8. Corporate services

Corporate services at the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) provides strategic and corporate leadership for planning and reporting, human resources and financial management, security and administrative services, information management and technology, and internal audit and evaluation.

The support provided by corporate services is integral for program delivery. The corporate services team continued in 2016–2017 to ensure sound stewardship of the OIC’s resources and to provide efficient operations.

Workplace mental health and well-being

In fall 2016 a healthy workplace initiative was launched with a focus on the workplace mental health, safety, and well-being of employees.

A Workplace Mental Health Committee was established, made up of employees from various levels and branches. This committee has organized a number of activities aimed at raising awareness of workplace wellness-related issues and at sustaining a healthy workplace.

Promoting excellence

Training program

All investigators go through the OIC’s intensive three-week training program. This training ensures investigators have the tools they need early on to conduct high-quality investigations.

Career development

The OIC has a specialised career development program for investigators that was reviewed in 2016–2017.

For employees in the human resources and financial management categories, the talent management programs developed by central agencies were reviewed and adapted as appropriate.

Internal HR Services

In 2016–2017, the Human Resources team had three priorities: responding promptly to employees’ Phoenix Pay System-related problems, fulfilling staffing actions in response to the OIC’s temporary increase in funding, and updating staffing policies, internal business processes, systems and tools as a result of a new staffing direction for the federal public service.

Open Government Implementation Plan

In 2016–2017, the OIC’s Open Government Implementation Plan (OGIP) began to be put in place. The OIC’s OGIP sets out the activities and deliverables it will achieve to meet the requirements of the government-wide Directive on Open Government.Footnote 1

An inaugural meeting of the Open Government Steering Committee was held, and the terms of reference of the steering committee were addressed.

Identification of information for a data inventory is currently underway. Once this inventory is complete, the steering committee will identify what datasets can be published openly. These datasets will complement the existing proactive disclosure initiatives the OIC already has in place.Footnote 2

Information technology at the OIC

Improving case management

The OIC’s case management system, InTrac, was upgraded in 2016–2017 to increase its robustness and interoperability.Footnote 3 Since the upgrade, the IM/IT group hosted representatives from the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario to share knowledge on the capabilities of the improved system.

Fortifying IT security

In 2016–2017, an independent audit of the OIC’s information technology (IT) security infrastructure was completed. The purpose of this audit was to assess the OIC’s IT security posture.Footnote 4

Recommendations from the audit included improvements to the IT security governance and policy framework. In response, a new governance model and policy framework for IT security was developed. Additionally, new key performance indicators were identified to better measure and report on the performance of the IT security program.

Reducing the OIC’s energy footprint

In 2016–2017, the IM/IT group launched a datacenter consolidation initiative, which saw the organization leverage hyper-converged technology to significantly reduce the IT infrastructure’s footprint and energy consumption.

Audit and Evaluation

The OIC’s Audit and Evaluation Committee (AEC) meets four times a year to discuss the OIC’s finances, caseload, litigation before the court, and human resources. The AEC provides the Commissioner with independent and objective advice, guidance and recommendations on the adequacy of the OIC's control and accountability processes, as well as the use of evaluation within the OIC, in order to support management practices, decision-making and program performance.

In 2016–2017, the AEC reviewed the results of the IT security audit (see “Fortifying IT security”). The AEC will continue to follow up on this audit to ensure all of the recommendations are implemented.

The AEC also closely monitored the financial situation of the OIC, with a special emphasis on the temporary funding, as well as the over and underpayments caused by the Phoenix Pay System.

Access to information and privacy

For information on the OIC’s access to information and privacy activities in 2016–2017, consult its annual reports to Parliament on these topics on the OIC’s website.Footnote 5

Appendix D (page X) contains the annual report of the Information Commissioner ad hoc, who investigates complaints about the Office of the Information Commissioner’s handling of access requests.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Background: “The Office of the Information Commissioner’s Open Government Implementation Plan”, Annual Report 2015–2016.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The OIC already proactively posts monthly complaints data; data about extension notices (section 9(2) of the Act); observations on the health of the access to information regime; correspondence with designated officials; and submissions to parliamentary committees.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Background: “An enabling IM/IT infrastructure”, Annual Report 2011-2011.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Background: “Audit of the information technology security infrastructure”, Annual Report 2015–2016.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Annual Reports.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

8. Services organisationnels

Les Services organisationnels du Commissariat à l’information assurent un leadership stratégique et institutionnel en matière de planification, de reddition de comptes, de ressources humaines, de gestion financière, de services de sécurité et administratifs, de vérification interne et d’évaluation ainsi que de technologie et de gestion de l’information.

Le soutien fourni par les Services organisationnels fait partie intégrale de la mise en œuvre de son programme. La commissaire et son équipe des Services organisationnels ont continué d’assurer en 2016-2017 la bonne gérance des ressources du Commissariat et de permettre des opérations efficaces.

Santé mentale et mieux-être en milieu de travail

À l’automne 2016, une initiative sur le travail sain a été lancée et est axée sur la santé mentale en milieu de travail, la sûreté, et le mieux-être des employés.

Un comité de santé mentale au travail a été établi et est composé d’employés de divers niveaux et directions générales. Ce comité a organisé diverses activités visant à sensibiliser tous les employés aux questions liées au mieux-être en milieu de travail et à favoriser un milieu de travail sain.

