont la loi sur l'accès à l'information s'est distinguée par sa force particulière. Cette étude comparative portait sur les dix lois qui ont obtenu le meilleur pointage à l'évaluation « Global Right to Information RatingNote de bas de page 1 ».

Lois types et guides

Les lois types et les guides sur l’accès à l’information reflètent le plus haut niveau et les meilleures pratiques pour la législation sur l’accès à l’information. Ils fournissent un cadre pour la promulgation ou la modification des lois en matière d'accès à l'information. Les documents qui suivent ont été consultés :

  • Loi-type interaméricaine relative à l’accès à l’information : Élaborée par l'Organisation des États américains (dont fait partie le Canada), en consultation avec des hauts fonctionnaires, des spécialistes ainsi que des représentants du milieu universitaire, du secteur privé et de la société civile, cette loi type établit l'application la plus large possible du droit d’accès à l’information parmi les pays membres. La loi s'est vue attribuer 142 points sur 150 par la « Global Right to Information Rating» (voir la discussion ci-dessous), soit la note la plus élevée ayant été obtenue jusqu'à présentNote de bas de page 2.
  • « Open Government Guide » : La « Transparency and Accountability Initiative », avec le soutien du Partenariat pour un gouvernement ouvert, a élaboré ce guide pour aider les gouvernements à préparer les plans d'action requis dans le cadre de leur adhésion au Partenariat. Ce guide contient un chapitre sur le droit à l'informationNote de bas de page 3.
  • « The Global Principles on National Security and the Right to Information » (Principes de Tshwane) : Publiés en 2013, ces principes sont les lignes directrices les plus récentes concernant les moyens à prendre pour parvenir à un juste équilibre entre l'accès à l'information et les autres intérêts. Ils sont destinés aux responsables de l'élaboration, de la modification et de la mise en œuvre des lois ou des dispositions relatives au pouvoir de l'État de refuser de communiquer des renseignements pour motifs de sécurité nationale. Par contre, les sections générales de ce document s'appliquent à tous les aspects d'une loi sur l'accès à l'information. Les principes sont fondés sur l'opinion d'experts, sur des bonnes pratiques, sur des normes ainsi que sur des lois nationales et internationales. Ils ont été rédigés par des représentants de 22 organisations et centres universitaires, en consultation avec plus de 500 spécialistes provenant de plus de 70 paysNote de bas de page 4.
  • Une loi type sur la liberté d'information : Cette loi type, élaborée par le groupe de la société civile Article 19, énonce les normes relatives à la législation nationale et internationale en matière d'accès à l'information (principalement pour la pratique nationale), qui sont fondées sur des normes et des lois régionales et internationales, sur la pratique étatique en évolution (comme le mettent en lumière les lois nationales et les jugements des cours nationales) ainsi que sur les principes de droit généraux reconnus par la communauté des nations. L'Organisation des Nations Unies et l'Organisation des États américains ont toutes deux appuyé cette loi typeNote de bas de page 5.

Rapports canadiens de haut niveau sur la réforme de l'accès à l'information

Des comités parlementaires canadiens, une équipe spéciale de travail et le ministère de la Justice du Canada ont tous étudié la Loi dans l'optique d'une réforme. Les rapports qui suivent sont parmi ceux qui présentent des analyses et des recommandations que la commissaire a pris en compte dans la rédaction de son rapport :

  • Une question à deux volets : Comment améliorer le droit d’accès à l’information tout en renforçant les mesures de protection des renseignements personnels : Le paragraphe 75(2) de la Loi exige qu'un comité parlementaire mène un examen approfondi des dispositions de la Loi ainsi que des conséquences de son application au plus tard le 1er juillet 1986 (trois ans après la promulgation de la Loi). Publié en 1987, le rapport du Comité permanent de la justice et du Solliciteur général de la Chambre des communes concluait que la Loi présentait « d'importantes lacunes et faiblessesNote de bas de page 6 ».
  • Accès à l'information : comment mieux servir les Canadiens : En 2002, le Groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information, composé de fonctionnaires et conseillé par deux comités consultatifsNote de bas de page 7, a reçu le mandat de procéder à l'examen de la Loi. Il a également évalué le caractère adéquat des lois, des règlements et des politiques se rapportant à la Loi et a examiné comment ceux-ci étaient interprétés et appliqués au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Le rapport résultant de cette démarche contenait près de 140 recommandations visant à améliorer l'accès à l'information à l'échelle fédéraleNote de bas de page 8.

