2. Highlights

Requests and complaints on the rise

Canadians today are more and more interested in what their governments are doing. Requests made under the Access to Information Act have been increasing every year.

  • In 2010–2011, the government received approximately 41,600 access requests.
  • In 2015–2016, the number of requests rose to approximately 75,400, up 81% from five years earlier.
  • The OIC received over 2,000 complaints in 2016–2017.

Increased budget

In 2016–2017, the OIC received temporary funding for one year.

Putting this funding into maximum operation required a tremendous effort, including increasing the OIC’s IT capacity and adding office space. A special thank you is extended to the Chief Electoral Officer who provided temporary space at no cost. This assisted the OIC greatly. 

The OIC also had to hire additional investigators, train them and manage the increased investigative output.

As a result, the OIC resolved an unprecedented number of complaints. To continue to build on these results, the OIC is seeking additional funding for 2017–2018.

Investigations

There were a number of notable investigations in 2016–2017. These include the deletion of emails subject to an access request referring to the provincial and federal Liberal party; problems obtaining records in ministers’ offices; a failure to document decisions related to the tasering death of Robert Dziekanski; difficulties obtaining information regarding the governments’ interactions with SNC-Lavalin; and lengthy delays to access information related to an Indian Residential School.

Many of these investigations illustrate how the outdated Access to Information Act is used as a shield against transparency. The issues raised highlight the need to amend the Act to resolve long-standing deficiencies.

Unfortunately, the government has announced indefinite delays to reform of the Act (See detailed chronology at “Appendix A: Access to Information Act reform: A broken promise?”).

Access to Information Act reform: A broken promise?

"This winter, we’ll table legislation that will bring forward significant improvements to the Act – improvements outlined in our mandate letters, along with improvements we will have identified through our consultations with Canadians, stakeholders and parliamentarians.

These measures will shed more light than ever before on the Government."

President of the Treasury Board Scott Brison, speaking at Carleton University for Right to Know Week, 
September 26, 2016

"Brison said the government has run up against ‘important considerations’ in the efforts to broaden the access system to include ministers’ offices, the Prime Minister’s Office and the federal court system. Those considerations include ‘the neutrality of the public service,’ ‘the independence of the judiciary’ and Canadians’ privacy rights, the minister said.

‘These are important issues and we need to be prudent as we move forward,’ Brison said."

Scott Brison explains delay in promised transparency reforms – The Toronto Star, March 26, 2017

2. Faits saillants

Les demandes et les plaintes sont à la hausse

Aujourd’hui, les Canadiens souhaitent de plus en plus connaître ce que les gouvernements font. Les demandes faites en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information sont à la hausse d’année en année.

  • En 2010-2011, le gouvernement a reçu environ 41 600 demandes d’accès.
  • En 2015-2016, le nombre de demandes a augmenté à 75 400, ce qui représente une hausse de 81 % par rapport au nombre de demandes reçu en 2010-2011.
  • Le Commissariat a reçu plus de 2 000 plaintes en 2016-2017.

Augmentation du budget

En 2016-2017, le Commissariat a reçu un financement temporaire pour un an.

L’utilisation maximale de ce financement a exigé des efforts considérables, dont l’augmentation de la capacité des technologies de l’information du Commissariat et l’acquisition de nouveaux espaces de bureaux. Un remerciement spécial est offert au directeur général des élections qui nous a fourni ces espaces additionnels sans frais. Cela a grandement aidé le Commissariat. 

Le Commissariat a également dû embaucher des enquêteurs supplémentaires, les former, et gérer l’augmentation de la production de l’apport d’enquête.

Tout compte fait, le Commissariat a réglé un nombre sans précédent d’enquêtes. Pour continuer à tirer parti de ces résultats, le Commissariat tentera d’obtenir du financement additionnel pour 2017-2018.

Enquêtes

Il y a eu un certain nombre d’enquêtes remarquables en 2016-2017. Entre autres, il y a eu le cas de la suppression de courriels qui étaient assujettis à une demande d’accès qui faisait référence aux partis Libéral provincial et fédéral; le cas des difficultés à obtenir des documents dans les cabinets des ministres; l’omission de documenter les décisions liées à la mort de Robert Dziekanski par l’utilisation d’un Taser; les difficultés à obtenir les renseignements concernant les interactions entre SNC-Lavalin et le gouvernement; et les retards importants liés à l’accès à l’information dans le cas d’un pensionnat indien.

La plupart de ces enquêtes illustrent à quel point la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est désuète et fait office de bouclier contre la transparence. Les enjeux soulevés mettent en relief le besoin de modifier la Loi pour régler les lacunes décelées depuis longtemps.

Malheureusement, le gouvernement a retardé indéfiniment les réformes de la Loi (voir la chronologie détaillée à l’annexe A « Réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information : une promesse non tenue? ».

Réforme de l’accès à l’information : Une promesse non tenue?

« Cet hiver, nous déposerons le projet de loi qui permettra d’apporter des améliorations importantes à la Loi – les améliorations énoncées dans nos lettres de mandat, ainsi que celles que nous aurons déterminées dans le cadre de nos consultations auprès des Canadiens, des intervenants et des parlementaires.

Ces mesures permettront aux citoyens d’obtenir plus de renseignements que jamais auparavant sur le gouvernement. »

Président du Conseil du Trésor, Scott Brison, lors d’une allocution à l’Université Carleton pour la Semaine du Droit à l’information, 26 septembre 2016

« Scott Brison a mentionné que le gouvernement avait rencontré plusieurs enjeux importants dans le but d’étendre le champ d’application de la Loi aux cabinets des ministres, au Cabinet du premier ministre, et au système de cour fédérale. Ces enjeux comprennent « la neutralité de la fonction publique », « l’indépendance du système judiciaire », et la protection des renseignements personnels des Canadiens ».

Le ministre Brison a également ajouté que ces enjeux sont d’une importance particulière et que la prudence était de mise à toutes les étapes de ce projet.

Scott Brison explique les délais à la réforme promise sur la transparence (en anglais seulement)  The Toronto Star, 26 mars 2017

    Suivant