Promotion de l’excellence

Programme de formation

Tous les enquêteurs doivent suivre le programme de formation de trois semaines du Commissariat. Cette formation permet de faire en sorte que les enquêteurs ont rapidement accès à tous les outils nécessaires pour mener des enquêtes qui répondent aux plus hauts standards de qualité.

Développement de carrière

Le Commissariat possède un plan de développement de carrière spécialisé qui a été revu en 2016-2017.

Pour les employés faisant partie des catégories des ressources humaines et de la gestion financière, les programmes de gestion du talent élaborés par les agences centrales ont été révisés et adaptés selon les besoins.

Services en ressources humaines du Commissariat

En 2016-2017, l’équipe des ressources humaines avait trois priorités à gérer : répondre rapidement aux problèmes de paie liés à Phénix des employés, lancer plusieurs mesures de dotation en lien avec le financement temporaire obtenu par le Commissariat, et rehausser les politiques de dotation, les processus opérationnels internes, les systèmes et les outils pour répondre à la nouvelle orientation en matière de dotation dans la fonction publique fédérale.

Plan de mise en œuvre du gouvernement ouvert

En 2016-2017, le Commissariat a commencé l’instauration de son Plan de mise en œuvre pour un gouvernement ouvert (PMOGO). Le PMOGO du Commissariat établit les activités à réaliser et les résultats à atteindre pour respecter les exigences de la Directive sur le gouvernement ouvert pour l’ensemble du gouvernementNote de bas de page 1.

Une première rencontre du Comité directeur sur le gouvernement ouvert a eu lieu durant laquelle le mandat du comité directeur a été traité.

La détermination de l’information requise pour un inventaire des données est en cours. Une fois l’inventaire terminé, le comité directeur déterminera quels ensembles de données peuvent être publiés ouvertement. Ces ensembles de données complèteront les initiatives de divulgation proactive existantes déjà mises en œuvre au CommissariatNote de bas de page 2.

Technologies de l’information au Commissariat

Améliorer la gestion de cas

InTrac, le système de gestion de cas au Commissariat, a été mis à niveau en 2016-2017 pour augmenter sa fiabilité et son interopérabilitéNote de bas de page 3. Depuis cette mise à jour, le groupe de la GI/TI a rencontré des représentants du Commissariat à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario pour transmettre de l’expertise sur les capacités du système amélioré.

Fortifier la sécurité des technologies de l’information

En 2016-2017, une vérification indépendante de l’infrastructure de sécurité des technologies de l’information du Commissariat s’est terminée. Le but de cette vérification était d’évaluer la position en matière de sécurité du CommissariatNote de bas de page 4.

Les recommandations provenant de cette vérification comprennent des améliorations au cadre de gouvernance de la sécurité des TI et de la politique. De plus, de nouveaux indicateurs de rendement importants ont été déterminés pour mieux mesurer et rendre compte du rendement du programme de sécurité de la TI.

Réduire l’empreinte énergétique du Commissariat

En 2016-2017, le groupe de la GI/TI a lancé l’initiative de la consolidation de son centre de données, qui a permis au Commissariat de tirer parti de la technologie d’hyperconvergence afin de réduire de façon importante l’empreinte énergétique de l’infrastructure de la TI.

Vérification et évaluation

Le Comité de vérification et d’évaluation du Commissariat à l’Information s’est rencontré quatre fois cette année pour discuter de finances, du nombre de dossiers non réglé, des litiges devant les tribunaux, et des ressources humaines. De manière indépendante et objective, le Comité prodigue à la commissaire des conseils, des directives et des recommandations sur la suffisance des processus de contrôle et de comptabilité du Commissariat, en plus de l’utilisation de l’évaluation au sein du Commissariat, dans le but de soutenir les pratiques de gestion, de prises de décisions et de rendement de programme.

En 2016-2017, le Comité a fait l’examen des résultats de la vérification de la sécurité des TI (voir la page 59, « Fortifier la sécurité des technologies de l’information »). Le Comité va continuer son suivi de cette vérification pour faire en sorte que toutes les recommandations soient mises en œuvre.

Le Comité surveille étroitement la situation financière du Commissariat et accorde une attention spéciale au financement temporaire, ainsi qu’aux trop-perçus et aux paiements insuffisants occasionnés par le système de paie Phénix.

Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Pour obtenir de l’information sur les opérations du Commissariat en 2016-2017 liées à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez consulter la section à cet effet dans les rapports annuels déposés au Parlement sur le site Web du CommissariatNote de bas de page 5.

L’annexe D contient le rapport annuel du commissaire à l’information ad hoc, qui enquête sur les plaintes déposées contre le Commissariat à l’information du Canada portant sur le traitement des demandes d’accès.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Contexte : « Plan de mise en œuvre pour un gouvernement ouvert », Rapport annuel 2015-2016.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1

Notes de bas de page 2

Le Commissariat publie de façon proactive les données mensuelles relatives aux plaintes, les données relatives aux avis de prolongation (paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi), les observations sur la santé du régime d’accès à l’information, la correspondance avec les représentants officiels, et les présentations aux comités parlementaires

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 2

Notes de bas de page 3

Contexte : « Infrastructure de la GI/TI habilitante », Rapport annuel 2010-2011.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 3

Notes de bas de page 4

Contexte : « Vérification de la sécurité de l'infrastructure des technologies de l’information », Rapport annuel 2015-2016.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 4

Notes de bas de page 5

Rapports annuels.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 5

    Suivant