Projets de loi émanant des députés et du gouvernement

Même si le Parlement a adopté quelques modifications fragmentairesNote de bas de page 9, il n'en demeure pas moins que la Loi n'a pas été modifiée en profondeur depuis son entrée en vigueur. De plus, certaines tentatives de réforme ou de modification de la Loi par l'intermédiaire de projets de loi émanant de députés ont échouéNote de bas de page 10. La commissaire a tenu compte de ces activités législatives lorsqu'elle a formulé ses recommandations.

Instruments de politique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada

Le président du Conseil du Trésor est le ministre désigné et responsable de l'application de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. À ce titre, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada a publié un grand nombre d'instruments de politique, de pratiques exemplaires, de manuels, de lignes directrices et d'outils pour appuyer l'application de la Loi. Il recueille et publie annuellement des statistiques sur les activités d'accès à l'information de chacune des institutions. La commissaire a pris en compte ces statistiques ainsi que les diverses politiques et lignes directrices connexes pour formuler ses recommandations.

Outil d’évaluation

Le « Global Right to Information Rating » a été particulièrement utile pour la rédaction de ce rapport. Il sert à évaluer la force globale de la loi en matière d'accès à l'information d'un pays. Cette évaluation fait ressortir les forces et les faiblesses des lois dans sept catégories : droit d'accès, portée, procédures de présentation de demandes, exceptions et refus, appels, mesures de sanction et de protection et initiatives de promotion. Deux sociétés civiles qui ont de l’expertise en ce qui a trait à l’accès à l’information, Access Info Europe (Espagne) et le Centre for Law and Democracy (Canada), ont lancé cet outil en 2011 et l'ont mis à jour en 2013Note de bas de page 11.

Consultations

Dans le cadre d'une consultation d'une durée de quatre mois entreprise à l'automne 2012, la commissaire a demandé au public de fournir des commentaires et des conseils sur un ensemble de problèmes liés à la Loi. Ses questions traitaient de tous les aspects du régime d'accès à l'information, tels que la portée de la Loi, les exceptions et les exclusions ainsi que les pouvoirs de la commissaire à l'informationNote de bas de page 12.

En réponse, la commissaire a reçu les commentaires de 44 groupes et personnes du Canada et de l'étranger offrant un vaste éventail d'opinions, y compris deux pétitions regroupant plus de 2 300 signatures. Le présent rapport s'inspire de ces commentaires, qui sont résumés sur le site Web du CommissariatNote de bas de page 13.

Propositions de réforme des commissaires

Ce rapport s'appuie sur différentes propositions de réforme et sur des documents d'accompagnement préparés par les anciens commissaires à l'information, notamment l'avant-projet de loi de 2006 du commissaire John Reid (Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale) et les propositions de réformes de 2009 du commissaire Robert MarleauNote de bas de page 14.

