Chapter 8: Mandatory periodic review of the Act

The Access to Information Act has not been comprehensively updated since its enactment over 30 years ago. The Act has fallen behind modern standards. The result is that Canadians’ information rights are not adequately protected.  

Periodic, comprehensive reviews by either a legislative committee or commission are built into the access laws of several provinces, with five years being the most common time frame.Footnote 1

The Act needs to be strengthened to meet the information realities of the 21st century and ensure that Canadians benefit from the modern, effective law they expect and deserve. Mandatory, periodic parliamentary review of the Act, particularly when coupled with the requirement to table a report in Parliament within a year of undertaking the review, would ensure the Act remains up to date and provide a scheduled opportunity to:

  • quickly fill gaps in legislative coverage identified in the Commissioner’s orders;
  • harmonize the Act with progressive national and international standards; and
  • ensure Canada is a global leader in protecting the right of access and in being accountable to its citizens. 

Recommendation 8.1

The Information Commissioner recommends a mandatory parliamentary review of the Act every five years, with a report tabled in Parliament.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The laws of B.C., Quebec, and Newfoundland and Labrador all contain such a provision. Federal commissioners have recommended including such a provision in the Act on a number of occasions. See Office of the Information Commissioner. Open Government Act. October 25, 2005, and Office of the Information Commissioner. Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today's Imperatives. March 9, 2009. 

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Chapitre 8 : Examen périodique obligatoire de la Loi

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information n’a pas fait l’objet d’une mise à jour en profondeur depuis son entrée en vigueur il y a plus de 30 ans. Elle accuse du retard par rapport aux normes actuelles. Par conséquent, le droit à l’information des Canadiens ne sont pas adéquatement protégés.

Les lois de plusieurs provinces prévoient des examens approfondis périodiques par une commission ou un comité législatif, lesquels ont lieu tous les cinq ans dans la plupart des casNote de bas de page 1.

La Loi doit être renforcée afin de correspondre à la réalité du 21e siècle en matière d’information et de veiller à ce que les Canadiens profitent d’une loi moderne et efficace à laquelle ils s’attendent et qu’ils méritent. Un examen parlementaire périodique et obligatoire de la Loi, surtout s’il est jumelé à l’exigence de déposer un rapport au Parlement dans l’année qui suit l’examen, permettrait de veiller à ce que la Loi demeure à jour tout en prévoyant des occasions de faire ce qui suit :

  • Combler rapidement les lacunes concernant la portée de la Loi qui ont été cernées dans les ordonnances de la commissaire;
  • Harmoniser la Loi aux normes nationales et internationales progressistes;
  • Veiller à ce que le Canada soit un leader mondial en matière de protection du droit d’accès et en demeurant responsable envers ses citoyens.

Recommandation 8.1

La commissaire à l’information recommande de procéder à un examen parlementaire obligatoire de la Loi tous les cinq ans et de déposer un rapport au Parlement à ce sujet.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Les lois de la Colombie-Britannique, du Québec et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador contiennent une telle disposition. Les anciens commissaires fédéraux ont recommandé d’ajouter une telle disposition à la Loi à quelques reprises. Se reporter au Commissariat à l’information. Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale. 25 octobre 2005, et Commissariat à l’information. Renforcer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour faire face aux impératifs actuels. 9 mars 2009.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1