VISION 
Open and accountable government

1. Who we are and what we do

The Information Commissioner is an Agent of Parliament appointed under the Access to Information Act.

MISSION 
We promote and protect access to information rights

The Commissioner protects and promotes access to information rights.

The Commissioner is the first level of independent review of government decisions relating to requests for access to public sector information. The Act requires the Commissioner to investigate all the complaints she receives. She is supported in her work by the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC).

LEADERSHIP COMMITMENT
We engage all staff in building a healthy workplace

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all matters pertaining to access to information. The OIC actively makes the case for greater freedom of information in Canada through targeted initiatives such as Right to Know Week and ongoing dialogue with Canadians, Parliament and institutions.

The OIC engages all staff in building a healthy workplace.

Our organization

The OIC’s organizational structure is shown in the diagram below.

Org chart

Text Version

This is an organizational chart. It shows the branches that report to the Information Commissioner. The first branch is the Assistant Commissioner, responsible for Complaints Resolution and Compliance, and Corporate Services. The second branch is the General Counsel and Director, responsible for Legal Services and Public Affairs. Each title is enclosed in a box and these are displayed in a row below the box for the Information Commissioner above. The boxes are connected by single lines.

 

Complaints Resolution and Compliance mediates and investigates complaints about the processing of access to information requests and any issues related to requesting or obtaining access to records under the Act, and makes formal recommendations to institutions and heads of institutions, as required.

Legal Services represents the Commissioner in court as she seeks to clarify points of access law and uphold information rights. Lawyers provide legal advice on investigations and administrative and legislative matters, as well as customized reference tools and training on recent case law. Legal Services also monitors legislative developments to determine their possible effect on the Commissioner’s work and access to information in general.

Public Affairs conducts communications and external relations with a wide range of stakeholders, notably Parliament, governments and the media. Public Affairs also provides input to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat on improving the administration of the Act. Public Affairs is responsible for the OIC’s access to information and privacy function.

Corporate Services provides strategic and corporate leadership for planning and reporting, human resources and financial management, security and administrative services, internal audit and evaluation, and information management and technology.

VISION
Un gouvernement ouvert et responsable

1. Qui nous sommes et ce que nous faisons

La commissaire à l’information est un agent du Parlement nommé en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

MISSION
Nous promouvons et protégeons les droits d’accès à l’information

La commissaire protège et fait la promotion des droits d’accès à l’information.

La commissaire représente le premier niveau de révision indépendante des décisions des institutions concernant les demandes d’accès  à l’information du secteur public. La Loi précise que la commissaire doit mener une enquête sur toutes les plaintes qu’elle reçoit. Elle est épaulée dans son travail par le Commissariat à l’information.

ENGAGEMENT DE LA DIRECTION
Nous impliquons tout le personnel dans le développement d’un milieu de travail sain

Le Commissariat soutient également la commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires sur toutes les questions se rapportant à l’accès à l’information. Il plaide activement en faveur d’un plus grand accès à l’information au Canada au moyen d’initiatives ciblées comme la Semaine du droit à l’information et d’un dialogue constant avec les Canadiens, le Parlement et les institutions fédérales.

Le Commissariat implique tout le personnel dans le développement d’un milieu de travail sain.

Notre organisation

La structure organisationnelle du Commissariat à l’information est présentée ci-dessous.

Structure organisationnelle du Commissariat

Version texte

Ceci est un organigramme. Il montre les sections qui relèvent de la commissaire à l’information. La première section représente la commissaire adjointe, qui est responsable de la Direction du règlement des plaintes et respect la Loi et des services organisationnels. La deuxième section représente l’avocate générale et la directrice, responsable des Services juridiques et des Affaires publiques. Chaque titre est encadré dans une boîte et sont affichés sur une rangée sous la boîte de la commissaire à l’information. Les boîtes sont reliées par des lignes uniformes.

 

La Direction du règlement des plaintes et respect de la Loi mène la médiation et les enquêtes concernant les plaintes relatives au traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information, ainsi que toutes les questions liées au fait de solliciter ou d’obtenir l’accès à des dossiers en vertu de la Loi, puis formule des recommandations officielles aux institutions et à leurs administrateurs généraux, s’il y a lieu.

Les Services juridiques représentent la commissaire devant les tribunaux alors qu’elle cherche à clarifier des questions relatives au droit d’accès et à faire respecter le droit à l’information. Des avocats offrent des conseils juridiques relativement aux enquêtes et aux questions législatives ou administratives, et fournissent des outils de référence et de la formation adaptés à la jurisprudence récente. Les Services juridiques assurent également le suivi de l’évolution des lois et règlements pour établir son incidence éventuelle sur les travaux de la commissaire et sur l’accès à l’information en général.

L’Unité des Affaires publiques dirige les communications et les relations externes avec un large éventail d’intervenants, notamment le Parlement, les gouvernements et les médias. Elle fournit également une rétroaction au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada sur l’amélioration de l’administration de la Loi. Elle est aussi chargée de gérer la fonction d’accès à l’information et de protection de la vie privée au Commissariat.

Les Services organisationnels assurent un leadership stratégique et institutionnel en matière de planification, de responsabilisation, de ressources humaines, de gestion financière, de services de sécurité et administratifs, de vérification interne et d’évaluation ainsi que de technologie et de gestion de l’information.

    Suivant