Par ailleurs, les commissaires et leurs fonctionnaires qui se sont succédé au Commissariat à l'information cumulent plus de 30 ans d'expérience de surveillance du droit d'accès à l'information au Canada, ce qui leur a permis d'acquérir une compréhension approfondie des forces et des faiblesses de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.Les rapports annuels et les rapports spéciaux qu'ont présentés les commissaires au Parlement, de même que les constatations des enquêtes, les avis d'information et les résolutions conjointes avec les commissaires provinciaux, ont tous été utilisés pour aiguiller les recommandations formulées dans le présent rapportNote de bas de page 15.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Ces lois sont celles de la Serbie, de l'Inde, de la Slovénie, du Libéria, du Salvador, de la Sierra Leone, du Mexique, d'Antigua, de l'Azerbaïdjan et de l'Ukraine.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1

Notes de bas de page 2

Organisation des États américains, Loi-type interaméricaine relative à l’accès à l’information et son guide d’application. 2012.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 2

Notes de bas de page 3

« Open Government Guide ». Le chapitre sur le droit à l'information peut être consulté à l'adresse suivante.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 3

Notes de bas de page 4

Open Society Foundations, The Global Principles on National Security and the Right to Information (Tshwane Principles). 2013.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 4

Notes de bas de page 5

Article 19, Une loi type sur la liberté d'information. 2006. Organisation des Nations unies, Report of the Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of the right to freedom of opinion and expression. M. Abid Hussain. 2000. Organisation des États américains, « Report of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights to the OAS ». 1999 (Vol. III).

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 5

Notes de bas de page 6

Canada, Parlement, Chambre des communes, Comité permanent de la justice et du Solliciteur général, Une question à deux volets : Comment améliorer le droit d’accès à l’information tout en renforçant les mesures de protection des renseignements personnels, 33e législature, 2e session, no 9. Mars 1987 (président : Blaine A. Thacker), p. xiii.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 6

Notes de bas de page 7

Le premier était formé de personnes ne faisant pas partie de la fonction publique et le second, de hauts fonctionnaires.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 7

Notes de bas de page 8

Canada, Groupe d'étude de l'accès à l'information, Accès à l'information : comment mieux servir les Canadiens, Ottawa, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, 2002.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 8

Notes de bas de page 9

Notons parmi ces modifications : la Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (L.C. 1999, ch. 16), qui a créé l'infraction d'entraver le droit d'accès; la Loi antiterroriste (L.C. 2001, ch. 41), qui a ajouté l'article 69.1 à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information,prévoyant l'exclusion du champ d'application de certains documents de la Loi au moyen de la délivrance d’un certificat par le procureur général; la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (L.C.  2006, ch. 9), qui a codifié l'obligation de prêter toute l’assistance indiquée au demandeur et a augmenté le nombre d'institutions visées par la Loi, tout en prévoyant de nouvelles exclusions et exceptions propres à certaines institutions.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 9

Notes de bas de page 10

À titre d'exemple : projet de loi C-201, Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale, 38e législature, 1ère session; projet de loi C-556, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (amélioration de l'accès), 39e législature, 2e session, 2008; projet de loi C-554, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (transparence gouvernementale), 39e législature, 2e session, 2008; projet de loi C-461, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (communication de renseignements), 41e législature, 2e session, 2013; projet de loi C-567, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'accès à l'information (transparence et obligation de consigner), 41e législature, 2e session, 2014; projet de loi C-613, Loi modifiant la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada et la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (transparence), 41e législature, 2e session, 2014.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 10

Notes de bas de page 11

Access Info Europe et Centre for Law and Democracy, Global Right to Information Rating, 2013. Ce système d'évaluation ne mesure que la qualité du cadre juridique et non la mise en œuvre de ce cadre.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 11

Notes de bas de page 12

Commissariat à l'information. Comment s'engager. 2012.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 12

Notes de bas de page 13

Commissariat à l'information. Résumé des commentaires. Septembre 2013.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 13

Notes de bas de page 14

Commissariat à l'information. Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale. 25 octobre 2005. Commissariat à l'information. Renforcer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour faire face aux impératifs actuels. 9 mars 2009.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 14

Notes de bas de page 15

Se reporter, par exemple, à la résolution conjointe de tous les commissaires et ombudsmans à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée au Canada de 2013 : Commissariat à l'information. Modernisation des lois sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels au XXIe siècle. 2013.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 15